Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 12.11 (9.010.8 December 2) AMD Official BETA 11
Old
  (#1)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Talking AMD Catalyst 12.11 (9.010.8 December 2) AMD Official BETA 11 - 12-06-2012, 01:19 | posts: 1,031 | Location: iTALY

New thread, the old one is too much messy...
Keep this clean.

Enjoy
Follow me on Twitter! @asder00

> Download <

AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta11 is now available, and includes the following updates:
(Please note that AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta11 includes all of the fixes found in previous versions of AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta)

  • Improves performance in Far Cry 3 (up to 25% with 8xMSAA, SSAO enabled @ 1600p, and up to 15% with 8xMSAA, HDAO enabled @1600p) (AMD Catalyst 12.11 CAP2 must also be installed)
  • Resolves a sporadic system hang encountered with a single AMD Radeon HD 7000 Series GPU seen on X58 and X79 chipsets.
  • Resolves an intermittent hang encountered with AMD Radeon HD 7000 Series GPUs in a CrossFire Eyefinity setup.
  • Resolves image corruption found in certain DirectX 9.0c titles
  • Resolve missing fonts issue in XBMC
  • Resolves no video issue found in Media Player Classic Home Cinema when using full or half floating point processing
  • Resolves stability issues found in the previous AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta8 driver for Linux
  • For users experiencing issues with HDMI Audio under Ubuntu 12.04, users should try installing the “dkms-hda - 0.201211291615~precise1” package from https://code.launchpad.net/~ubuntu-a...aily/+packages and reboot; this will resolve the HDMI Audio issue found in Ubuntu 12.04



Build Info:
DriverVer=12/02/2012, 9.010.8.0000
9.01.8-121202a-150272E-ATI
Catalyst: 12.11
CCC: 2012.1202.303.5362
D3D: 9.14.10.0942
OGL: 6.14.10.11995
OCL: 10.0.1084.2

Supported Cards
 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by asder00; 12-06-2012 at 01:23.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 12-06-2012, 01:24 | posts: 1,103

"Keep this clean"

heh, we can wish can't we?

In the words of ROB from Starfox for the SNES "Blaaa blaaa ba blaa blaa GOOD LUCK!"

That said, tried over 30 games with these drivers, and even 4 emulators, still not found any problems

Even Planetside 2 is running great, which I've found is an extremely finicky game for settings.

Not tried Borderlands 2, mostly because PS2 is sucking up ALL my free time lately, I should jump around to that eventually for some testing though, mostly just tested "Known" fudgy games like Dead Space 1-2, Skyrim etc which tons of people post problems with, but I've had zero issues with

Last edited by Valagard; 12-06-2012 at 01:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
J-man
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7850
Processor: i5 760
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: SS 550
Default 12-06-2012, 01:28 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
ACIII is a mess, 26% GPU usage and very poor FPS
What about CPU usage? May be it runs only with one or two threads, like i've already noticed for mod'ed GTA IV. Try to turn off two cores and see if CPU usage or fps will change.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 12-06-2012, 01:30 | posts: 1,103

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-man View Post
What about CPU usage? May be it runs only with one or two threads, like i've already noticed for mod'ed GTA IV. Try to turn off two cores and see if CPU usage or fps will change.
Its already been established that AC3's performance is entirely based off the engine, not your hardware.

UBISOFT's forums are "Under assault" by people mad about poor performance, tons of websites reporting it too from reviewers etc complaining about poor PC performance.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Rosewill RG630-S12 630W
Default 12-06-2012, 01:40 | posts: 1,434 | Location: Charleroi, PA

TF2 under Ubuntu 12.10 with these drivers performs well under "certain" conditions. If your playing an offline match vs bots, you might have have decent FPS (100-200), but when playing an online match in MvM, FPS drops drastically (single digit to 40 FPS)

Most likely an engine-related issue though.

