Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The Guru's Pub
The Guru's Pub Hang out with Guru3D's staff and other visitors, have a nice civilized chat, nothing hardware related though !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
96 Ford Ranger gear shifter gage issue
Old
  (#1)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: in process of upgrading
Processor: i5-750(oc'd 3.7 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-USB3
Memory: 4 GB of GSkill DDR3 1333
Soundcard: SoundBlaster XFi Titanium
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 96 Ford Ranger gear shifter gage issue - 12-07-2012, 09:13 | posts: 3,438 | Location: Florida

I have a 96 Ford Ranger supercab 4.0 V6. it shifts into every gear except 1st and have no problems putting into 4x4 high ow low.when I look at the dash the gears don't go past 2(check out the pic to see what im talking) and is it a cheap/easy fix?

Also in this pic I was in drive not 2nd gear


and I also have a small oil drip and not sure where it's coming from because the oil dipstick shows full and I also checked the tranny fluid and is fine.

not sure where the oil drip on that netalic thing came from.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BigBlockTowncar
Maha Guru
 
BigBlockTowncar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX285 1gb
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: EVGA X58
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 12gb
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 12-07-2012, 18:16 | posts: 1,577 | Location: USA

So if the car is in drive, the engine will rev and you will not move anywhere?

What happens if you shift to 1? Does the car move in reverse?

If you are unable to move the selector, there is probably something wrong with the cable.

Your description of the problem is horrible.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 12-07-2012, 18:26 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

agreed with bigblock. Sounds like the gear linkage has fatigued from tention over the years and is keeping you in gear 2. How many miles on it and when was the last time that the tranny pan was dropped and filter/fluid replaced if ever?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: in process of upgrading
Processor: i5-750(oc'd 3.7 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-USB3
Memory: 4 GB of GSkill DDR3 1333
Soundcard: SoundBlaster XFi Titanium
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 12-07-2012, 19:07 | posts: 3,438 | Location: Florida

sorry for the confusion, but what I meant was that R is parked,N is reverse,and 2 puts into drive,and I can't get it past the number 2 which puts in drive. Not sure when the tranny pan was dropped and the person who owned it before him kept it maintained well and it has no issues shifting gears while driving or changing from park to another gear just can't get 2nd or 1st gear. I checked around the oil pan and oil filter and I think it's the drip pan screw.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 12-07-2012, 21:00 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

go to a shop and have them correct the linkage cable.. your truck is fine. It will cost like 30 bucks to have this done, I can go under your truck now and do it for you in 10 minutes. Its just a cable like with your throttle.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BigBlockTowncar
Maha Guru
 
BigBlockTowncar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX285 1gb
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: EVGA X58
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 12gb
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 12-07-2012, 21:16 | posts: 1,577 | Location: USA

Search online for TSB's related to the shift indicator needle for 1996 Ford trucks. Shift needle misalignment is common in older cars that had full mechanical linkages.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 12-07-2012, 23:58 | posts: 2,883 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegade8100 View Post
go to a shop and have them correct the linkage cable.. your truck is fine. It will cost like 30 bucks to have this done, I can go under your truck now and do it for you in 10 minutes. Its just a cable like with your throttle.

This^.....@Jonnyboy You need a mechanic Buddy like Renegade...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 12-08-2012, 01:03 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

There's a shift indicator cable that needs to be replaced. Done a ****load of them. Takes about 30mins to replace it. It just snaps into the instrument cluster and hooks onto a pin on the shift lever. Very easy to replace.

You remove the trim on the steering column, remove the trim below the column on the dash and around the instrument cluster, remove the instrument cluster, unsnap the shift indicator from the instrument cluster (carefully), disconnect the small cable from the shift lever, remove 1 bolt (can't remember the size right off hand but believe it's 5.5mm). Install new shift indicator and reassemble. Problem solved.

1996 Ford Ranger doesn't use a mechanical shift linkage....it uses a shift cable.

BTW, that "metallic thing"....is the fluid pan for your transmission.

@airbud....no need for a mechanic. If you can build a computer, replacing the shift indicator cable is a walk in the park.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 12-08-2012, 04:11 | posts: 2,883 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
There's a shift indicator cable that needs to be replaced. Done a ****load of them. Takes about 30mins to replace it. It just snaps into the instrument cluster and hooks onto a pin on the shift lever. Very easy to replace.

You remove the trim on the steering column, remove the trim below the column on the dash and around the instrument cluster, remove the instrument cluster, unsnap the shift indicator from the instrument cluster (carefully), disconnect the small cable from the shift lever, remove 1 bolt (can't remember the size right off hand but believe it's 5.5mm). Install new shift indicator and reassemble. Problem solved.

