Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Speccy unable to identify hardware?
Old
  (#1)
nexus_ssg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8800GT OC 512MB
Processor: UNSURE
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: UNSURE 600W
Unhappy Speccy unable to identify hardware? - 12-10-2012, 17:47 | posts: 5

Every section (CPU, RAM, Motherboard) is greyed out with the error message "information unavailable" (or something to that extent, I'm not on my computer right now but I will be shortly and will edit the post). The problem may be that I'm missing the necessary windows files to gain access to the information, but I can't find anything on google that might help, and dskchk doesn't find any problems. Other programs also fail to bring up the specifications.

I know my GPU (8800GT OC 512MB), my RAM (3GB) and to a certain extent my HDD (7200rpm 600gb Seagate something-or-other). I need to be able to ID my hardware so I can decide what to upgrade as my FPS in Planetside 2 is under 10 even with the lowest graphics and nothing else running. Therefore, I doubt it's my GPU, RAM or HDD causing me FPS issues. Christmas is just around the corner and my pockets are empty so that'll be the only time I can upgrade. If you know of any fix or alternate method of discovering one's hardware specs, please let me know.

TL;DR Speccy fails. Need gaming upgrade. Don't know which part to upgrade because I don't know what each part is. Speccy fix/alternate diagnosis method?

Last edited by nexus_ssg; 12-10-2012 at 18:17.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 680 4GB SLI
Processor: I5 3570k @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPOWER
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 750W
Default 12-10-2012, 21:15 | posts: 2,173 | Location: Ireland

Run Dxdiag and save information.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 12-11-2012, 02:23 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

AIDA64
PC Wizard
SiSoft Sandra

Those apps will do the same thing Speccy does. PC Wizard is free, SiSoft Sandra has a free version and AIDA64 has a free trial.



Last edited by sykozis; 12-11-2012 at 02:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 12-13-2012, 01:08 | posts: 3,714

Don't forget SIW.

To be honest, we don't even know which version of Speccy did the OP use, so it could be he used an old version or something.
In any case, using CPU-Z and GPU-Z is also enough to know the important parts to upgrade excepting the PSU.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nexus_ssg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8800GT OC 512MB
Processor: UNSURE
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: UNSURE 600W
Default 12-16-2012, 21:57 | posts: 5

Even dxdiag won't bring up the specs. The unknowns are listed as n/a. Aida64 and PC Wizard both crash during the identification process. CPU-Z brings up the following error log when I try to run it:

Code:
[bInitDriver] path = C:\Users\ross\AppData\Local\Temp\
[bInitDriver] GetCurrentDirectory = C:\Program Files\CPUID\CPU-Z
[bInitDriver] GetModuleFileName = C:\Program Files\CPUID\CPU-Z\cpuz.exe
[vGetOSVersion] m_iOSVersion = 2 (6.1)
[vGetOSVersion] m_bIsAMD64 = 0
[bInitDriver] m_hDriverMutex = E4
[bInitDriver] m_szPath_2 = C:\Users\ross\AppData\Local\Temp\\cpuz136\
[bInitDriver] m_szFilename = cpuz136_x32.sys
[bLockDriverHandle 21:53:09] WaitForSingleObject error = 258
[bInitDriver] bInitDriver returned 258
[vCloseDriver 21:53:11] WaitForSingleObject error = 258
[vCloseDriver] CloseHandle(mutex) = 1
All are the latest version, just downloaded.
I can only imagine the fault lies in my windows access files. Thoughts?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
nexus_ssg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8800GT OC 512MB
Processor: UNSURE
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: UNSURE 600W
Default 12-16-2012, 22:04 | posts: 5

I have just installed a friend's spare HDD. The PC's now running off that and I have now got all the info. Thanks anyway though guys!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 12-17-2012, 01:14 | posts: 3,714

You had a messed-up Windows installation then.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.