Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ATIKMDAG.sys and ATIKMPAG.sys BSOD
Old
  (#1)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default ATIKMDAG.sys and ATIKMPAG.sys BSOD - 11-15-2012, 09:45 | posts: 10

Hey guys.
So I have been plagued with this BSOD error message for a few weeks now and am running out of things to try.
so far I have:

1. re-installed windows 7
2. ran Ccleaner and Driver sweeper and then installed the latest as well as multiple previous versions of Ati drivers
3. Updated my BIOS

I have isolated the issue. As long as my drivers are disabled or even if I just remove the file "atikmdag.sys", my computer will run normally... but without my graohics card.

Any advice regarding my next step would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!


System info:
windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Dell studio 1558
Bios version 1.00 A12
Intel core i7 CPU Q720 @1.60GHz
ATI Radeon 5000 series
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-15-2012, 10:07 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

Hi, what drivers are you using? Is anything overclocked? Does Event Log show errors?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-15-2012, 10:22 | posts: 10

The last video driver I tried was 12-1_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc. I have tried drivers down to 8-3, and up to 12-6 beta with the same BSOD error.

I have found the Event Viewer, but I am unfamiliar with it. I have many "critical" "error" and "warnings" in the log. I'm not sure which part you need?

Thanks for the speedy reply

I dont think anything is overclocked... at least I havent done anything manually
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-15-2012, 10:36 | posts: 10

I have a compressed folder of my event logs now... but not sure how to upload to you...


I have posted it here:

Event_Logs.zip - 322.0 Kb

Last edited by Relentless; 11-15-2012 at 10:41.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-15-2012, 10:59 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

Try 12.10, they are latest for 5xxx (btw wat model do u have?).

Have you checked temps? When did the BSOD start happening?


The Event Logs I meant are shown on theses screenshots...

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-15-2012, 20:49 | posts: 10

I tried 12-10 and got BSOD atikmpag.sys on startup. BSOD started happening a few weeks ago. I had some symptoms leading up to the event such as my cursor enlarging and random screen flashes.

Here are my event logs
Code:
http://speedy.sh/VBwD4/event-log-1.png
Code:
http://speedy.sh/KyW3w/Event-log-2.png
I'll post my temperatures shortly

Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-15-2012, 20:54 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

There should be a bsod stop code like 0x000117 or 0x00000124, can u make a note of that?

Doe it happen in the desktop and games or just games?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-15-2012 at 20:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-15-2012, 21:19 | posts: 10

I will make a note of it the next time I force it to happen. It happens on start-up whenever I have an ATI driver installed. I can't even get into games because direct 3d is disabled. I can only enter safe mode until I use driver sweeper to sweep the ATI files.

I believe my video card is ATI radeon 4540. But I can't even check that now because my computer won't run while it is installed.

Here are my temperatures:

Code:
http://speedy.sh/QS5z5/Temp-log-1.png
You have been able to access these uploads right? not very familiar with this
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-15-2012, 21:46 | posts: 10

My STOP code is 0X00000116
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Law-II
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 5970 Black Edition H2
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair 6Gb @ 2000Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster X-
PSU: Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro
Default 11-15-2012, 22:48 | posts: 58 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Relentless View Post
My STOP code is 0X00000116
Hi

The VIDEO_TDR_ ERROR bug check has a value of 0x00000116. This indicates that an attempt to reset the display driver and recover from a timeout failed.

Try uninstalling and reinstalling your vga driver or rolling back to a previous version; try proprietary drivers available from http://www.dell.com/

atb

Law-II

Last edited by Law-II; 11-15-2012 at 22:54.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-17-2012, 08:02 | posts: 10

I have tried rolling back my ATI driver as well as beta versions. None have been successful. Is it possible that I need to install a VGA driver as well? I thought that was just my back up driver if my ATI 5000 series was disabled or uninstalled?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Hippie Tech
Member Guru
 
Hippie Tech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r7870 tf III/oc
Processor: PIIx6 1600t 3.6ghz 1.325v
Mainboard: Asus SaberT 990fx v1604
Memory: GSkill 8gb 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 892, x-540's
PSU: Antec hcg 750
Default 11-18-2012, 18:57 | posts: 48 | Location: In a Bitcoin mine.

