Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 12.10 BETA (9.000.100 October 23) XP Only
Old
  (#1)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Talking AMD Catalyst 12.10 BETA (9.000.100 October 23) XP Only - 10-29-2012, 15:35 | posts: 1,013 | Location: iTALY

Enjoy
Follow me on Twitter! @asder00

> Download < (Windows XP Only 32/64bit)

AMD Catalyst 12.10 Beta Windows XP resolves the following issues:
  • The TX3 game window will display as garbage if you open two game windows using AMD Radeon HD7750 and AMD Radeon HD 7770
  • World of Warcraft: VPU recover issue happens if you open two WOW game windows at the same time with the AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series, and AMD Radeon 7800 Series
  • YuLong X-game: VPU recover and blue screen issue happens if open two game windows using the AMD Radeon HD 7750
  • AION online game: Texture error happens if select the 'Fixed frame' option using the AMD Radeon HD 6000 Series
  • The CPU usage will more than 40% if open four XY online game windows on FX4100/6100+ AMD graphic platform.
  • Game FreeStyle responds very slowly if using the AMD Radeon HD 7770 and AMD Radeon HD7750
  • The Video Monitor on Web displays as black screen or garbage using the AMD Radeon HD6850 and AMD Radeon HD 7750
  • JX3 game: The frame rate of the AMD Radeon HD 6770 and AMD Radeon HD7750 is too low
  • KungFu Hero game -- Some elements on the map flickers with the AMD Radeon HD 7750 and AMD Radeon HD 7850
  • 'Your graphic board has not been tested' error message appears if use the AMD Radeon HD7000 Series is used to play the AVA game
  • 7F: The screen flickers during playing the QunXiongZhuLu game on 7F game platform with AMD Radeon HD 7750
  • C9 game: The C9 game's map displays as step-shape using HD7000 series boards.
  • Blade and Soul: Strip corruption observed when change the angle of view in scenario with mineral on the AMD Radeon HD 7000 Series
  • The GPU's performance of Crossfire is lower than single GPU at about 10% when running Blade&Soul.
  • Chinese online game Nizhan playing on the AMD Radeon HD 7000 series boards with double windows will appear blurred screen
  • Chinese online game Wuhun playing on the AMD Radeon HD 7000 series boards with double windows will appear blurred screen
  • Blizzard Games (Diablo 3, Starcraft 2, or WoW) slower performance than expected in Windowed Mode

Build Info:
DriverVer=10/23/2012, 9.000.100.0000
9.00.100-121023a-148816E-ATI

Supported Cards:
 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by asder00; 10-29-2012 at 15:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Xzibit
Banned
 
Videocard: 7970 Windforce
Processor: i5 3570K/H70
Mainboard: ASUS Z77VLX
Memory: 8Gb 2,2GHz, 1.5V
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 10-29-2012, 16:00 | posts: 4,383 | Location: Europe



Anyway thanks for sharing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
yaji
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Radeon 4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Pentium DC E6500
Mainboard: GA-P35-DS3L
Memory: 4GB Geil 800Mhz CL4
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Chieftec 450W
Default 10-29-2012, 17:06 | posts: 84 | Location: Poland

They are supporting 11 years old foreign operating system, yet they dropped support for their own 4 years old GPUs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 10-29-2012, 21:05 | posts: 192

Interesting. But...
12.8's are very stable drivers for the 7970 in XP.

There is a problem with the whole install process of XP drivers. XP seems to try to install an older version of the drivers automatically but you gotta keep pressing cancle cancle quickly. If you let XP do its thing it will have some old files in there. Resulting in a bad install of driver.

I may have been the cause for this because there were several months after release of the 7970 that XP drivers were horrid and unplayable. I resorted to modded and unofficial drivers.

I think I have this problem from installing manually drivers by clicking 'update driver' and locating a modded driver or a beta driver. I dont know how to make xp forget about the old versions of drivers...

However, I will only play with official releases. It looks like they are working on issues but at a slower pace which is expected. Still nice.
Would switch if i saw huge issue with game.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-30-2012, 07:45 | posts: 314

Not Good in Part of AMD.

