Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Consoles & console games
Consoles & console games This section is for all hardcore console gamers out there .. XBOX 360, PlayStation 3, Wii Threads with posts in January 2007 can be found in General Hardware


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PS4 Hardware.
Old
  (#1)
Strikerx80
Ancient Guru
 
Strikerx80's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 Ti SC
Processor: Intel i5 2500
Mainboard: Gigabyte H6M1-D2P-B3 uATX
Memory: 8GB Kingston 1333 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Recon 3D
PSU: XFX XTR 650W
Default PS4 Hardware. - 11-17-2012, 17:51 | posts: 5,481 | Location: New Hampshire, USA

With all the rumors around it seems the ps4 will use an amd apu.

my guess is it will use an amd A10-5800k and a 7850 gpu. this would keep cost and power consumption down. it would also provide a decent enough increase in visuals over the ps3, while being easy for 3rd party developers to use and make games for.

As for the amount of system memory, 4gb should be plenty since its only a console.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
zer0_c0ol
Maha Guru
 
zer0_c0ol's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290xCF
Processor: intel 3930k
Mainboard: rampage iv extreme x79
Memory: 8 gigs kingston hyper x d
Soundcard: audigy 2zs gold
PSU: antec 850 w
Default 11-17-2012, 18:10 | posts: 1,924 | Location: mostar(BIH)

just to say

4gb is not enough for the new gen of consoles
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Strikerx80
Ancient Guru
 
Strikerx80's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 Ti SC
Processor: Intel i5 2500
Mainboard: Gigabyte H6M1-D2P-B3 uATX
Memory: 8GB Kingston 1333 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Recon 3D
PSU: XFX XTR 650W
Default 11-17-2012, 18:15 | posts: 5,481 | Location: New Hampshire, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0_c0ol View Post
just to say

4gb is not enough for the new gen of consoles
4gb +2gb vram... seems enough to me. console will never have as much tasks running as a pc. 8gb+ not needed for a console imo.

the 2gb vram would be the problem if anything. but the gpu will certainly not have 3-4 gb so they will have to make it work

Last edited by Strikerx80; 11-17-2012 at 18:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Penal Stingray
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX 680 Tri-Sli-S27A950
Processor: i7 3930K 4.6 GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3 X79
Memory: 16 GB Ripjaws 2200 MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Titanium HD
PSU: Antec HCP 1200 Watts
Default 11-17-2012, 18:28 | posts: 961 | Location: JerZe

4 gigs of ram is enough for console its not a pc u know, u not gonna multitask on it like burn dvds at the time watch movie at the same time browse the internet lol. ur just gonna play games, watch a movie one at a time and that is way enough for a lot of hardcore gamers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 760 2GB OC II
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 EVO
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 11-18-2012, 02:57 | posts: 932 | Location: Chicago

needs at least 6GB - you have to keep in mind it won't be out for another year and the ram will come in handy as the system ages.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 11-18-2012, 03:10 | posts: 4,645 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Native 1080p for all games or will be skippin this gen also. AA is not must have for me though,on consoles atleast.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
umeng2002
Master Guru
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 580 BO @ 920
Processor: 1090t @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: DDR3 8GB @ 1600 8-9-8-28
Soundcard: X-Fi: DAC_I: MKV: HD600
PSU: On my 2nd Corsair TX750W
Default 11-18-2012, 06:11 | posts: 454 | Location: Milky Way

4 Gigs is more than enough. Most PC games today don't even come close to saturating 4 GB - that's in Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Kaleid
Maha Guru
 
Kaleid's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD HD7750
Processor: i3 530 @ 4.04
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D-E
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-fi Extrememusic
PSU: Silver Power 750w
Default 11-20-2012, 17:16 | posts: 2,020 | Location: Sweden

7850 is way too powerful for a console. TDP @ 130w
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Yxskaft
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5770
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 11-20-2012, 18:12 | posts: 635

Quote:
Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
4 Gigs is more than enough. Most PC games today don't even come close to saturating 4 GB - that's in Windows.
Then again, most PC games today have been developed on the consoles first

Dice has also hinted that we will need more RAM, they said that they would have Frostbite 2 games requiring an 64-bit OS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 11-21-2012, 02:41 | posts: 3,205 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by (.)(.) View Post
Native 1080p for all games or will be skippin this gen also. AA is not must have for me though,on consoles atleast.
Ditto if 1080p and 60fps is not the defacto standard I will be done with Consoles. But then I wont keep my hopes seeing I highly doubt it gona have 7850 gpu not unless it becomes another 600$+ system

So far the only Game I have on my ps3 that dont make my eyes bleed is Ar Tonelico Qoga I was shocked at fact it 1080p. Only thing that would made it better would of been more 3d backgrounds and actual cut scenes

