Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Crysis 3 for PC gets advanced graphics, high-res textures as well
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Crysis 3 for PC gets advanced graphics, high-res textures as well - 12-05-2012, 17:27 | posts: 19,564 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Good news for us PC gamers. Following reveal of Crysis 3′s system requirements over the weekend, I’ve received confirmation from EA and Crytek of which precious secondary settings ...

Crysis 3 for PC gets advanced graphics, high-res textures as well
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
The_Fool
Maha Guru
 
The_Fool's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGIGABYTE Windforce 7950
Processor: i7 2600k, 4.6GHz, NH-D14
Mainboard: GA-Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: 8GB @ 1867MHz
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: Corsair Pro. HX850
Default 12-05-2012, 18:02 | posts: 1,019 | Location: Tiny Town in USA

Well, the high-res texture pack for Crysis 2 wasn't that great. I hope this one will be better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-05-2012, 21:14 | posts: 17,161 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Good news for us PC gamers. Following reveal of Crysis 3′s system requirements over the weekend, I’ve received confirmation from EA and Crytek of which precious secondary settings ...

Crysis 3 for PC gets advanced graphics, high-res textures as well
think guru3d news needs a vacation again, might improve the spelling
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 12-06-2012, 00:37 | posts: 2,542 | Location: Look out!

Hey look Crytek! I'm all out of fcks to give!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 12-06-2012, 01:01 | posts: 9,495 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chubu View Post
Hey look Crytek! I'm all out of fcks to give!
+1, im done with Crytek and their BS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Chouji
Ancient Guru
 
Chouji's Avatar
 
Videocard: 19 inch flat screen
Processor: 500 gigabyte cpu, FAST!?
Mainboard: The case is black
Memory: Ram? Male sheep?
Soundcard: Sound card? Like a CD?
PSU: duh, wall socket
Default 12-06-2012, 01:06 | posts: 5,637 | Location: In a house, on a hill, by a road.

Usually in games, i find 3rd party high-res packs to be of better quality.
I don't think i've played any games where developer made high res packs were better than 3rd party packs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 12-06-2012, 01:15 | posts: 14,480 | Location: Glasgow

They rarely are as good, and never will be.

Textures take alot of time and money, and it's just not worth the while for most developers as the majority of people just won't see, or appreciate them.
Compared to someone like Maldo who can just take 2 years making the textures as he has no deadlines and is doing it for the love of it.

This game won't need much in the way of textures anyway, well certainly less than Crysis2 anyway.
The return to the jungle type setting means they can re-use the same texture over and over like they did in the first game, and i'm sure there will be mods for those who want to wait.

I don't care too much about textures personally, and from what i've saw this is already the best looking game ever, by a good margin as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Volnaiskra
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX680 (& 580 for physX)
Processor: Core i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 12-06-2012, 02:39 | posts: 1

Why do discrete anisotropic filtering settings still exist? I don't think I've seen a single benchmark review in the past 5 years in any game that showed AF to have more than a 1% effect on performance.

If anyone has a GPU so old that they need to consider turning down AF, they ain't gonna be playing Crysis 3.

Anyway, really looking forward to this. That dynamic grass does sound particularly lovely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 12-06-2012, 02:49 | posts: 5,825 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chubu View Post
Hey look Crytek! I'm all out of fcks to give!
Same here!

They're actually making a big deal that we can adjust "Lens Flares" & "Anisotropic Filtering" .. seriously? Maximum meh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
adabiviak
Master Guru
 
adabiviak's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470
Processor: E6850 (Intel C2D @ 3GHz)
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-WS
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper PC-8500
Soundcard: X-Mystique F/O - Yamaha H
PSU: OCZ GameXstream 700W
Default 12-06-2012, 04:42 | posts: 592 | Location: California

Maybe it is fun to play? That would be a funny twist.

I kid - I like them both (and frankly think they look fine).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
zer0_c0ol
Maha Guru
 
zer0_c0ol's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290xCF
Processor: intel 3930k
Mainboard: rampage iv extreme x79
Memory: 8 gigs kingston hyper x d
Soundcard: audigy 2zs gold
PSU: antec 850 w
Default 12-06-2012, 10:59 | posts: 1,921 | Location: mostar(BIH)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Good news for us PC gamers. Following reveal of Crysis 3′s system requirements over the weekend, I’ve received confirmation from EA and Crytek of which precious secondary settings ...