Going back to Windows 8 at some point in the near future, and I'll give these same drivers a shot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
shankly1985
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GE Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k @4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8z77 WS
Memory: Kingston HyperX 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X - Roccat
PSU: SuperFlower 1000w Platium
Default 12-06-2012, 04:42 | posts: 385 | Location: England

I had 12.11 beta 8 with CAP1 12.11 and while FC3 performance sucked, I managed to get it smooth. So installed these and even tho they list in change-log FC3 improvements I getting worst performance.

Anyone else noticed same?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
sudeep0
Newbie
 
Videocard: sapphire HD 7850 1gb ddr5
Processor: Intel Core i3-2100, 3.2g
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 4 gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: FSP 500 W
Default 12-06-2012, 06:35 | posts: 4

st repeating my question from old thread:
Just wanted to know does these driver will improve Far cry 3, Dishonored, Hit-man Abs perf for HD 6770 1 gb ddr 5 card. presently I am using Catalyst 12.8 with 12.10 cap 2. So also i play in 1366X768 native resolution. Recommended graphic settings in game and CCC for all these games plz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ELCID777
Banned
 
Videocard: 2x msi hd 7970's
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair tx750 v2
Default 12-06-2012, 08:50 | posts: 246

Nothing but problems with this driver and CAP while playing Far Cry 3 for me. I get random graphical errors/artifacts, and then a total system hard lock where I have to hard reset my PC. If it doesn't completely lock up my PC, it crashes to desktop or gets me a BSOD. These drivers have been HORRIBLE for me with FC3. With 12.11 Beta 8 and CAP 1 I had worse performance but at least I could actually play the game for more than 5 minutes without it crashing on me like it does with this POS driver.

I need to roll back to 12.11 Beta 8 in order to play this game, or I just wasted 60 bucks on this for nothing.

Where can I download 12.11 Beta 8 and CAP 1? I can't find a direct link anywhere. They all take me to that POS driver 12.11 Beta 11
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 12-06-2012, 09:24 | posts: 1,103

Quote:
Originally Posted by sudeep0 View Post
st repeating my question from old thread:
Just wanted to know does these driver will improve Far cry 3, Dishonored, Hit-man Abs perf for HD 6770 1 gb ddr 5 card. presently I am using Catalyst 12.8 with 12.10 cap 2. So also i play in 1366X768 native resolution. Recommended graphic settings in game and CCC for all these games plz.
Install them and find out.

No really, that's it. Install them and find out.

Every PC system is different, you aren't going to know until you install them and check yourself.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
jackliu913
Master Guru
 
jackliu913's Avatar
 
Videocard: R7950x2 CF 1100/1500Mhz
Processor: i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz (H60)
Mainboard: Maximus V Formula
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16g
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: OCZ Z-SERIES 1000W 80+
Default 12-06-2012, 09:55 | posts: 567 | Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

gonna try this with the new 12.11 CAP 2 profile. the last driver Beta 8) has been giving me lots of hangs and crashes even at low overclocks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
MaxBlade
Master Guru
 
MaxBlade's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970/GT770/7970/+ more
Processor: I7, I5 @4.8
Mainboard: Z97x Gigabyte/msi/Asus
Memory: 16g
Soundcard: To many :)
PSU: 1000
Default 12-06-2012, 10:01 | posts: 693

Well work perfect for me with 7950. But lol FarCry 3 is a console port. Just awful. The 1st one was so much better.

I mean man its like it was made for 12 year olds. Thank GOD I did not have to pay for this. Though I was not looking forward to it.. just came free with another card. But if you like it thats all that matters.. enjoy..

"random graphical errors/artifacts" all games will have some of this. But if its alot always check if the heatsink is sitting on the gpu and stuff like that.. test one card at a time. But like I said my one 7950 works fine.. sorry some having problems
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 12-06-2012, 10:12 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Edit: Off topic, trolling.