Last edited by tsunami231; 11-21-2012 at 02:47.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 11-21-2012, 02:48 | posts: 5,667 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

yea 4GB ram is enough plus 2GB vram will do the trick just nicely. But a 7850 are you crazy!? The thing will have a 7770 AT BEST! They want to keep costs as low as possible and not have the stupid fiasco they had with the 450-500 PS3 launch, they should aim for around 350 at the most! I also reckon they should increase the HDD size to at least 500GB for the entry version and 750 or even 1TB for the higher version. But it would be extremely wise to not include a HDD at all and just throw in some flash memory around 10GB or lower and have an expansion slot that allows people in throw in their own HDD (2.5" or 3.5" SSD or HDD) as they can be had pretty cheaply now but I don't see this happening but it could keep costs down and help them spend a little more on better components else where.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 11-21-2012, 04:45 | posts: 3,205 | Location: USA

Im thinking we gona see a GPU from last gen pc or earlier in the system. I just dont see them putting a current gen gpu in the systems with out driving the price way up. maybe equivalent to a 460ti or AMD equivalent if we lucky. Which would mean a custom version of most the cards if they actual do 2gb vram. Which i dont buy either, Much like the rooms that both systems would use some SLI setup That will never happen in console. Would be almost impossible top keep the thing from overheating with out watercooling considering there size compared to a desktop
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Yxskaft
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5770
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 11-21-2012, 14:54 | posts: 635

If they are released in Q4 2013, the GPU could be something similar to the HD 8750.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 11-21-2012, 15:59 | posts: 3,739 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yxskaft View Post
If they are released in Q4 2013, the GPU could be something similar to the HD 8750.
Yes that makes sense, I'm sure they'll be wanting the latest tech at launch seeing as to how long they want the console to be out for.

I wouldn't look too much into comparing the cost of a PC video card to what they can put into a console. Remember with a PC video card you are buying from a retailer, who get's it through a distributor etc, and that comes from a company that makes a physical graphics card, and has associated costs. I'm not sure exactly how the console's motherboard etc will be laid out, but I would suspect that the GPU would plug directly into the motherboard? Seeing as how they would have a specialist motherboard anyway this isn't an issue, and would give them a significant cost advantage. They simply buy the GPU's directly from AMD. For them, the equivalent PC GPU wouldn't cost anywhere near the same, and you also wouldn't have the associated mark-ups based on different models. What I mean is, a card of the same series (cooler etc), for a PC card, may have a $60 difference, but for Sony (and Microsoft) to buy the different GPU, it may only cost them a few dollars more (nowhere near the $60 anyway). Whether they do this or not depends on the advantages of doing so. If they can get a 30 percent boost in performance for a few dollars, I'm sure they would.

So, what I am saying is basically they will choose the best performance vs price GPU they can at the time of them choosing it. If they have already made the final decision, then it would be a HD7000 equivalent GPU, if they have the decision of say, a HD7750, but the option of a HD8750 if the price is right, and availability at the time of manufacturing, them I'm sure they'll opt for the newer card.

The HD8800 and HD8900 series AMD cards are already showing in the latest drivers as 'OEM', so it would seem these cards are already in production, and thus is it likely that a HD8000 series GPU is a candidate for the next gen consoles. This is assuming that the contracts aren't already 'set in stone'.

The driver references:
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta 8
AMD6818.1 = "AMD Radeon HD 8800 Series (OEM)"
AMD679A.1 = "AMD Radeon HD 8900 Series (OEM)"

Last edited by thatguy91; 11-21-2012 at 16:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
boodikon
Maha Guru
 
boodikon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Leadtek 8800 GTS 640mb (600 core)
Processor: Amd 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.4 Ghz 2mb cache
Mainboard: Asus A8N SLI-Deluxe Nforce4
Memory: 4 x 512mb PC4000 Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Tagan 480w silent psu
Default 11-21-2012, 17:07 | posts: 2,600 | Location: England

Stick 4 cells together and a bucket of live baby goats brains in a flex combolicker to produce the visualization of immense smell and next gen power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 11-21-2012, 19:49 | posts: 3,205 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by boodikon View Post
Stick 4 cells together and a bucket of live baby goats brains in a flex combolicker to produce the visualization of immense smell and next gen power.
I would buy that as it would be something new. and possible look better and run better.

Anyone thinking they gona put a current gen card in the consoles when they actual release is just wishing to much the ps3 gpu was based off of gpu that came out the year before which could equate to 1 or 2 gen behind at best at launch and to this date most game are not true 720p let alone 1080p and lack aa most are lower res upscaled. On whitepaper the ps3 is supposed way more power full then 360 and we all saw how that ended.

even if a 300$ current gen card is bought direct from the manufacture in bulk the card that card still gona cost around 100 if not more, you add that to the rest of consoles cost to make and you looking at way more them 300-350$ for console. I for one wont buy sonys console if it 600$ at launch or any console for that mater that is more then 300-350$ I actual regret buying it at launch for that price. And I still dont get why console version of games cost more then pc version and pc version still looked better despite bad ports it gets In general i play my ps2 games threw and emulator more then ps3 cause most ps3 games to this date make my eyes bleed 360 games too. and threw that emulator I can make ps2 games look 3x as good and some times better then some current gen games. atlest in terms of Resoultion and AA, Textures excluded.

true 1080p with at lest 2x AA and 60fps or at lest a STABLE 30 FPS at all times or consoles are dead to me.