Disabling the Windows Desktop manager session manager service, helped me out. I have not seen a single event id 9003 or 9009 since.

Even though I had Aero turned off, desktop composition was using enough of the gpu's resources to trip it up and occasionally crash.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
hulawafu77
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970M
Processor: 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo
Default 11-18-2012, 23:34 | posts: 191

Some people still get it on Win8, but you can't disable WDM on Win8, or Win8 gets really screwed up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-19-2012, 08:52 | posts: 10

How do I disable that?
thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Hippie Tech
Member Guru
 
Hippie Tech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r7870 tf III/oc
Processor: PIIx6 1600t 3.6ghz 1.325v
Mainboard: Asus SaberT 990fx v1604
Memory: GSkill 8gb 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 892, x-540's
PSU: Antec hcg 750
Default 11-19-2012, 15:10 | posts: 48 | Location: In a Bitcoin mine.

Right click My Computer > click manage then find it in the services section.

Be sure to disable anything that uses hardware acceleration as well.

Have you tried a fresh install of windows without using the driver/registry cleaners ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-19-2012, 19:36 | posts: 10

Yep, I have done a fresh install. Had the same BSOD straight away. I will try that and get back to you.

thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Relentless
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5000 series
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: POW
Default 11-21-2012, 23:24 | posts: 10

Disabling that had no effect. I still get the atikmpag.sys BSOD right after the windows loading screen. Any other suggestions?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Hippie Tech
Member Guru
 
Hippie Tech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r7870 tf III/oc
Processor: PIIx6 1600t 3.6ghz 1.325v
Mainboard: Asus SaberT 990fx v1604
Memory: GSkill 8gb 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 892, x-540's
PSU: Antec hcg 750
Default 11-22-2012, 00:25 | posts: 48 | Location: In a Bitcoin mine.

How do the gpu's capacitors and resistors look ?

If the gpu runs fine on another computer, try these and lets stab in the dark some more. lol

Enable hidden devices in the device manager to see if there is more than one AODdriver 4.x listed. Also check the system devices for mulitple AMD I/Os.

Try an older motherboard bios and/or reflash the newest one. Here is how I do it.
- load the bios defaults, save and exit
- flash the bios, power down
- pull the power cord then hit the power button once or twice
- manually clear the cmos
- boot up, load defaults, save and exit
- set date/time.. ect..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Leon_Bassel
Member Guru
 
Leon_Bassel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5650/6500 M
Processor: Intel Core i5 480 M
Mainboard: Ibex Peak-M HM57
Memory: 4GB DDRIII
Soundcard: SRS Premium Sound™
PSU: DELL / 6 Cell Lithium-Ion
Default 11-23-2012, 22:37 | posts: 50 | Location: SYRIA

hi

try my way to fix your BSOD & ATIKMDAG.sys problem , Its works for me cuz i have the same 5000HD series like you

my problem happen when i try to update my gpu driver using 12.11 beta 8

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=371375
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
trac
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI / Radeon HD 7470 / 1G
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: don't know
Default 12-05-2012, 03:59 | posts: 12

Does the @Bassels solution work for you Relentless?
I have similar error, but only i have 0x116 at BSOD.
I am fighting with this problem about a week or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
crweaver
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon 5570
Processor: Intel Pentium D
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 275 watt
Default 01-11-2013, 16:04 | posts: 1

Lately, it had gotten where my computer was crashing several times a day. After much searching online, I had found that a possible solution to an atikmdag.sys related blowup is simply uninstalling catalyst control ctr, which I did. That was 3 days ago. Since then, nothing. Smooth as glass. The drivers, by themselves, seem ok, but it seems ccc is buggy! I suspect that sln might work for most users.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Rubysoul
Member Guru
 
Rubysoul's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 7970M
Processor: Intel 3820QM
Mainboard: Intel Ivy Bridge
Memory: 12GB
Soundcard: Creative Recon 3Di
PSU: 240W brick named Bubba
Default 01-14-2013, 04:47 | posts: 70 | Location: CT, USA

I've had this happen when the Dell drivers aren't properly completely uninstalled or just installed over. You'll need to uninstall the non-Dell drivers from safe mode then reinstall the Dell drivers so you can uninstall them properly, or possibly use a driver-sweeper to kill all ATI references on your system. Then try installing the newer ATI drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.