Crysis 3 for PC gets advanced graphics, high-res textures as well
HH u are drunk go home
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
MAD-OGRE
Ancient Guru
 
MAD-OGRE's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI EVGA 780 Classifieds
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @4.6Ghz
Mainboard: MSI z68A-GD80 G3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengance
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMaster SP1000
Default 12-06-2012, 12:03 | posts: 2,875 | Location: Alabama

Whats the ETA on this game?B
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 12-06-2012, 13:56 | posts: 7,439 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmimmfn View Post
+1, im done with Crytek and their BS
Same here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Iggyblack
Ancient Guru
 
Iggyblack's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 470 780/1560/1760
Processor: Intel i5-2310 2.9GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8H61-M LE/BR
Memory: Kingstons 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Antec Neo 650W
Default 12-06-2012, 18:06 | posts: 4,390 | Location: Recife, Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Fool View Post
Well, the high-res texture pack for Crysis 2 wasn't that great. I hope this one will be better.
They should just hire Maldo. that guy is a ****ing genius.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
bryonhowley
Member Guru
 
bryonhowley's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI
Processor: i5 3570K Ivy Bridge
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws 16gig
Soundcard: Realtek 892/Logitech 5.1
PSU: Rosewell Lightning 800w
Default 12-10-2012, 06:14 | posts: 103 | Location: Topeka

The hi-res pack for Crysis 2 was much better than anything I tried from any mods.
As far as that goes I found Crysis 2 to be very good from day one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 12-10-2012, 06:25 | posts: 6,362 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggyblack View Post
They should just hire Maldo. that guy is a ****ing genius.
This. Maldo is better than the Crysis team put together.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 12-10-2012, 06:48 | posts: 3,493 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryonhowley View Post
The hi-res pack for Crysis 2 was much better than anything I tried from any mods.
As far as that goes I found Crysis 2 to be very good from day one.
If you are talking about the Crytek Hi-Res pack, I suggest you haven't actually tried the MaldoHD pack (currently version 4.0 beta). Hopefully the final will be released soon, assuming that the hardware issues Maldo had have been solved and nothing had been lost.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Zboe
Master Guru
 
Zboe's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 570 SLI
Processor: 2600K @ 5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 WS Revolution
Memory: 16GB Corsair VengeanceLP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: PCP&C silencer mk II 950
Default 12-10-2012, 14:26 | posts: 534 | Location: USA

I played Crysis 1 and 2, worth at least one playthrough...For me Warhead was too buggy to finish though.

I'll play through 3 at least once as well just to see how it looks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Badelhas
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gtx570 in SLI
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: P8Z68-v Pro
Memory: 8Gb 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Dx
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default 12-10-2012, 16:15 | posts: 41 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
They rarely are as good, and never will be.

Textures take alot of time and money, and it's just not worth the while for most developers as the majority of people just won't see, or appreciate them.
Compared to someone like Maldo who can just take 2 years making the textures as he has no deadlines and is doing it for the love of it.

This game won't need much in the way of textures anyway, well certainly less than Crysis2 anyway.
The return to the jungle type setting means they can re-use the same texture over and over like they did in the first game, and i'm sure there will be mods for those who want to wait.

I don't care too much about textures personally, and from what i've saw this is already the best looking game ever, by a good margin as well.
Couldnt agree less. I think game graphics inovation is stopped since Crysis 1, due to consoles being 7 years old already. I am yet to see another game that makes proper use of current graphic cards and that has that WOW factor Crysis 1 had. Personally I dont believe this will be the one, sadly, and I dont believe a word Crytek says. Maybe when Valve releases their just announced console we will see games making good use of the power PCs have now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 12-10-2012, 16:17 | posts: 3,320 | Location: Nederland

Interesting, an advanced port.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
ASLayerAODsk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gb R9 280x OC
Processor: Intel i7 4820k 3.7/3.9 WC
Mainboard: Asus P9X79LE
Memory: DDR3 16G Patriot 1600
Soundcard: XonarSTX/NAD7120/B&WDM610
PSU: CMaster SilentPro 1Kw
Default 12-10-2012, 16:43 | posts: 677 | Location: Canada

while graphics nice, innovation not there, gameplay is boring game?



*just trying to keep in the original spirit of the original post*
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.5GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: ALC1150 SB Cinema,TB P11
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 12-10-2012, 17:34 | posts: 1,914 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Quote:
There are not many other games that can offer this kind of realistic grass simulation and rendering on a multiplatform basis.
Grass Simulator 3, with even more HD grass then before on all platforms.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.