Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
It's About Time trailer Technology Trailer Showing Real-Time Path RayTracing
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default It's About Time trailer Technology Trailer Showing Real-Time Path RayTracing - 10-13-2012, 08:51 | posts: 21,373 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Check out the A new Brigade 2 Engine Tech Demo Video. This demo is the Game Release Party version of the student game "It's About Time" and is playable on NVidia hardware only. This tech ...

It's About Time trailer Technology Trailer Showing Real-Time Path RayTracing
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
hopeful
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Tri-X 290 Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3 1800
Soundcard: Asus Xonar / AKG612 / O2
PSU: Silverstone 1200ZM
Default 10-13-2012, 10:46 | posts: 78

Boots up with some errors and then opens a new window that blackscreens/does not respond.

This happens for both demos.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-13-2012, 10:52 | posts: 21,373 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopeful View Post
Boots up with some errors and then opens a new window that blackscreens/does not respond.

This happens for both demos.
> Stand-alone demo for NVidia GPUs with compute capability 2.0 or 2.1.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
er_wendigo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II GTX 670
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Tacens 600w valeo pro
Default 10-13-2012, 12:37 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
> Stand-alone demo for NVidia GPUs with compute capability 2.0 or 2.1.
Hilbert, itsnīt a problem about compute capability. I have the same problem that Hopeful, and I have a graphic card with the required compute capabilities.

About the ZIP archive of the download link, you said about it:

"This release comes with three demos (including source code), and includes a 64-bit build of the engine, which allows for larger scenes and textures."

In the ZIP archive, it has only two folders with programs (???).

Something is wrong with the linked archive in guru3d, Hilbert.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 10-13-2012, 13:14 | posts: 3,647 | Location: UK

Both demo's do not run. I get a black window and nothing more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 10-13-2012, 13:43 | posts: 1,194 | Location: Southampton, UK

not working for me either..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-13-2012, 13:48 | posts: 21,373 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Hmmz, how about now ? (re-download please).


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
hopeful
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Tri-X 290 Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3 1800
Soundcard: Asus Xonar / AKG612 / O2
PSU: Silverstone 1200ZM
Default 10-13-2012, 15:07 | posts: 78

Reupped file is from bikker's website post in April - just a version update of the code.

But the previous file you had on here was the Brigade demo posted in January.

Maybe you should bundle them ?

Last edited by hopeful; 10-13-2012 at 15:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
er_wendigo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II GTX 670
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Tacens 600w valeo pro
Default 10-13-2012, 16:21 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Hmmz, how about now ? (re-download please).
Hilbert, this file doesnīt contain any executable. It has a collection of dlls and source code, but any exec file.

Itīs the same file that is in http://igad.nhtv.nl/~bikker/, and in this web describes the file as:
Latest version of the Brigade 2 engine: click to download the package.

Libraries, headers and examples which allow you to build your own projects using Brigade 2.
Itīs for building/compiling the engine.

In this same site is the "correct" link:

http://igad.nhtv.nl/~bikker/files/AboutTime%20R1.zip

BUT itīs a BROKEN link.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Han2K
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX680OC
Processor: i7-2600K@4.6Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill 8GB 1600CL7@2133
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 10-14-2012, 03:13 | posts: 23 | Location: Spain

Try this:
http://igad.nhtv.nl/~bikker/files/b2demos.zip
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 10-14-2012, 08:55 | posts: 3,647 | Location: UK

Nope. Still not working for me. Blank window on both sets of .exe's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 10-14-2012, 16:47 | posts: 4,110 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
Nope. Still not working for me. Blank window on both sets of .exe's.
I can run demo (not "It's About Time" but yes dragon "specular") without any problems running Win7 x64 with i5-2500K and GTX 480-296.10WHQL.


I can't do download "It's About Time" demo yet due to error "404: not found"...

Last edited by ricardonuno1980; 10-14-2012 at 16:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 10-14-2012, 21:05 | posts: 5,608 | Location: Switzerland

Maybe something to do with the version of CUDA? check if you have a message like: failed to locate "TraceropenCL.dll " .. or something similar
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 10-15-2012, 13:02 | posts: 4,110 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lane View Post
Maybe something to do with the version of CUDA? check if you have a message like: failed to locate "TraceropenCL.dll " .. or something similar
Same problem on XP x86 SP3 only but not problem on Win7 x64.

Your HD7970 does NOT have CUDA support.

Last edited by ricardonuno1980; 10-15-2012 at 13:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
hopeful
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Tri-X 290 Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3 1800
Soundcard: Asus Xonar / AKG612 / O2
PSU: Silverstone 1200ZM
Default 10-15-2012, 20:45 | posts: 78

Blinn Demo:

Detecting tracers in "TracerCUDA.DLL"
GeForce GTX 680
error :CUDA 300
error :Failed to load CUDA module
error :CUDA 400
error :CUDAContext structures out of sync!
Building BVH...
warning:Spatial split budget exhausted
Total spatial split BVH nodes: 14998
saving mesh

Brigade 2 (Not Responding)





Lambert Demo:

Detecting tracers in "TracerCUDA.DLL"
GeForce GTX 680
error :CUDA 300
error :Failed to load CUDA module
error :CUDA 400
error :CUDAContext structures out of sync!

Brigade 2 (Not Responding)

Last edited by hopeful; 10-15-2012 at 20:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 10-16-2012, 02:23 | posts: 4,110 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopeful View Post
Blinn Demo:

Detecting tracers in "TracerCUDA.DLL"
GeForce GTX 680
error :CUDA 300
error :Failed to load CUDA module
error :CUDA 400
error :CUDAContext structures out of sync!
Building BVH...
warning:Spatial split budget exhausted
Total spatial split BVH nodes: 14998
saving mesh

Brigade 2 (Not Responding)





Lambert Demo:

Detecting tracers in "TracerCUDA.DLL"
GeForce GTX 680
error :CUDA 300
error :Failed to load CUDA module
error :CUDA 400
error :CUDAContext structures out of sync!

Brigade 2 (Not Responding)
only your issue?! lol but what's your GeForce driver?
Sorry I got no any problems with GTX 480.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
er_wendigo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II GTX 670
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Tacens 600w valeo pro
Default 10-18-2012, 22:28 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardonuno1980 View Post
only your issue?! lol but what's your GeForce driver?
Sorry I got no any problems with GTX 480.
This issue is not only "his issue", itīs the same issue for me. It could be related with the GTX 600 geforces.

And for the "game", "Itīs about time", this isnīt in the file linked by guru3D. It containes other demos with early versions of the engine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 11-05-2012, 22:32 | posts: 4,110 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Great news! New link http://igad.nhtv.nl/~bikker/files/abouttime.zip due to link broken in OP.

screenshot:
MOD EDIT - link removed - please use a different imagehost, ie. one that doesn't link to porn images

My GTX 480 worked and gets ~15 fps avg (~8 fps min) at max samples settings ("ingame") this demo running Win 7 x64 and 296.10WHQL (HQ).

Last edited by morbias; 11-05-2012 at 23:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.