Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gaming Rig Confirmation
Old
  (#1)
Capcha
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 6570 1GB DDR3
Processor: i7 2600s
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 300W
Default Gaming Rig Confirmation - 11-27-2012, 03:22 | posts: 9

I am about to go with this setup for gaming, after researching it fairly thoroughly over the course of about a year. This is my first custom build by the way.
I have plans to overclock the cpu to at least 4.5.
Planning to overclock the graphics card as well.
Anything look wrong or should I change anything?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116504
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127672
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131821
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231416
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835181017
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227726
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151095
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146067
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 03:45 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Swap the 680 for this or this or one of these.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-27-2012 at 03:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 11-27-2012, 07:11 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

Since you're planning to overclock video card, this ^

Unless you really need Sabertooth, switch to something cheaper, like Z77 Extreme4 or Z77X-D3H/UD3H. Saves you 100$.

Agility 3 is slow and relatively unreliable. Get Samsung 830. Either 256GB or 128GB.

If RAM reliability is not very important, G.Skill will be fine. Otherwise go with Crucial, Samsung or Kingston.

Switch PSU to Seasonic X 650W http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151088
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd4000
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 11-27-2012, 07:17 | posts: 5,739 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Stick with the 680 and live the dream, borderlands 2 awaits, Slab.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 08:09 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Stick with the 680 and live the dream, borderlands 2 awaits, Slab.
Which dream would that be....the one you're living in perhaps?

http://www.techspot.com/review/603-best-graphics-cards/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 11-27-2012, 08:15 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown





http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...d-HD-7970/GPU-

108% faster. Not that everyone cares about BL2...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd4000
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 11-27-2012, 08:20 | posts: 5,739 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Minimum is what matters not maximum LOL.
solid 60 oh yeah, 33fps amd what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Which dream would that be....the one you're living in perhaps?

http://www.techspot.com/review/603-best-graphics-cards/
i'll throw another in, should a game be deserving.

Last edited by SLI-756; 11-27-2012 at 08:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 08:27 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBEAST View Post



http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...d-HD-7970/GPU-

108% faster. Not that everyone cares about BL2...
LOL that pcper benchmark was done nearly 2 months ago using ancient 12.8 drivers.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-27-2012 at 08:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 11-27-2012, 08:30 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
LOL that pcper benchmark was done nearly 2 months ago using ancient 12.8 drivers.
At least it was done using Maximum settings. That sort of settings anyone buying a high-end PC would want to play on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 11-27-2012, 08:33 | posts: 1,411 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBEAST View Post




http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...d-HD-7970/GPU-

108% faster. Not that everyone cares about BL2...
Why the hell you bring High PhysX on the table? You do realize AMD doesn't support it?
What CPU was used for those graphs? CPU probably getting owned on MINs with PhysX there.

http://www.techspot.com/review/577-b...nce/page5.html

Last edited by sverek; 11-27-2012 at 08:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 08:33 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBEAST View Post
At least it was done using Maximum settings. That sort of settings anyone buying a high-end PC would want to play on.
Read the rest of the article instead of just looking at the pictures.

Quote:
Obviously there is still a lot of testing to be done with Borderlands 2 as we plan to integrate in our GPU testing going forward. As we have done in the past, the chances are good that we will do so setting PhysX at the lowest possible setting - it annoys NVIDIA when we do that but it seems to be the most fair way to compare the performance of these varying GPUs.
The results are skewed anway;
Quote:
I did finally get an answer from Gearbox about the slow downs we were seeing on the AMD results. Apparently when larger collections of PhysX simulations are running on the CPU, those threads can take quite a bit longer than they would when running on the GPU. As a result, the CPU (and rest of the game engine code) becomes "blocked" waiting for a single thread to finish, which results in the lower CPU utilization we saw on the AMD results as well as the lower overall performance.
And I didn't drag you into anything. Nice edit...

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-27-2012 at 08:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd4000
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 11-27-2012, 08:45 | posts: 5,739 | Location: Sunny Scotland

tbh i thought fella was posting graph in support of amd saying only 110% difference or whatever the max framerate was, i disregarded the physx bias and overlooked the minimum, hence my at the very least misleading -not for citing the physx bias - comment.
but sure if physx didn't exist or we had 8GHz and beyond processors then i'm dual 7970 lightnings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Justhavocman
Member Guru
 
Justhavocman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 670 DC2
Processor: i7-2600
Mainboard: Foxxcon H61MXV
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX PRO750W Core Edition
Default 11-27-2012, 08:49 | posts: 98 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Which dream would that be....the one you're living in perhaps?

http://www.techspot.com/review/603-best-graphics-cards/
Live the dream of not having an AMD card making jet noises in your PC rig and turning it into a real furnace with its temps

Go for a GTX 670 mate , Asus directu cu ii has the same performance as the 680 with better cooling and noise levels + CHEAPER , cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 11-27-2012, 08:56 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

I edited it to leave it for now...

Don't drag me into this. I don't give a single f*ck about BL2. If I did and wanted to play it maxed out though, GTX is the only way to go. Playing PhysX title without PhysX is no different than, for example, playing DX11 title without DX11 graphics features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justhavocman View Post
Live the dream of not having an AMD card making jet noises in your PC rig and turning it into a real furnace with its temps
Noise and temps depend on cooling system. With proper non-reference cooler there won't be any noise/temperature problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 08:58 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justhavocman View Post
Live the dream of not having an AMD card making jet noises in your PC rig and turning it into a real furnace with its temps

Go for a GTX 670 mate , Asus directu cu ii has the same performance as the 680 with better cooling and noise levels + CHEAPER , cheers!
Jet noise? Furnace? what are you on about....?

