Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How to verify TRIM is working?
Old
  (#1)
sovietdoc
Master Guru
 
sovietdoc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX470 SLI
Processor: 3930K @ 5.00Ghz
Mainboard: GA-X79-UD3
Memory: 16Gb PC3-19200
Soundcard: Forte 7.1
PSU: TT 1200W
Question How to verify TRIM is working? - 11-30-2012, 21:43 | posts: 633 | Location: h4x0r_lund

I know there are a ton of posts about using fsutil query but I also read that it actually doesn't realistically show you whether TRIM is really on or not. I can't seem to download SSD Life because all their mirrors are down.

Are there any other ways of hardcore proving that its working?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 11-30-2012, 22:02 | posts: 1,600 | Location: Unknown

fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify

in command prompt. 0 means it's enabled, 1 disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AllTech
Member Guru
 
AllTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: MAXIMUS IV
Memory: Mushkin 4x4 2133
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 11-30-2012, 22:43 | posts: 79 | Location: Ohio

Here is a link to an article on Tom`s Hardware, in depth optimizing SSD. Verify trim along with many other tweaks. Check it out


http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...weak,2911.html


Verify TRIM:
•In the Start menu search box, type "cmd" without the quotes
•Right-click the cmd program and select Run as Administrator
•In the command line, type "fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify", again without the quotes •if DisableDeleteNotify = 0, then TRIM is enabled
•If DisableDeleteNotify = 1, then TRIM is disabled
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sovietdoc
Master Guru
 
sovietdoc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX470 SLI
Processor: 3930K @ 5.00Ghz
Mainboard: GA-X79-UD3
Memory: 16Gb PC3-19200
Soundcard: Forte 7.1
PSU: TT 1200W
Default 12-01-2012, 01:23 | posts: 633 | Location: h4x0r_lund

Guys, this is exactly what I am asking about, I am well aware of the fsutil way of checking, I was wondering if there was any other way.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1306MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-01-2012, 02:46 | posts: 2,415 | Location: canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovietdoc View Post
Are there any other ways of hardcore proving that its working?
To be honest I’m not really sure there is a yes or no answer, only if it’s enabled or not. Reviewers of the drives have to do extensive damage to them, and then use benchmarks to test if trim enabled and working.

As long as you know it’s enabled and performance remains consistent, you’ll know its working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Arctucas
Maha Guru
 
Arctucas's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI nVIDIA 560Ti
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: eVGA 141-GT-E770-A1
Memory: Mushkin998966 Radioactive
Soundcard: X-Meridian 7.1 2G/ Z-5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 12-01-2012, 14:24 | posts: 1,871

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...vers&p=5122967

Post #55.

Last edited by Arctucas; 12-01-2012 at 17:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
tweakpower
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI HD 6770
Processor: FX-4100 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: HuperX 2x4GB PC12800
Soundcard: Realtek Onboard
PSU: LC-Power 600W
Default 12-01-2012, 17:11 | posts: 932 | Location: Serbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovietdoc View Post
Guys, this is exactly what I am asking about, I am well aware of the fsutil way of checking, I was wondering if there was any other way.
SSD Life (Pro/Trial) program can check it, probably at the same way as command promt method.

Also, you can track down writes etc. if you need it ofc. But that is pointless for regular users, just set it, and leave it alone.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 12-02-2012, 12:45 | posts: 1,312 | Location: The Netherlands

"fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify" does NOT show if TRIM is functional on a SSD. It only shows whether Windows has the TRIM functionality enabled or not. When it's enabled enabled in Windows, it's still up to the storage driver to pass the TRIM command to the SSD. If the storage driver doesn't support it, TRIM will simply not work.

OP, you might want to try the WinHEX method in Arctucas post. I've tried it to check if TRIM was working on my RAID array. It didn't, as expected on my Z68 board
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Fernando 1
Newbie
 
Fernando 1's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek HDAudio Chip
PSU: 650W Rasurbo
Default 12-02-2012, 22:27 | posts: 25 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNL View Post
OP, you might want to try the WinHEX method in Arctucas post. I've tried it to check if TRIM was working on my RAID array. It didn't, as expected on my Z68 board
But you probably know, that you are able to get TRIM into your Z68 RAID0 array. Look >here<.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 12-03-2012, 14:34 | posts: 1,312 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fernando 1 View Post
But you probably know, that you are able to get TRIM into your Z68 RAID0 array. Look >here<.
Thanks Fernando for the heads up! Didn't get the good news yet.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
sovietdoc
Master Guru
 
sovietdoc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX470 SLI
Processor: 3930K @ 5.00Ghz
Mainboard: GA-X79-UD3
Memory: 16Gb PC3-19200
Soundcard: Forte 7.1
PSU: TT 1200W
Default 12-17-2012, 23:19 | posts: 633 | Location: h4x0r_lund

Thank guys, the WinHEX was the thing I was looking for.

I just had to verify if I got TRIM to truly work with my two 256gig 840 Pro's on X79 chipset. It works yay!

Thanks for the help!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.