Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Question about upgrading from Windows 7 to Win8
Old
  (#1)
Jonbajo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7950
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8gb
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-fi Platinu
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650w
Default Question about upgrading from Windows 7 to Win8 - 12-08-2012, 02:56 | posts: 82 | Location: Wisconsin

I have Win7 installed on a 120g ssd. I want to upgrade to windows 8. If I want to revert to Win7 after trying 8, what's the best way to save all of my software/music/files/etc AND my installation of Win7 (before installing 8, of course)?

Acronis True Image? EaseUS todo Backup free?

Here's where my confusion lies: Would I need a disk backup? or a Windows backup? data backup? hard drive backup?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
colorblindnejc
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HD5770
Processor: Q8200
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TT550W
Default 12-09-2012, 12:34 | posts: 79

I guess it depends on what you want to preserve. It also depends which program you use to do it... You probably don`t need to backup the whole drive since Im pressuming you are not going to format. Id just make sure that when I backup Windows data Id tick the registry box aswell, that way all your programs / games will be playable as if nothing ever happened if you ever revert...

Not sure if "users" folder is considered as a Windows backup so I suggest you just copy paste it somewhere (my documents, appdata, pictures - its all in the users folder)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-09-2012, 13:06 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I use Acronis.
Test the backup on a spare drive before you delete/upgrade Windows 7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 4gb @1250mhz
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6 1.2v NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: Crosair 860i
Default 12-10-2012, 07:41 | posts: 1,752 | Location: Israel - Haifa

windows back up good too i back up whole c drive
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-10-2012, 08:49 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Windows backup also backs up other drives that are used to install things and wont let me deselect them!
When it sees that I have installed anything on a drive, it will backup that drive as well.
After installing my first few games I tried to backup just the OS drive with Windows backup and the backup was HUGE because of this.
Thats when I went back to Acronis.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hard drive, installation, upgrade, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.