Sounds like you need to get a decent cooler, my card hits 60c max w/ fan at 30%...... and a 7950 is cheaper than even a 660Ti btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 08:59 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBEAST View Post
I edited it to leave it for now...

Don't drag me into this. I don't give a single f*ck about BL2. If I did and wanted to play it maxed out though, GTX is the only way to go. Playing PhysX title without PhysX is no different than, for example, playing DX11 title without DX11 graphics features.
Agreed but it would be a bad investment just for one game....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd4000
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 11-27-2012, 09:03 | posts: 5,739 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Playing a dx11 title without any dx11 candy is like ..playing COD on pc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 11-27-2012, 09:05 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post

Sounds like you need to get a decent cooler, my card hits 60c max w/ fan at 30%...... and a 7950 is cheaper than even a 660Ti btw.
Maybe where you live it is. At NewEgg cheapest HD 7950 is 10-15% more expensive than cheapest GTX 660 Ti. Same where I live.

Not that it matters though. OP said he is going to OC his card, so 7950/7970 is the way to go. Preferably 7950.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-27-2012, 09:07 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBEAST View Post
Maybe where you live it is. At NewEgg cheapest HD 7950 is 10-15% more expensive than cheapest GTX 660 Ti. Same where I live.

Not that it matters. OP said he is going to OC his card, so 7950/7970 is the way to go. Preferably 7950.
Yeah...I don't understand why pricing varies from country to country....or Northern/Southern hemisphere.

This is how it looks in AU/NZ.....



Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-27-2012 at 09:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 11-27-2012, 12:10 | posts: 5,354

Its been a topsy turvy year for GPUs. 6-8 months ago, the 670/680 were much better positioned vs 7950/7970, price-wise and performance-wise, hence a solid choice. AMD though have clawed their way back since, on pricing and performance. Better drivers, faster hardware (ghz and boost models) and all at a much lower price. At this point in time, AMD are on top, almost in no-brainer territory for those looking to buy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 11-27-2012, 14:34 | posts: 6,696

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Swap the 680 for this or this or one of these.
Agreed.

OP: Ignore the blather about Nvidia being superior. As a gamer, the only thing Nvidia has over AMD right now is PhysX. Something that's only available within a limited number of games, and is still enjoyable for most AMD users. I play with Medium PhysX just fine - and honestly I find its supposed greatness to be a little exaggerated even when it's on high with a 'capable' system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 11-27-2012, 14:44 | posts: 5,196 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBEAST View Post




http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...d-HD-7970/GPU-

108% faster. Not that everyone cares about BL2...
Not faster, It use PhysX on the cpu and cause a thread stall as it is coded with feet ( when nvidia or developpers will understand, it is stupid to force the use of a cpu thread allready used for use by standard process and push the PhysX instructions on it, forcing the thread to wait it is free for do his normal work) .
And in the second case ( GTX680 ) it use Nvidia PhysX by the GPU...

Peoples buy what they think they need: If he play BL2 and think he need Nvidia PhysX, why not... if he play mostly BF3, Dirt, Hitman, FarCry3, Crysis2-3, or need computing stuff etc... different choice.. If he like better Nvidia or AMD he's choice.

Anyway: 2 things i will change in your list:

- Motherboard: the Sabertooth is a bit overpriced for features who are not specially needed ( not a bad board, but the thermal features dont look to be really effective, and are not really needed with last Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge ( who dont have the NB who is really hot as it was with the 1366 I7 9xx series ).

- PSU: 620W is a bit short, try have a 700-750W min for have a good margin ( PSU will be more silent as not in the high range, efficiency will be better, and like this if you upgrade component you will not end to short and need change it )

Last edited by Lane; 11-27-2012 at 15:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
viren
Maha Guru
 
viren's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 570
Processor: I7 870
Mainboard: P55
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: 7.1 PCI-E
PSU: 800W
Default 11-27-2012, 20:23 | posts: 2,360 | Location: Pune, India

Everything looks fine, you can go ahead and order the parts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 11-28-2012, 00:52 | posts: 4,656 | Location: FLA,USA

OP a few things to consider as posted before if you want to save a bit of coin dont go with teh sabertooth get something along the lines of a z77 extreme 4 or the asus p8z77v-pro, on the GPU side the 680 is a waste of money IMHO if you want to go green get a 670 DCUII or 670 WF3 same performance $100 less if you don't mind the red teem go with a 7970 like a Vapor-X or DCUII they tend to scale better when overclocked than the keplers anyways, and last but not least is there any specific reason you want the H100 because the minor overclock you are planing can easily be done with a hyper 212+ which is about $60 less.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Playing a dx11 title without any dx11 candy is like ..playing COD on pc.
This sir is truth unfiltered.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Capcha
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 6570 1GB DDR3
Processor: i7 2600s
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 300W
Default 11-28-2012, 01:44 | posts: 9

Ok, so the general consensus is that I should go with a cheaper MB. As for the GPU, it seems that it's just an opinion thing and I should just get which ever one I like. And as for overclocking my CPU, I want to push it as high as possible without hurting or stressing it too much.

So the only thing now that I'd plan to change is the MB to a cheaper AS Rock.
Also I'll look into ram and SSDs for just a bit longer now and I might change them to the suggested models.

Is the 620W PSU enough, I originally thought it'd be plenty, but a few people say otherwise.

Is this all enough to run Minecraft though? JK. I'm hoping this will last me a minimum of 5 years though and still be able to run the latest titles well up t'ill then.

Can't say I did't expect a GPU battle. I've no real preference to either one, the NVIDIA just seems right for me

Thank you all for the help!

.

Last edited by Capcha; 11-28-2012 at 01:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.