Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Zotac GTX680 is better than my Zotac 480?
Old
  (#1)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default Zotac GTX680 is better than my Zotac 480? - 11-30-2012, 11:03 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

well, when a game doesnt MAX out with my system, i feel cheap.

i want to change my GPU which is easier than changing CPu for me.

What if i change my 480 with 680 ? FAR CRY 3 may run better i guess hu?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 11-30-2012, 11:05 | posts: 6,974 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
well, when a game doesnt MAX out with my system, i feel cheap.

i want to change my GPU which is easier than changing CPu for me.

What if i change my 480 with 680 ? FAR CRY 3 may run better i guess hu?
Of course it will. In most cases you will get a 40-60% improvement...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 11:15 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
Of course it will. In most cases you will get a 40-60% improvement...
for real bro?

hmm..now thats deal on my book.. thanx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 11-30-2012, 11:25 | posts: 2,865 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

You've been here for how long? and you're asking a question like this?

Am I missing something here?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 11-30-2012, 11:45 | posts: 3,094

You shouldn't upgrade to GTX 680, GTX 670 performs within 10% and costs $100 less. Some 670's are factory overclocked to GTx 680 speeds, e.g. EVGA 670 FTW. Both cards run the risk of being bottlenecked by your CPU if you don't overclock it. With proper cooling and a good motherboard, the i7 950 can OC to 4GHz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 11-30-2012, 12:09 | posts: 18,916 | Location: New Jersey, USA

The evga ftw is clocked the same as a 680 so it is slightly slower due to less shaders 1344 vs 1536
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 12:11 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

i bought it..hope it will work good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Alien_Zero
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 3x R9 290x
Processor: Ci7 3970x@ 4.6X
Mainboard: Asus Rampage 4 Extreme
Memory: 4x4GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZXr
PSU: Silverstone ST1500
Wink 11-30-2012, 12:18 | posts: 298 | Location: Riyadh

And for God's sake man....Overclock that CPU !!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 11-30-2012, 12:23 | posts: 11,415 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alien_Zero View Post
And for God's sake man....Overclock that CPU !!!
Have to agree, but watch temps Bloomfields can get warm over 4GHz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 11-30-2012, 12:26 | posts: 2,104 | Location: Estonia

Looking at the post count of the OP, one must be thinking that this is a troll post. Nevermind though I guess..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 12:35 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alien_Zero View Post
And for God's sake man....Overclock that CPU !!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
Have to agree, but watch temps Bloomfields can get warm over 4GHz
even guru3d has and OC guide for my MOBO. but i tried it and even 10 MHZ increase my OS wont startup..

i tried it several times but no go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 11-30-2012, 12:43 | posts: 3,094

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
The evga ftw is clocked the same as a 680 so it is slightly slower due to less shaders 1344 vs 1536
That's mainly an academic point. In benchmarks it performs about the same, sometimes faster, sometimes slower. http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphi...70-ftw/?page=3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 11-30-2012, 15:06 | posts: 18,916 | Location: New Jersey, USA

OP enjoy your new card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 18:07 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
OP enjoy your new card
i will, if W8 let me install drivers. it keeps telling me: The hardware wizard is running wait for it finish bla bla boa..man...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Uncle Dude
Maha Guru
 
Uncle Dude's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SLI
Processor: 2600k/H100i @ 4.8
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: Vengeance 16GB@1866
Soundcard: Avid Eleven Rack
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 11-30-2012, 18:22 | posts: 2,245 | Location: USA

Biggie - the 680 isn't compatible with a 360 controller.



I kid, I kid.

Enjoy your new card, brudda.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
gridiron whirlw
Ancient Guru
 
gridiron whirlw's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 570 SLI
Processor: Intel i5-2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen 3
Memory: 8GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
Soundcard: MAD Ear+HD & Grado RS1i
PSU: Corsair 850 Watt
Default 11-30-2012, 18:33 | posts: 3,599 | Location: Ohio

You will love your new card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
KGBKGB
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX 660TI SC 2GB
Processor: Intel 2500K @4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth P67
Memory: Corsair Dominator DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2
PSU: Seasonic X-800
Default 11-30-2012, 18:39 | posts: 32 | Location: North America

OP sucks at being a troll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 11-30-2012, 21:00 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Dude View Post
Biggie - the 680 isn't compatible with a 360 controller.



I kid, I kid.

Enjoy your new card, brudda.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gridiron whirlw View Post
You will love your new card.
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.


And yes it works great. im surprised with the performance increase. far cry 3 is smooth now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 11-30-2012, 22:27 | posts: 18,916 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGBKGB View Post
OP sucks at being a troll.
he is a long time member here, he is not a troll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 12-01-2012, 09:56 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
he is a long time member here, he is not a troll.
Thank you. .

And also i want to point that, this 680 doesnt make fan noise as 480. Man , such jet like turbo fan noise on 480
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 12-01-2012, 11:40 | posts: 3,094

You should still overclocked that CPU of yours. It's almost certainly going to bottleneck your new GPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 12-01-2012, 13:57 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
You should still overclocked that CPU of yours. It's almost certainly going to bottleneck your new GPU.
Cant do it man, even increasing 10MHZ , OS wont boot. but let me try this with W8. and new RAM i have since that happened. let me try tonight.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 12-01-2012, 14:24 | posts: 2,541 | Location: Look out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Dude View Post
Biggie - the 680 isn't compatible with a 360 controller.



I kid, I kid.
roflmao
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 12-01-2012, 14:47 | posts: 3,094

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
Cant do it man, even increasing 10MHZ , OS wont boot. but let me try this with W8. and new RAM i have since that happened. let me try tonight.
Windows 7 or 8 won't matter, if it doesn't boot it doesn't boot, it's all in the hardware. Maybe you're not giving it enough juice, or maybe there are other settings you should change, like RAM speed. It's simply not possible that an i7-950 doesn't overclock at all. They all overclock, it's just a matter of how much and how easily. Do you have an aftermarket CPU cooler?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 12-01-2012, 15:20 | posts: 18,606 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Windows 7 or 8 won't matter, if it doesn't boot it doesn't boot, it's all in the hardware. Maybe you're not giving it enough juice, or maybe there are other settings you should change, like RAM speed. It's simply not possible that an i7-950 doesn't overclock at all. They all overclock, it's just a matter of how much and how easily. Do you have an aftermarket CPU cooler?
Yes a nice big thermaltake.

I flowed the exact guide in guru3d, which is specificly for my mobo. But still no joy.

I will try tonight and lets see how it performs.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.