Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
God I hate Trojans
Old
  (#1)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default God I hate Trojans - 12-11-2012, 00:52 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

Accidentally ended up on a weird SPanish website yesterday which somehow stuck a trojan on my system, it tried booting at startup, thankfull antivir stopped it executing, but didnt detect it. Malwarebytes detected it and then supposedly got rid, but didn't then ComboFix seemed to do the rest. I fecking hate ******* virus programmers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 12-11-2012, 00:56 | posts: 16,943 | Location: US East Coast

We all hate the idiots that write this ****....unfortunately, some people believe that castration followed by slow, painfull suffocation is "cruel and unusual punishment"....so we have little to deter these idiots....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-11-2012, 00:58 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

To avoid problems like this, I use Firefox with a scriptblocker (noScript) and only allow sites that I trust to run scripts, and only those that need scripts to function properly.
Also, my browser is run in a sandbox (Sandboxie) so if something does get through, I can delete the sandbox and start afresh.
Even if I dont delete the sandbox, nothing can infect my OS, all malware gets left in the sandbox.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 12-11-2012, 01:00 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
To avoid problems like this, I use Firefox with a scriptblocker (noScript) and only allow sites that I trust to run scripts, and only those that need scripts to function properly.
Also, my browser is run in a sandbox (Sandboxie) so if something does get through, I can delete the sandbox and start afresh.
Even if I dont delete the sandbox, nothing can infect my OS, all malware gets left in the sandbox.
I'll give noscript a try, Cheers Mufflore
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-11-2012, 01:08 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

np.

Once you have it installed, you can add icons to your menu bar at the top of the browser to quickly allow sites, either permanently or just for the session.
Sometimes there are many domains to allow and some dont appear until other have been allowed, so you may need to visit Allow a few times on some awkward sites.
You can also just blanket allow the whole page.

You can add another button that removes all the temporary allows you have made with one button press.
These buttons are in the standard Firefox 'Customise' option.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
bdub5886
Master Guru
 
Videocard: xfx 7870
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4
Mainboard: gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3
Memory: 8g gskill x-series @ 1600
Soundcard: audigy
PSU: 700 watt ocz
Default 12-11-2012, 03:33 | posts: 301 | Location: US

Yeah I hate when a malicious program tries to send you to a infected site. I got a bogus Origins email saying my password had been reset. I was inspecting the source code and it tried to divert to a website. Luckily my firewall prevented the page from loading w/o my approval.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Penal Stingray
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX 680 Tri-Sli-S27A950
Processor: i7 3930K 4.6 GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3 X79
Memory: 16 GB Ripjaws 2200 MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Titanium HD
PSU: Antec HCP 1200 Watts
Default 12-11-2012, 05:21 | posts: 958 | Location: JerZe

I thought trojans where the best condom brands?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
bdub5886
Master Guru
 
Videocard: xfx 7870
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4
Mainboard: gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3
Memory: 8g gskill x-series @ 1600
Soundcard: audigy
PSU: 700 watt ocz
Default 12-11-2012, 07:50 | posts: 301 | Location: US

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penal Stingray View Post
I thought trojans where the best condom brands?
nicely done sir


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 12-11-2012, 10:47 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

I don't think the Trojan actually managed to install itself, there was no process running, no popups, redirects or anything, Antivir blocked something on startup and it seemed to work. Changed my passwords just in case, though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-11-2012, 10:56 | posts: 10,923 | Location: United kingdom

Bitdefender would have stopped that dead in its tracks warning you about the site before you even entered.

I visit any site that i want with no fear as im always warned about the site and even when i choose to enter still the realtime scanner picks any malware up and quarantines it, If bitdefender fails Malwarebytes catches it, If that fails Winpatrol catches anything trying to change my host or startup.

In my experience Bitdefender has not failed me since 2009.
Hope you get it sorted mate, may have to backup and reinstall OS

Last edited by Veteran; 12-11-2012 at 11:00.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 12-11-2012, 11:36 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Bitdefender would have stopped that dead in its tracks warning you about the site before you even entered.

I visit any site that i want with no fear as im always warned about the site and even when i choose to enter still the realtime scanner picks any malware up and quarantines it, If bitdefender fails Malwarebytes catches it, If that fails Winpatrol catches anything trying to change my host or startup.

In my experience Bitdefender has not failed me since 2009.
Hope you get it sorted mate, may have to backup and reinstall OS
Seems to have shifted it mate, but I'll grab a few extra bits just to be on the safe side I think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 12-11-2012, 21:51 | posts: 9,606 | Location: UK

Hate them to, had to go and wipe my dads computer and reinstall windows the other day, then change all his passwords for everything he uses, as he got that facebook invitational virus that says it burns your hard drive (which is a load of guff), and the funny thing was, the email he read after that one, was a one saying if you get this one, don't click on the link, so he should have read that one first
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
yelsewshane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire VaporX 290
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z79
Memory: Corsair 16gb ddr3
Soundcard: Yamaha Receiver 4/8 1/12
PSU: corsair 850
Default 12-14-2012, 07:39 | posts: 1,577

You say God I hate Trojans! Why not ask God to get rid of them for ya then :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 12-18-2012, 12:11 | posts: 2,541 | Location: Look out!

God hates trojans!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.