Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Massive Frames Loss, Crysis 1.2.1 2x7950s
Old
  (#1)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default Massive Frames Loss, Crysis 1.2.1 2x7950s - 12-09-2012, 01:42 | posts: 1,093 | Location: Uk

Got my 2 7950s @1100/1420

all my other games work fine but went to try crysis out
and its got a massive bug that i cant figure out is it my cards.

I started it up and basically i get 99% gpu @ all maxed out 8xaa
frames are in the 90s-100s at the start then a second later my frames take a DIVE down to 10fps :o and they stay there lol, even though both GPUS are showing 99% usage still my frames wont go back up to how they where unless i reboot the game, then it does it all over again, even if i select 4xaa or 8xaa...

Im sure this is a bug but i want to know for sure as i hope its not card related.

using the beta11`s. only thing i can think of is that its a crossfire issue.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 12-09-2012, 03:15 | posts: 1,697 | Location: Boston

I can try to test it, what part does this occur?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
jackliu913
Master Guru
 
jackliu913's Avatar
 
Videocard: R7950x2 CF 1100/1500Mhz
Processor: i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz (H60)
Mainboard: Maximus V Formula
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16g
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: OCZ Z-SERIES 1000W 80+
Default 12-09-2012, 03:26 | posts: 561 | Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

what voltages are you running them overclocks at?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default 12-09-2012, 03:58 | posts: 1,093 | Location: Uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Postman View Post
I can try to test it, what part does this occur?
Happens randomly but you will soon notice it within 10-15 minutes then when it happens, frames drop to around 10fps for about a 10-15 seconds then they return to normal then again it will happen.. its very strange.

Play from the start of the game up untill you get to the dead team mate in the tree, also there is some weird area`s in the game where the frames will dive if you look at it then look away from it to the left or right and your frames go back to normal. lol, you can test that out on the beach at the start if you look at the burning flair on the ground then look up into the tree`s your frames will dive.

at the place where your team mate gets vaporized for instance in the tree the frames dive from 60vsync to 40-50s for no apparent reason.

------

If its a cards issue let me know as i have tryed everything even going to 4x aa instead of 8x aa also with and without vsync still happens.

-----------------------

This is all very weird like, as warhead runs like a pure champ compaired to this game, i always get over 80+ all maxed in warhead.

Last edited by Plug2k; 12-09-2012 at 04:04.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default 12-09-2012, 03:59 | posts: 1,093 | Location: Uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackliu913 View Post
what voltages are you running them overclocks at?
1118v on both cards for 1100/1475...
temps are fine on both cards @99% gpu usage temps get to about 67c/62c
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 12-10-2012, 06:17 | posts: 1,245 | Location: New Zealand

Which 7950s you got man?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
MrBozack
Master Guru
 
MrBozack's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7850OC Windforce
Processor: Intel i5-2500K (@4.47GHz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: X-Fi SB0770
PSU: Corsair TX 650W
Default 12-10-2012, 08:55 | posts: 670 | Location: East Anglia

Something must be wrong. I reckon your diagnosis of Crossfire or drivers is correct. I just ran around loads of trees (on the river level with flares and helicopters) and my frames didn't move from 60. Your rig shouldn't be doing this. Have you disabled Crossfire? I know that would be my first attempt.

I play Crysis with Ultra 1920x1080 4xMSAA @60Hz VSYNC and have mega-smooth game play, throughout with no hiccups. That's with an i5 and only one slower GPU...

Beta 11 too. Hope it helps.

Last edited by MrBozack; 12-10-2012 at 13:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
psyside
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 @1150/6000
Processor: i7 2600K@4.8ghz 1.41v24/7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Extreme IV
Memory: 8GB G.S RipjawsX @2133
Soundcard: Xonar STX/Senn HD595
PSU: Cooler Master 1000W
Default 12-10-2012, 12:00 | posts: 347 | Location: Macedonia

Try alt tab few times, or restart the game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 12-10-2012, 16:19 | posts: 1,697 | Location: Boston

I played this morning and it was fine. I have the steam version so it runs with 32bit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BABA-The Hacker
Banned
 
Videocard: PALIT GTX770 OC 2GB
Processor: i7-4790K - Devil's Canyon
Mainboard: ECS-Z87H3-A2XG GANK MACH
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Corsair Carbide Series™ 4
Default 12-10-2012, 17:01 | posts: 455 | Location: Xylanthia

Do u have any software utility for your CPU or GPU that starts up when ur OS boots?

GPU brand???? weird...


I think there's overheating problems somewhere.... have you monitored heat temps during these down peaks in FPS???

A dying mobo???

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 12-10-2012 at 17:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
jackliu913
Master Guru
 
jackliu913's Avatar
 
Videocard: R7950x2 CF 1100/1500Mhz
Processor: i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz (H60)
Mainboard: Maximus V Formula
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16g
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: OCZ Z-SERIES 1000W 80+
Default 12-11-2012, 02:41 | posts: 561 | Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

that's pretty good temps for such a demanding game. what fan speed?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
far-cough
Member Guru
 
far-cough's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R7990 6GB
Processor: intel i7 940 @ 3.54ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: DDR3 12Gigs of G.SKILL
Soundcard: sound blaster Fatilitypro
PSU: coolmaster 1250 watt
Default 12-11-2012, 11:18 | posts: 83 | Location: Brisbane QLD AU

could allso be psu
what size do u have with that crossfire setup??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default 12-11-2012, 22:48 | posts: 1,093 | Location: Uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by far-cough View Post
could allso be psu
what size do u have with that crossfire setup??
Funny you should say that cause 2 days ago i was playing farcry 3 and i heard a pop pc powered off burning smells floated my way then the pc powered back up into windows and i started playing some games and there fine ????? so god knows what exploded on my pc`s PSU power and cooling 910w silencer,

I have ordered a MK II power & cooling 950w psu should be here within a day or two.

i have stressed the pc out there psu and its rails seem fine and within spec ect so im not sure what is going on lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
bronzodiriace
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 290x
Processor: I7 920@4.4gh 1.28v
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58 extreme
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 1600mhz 12g
Soundcard: Creative 5.1 5100
PSU: antec true power 4 850w
Default 12-13-2012, 12:48 | posts: 30 | Location: Naples

mmmm

I remember a CF problem regarding the scope of all weapons .

If you use a weapon with an Acog scope and aim with the scope the game deactivate the crossfire.

Press alt+tab
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 12-13-2012, 13:25 | posts: 497

nevermind, you do not need power with crysis 1 is weak...ff...qq... -.-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 12-13-2012, 15:44 | posts: 1,697 | Location: Boston

Quote:
Originally Posted by bronzodiriace View Post
mmmm

I remember a CF problem regarding the scope of all weapons .

If you use a weapon with an Acog scope and aim with the scope the game deactivate the crossfire.

Press alt+tab
That was only in DX9. I dont know if they fixed but it didnt deactivate crossfire.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.