1996 Ford Ranger doesn't use a mechanical shift linkage....it uses a shift cable.

BTW, that "metallic thing"....is the fluid pan for your transmission.

@airbud....no need for a mechanic. If you can build a computer, replacing the shift indicator cable is a walk in the park.

Yep^

Last edited by airbud7; 12-08-2012 at 04:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PhantomCracking
Master Guru
 
PhantomCracking's Avatar
 
Videocard: EAH5870 / TT Pro
Processor: i5-750 / Noctua U12P SE2
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: G.SKILL 2x2GB DDR3 2000
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 12-08-2012, 07:30 | posts: 473 | Location: Tennessee

http://www.therangerstation.com/Maga..._indicator.htm

..Might help, just a 'lil.

Plenty tuts on there that'll come in handy down the road.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 12-09-2012, 21:46 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
There's a shift indicator cable that needs to be replaced. Done a ****load of them. Takes about 30mins to replace it. It just snaps into the instrument cluster and hooks onto a pin on the shift lever. Very easy to replace.

You remove the trim on the steering column, remove the trim below the column on the dash and around the instrument cluster, remove the instrument cluster, unsnap the shift indicator from the instrument cluster (carefully), disconnect the small cable from the shift lever, remove 1 bolt (can't remember the size right off hand but believe it's 5.5mm). Install new shift indicator and reassemble. Problem solved.

1996 Ford Ranger doesn't use a mechanical shift linkage....it uses a shift cable.

BTW, that "metallic thing"....is the fluid pan for your transmission.

@airbud....no need for a mechanic. If you can build a computer, replacing the shift indicator cable is a walk in the park.
So, you're saying it's not as easy as looking for the cable that goes from the cabin to the top of his tranny and simply removing the slack? I've done this on Ford and Chrysler pickup trucks from the mid 90's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
jeffmorris
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 760
Processor: Intel I5 4670
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: Two 8GB modules
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX 650W PSU
Default 12-10-2012, 01:41 | posts: 1,266

I think that the shift indicator cable goes from the shift lever to the indicator on the dashboard but it's possible that the linkage between the transmission and the shift lever also needs to be adjusted. There may be linkage between the transmission and the carburetor on older vehicles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 12-10-2012, 12:59 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegade8100 View Post
So, you're saying it's not as easy as looking for the cable that goes from the cabin to the top of his tranny and simply removing the slack? I've done this on Ford and Chrysler pickup trucks from the mid 90's.
The shifter cable has nothing to do with the gear indicator on the cluster being off, if the transmission is going into gear properly.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: in process of upgrading
Processor: i5-750(oc'd 3.7 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-USB3
Memory: 4 GB of GSkill DDR3 1333
Soundcard: SoundBlaster XFi Titanium
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 12-10-2012, 13:32 | posts: 3,438 | Location: Florida

it goes into all gears but gives false showing of what gear it's on, and does that mean I have to replace the cable with the cluster or just the piece that might be broken?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 12-10-2012, 14:55 | posts: 4,842 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
The shifter cable has nothing to do with the gear indicator on the cluster being off, if the transmission is going into gear properly.
Oh, I misread. I thought it wasn't going into the right gears.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 12-10-2012, 22:36 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
it goes into all gears but gives false showing of what gear it's on, and does that mean I have to replace the cable with the cluster or just the piece that might be broken?
You replace the gear indicator.

What happens is, over time the cable that moves the gear indicator stretches resulting it the indicator becoming "misadjusted" and pointing to the wrong gear. Fortunately, there's nothing actually "broken". What you're replacing is the gear select indicator itself, which includes replacing the cable that's attached to it. It's actually very easy to do.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 12-11-2012, 02:02 | posts: 5,232 | Location: FLA,USA

I think is sound like the shift cable has stretched over time the detents felt during shifting are in the transmission iirc. I would say start with just a shift cable or you may be able to adjust the cable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 12-11-2012, 02:12 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

There's no reason to touch the shift cable. This is a very common issue with Rangers and Explorers with column mounted shifters.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: in process of upgrading
Processor: i5-750(oc'd 3.7 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-USB3
Memory: 4 GB of GSkill DDR3 1333
Soundcard: SoundBlaster XFi Titanium
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 12-11-2012, 09:37 | posts: 3,438 | Location: Florida

what's the exact name of the part cause just goggling 96 Ford Ranger Gear shifter part is coming up empty.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.