Shouldn't had stopped the support for the HD 4000 Series GPU, They are creating driver for the OS that is almost at the verge of its death..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Benik3
Master Guru
 
Benik3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6630M+Intel HD3000
Processor: Intel i3 2310 2.1GHz
Mainboard: Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E520
Memory: 4GB SDRAM DDR3
Soundcard: Conexant Cx20590
PSU: -
Default 10-30-2012, 11:32 | posts: 442

Quote:
Originally Posted by campcreekdude View Post
Interesting. But...
12.8's are very stable drivers for the 7970 in XP.

There is a problem with the whole install process of XP drivers. XP seems to try to install an older version of the drivers automatically but you gotta keep pressing cancle cancle quickly. If you let XP do its thing it will have some old files in there. Resulting in a bad install of driver.

I may have been the cause for this because there were several months after release of the 7970 that XP drivers were horrid and unplayable. I resorted to modded and unofficial drivers.

I think I have this problem from installing manually drivers by clicking 'update driver' and locating a modded driver or a beta driver. I dont know how to make xp forget about the old versions of drivers...

However, I will only play with official releases. It looks like they are working on issues but at a slower pace which is expected. Still nice.
Would switch if i saw huge issue with game.
Did you try to clean drivers with Driver Fusion?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Galnospoke
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-30-2012, 17:22 | posts: 9

OpenGL is pure disaster in this version (again).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 11-07-2012, 03:50 | posts: 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benik3 View Post
Did you try to clean drivers with Driver Fusion?
NO i never even heard of Driver Fusion...
I should give it a try.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Randolph Carter
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sappire Radeon HD 6570
Processor: E5800 @3.4ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 300w
Default 11-25-2012, 17:38 | posts: 2

Thank you for this post...
Good news for all of us Win-XP users out there.
The driver really improved STALKER game and all over performance - or at least it seems to me ,-)

HOPE to see more XP Beta support.
XP is not dead!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Sobek
Master Guru
 
Sobek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6870 Crossfire
Processor: Core 2 Q6600 G0 @ 3.42ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 F8
Memory: 4gb Corsair 800mhz @ 910
Soundcard: X-Fi + Creative P5800
PSU: Antec Quattro 850w
Default 11-26-2012, 04:24 | posts: 494 | Location: Australia

Awesome asder, thank you - you're a champ. I just hopped on to check and see if or when we might see another XP driver release, and here it is... Installing this tonight
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 11-28-2012, 19:47 | posts: 192

I found an issue with the latest CCC 12.8... in windows xp.
I dont know, it somehow happened and i never noticed it before.

In dual monitor mode with extended desktop... when i switch my second monitor to 75hz instead of 60 hz my entire system goes blank and i am forced to restart. (my second monitor supports 75hz)

I reported this to AMD and am wondering about this issue its quite strange. Does anyone else dual monitor with a 75hz monitor as second desktop?

I know it seems like a very special condition. Its strange. I never noticed this before. I have been able to get it to 75hz sometimes so its an on and off crash. I want to test the 12.10 betas but am too afraid to ruin the issue report process with AMD.

Last edited by campcreekdude; 11-28-2012 at 19:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 11-29-2012, 05:55 | posts: 1,577 | Location: Toronto

wow, i wonder if that has ever been stable anywhere... intel, nv, matrox / vista, 7, linux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 12-03-2012, 05:40 | posts: 192

well... its a bit humorous but darn i hate drivers.

I did not have my monitor drivers installed properly and therefore i believe that is what was causing the problem.

I installed my latest monitor drivers and no issues with changing refresh rate yet.... crosses fingers.

Why do monitor drivers make such a world of a difference. I found out in Windows 7 that incorrect monitor drivers cause some pictures not to open properly. monitor drivers are really finicky because when you turn off the monitor somehow the drivers go away and turn it back on its annoyed and cant do it properly...(especially in XP sometimes in Win 7)

but i think i fixed my issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
@asder00

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.