Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Far Cry 3 VGA Graphics Benchmark performance test
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Far Cry 3 VGA Graphics Benchmark performance test - 11-30-2012, 13:21 | posts: 20,525 | Location: Guru3D testlab

In this review we'll look at Far Cry 3 VGA Graphics benchmark performance with roughly 15 graphics cards. The new and popular title is looking great from a graphics point of view. But as a result how...

Far Cry 3 VGA Graphics Benchmark performance test
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 11-30-2012, 13:27 | posts: 621 | Location: Croatia

I personally use the latest WHQL drivers and I really enjoy the game, no problems at all(*knocks on wood*)...

I use everything at max settings with MSAA X2, and HBAO instead of HDAO.

Seems fine to me, havent tried it with MSI afterburner or similar to keep track of FPS, but I get no slow downs or too much screen tearing meaning it is really smooth and nice to play with.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 270x [1200/6000]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 11-30-2012, 13:44 | posts: 1,267 | Location: Portugal

Looks like i can squeeze 40/45 fps just fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
MikeMK
Ancient Guru
 
MikeMK's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon R9 290X
Processor: Core i7 2600k @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: 8GB GSkill Ripjaw 2133mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 11-30-2012, 14:03 | posts: 10,675 | Location: Woking

Nice article Hilbert - looking forward to the full article next we when you have the new drivers. Would be interested to see ultra setting performance particularly for SLI & xfire set ups to get an idea of the scaling!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 14:05 | posts: 18,333 | Location: Turkey

Thank you very much.

it looks like i did a good purchase : 480 > 680
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 11-30-2012, 14:05 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe

Cool! Thanks for benchmarks
BTW
Quote:
The processor is a Core i7 965 clocked at 3750 MHz. This system is an equivalent to a Core i7 2600 K processor
I'm not sure, but isn't 2600 faster?

Quote:
This article will be continued next week once AMDs new driver is out.
Boss, do you have it?

Last edited by Xzibit; 11-30-2012 at 14:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios @1215
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 11-30-2012, 14:26 | posts: 6,444 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Thanks, HH.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 11-30-2012, 14:45 | posts: 8,706 | Location: UK

New AMD driver coming then, cheers Hilbert
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
chaotic1
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
Processor: PHENOM II 1100T X6 @4Ghz
Mainboard: CrosshairIV Formula 890FX
Memory: RipJawX PC3-12800C9 2x4gb
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: CM Silent Pro M1000W
Default 11-30-2012, 14:49 | posts: 2,855

so my 6970 is not very good at ultra high settings , time for an upgrade due to liking all the eye candy lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PNeV
Maha Guru
 
PNeV's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 @ 1150/1650
Processor: 3570K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec HCG M 620W
Default 11-30-2012, 15:40 | posts: 1,714 | Location: Northampton, United Kingdom

Can probably get Ultra if MSAA and A2C is turned off. I run BF3 Ultra with only FXAA on High and get over 100fps at times
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Tr00pertj
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
Processor: Q6600
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
Memory: 6 GIG DDR 1066
Soundcard: Onboard+Creative Live
PSU: Tough Power 850W
Default 11-30-2012, 16:13 | posts: 7 | Location: Australia

G1day peoples:

Well the thing is Where do we find the best performance when it comes to CPU and GPU Statistics? The best I can mesure is Better Quaility with my GTX 470 Than with my ATI 4870x2. I could go on and on but FarCray 3 is Here?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Barry J
Maha Guru
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Videocard: X2 EVGA 660ti SC SLi 3D
Processor: i5 4690K H100i
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII Hero
Memory: 16GB 1600 4x4GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300w G2
Default 11-30-2012, 16:15 | posts: 1,624 | Location: Ipswich UK

pleased i upgraded my GTX470 to a 660ti nice hardware review
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
mohiuddin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus directcu hd6850
Processor: intel core 2 quad q6600
Mainboard: Intel dg33fb
Memory: 3gb ddr2 667bus
Soundcard:
PSU: GIGABYTE 1200w Odin pro
Default 11-30-2012, 16:26 | posts: 528

Awesome.
Specific Game based cpu, gpu testing here in guru3d is really appreciated.
@hilbert hagedoorn
a cpu bench on farcry 3 and ac3 would be awesome with fx6300 included.
I may buy a fx6300.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Silent_Takedown
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 770 WF3
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: CreativeSBL/Inspire P5800
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
Default 11-30-2012, 16:42 | posts: 453

Very nicely done, Hilbert. Thank you.

Look forward to seeing how things change when you test with the newer AMD drivers next week.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
St2st
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x680GTX
Processor: 2600K@4800
Mainboard: P8P67 WS Revolution
Memory: 16 Gb
Soundcard: Integrated+Edifier spk
PSU: TR2RX 1000
Default 11-30-2012, 17:12 | posts: 4 | Location: Moscow, Russia

The problem is: when you just sightseeing, everything's great and fps never drops below 60. In action, especially in close combats, the counter shows 25-30. Very annoying! My settings: 2560x1440, Ultra, no MSAA, SSAO.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 11-30-2012, 17:31 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
it looks like i did a good purchase : 480 > 680
Huh?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Elder III
Maha Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 4GB 5760x1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD45
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair CX-600
Default 11-30-2012, 17:49 | posts: 2,372 | Location: Ohio

Here;s hoping that my CPU can keep up...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
makaveli316
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.2
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-I DELUXE
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8gb LP
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Pro
PSU: Corsair 650HX
Default 11-30-2012, 19:03 | posts: 129 | Location: Freiburg, Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme1979 View Post
Huh?
I think he went from a 480 to 680.
480 isn't in any way > (better) than 680.

About the game - i played 30 min mostly screwing around. I set everything on ultra/max and it was a struggle. The cutscene when you're in the cage was lagging like hell, it was unwatchable and the gameplay also.
Then i lowered few things and now it's better, but still...
Very graphically demanding game.

P.S. Does anybody knows when Nvidia will release a driver for FC3? I really want to wait until the new drivers, cause this game is worth the wait.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 20:12 | posts: 18,333 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme1979 View Post
Huh?
my bad

480 --> 680

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 11-30-2012, 20:30 | posts: 5,463

Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveli316 View Post
P.S. Does anybody knows when Nvidia will release a driver for FC3? I really want to wait until the new drivers, cause this game is worth the wait.
They did just a couple days ago.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=371608
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
makaveli316
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K @ 4.2
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-I DELUXE
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8gb LP
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Pro
PSU: Corsair 650HX
Default 11-30-2012, 20:56 | posts: 129 | Location: Freiburg, Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
They did just a couple days ago.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=371608
Thanks man, i thought i had the latest. Now that i checked, i'm with the 310.61
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 12-01-2012, 02:51 | posts: 2,883 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Good Job....Me gotta wait(big pond thing?) Dec-4........

Last edited by airbud7; 12-01-2012 at 02:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-01-2012, 10:39 | posts: 23,843 | Location: NZ

Finally vram usage is included! Great to see.

Thx Hilbert.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 12-01-2012, 10:46 | posts: 2,872 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

Some here may hate me for this, but I'm gonna say it anyway.

Was doing a bit of thinking and I was wondering, Hilbert, would you be able to test games with the minimum PC requirements? For once it would actually be good to see what sort of performance people can expect with the minimum.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 12-01-2012, 18:38 | posts: 1,824

I would say with the medium settings, low is kinda bad.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.