Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tip for nVidia users using HDMI and getting accurate color format
Old
  (#1)
jwb1
Master Guru
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 5820K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB@2400Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default Tip for nVidia users using HDMI and getting accurate color format - 11-18-2012, 18:56 | posts: 262

EDIT: With driver 347.09+ color range has now been resolved.

http://www.nvidia.com/download/drive...px/80913/en-us

---Original Post---

This is only for nVidia users who are using HDMI on their display.

If you're display supports Full RGB, which most do, you may notice you aren't getting the right colors and the blacks don't seem so black and the whites don't seem so white. This is because despite under Display->Adjust Desktop Color Settings your digital color format being set at RGB, its actually by default set at Limited RGB, not Full. And you will see there is no option for Full RGB. Don't use ycbcr444 as it will oversaturate reds and magentas.

Full RGB is available only under Video->Adjust Video Color Settings, but this doesn't affect your games, applications, etc. Only videos.

The trick to enable Full RGB for everything is a reg hack, and luckily you can use a tool to do instead. Find it here

You must use this tool every time you install a new driver.
Next, complain to nVidia to let this be a option in future drivers here:
http://surveys.nvidia.com/index.jsp?...f07694a40f8ac6

Last edited by jwb1; 12-17-2014 at 14:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-6700k @4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: CMD32GX4M2B3000C15
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Corsair HX1000i
Default 11-18-2012, 19:44 | posts: 1,965 | Location: Calgary Canada®

No offence, but I'll wait to hear some feedback on this before I try it out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
jwb1
Master Guru
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 5820K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB@2400Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 11-18-2012, 19:51 | posts: 262

Well I can tell you my feedback: my overall image quality in games is much improved.

If Full RGB doesn't look good or improved, then there is also an option in the tool to go back to Limited RGB.

Last edited by jwb1; 11-18-2012 at 20:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
JonnyRedHed
Member Guru
 
JonnyRedHed's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE/OC @1320
Processor: i5 2500k@4.7 H100
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: Muskin Redline 2133 16GB
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Coolermaster 80+Gold 600w
Thumbs up 11-18-2012, 20:15 | posts: 100 | Location: Wales

Agreed it works just fine, thanks.

I've just moved from ATI to NV and was wondering if my eyes were going with age or something as all my HD content (MKv etc) was less detailed and top white and bottom blacks were just not there. I then found this thread, and then Google it. The reg key hack has been around for sometime, with some writing a C# program to do the same thing, others posting the actual keys. But this little exe seems to work just fine. You see with ATI drivers you have an overall color format drop down and can toggle the various options which work over HDMI as well as DVI.

I'm very surprised its not the same for NV, and cannot understand why they do not include this same option.

One question with this though, does it clean its self and also what will happen when/if NV change the reg key names in future driver releases.

Other than that, this works perfect and I can now see full range RGB once again over HDMI using Zoomplayer 8.5 + MadVR + Reclock.

Last edited by JonnyRedHed; 11-18-2012 at 20:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
kingnosser
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI560tiTFII/OC/1GB
Processor: TT120extreme,2500k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P67 GD53 B3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Artic 750W Modular
Default 11-18-2012, 20:16 | posts: 105 | Location: UK

Noticed the difference as soon as my desktop loaded, the difference it's made to web browsing is nice yet to try it in game, why on earth isn't this built into the drivers in the first place!!!

Awesome try it out guys looking good here
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 11-18-2012, 20:20 | posts: 458 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwb1 View Post
This is only for nVidia users who are using HDMI on their display.

If you're display supports Full RGB, which most do, you may notice you aren't getting the right colors and the blacks don't seem so black and the whites don't seem so white. This is because despite under Display->Adjust Desktop Color Settings your digital color format being set at RGB, its actually by default set at Limited RGB, not Full. And you will see there is no option for Full RGB. Don't use ycbcr444 as it will oversaturate reds and magentas.

Full RGB is available only under Video->Adjust Video Color Settings, but this doesn't affect your games, applications, etc. Only videos.

