Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intel to Provide Socketed CPUs for "The Foreseeable Future"
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Intel to Provide Socketed CPUs for "The Foreseeable Future" - 12-06-2012, 07:17 | posts: 19,618 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Internet rumors; Intel finally broke silence this morning telling Maximum PC that it would be offering socketed CPUs for the “foreseeable future.”*The statement should help calm t...

Intel to Provide Socketed CPUs for "The Foreseeable Future"
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
dk_lightning
Maha Guru
 
dk_lightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7870XT
Processor: 3570K 4.5Ghz Silver Arrow
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 2600Mhz
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 2100
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-06-2012, 07:41 | posts: 981 | Location: North Wales

Well thank god for that!!

If they did move to non-socketed CPU's AMD would make a raging come back!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-06-2012, 07:45 | posts: 9,776 | Location: UK

Hehe, after AMDs announcement I guess they didnt want to lose face.

Hilbert, whats with the strange characters in every news post???
They dont translate to control codes, they appear as text.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 12-06-2012, 14:00 | posts: 495

Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_lightning View Post
Well thank god for that!!

If they did move to non-socketed CPU's AMD would make a raging come back!
LOL excuse me come back at what.? even the lowest mid range of intel win all the range of amd cpus...

they just are afraid of non-sence...almost high-end wannabe users who think they are gonna lose performance...that's why the majority of companies employees (nvidia, amd, intel and others) are not like common people...they have brain and knowledge.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 12-06-2012, 14:43 | posts: 6,638 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Who said they were getting rid of them in the first place? All I read was just that Broadwell would be BGA. It never mentioned Haswell EX which will be concurent with broadwell, or the skylake/skymont after it. For all we know Broadwell may be another Westmere, designed for a specific market and for nothing else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 12-06-2012, 14:50 | posts: 5,893 | Location: Dubai

I'm hardly surprised. That previous rumour must've sparked from a brainstorming session at the company all we know, lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.2ghz G0
Mainboard: EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Memory: Corsair XMS2 xtreme 1GBx4
Soundcard: XONAR DG/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 12-06-2012, 17:11 | posts: 3,883 | Location: MI, USA

Phew, I feel better now. I really wasn't looking forward to buying AMD to get a socket. Moving on... BRING ME HASWELL SO I CAN UPGRADE!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 12-06-2012, 18:02 | posts: 4,258 | Location: Spain

not that i really care, i never reused any mobo :S. But yeah, i guess better this way.

Altho for RMAs, you would get a mostly-new system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 12-06-2012, 18:56 | posts: 3,878 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Internet rumors; Intel finally broke silence this morning telling Maximum PC that it would be offering socketed CPUs for the “foreseeable future.”*The statement should help calm t...

Intel to Provide Socketed CPUs for "The Foreseeable Future"

+1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Phatzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 7850
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.66
Mainboard: EVGA X58 SLi
Memory: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz 12GB
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 12-06-2012, 19:13 | posts: 548 | Location: Manchester, uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
LOL excuse me come back at what.? even the lowest mid range of intel win all the range of amd cpus...

they just are afraid of non-sence...almost high-end wannabe users who think they are gonna lose performance...that's why the majority of companies employees (nvidia, amd, intel and others) are not like common people...they have brain and knowledge.
Not sure if you are trolling but AMD is competitive with Intel's current i-series in multi threaded software.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 12-06-2012, 21:56 | posts: 495

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatzy View Post
Not sure if you are trolling but AMD is competitive with Intel's current i-series in multi threaded software.
...stock sure...but intel overclocks much...so...the difference is huge...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
FearFactory
Master Guru
 
FearFactory's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD6950 2GB
Processor: PII X2 555BE (@ X4; 3.7)
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X EVO
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1333 CL8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: Nox Hummer M 650W
Default 12-06-2012, 22:14 | posts: 772 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Hilbert, whats with the strange characters in every news post???
They dont translate to control codes, they appear as text.
Yeah...same here..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 12-06-2012, 22:48 | posts: 15,603 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
...stock sure...but intel overclocks much...so...the difference is huge...
Majority of users, operate at stock clocks.....so, for the vast majority of users, your statement is rather moot...


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 12-06-2012, 23:04 | posts: 495

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Majority of users, operate at stock clocks.....so, for the vast majority of users, your statement is rather moot...
yes but you cannot game with stock amd, with stock intel you can
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 12-06-2012, 23:39 | posts: 12,047 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
yes but you cannot game with stock amd, with stock intel you can
dafuq did I just read?!?!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 12-06-2012, 23:48 | posts: 2,872 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

^Language barrier?
_________________

So will the integration of a fixed CPU bring speed enhancements? E.g: tighter pin connection.

Heat would be another concern too as the CPU would be closer to the board, not resting on a raised socket.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 12-07-2012, 00:06 | posts: 9,776 | Location: UK

It may become necessary to solder the chips if the pins get too numerous and thus too small to prevent damage while fitting / removing a CPU from the socket.
My first 2 socket 1155 boards suffered pin damage after the CPU was fitted and were both dead.
Intel will need to find another method of attaching the CPU if they wish to shrink things much further.

They could of course keep the same pin size and spacing and increase the space a CPU will take up on the motherboard.
But they may end up having to use silver threads from the CPU die to the CPU connections because the connection points will become very small and will all have to spread along the same plane.
With a BGA, they have a 1/2 sphere to arrange the connections.

There are more issues, but they seem to want to apply some effort.
I didnt expect them to run out of ideas yet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
NAMEk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward/GTX560/2GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8600
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX
Soundcard: Realtec ALC1200
PSU: Corsair HX520
Default 12-07-2012, 07:58 | posts: 303 | Location: Lithuania

Yey ;D since they shrink transistors i didn't see that they shrink contacts of CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 12-07-2012, 11:51 | posts: 4,700 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedogg View Post
^Language barrier?
I'd say an intelligence barrier best to ignore and move on.

This really should not have even had to be confirmed by intel. If anyone had bothered to read the arrival that started this rumor it said enthusiast level would be left alone, and isn't the atom CPU soldered to the board so this could be just talking about an atom replacement.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Doug
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HD 4870/GTX260
Processor: E6750 @ 3.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R
Memory: 6GB OCZ Platinum 800Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default 12-07-2012, 13:22 | posts: 4,945 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
yes but you cannot game with stock amd, with stock intel you can
I still run latest games on ****ty outdated dual core pentium, pretty sure ANY new AMD for the past couple years with more than 2 cores would only give me an improvement...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.