Last edited by rflair; 12-06-2012 at 11:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
King4x4
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 4xSapphire 290x@1200mhz
Processor: 4930k@4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVBE
Memory: G.Skill TridentX 16gb
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Zx
PSU: 2xSeasonic X-Series 1250w
Default 12-06-2012, 11:28 | posts: 182 | Location: Saudi Arabia

These drivers are just crazy for OCing!

Only problem I have though is that when I OC my desktop goes flickering like crazy until I start the game. NO Oc NO Flicker!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Khaled
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI HD5870 CFX @ 970/1285
Processor: Core i7 930 @ 4.31 Ghz
Mainboard: Intel DX58 Smackover
Memory: 6GPatriot Viper Xtrm 1633
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 12-06-2012, 11:35 | posts: 19 | Location: Tunisia

Hi guys, I managed to get a serious performance boost in Far Cry 3 by renaming "farcry3.exe" to "crysis2.exe" : no artefect, no fps drop, everything is running perfect : 1920x1080, DX9 (DX11 is still buggy), Ultra settings, image buffer 3, solid 60 fps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
V1tol
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Giga GTX =) 650Ti 1Gb OC
Processor: Intel Core i3 3225 3.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte H77-D3H
Memory: XTreem Dark 2x4Gb @ 1600
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Sirtec High Power 600W
Default 12-06-2012, 11:41 | posts: 274 | Location: Sevastopol, Crimea, Ukraine

This drivers really add FPS. With beta8 I could play only on low and I got sudden FPS drops with ~50% GPU load and 50-60 CPU load. Now I am playing with medium (high textures) settings, GPU load is 80-95% and FPS is near 35-50. Game is supersmooth (using RP, didnt test without it) and low FPS is almost unnoticeable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by King4x4 View Post
These drivers are just crazy for OCing!

Only problem I have though is that when I OC my desktop goes flickering like crazy until I start the game. NO Oc NO Flicker!
You have problems with perfomance? With 3x7950 ? Is it really nesessary to overclock? New betas give more perfomance boost now than card overclocking. Beta8 + overclock is the same as stock + Beta11 man, specifically for FC3 .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 12-06-2012, 11:44 | posts: 3,380 | Location: United Kingdom

Far Cry 3 runs like crap on these under crossfire.

I had to Force AFR through CCC to stop the massive stuttering when rendering the sky. I also had to use DX9 to get rid of the stuttering completely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
King4x4
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 4xSapphire 290x@1200mhz
Processor: 4930k@4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVBE
Memory: G.Skill TridentX 16gb
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Zx
PSU: 2xSeasonic X-Series 1250w
Default 12-06-2012, 11:48 | posts: 182 | Location: Saudi Arabia

Quote:
Originally Posted by V1tol View Post
This drivers really add FPS. With beta8 I could play only on low and I got sudden FPS drops with ~50% GPU load and 50-60 CPU load. Now I am playing with medium (high textures) settings, GPU load is 80-95% and FPS is near 35-50. Game is supersmooth (using RP, didnt test without it) and low FPS is almost unnoticeable.



You have problems with perfomance? With 3x7950 ? Is it really nesessary to overclock? New betas give more perfomance boost now than card overclocking. Beta8 + overclock is the same as stock + Beta11 man, specifically for FC3 .
What can I say... I am playing 7680x1440 resolution
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 12-06-2012, 13:05 | posts: 9,602 | Location: UK

Bugger, thought this was yet another new driver
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 12-06-2012, 13:14 | posts: 4,220 | Location: Australia

For all those with issues with any driver, check any overclocks you may have in place. Some people have quite high overclocks, which may work 'fine' in one driver, but cause issues with others (due to the way the driver utilises resources). It does not mean the new driver is any less good, it just means you will have to decrease the overclock slightly (and you probably won't lose performance in doing so either).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
BugMeister
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2xHD7870Ghz-2G crossfire
Processor: i7 965(Extreme Edition)
Mainboard: FoxConn BloodRage
Memory: 3 x 4G Dominator-tripled
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi (onboard)
PSU: PowerStation 1200w
Default 12-06-2012, 17:03 | posts: 83 | Location: UK