The trick to enable Full RGB for everything is a reg hack, and luckily you can use a tool to do instead. Find it here

You must use this tool every time you install a new driver.
Next, complain to nVidia to let this be a option in future drivers here:
http://surveys.nvidia.com/index.jsp?...f07694a40f8ac6
My (rather old) Sony tele only supports limited RGB and the Nvidia driver defaults to full RGB not limited. As a result I have to use ycbcr444 to avoid black crush and it looks a bit crap. I'd love to be able to select limited RGB for desktop programs but Nvidia will never add that despite a lot of complaints over the years.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti/980TiSC PhysX
Processor: i7 6850K 4.5 Ghz 1.34 v
Mainboard: EVGA X99 FTWK
Memory: Corsair 3200mhz LPX 32GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 11-18-2012, 20:27 | posts: 5,244 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

The last couple of these tools I tried didn't work. This one does and in Win8. Saves me the hassle of editing the nv_disp.inf file and needing to disable driver signing to clean install a driver.

HeavyHemi Recommended.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Bradders684
Maha Guru
 
Bradders684's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Gene
Memory: Corsair V Pro 32GB @ 2400
Soundcard: SupremeFX Impact II
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Default 11-18-2012, 20:31 | posts: 998 | Location: Manchester (UK)

Thanks for this, i was using this tool (SetFullRGB.exe) posted here http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...6&postcount=53 but after upgrading to Windows 8 i forgot to download it again.

This one has a UI as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
JonnyRedHed
Member Guru
 
JonnyRedHed's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE/OC @1320
Processor: i5 2500k@4.7 H100
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme4
Memory: Muskin Redline 2133 16GB
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Coolermaster 80+Gold 600w
Thumbs up 11-18-2012, 20:52 | posts: 100 | Location: Wales

I found I needed to just run the windows 7 screen calibration tool again for my LG 50" plasma to just gamma correct a little. Rechecked my TV sets Black level and Dynamic contrast. Checked the black and white scale via this popular site checker here
This will show a smooth gradient if using 0-255 and some banding if 16-235.

Although your TV set's own settings and windows gamma calibration could also affect it slightly. I see a nice smooth black to white gradient, which along with my HD content tests using Zoomplayer + MadVR etc I now know I'm set at full RGB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 11-18-2012, 21:03 | posts: 15,646 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
The last couple of these tools I tried didn't work. This one does and in Win8. Saves me the hassle of editing the nv_disp.inf file and needing to disable driver signing to clean install a driver.

HeavyHemi Recommended.

Thanks for the heads up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Uncle Dude
Maha Guru
 
Uncle Dude's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: 2600k/H100i @ 4.8
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: Vengeance 16GB@1866
Soundcard: Avid Eleven Rack
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 11-18-2012, 21:19 | posts: 2,307 | Location: USA

Wow - massive difference on my Panasonic Viera. Love this forum; thanks for posting!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
jwb1
Master Guru
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 5820K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB@2400Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 11-18-2012, 21:48 | posts: 262

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny3d View Post

One question with this though, does it clean its self and also what will happen when/if NV change the reg key names in future driver releases.

Other than that, this works perfect and I can now see full range RGB once again over HDMI using Zoomplayer 8.5 + MadVR + Reclock.
If you uninstall or reinstall your driver, you will have to re-run this tool again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
jwb1
Master Guru
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 5820K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB@2400Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 11-18-2012, 21:50 | posts: 262

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supertribble View Post
My (rather old) Sony tele only supports limited RGB and the Nvidia driver defaults to full RGB not limited. As a result I have to use ycbcr444 to avoid black crush and it looks a bit crap. I'd love to be able to select limited RGB for desktop programs but Nvidia will never add that despite a lot of complaints over the years.
This tool can allow you to pick Limited RGB as well.

I do not recommend ycbcr444 for traditional displays, as it oversatures reds and magentas. And also adds a slight blur, as its a compressed signal format, unlike RGB which is uncompressed.

Glad everyone is happy with it. Like I said, submit your feedback to nVidia to include this option in their future driver releases!

Last edited by jwb1; 11-18-2012 at 22:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
vengeancerr1
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 SC @ FTW 2GB SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme 9 Z97
Memory: CVP 16GB DDR3 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair hx1000
Default 11-18-2012, 22:21 | posts: 4 | Location: USA

I know this is about Nvidia drivers but I was wondering if anyone knows how to get the same result for Intel drivers? I use my laptop to watch movies sometimes an it uses the Intel video for playback I think. I have to select the ycbcr mode because the screen is too bright without that checked in the Intel drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 11-18-2012, 22:42 | posts: 458 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwb1 View Post
This tool can allow you to pick Limited RGB as well.

