Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can we enable SLI by upgrading the BIOS?
Old
  (#1)
akhin143
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 8400GS DDR3 512MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: intex 450W
Default Can we enable SLI by upgrading the BIOS? - 10-14-2012, 10:42 | posts: 2

H i guys,
I have Nvidia Geforce 8400GS 512MB DDR3 card,which they say is not supported the SLI technology. Can we make it out with upgrading the BIOS?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
rl66
Master Guru
 
rl66's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aspeed + Tesla M2090
Processor: Xeon X5680 x2
Mainboard: Asus Z8PE D12
Memory: 48 Go RDIMM
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair AX1200 moded
Default 10-14-2012, 11:26 | posts: 536 | Location: France

despite it is a CUDA compatible card (nice isn't it) it is not SLI compatible GPU and there is lack of SLI bridge connector (without bridge on hacked config you have very low performance).

so: NO (bios update will not make it possible)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 10-14-2012, 18:07 | posts: 7,004

Hello,
Seems you posted in the wrong forum.

And no, your card does not support SLI because it has no physical connector for SLI
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
akhin143
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 8400GS DDR3 512MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: intex 450W
Default 10-26-2012, 10:34 | posts: 2

recently I noticed this link which says the specified card suppots SLI,from Nvidia!!!
but the memory is 256MB.
Is that anything useful to think off???

check this out
http://www.nvidia.in/page/geforce8.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 10-26-2012, 10:42 | posts: 3,564 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhin143 View Post
recently I noticed this link which says the specified card suppots SLI,from Nvidia!!!
but the memory is 256MB.
Is that anything useful to think off???

check this out
http://www.nvidia.in/page/geforce8.html
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desk...00-gs/features

NVIDIA SLI Technology is not available on GeForce 8400 GPUs, however, 3-way SLI is available on NVIDIA nForce® 680i or 780i SLI MCPs and three GeForce 8800 GTX GPUs or three GeForce 8800 Ultra GPUs.

It does not support SLI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Athlonite
Maha Guru
 
Athlonite's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 HD7850 1GHz/1300MHz
Processor: FX8320 / 3700MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: DDR3 Corsair Vengence LP
Soundcard: SB XFi Audio PCIe
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P 750W
Default 11-23-2012, 02:02 | posts: 862 | Location: Hawkes Bay

but apparently nVidia fail to mention the small fact on the web page for it's 8xxx series GPU's just which ones are SLI capable and which aren't

The complete line of reality-redefining NVIDIA GeForce 8 SLI™-Ready1 Series graphics processors is now here. Stop craving and start playing.
GeForce 8800 Ultra
GeForce 8800 GTX
GeForce 8800 GTS (640 MB, 512 MB(3) & 320 MB) - NEW!
GeForce 8800 GT
GeForce 8800 GS
GeForce 8600 GTS
GeForce 8600 GT
GeForce 8500 GT
GeForce 8400 GS

1 Functionality depends on your operating system and specialized drivers. Check www.nvidia.com for up-to-date support information.

nowhere in that little bit of txt does it suggest however that the 8400 is not SLI ready



Last edited by Athlonite; 11-23-2012 at 02:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 11-24-2012, 09:06 | posts: 7,004

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athlonite View Post
GeForce 8400 GS
wat

so where is the sli bridge then?

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 11-28-2012, 23:30 | posts: 16,634 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sash View Post
wat

so where is the sli bridge then?

**snip**
SLI bridge wasn't required for SLI at the time the 8400GS was released. NVidia used to support a method of SLI refered to as "Software SLI" which didn't require a bridge. They removed the method from the drivers to prevent people from buying cheaper cards to SLI instead of buying more expensive single cards.



Last edited by sykozis; 11-29-2012 at 00:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 11-29-2012, 01:16 | posts: 1,466 | Location: uk

yer that was similar to the 6600gt
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rl66
Master Guru
 
rl66's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aspeed + Tesla M2090
Processor: Xeon X5680 x2
Mainboard: Asus Z8PE D12
Memory: 48 Go RDIMM
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair AX1200 moded
Default 05-09-2013, 02:29 | posts: 536 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sash View Post
wat

so where is the sli bridge then?

On this one no SLI connector, on some there was (those wich look like a 8500) , but it was the exeption that confirm the rule, and i guess it would be horrible performance.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
chinobino
Master Guru
 
chinobino's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty Pro
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-2666
Soundcard: Creative Tactic3D Alpha
PSU: ENERMAX REVO 85+ 1250W
Default 05-09-2013, 03:03 | posts: 737

Quote:
Originally Posted by rl66 View Post
On this one no SLI connector, on some there was (those wich look like a 8500) , but it was the exeption that confirm the rule, and i guess it would be horrible performance.
Thread necro...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.