- running fine with Skyrim, BF3 in crossfire
- also ie10 (Windows7 preview) everything functioning OK..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Leon_Bassel
Member Guru
 
Leon_Bassel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5650/6500 M
Processor: Intel Core i5 480 M
Mainboard: Ibex Peak-M HM57
Memory: 4GB DDRIII
Soundcard: SRS Premium Sound™
PSU: DELL / 6 Cell Lithium-Ion
Default 12-06-2012, 17:07 | posts: 50 | Location: SYRIA

HI

I want to report THIS Driver 12.11 beta 4 , 8 & 11 make my GPU goes to BSOD = ( 0x116 atikmdag.sys and atikmpag.sys )) no matter how

try clean install

new fresh windows

test it with windows 7 64bit & windows 8 64bit

hope AMD fix it soon

i think this driver doesn't support mobility Gpu as suppose to be

Ati HD 5650M
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 12-06-2012, 17:21 | posts: 2,588 | Location: USA

5650M is not in the supported cards list.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Leon_Bassel
Member Guru
 
Leon_Bassel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5650/6500 M
Processor: Intel Core i5 480 M
Mainboard: Ibex Peak-M HM57
Memory: 4GB DDRIII
Soundcard: SRS Premium Sound™
PSU: DELL / 6 Cell Lithium-Ion
Default 12-06-2012, 17:31 | posts: 50 | Location: SYRIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
5650M is not in the supported cards list.
nah ... it always supported this is the first driver happen this error for me

i try so many drivers .. for now i will using AMD_Catalyst_Enduro_9.01 even they didnt name my card

look bro

Quote:
AMD68E1.3 = "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series"
so its support my card

this pic form windows and my card name





if they say support HD 5000 Mobility Series -> that mean my card too ... ^^
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
xxela
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Radeon R9 290
Processor: AMD FX 8370@5.1
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.
Memory: Kingston HyperX Blu 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 12-06-2012, 18:23 | posts: 86

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELCID777 View Post
Nothing but problems with this driver and CAP while playing Far Cry 3 for me. I get random graphical errors/artifacts, and then a total system hard lock where I have to hard reset my PC. If it doesn't completely lock up my PC, it crashes to desktop or gets me a BSOD. These drivers have been HORRIBLE for me with FC3. With 12.11 Beta 8 and CAP 1 I had worse performance but at least I could actually play the game for more than 5 minutes without it crashing on me like it does with this POS driver.

I need to roll back to 12.11 Beta 8 in order to play this game, or I just wasted 60 bucks on this for nothing.

Where can I download 12.11 Beta 8 and CAP 1? I can't find a direct link anywhere. They all take me to that POS driver 12.11 Beta 11
It happens to me (cant play more than 5 min without crashing to desktop) but I dont know if is the new driver or update 1.0.2 because I install them one after another. Anyway, I have my card overclocked and I find out it was because of that; dont know why but although is stable in every game I played or every stress test I did in this game with 12.11b11 and 1.0.2 installed it give me crashes after crashes. So what I did was to start the game without overclock and after few minutes I apply my overclock profile with key combination(I have overclock profile in CCC). With this trick I have no crashes. Tested one hour and a half of gameplay. Hope it helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
asnos
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 6850
Processor: i50 750 @3.4Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: cooler master 600w
Default 12-06-2012, 18:37 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by King4x4 View Post
These drivers are just crazy for OCing!

Only problem I have though is that when I OC my desktop goes flickering like crazy until I start the game. NO Oc NO Flicker!
these drivers have problems handling the minimum frequency of the gpu, vram. the artifacts are because of that, not the OC
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
@asder00

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.