I do not recommend ycbcr444 for traditional displays, as it oversatures reds and magentas. And also adds a slight blur, as its a compressed signal format, unlike RGB which is uncompressed.

Glad everyone is happy with it. Like I said, submit your feedback to nVidia to include this option in their future driver releases!
Tried setting it to limited RGB and it doesn't work on my display. The only way I can get limited RGB working for desktop programs with this tele is to use an AMD card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
MrBonk
Maha Guru
 
MrBonk's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 980 STRIX
Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II GENE
Memory: G-SKILL 12GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750TX V1
Default 11-18-2012, 22:56 | posts: 2,676 | Location: Oregon

I suggest we make a thread for this over on the Nvidia forums and complain about it until they say they can fix it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
jwb1
Master Guru
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 5820K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB@2400Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 11-19-2012, 15:21 | posts: 262

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBonk View Post
I suggest we make a thread for this over on the Nvidia forums and complain about it until they say they can fix it.
I have and I also notified two known nVidia employees.

But as I said, spread the word via their feedback system and get your friends to do it as well!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ket´s mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 11-19-2012, 15:26 | posts: 3,950 | Location: outside the Box...

how do i use this if i have 2 monitors?
i only need to set my second Monitor(HDTV) to full rgb.
My first monitor is allready at full. since its an crt.

Also, would that fix my prob im having when using HDMI?

Im at VGA Cable now lol..and teh picture is 1000 times better then with hdmi.
Its darker, blacks are black, and its sharp..
with the hdmi cable its all washed out and sooo blurry i cant read anything..

If someone would tell me that this would fix that i would be happy..also how to use it only on my second monitor..

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980Ti OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 11-19-2012, 16:15 | posts: 4,208 | Location: UK

Guess this does count with DisplayPort?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 11-19-2012, 16:20 | posts: 9,964

Interesting, bookmarked for future reference .. will give feedback to nvidia soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz+ air silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 11-19-2012, 18:25 | posts: 10,208 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Thanks for this thread.
My display (LG DM2780D passive 3D) using the standard MS pnp driver (oddly?, it should be using the one I installed) shows full RGB without any tweaks, so didnt need that.
However I know some people who will be very pleased with it.

The calibration website posted by Jonny3D is great!
Here it is again in case anyone missed it
http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/
I refined my display a little, black definition is improved and colour balance is a little better, much pleased.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
maco07
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970 3GB Boost
Processor: FX-8350
Mainboard: M5A88-V EVO
Memory: DDR3 8 GB
Soundcard: Xonar D2X
PSU: Silent Pro 700w
Default 11-19-2012, 19:14 | posts: 96 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Thanks for this thread.
My display (LG DM2780D passive 3D) using the standard MS pnp driver (oddly?, it should be using the one I installed) shows full RGB without any tweaks, so didnt need that.
However I know some people who will be very pleased with it.

The calibration website posted by Jonny3D is great!
Here it is again in case anyone missed it
http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/
I refined my display a little, black definition is improved and colour balance is a little better, much pleased.
You could be viewing compressed RGB if your card is sending 16-255 data and your TV have HDMI Black Level: Low. On your eyes it could appear Ok, but no. It's not ok.

If you see Red and Magenta letters a bit fuzzy, then your card is compressing RGB: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...g?t=1287963155

More info here: https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...w-to-disable-/
and here: http://cdn.avsforum.com/b/be/bee169a...tach233841.png
and here: http://cdn.avsforum.com/b/be/be35524...tach233862.png
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 11-19-2012, 19:30 | posts: 15,646 | Location: USA

Do we still need to make the adjustment to full RGB in NVCP before using the tool?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
maco07
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970 3GB Boost
Processor: FX-8350
Mainboard: M5A88-V EVO
Memory: DDR3 8 GB
Soundcard: Xonar D2X
PSU: Silent Pro 700w
Default 11-19-2012, 19:33 | posts: 96 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Do we still need to make the adjustment to full RGB in NVCP before using the tool?
There is no adjustment for full RGB in NVCP (only in video section, and it only affect video played through DXVA). And it's what everybody is asking NVIDIA to add.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
jwb1
Master Guru
 
jwb1's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 5820K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB@2400Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 11-19-2012, 19:33 | posts: 262

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Do we still need to make the adjustment to full RGB in NVCP before using the tool?
Use this tool to set your level of RGB (Limited or Full). Restart for changes to appear.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.