Last edited by tsunami231; 11-21-2012 at 20:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Strikerx80
Ancient Guru
 
Strikerx80's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 Ti SC
Processor: Intel i5 2500
Mainboard: Gigabyte H6M1-D2P-B3 uATX
Memory: 8GB Kingston 1333 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Recon 3D
PSU: XFX XTR 650W
Default 11-22-2012, 18:30 | posts: 5,481 | Location: New Hampshire, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
yea 4GB ram is enough plus 2GB vram will do the trick just nicely. But a 7850 are you crazy!? The thing will have a 7770 AT BEST! They want to keep costs as low as possible and not have the stupid fiasco they had with the 450-500 PS3 launch, they should aim for around 350 at the most! I also reckon they should increase the HDD size to at least 500GB for the entry version and 750 or even 1TB for the higher version. But it would be extremely wise to not include a HDD at all and just throw in some flash memory around 10GB or lower and have an expansion slot that allows people in throw in their own HDD (2.5" or 3.5" SSD or HDD) as they can be had pretty cheaply now but I don't see this happening but it could keep costs down and help them spend a little more on better components else where.
well by the time its released it could probably be a 22nm 7850. the 28nm card is $199 as it is. 22nm less power useage and cost maybe $149 or less. but i doubt the ps4 will use LESS than a 7770
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 11-22-2012, 19:03 | posts: 3,205 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strikerx80 View Post
well by the time its released it could probably be a 22nm 7850. the 28nm card is $199 as it is. 22nm less power useage and cost maybe $149 or less. but i doubt the ps4 will use LESS than a 7770
I willing to bet it wont be a 7XXX series at all. Consider all the GPU in consoles to this date have been from the previous gen if not older from the date of the consoles announcement. But I guess we can hope.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
umeng2002
Master Guru
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 580 BO @ 920
Processor: 1090t @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: DDR3 8GB @ 1600 8-9-8-28
Soundcard: X-Fi: DAC_I: MKV: HD600
PSU: On my 2nd Corsair TX750W
Default 11-22-2012, 19:09 | posts: 454 | Location: Milky Way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yxskaft View Post
Then again, most PC games today have been developed on the consoles first
Very true. I'm all for having the mos crazy specs as possible, but from a business standpoint; companies pinch pennies wherever they can. Like going for lower end GPUs or having a certain GPU gutted (like the PS3) or a big amount of slow ram or a small amount of fast ram...

If the PS4 is indeed an A10 based GPU, I really hope they beef it up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Shadowdane
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 12-07-2012, 13:23 | posts: 791 | Location: Virginia

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
I willing to bet it wont be a 7XXX series at all. Consider all the GPU in consoles to this date have been from the previous gen if not older from the date of the consoles announcement. But I guess we can hope.
Yah most likely the console specs have been taped out and are final at this point. If the Xbox 720 & PS4 are coming next year around this time they would need to be at final or nearly final hardware so developers can design and test games on it.

That means the hardware is likely already 6 months to 1 year old.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
gamerk2
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA 570 GTX 1.2 GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 3.9GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Xense
PSU: 750W
Default 12-10-2012, 15:59 | posts: 2,103 | Location: Medford, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
4 Gigs is more than enough. Most PC games today don't even come close to saturating 4 GB - that's in Windows.
Because they are compiled as 32-bit, and thus limited to 2GB (assuming not compiled as LAA)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
gamerk2
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA 570 GTX 1.2 GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 3.9GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Xense
PSU: 750W
Default 12-10-2012, 16:01 | posts: 2,103 | Location: Medford, NY

Well, the dev kits aren't even out yet; the Xbox Next dev kit is using an A10/7000/8GB setup though, so I would use that as a rough estimate for what to expect for the PS4.

Its sounding like we'll know more come E3.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 12-10-2012, 16:03 | posts: 23,231 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerk2 View Post
Well, the dev kits aren't even out yet.
ps4 ones ?
From what ive heard they are
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 TF3 1050/1450
Processor: Core i5 2500K 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 Soc
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 12-10-2012, 16:15 | posts: 3,322 | Location: Bristol, UK

i reckon we will get them in about a year just for xmas time!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Striker GTX760 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440/H80i
Mainboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 3
Memory: Corsair Veng LP 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: CoolerMaster GX650 80+S
Default 12-10-2012, 17:37 | posts: 4,865 | Location: Netherlands

The new specs seems to be very good. Good news for console gamers i gues..

But i'm staying with PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.