Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
asus xonar phoebus installation question
Old
  (#1)
seizetheday4eva
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 680 4GB GTX
Processor: Intel i7 2600K 3.40GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD7
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium HD/ZZ5500
PSU: Corsair 850 Watt
Default asus xonar phoebus installation question - 11-27-2012, 17:31 | posts: 24 | Location: London

So my friend has given me his asus xonar phoebus to try out, quick question though, the Asus drivers on the CD aren't any good, Asus have released another driver to fix all the problems (8.0.1.22) for Win8.

My question is do i install the CD driver and then install the newer driver over it or just install the newer driver direct from the website and leave the CD alone.

But then don't i have to install the CD to use all the software such as Dolby Theatre 4 etc?

Anyone got this card, is there an option on the CD to just install the software without installing the driver?

Lastly for those with the card what are you opinions since the driver fix/update?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 11-27-2012, 17:51 | posts: 2,070 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by seizetheday4eva View Post
So my friend has given me his asus xonar phoebus to try out, quick question though, the Asus drivers on the CD aren't any good, Asus have released another driver to fix all the problems (8.0.1.22) for Win8.

My question is do i install the CD driver and then install the newer driver over it or just install the newer driver direct from the website and leave the CD alone.

But then don't i have to install the CD to use all the software such as Dolby Theatre 4 etc?

Anyone got this card, is there an option on the CD to just install the software without installing the driver?

Lastly for those with the card what are you opinions since the driver fix/update?
Just install the newer drivers from scratch..Don't use the CD at all. I had issues with my Phoebus and the driver CD. What you have there,is one of the best sound cards available today. Lots of settings etc. Play around and experiment with the various pre-sets etc. You'll be amazed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
seizetheday4eva
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 680 4GB GTX
Processor: Intel i7 2600K 3.40GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD7
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium HD/ZZ5500
PSU: Corsair 850 Watt
Default 11-27-2012, 17:55 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
Just install the newer drivers from scratch..Don't use the CD at all. I had issues with my Phoebus and the driver CD. What you have there,is one of the best sound cards available today. Lots of settings etc. Play around and experiment with the various pre-sets etc. You'll be amazed.
Thanks for the quick response.

What about the software, do i need to install this from the CD or when i download the driver from Asus does it install all the software with it i.e. Dolby Home Theatre v4 and the ROG software?

The new driver is only 55,1 (MBytes), some i'm not sure if this has the Home Theater V4 software etc?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
seizetheday4eva
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 680 4GB GTX
Processor: Intel i7 2600K 3.40GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD7
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium HD/ZZ5500
PSU: Corsair 850 Watt
Default 11-27-2012, 20:15 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Another question i've got the Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7 motherboard and i'm thinking which slot is best to install the sound card in. Currently the only card i'm using is my graphics card which is in the first slot - PCIEX16_1.

Actually the first question is do sound cards benefit from being in PCIEX 16? I'm hoping not because my graphics card is also in one of my Express slots so if i add the sound card to my other Express 16 slot it will eat up the bandwidth of my graphics card right?

Would it be a better idea to put it in my Express X8 slot? Wouldn't be able to fit it in my Express 8_1 slot as it would block the fans of my graphics card but i could put it in my Express 8_2 slot. Would that be the best option?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 11-28-2012, 12:25 | posts: 2,070 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by seizetheday4eva View Post
Another question i've got the Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7 motherboard and i'm thinking which slot is best to install the sound card in. Currently the only card i'm using is my graphics card which is in the first slot - PCIEX16_1.

Actually the first question is do sound cards benefit from being in PCIEX 16? I'm hoping not because my graphics card is also in one of my Express slots so if i add the sound card to my other Express 16 slot it will eat up the bandwidth of my graphics card right?

Would it be a better idea to put it in my Express X8 slot? Wouldn't be able to fit it in my Express 8_1 slot as it would block the fans of my graphics card but i could put it in my Express 8_2 slot. Would that be the best option?
Your sound card can go in any PCIe slot with no downgrade in quality or bandwidth. The drivers include all the software for dolby etc.,as would be on the cd. Just download the new drivers and install as usual. Everything you need is there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 11-28-2012, 20:26 | posts: 16,175 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Check your mobo and make sure the audio card is not bottlenecking the bandwidth for PCI-E X16 bus.

On some mobos if you put a lower spec card in a X16 slot in multi slot array it will lower the spec, ssay turn X16 slots to X8. Not on allbut something to keep in mind.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Glasofruix
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9 280X
Processor: Inter Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45
Memory: 16 Gigz, kingston hyperX
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: LDLC QS-650 (a seasonic)
Default 11-28-2012, 21:49 | posts: 51 | Location: Europe

Yeah, but the impact on performance is minimal or null, unless you run with the latest powerhungry monsters in SLI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 11-28-2012, 22:54 | posts: 2,070 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glasofruix View Post
Yeah, but the impact on performance is minimal or null, unless you run with the latest powerhungry monsters in SLI.
Not really. As you can see in my sig.,I have two 680s and have NO issues what so ever.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 11-28-2012, 23:32 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Robscix means that if you have one gfx card and fit the sound card into a x16 slot, it might reduce the perfomance of the PCI-E slot that the gfx card is in.
Even though the performance loss will be a few %, some people pay a lot of money to get a few %, and if you dont need to lose performance, it makes sense not to by observing sensible precautions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 11-29-2012, 02:28 | posts: 16,175 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

@Mufflore, Exactly. It can pull your X16 bus down to X8 depending on the motherboard so it is a factor to be considered.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Glasofruix
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9 280X
Processor: Inter Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45
Memory: 16 Gigz, kingston hyperX
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: LDLC QS-650 (a seasonic)
Default 11-30-2012, 15:44 | posts: 51 | Location: Europe

On my p5q pro my gpu blocks the available pci-e x1 slots, so my soundcard is in the lower x16 slot and now both slots are in x8 mode. I've made some tests and no performance loss whatsoever, but then i don't think my 6870 can saturate a pci-e bus.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 11-30-2012, 18:34 | posts: 2,070 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glasofruix View Post
On my p5q pro my gpu blocks the available pci-e x1 slots, so my soundcard is in the lower x16 slot and now both slots are in x8 mode. I've made some tests and no performance loss whatsoever, but then i don't think my 6870 can saturate a pci-e bus.
Now that you have it installed etc.,how do you like it? Have you had time to play with some of the software? Let us know what you think. If you have problems with software,and the settings,we can probably help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Glasofruix
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9 280X
Processor: Inter Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45
Memory: 16 Gigz, kingston hyperX
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: LDLC QS-650 (a seasonic)
Default 11-30-2012, 21:53 | posts: 51 | Location: Europe

It wasn't me who needed help But yes, i really like this card.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.