Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
BSOD caused by ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 on Acer Aspire 8935G
Old
  (#1)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default BSOD caused by ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 on Acer Aspire 8935G - 10-11-2012, 17:28 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

I'm posting this because after a ton of research done on many forums, and trying almost every suggestion found on this issue I concluded that on Acer Aspire 8935G non of them work.
Tried reinstalling the OS thinking that perhaps a fresh system might solve the issue. Even tried the weirdest of ideas, like expanding atikmdag.sy_ and replacing the one in System32/drivers/...
In most cases I got a BSOD blaming atikmdag.sys
Alien9, posted some versions of his/her drivers which proved the most stable (lasting like 1 hour without a BSOD). Till now I considered myself a person who knows how things work with driver installations, but hey, was I wrong.
Please help!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 10-11-2012, 17:46 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

Are you sure you're not having overheating or some other hardware issue since you said you have been able to play for an hour?

Sounds a lot like heat issue to me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-11-2012, 19:35 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Thank you popeye for your fast reply. I'm positive I don't have overheating since I monitor my temperature. When I said 1 hour I meant normal use, without gaming. If I start a game BSOD without a question.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-11-2012, 19:44 | posts: 1,550

Could you post the error on the BSOD? You can also use a program called bluescreenview to get an idea of what's coming up.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-11-2012, 19:52 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Actually the last two freezes did not end up in BSOD, because I pressed the shut down button.
I've used the bluescreenview and saved the results:

==================================================
Dump File : 101112-25942-01.dmp
Crash Time : 10/11/2012 6:55:11 PM
Bug Check String : PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
Bug Check Code : 0x00000050
Parameter 1 : fffff880`09947004
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : fffffa80`03eec426
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : ntoskrnl.exe
Caused By Address : ntoskrnl.exe+80640
File Description : NT Kernel & System
Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
Company : Microsoft Corporation
File Version : 6.1.7601.17514 (win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850)
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+80640
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\101112-25942-01.dmp
Processors Count : 2
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 277,672
==================================================

==================================================
Dump File : 101112-26925-01.dmp
Crash Time : 10/11/2012 6:52:18 PM
Bug Check String : PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
Bug Check Code : 0x00000050
Parameter 1 : fffff880`038ad004
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : fffffa80`03e17426
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : atikmdag.sys
Caused By Address : atikmdag.sys+4c417
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+80640
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\101112-26925-01.dmp
Processors Count : 2
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 277,672
==================================================
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 10-11-2012, 20:00 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

I found this: http://www.sevenforums.com/crashes-d...aged_area.html

A search for 'Bug Check String : PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA' may help you find the right answer.

BTW I use AVAST and it has a gaming option that is enabled. Never had this problem.

Last edited by popeye; 10-11-2012 at 20:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-11-2012, 20:15 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye View Post
I found this: http://www.sevenforums.com/crashes-d...aged_area.html

A search for 'Bug Check String : PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA' may help you find the right answer.

BTW I use AVAST and it has a gaming option that is enabled. Never had this problem.
I've read the page popeye suggested might give a clue to the problem I'm having. I'm no expert but I believe the answer should be elsewhere. I have tried VGA_ATI_v8.64.4_Win7x86x64 driver earlier and VGA_ATI_8.64.3_W7x64W7x86 from the Acer site, but neither of them worked. Well when I say didn't work I mean that the BSOD problem didn't go away. The driver installed without a problem, the switchable button actually switched between the ATI and the Intel, but after some time, BSOD's started to appear, totally randomly. I'm not sure if this is of any help, but I believe there is something with those drivers and my laptop. I just don't get it. Others have experienced the same but maybe described it differently.


Regarding the antivirus, I use ESET Smart Security Center. (I remember trying the drivers from acer's site without having the antivirus installed and had the same result > BSOD)

Last edited by Mad<>Max; 10-11-2012 at 20:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-11-2012, 20:32 | posts: 1,550

Run a mem test
http://www.memtest.org/#downiso


Also use a program like Aida64 or diskCheckup to check your hard drive Smart status. Make sure Smart is enabled via bios 1st.
http://www.aida64.com/
http://www.passmark.com/products/diskcheckup.htm

See what they tell you. You want to make sure those aren't a factor. If they turn out to be ok. Then try uninstalling your current graphics drivers. Reboot then try to use the original drivers for your setup.

Last edited by Eastcoasthandle; 10-11-2012 at 20:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-12-2012, 05:19 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle View Post
Run a mem test
http://www.memtest.org/#downiso


Also use a program like Aida64 or diskCheckup to check your hard drive Smart status. Make sure Smart is enabled via bios 1st.
http://www.aida64.com/
http://www.passmark.com/products/diskcheckup.htm

See what they tell you. You want to make sure those aren't a factor. If they turn out to be ok. Then try uninstalling your current graphics drivers. Reboot then try to use the original drivers for your setup.
I've done the aida and the passmark tests. No issues as far as I can tell. Will conduct the memory test later today, just as you said to roll out these possibilities, but 99% sure of the outcome.
The reports:

1. The passmark report(though my bios is kinda old so no smart option to enable)
*** DiskCheckup V3.1 Build: 1005 Report ***

SysInfo DLL Version: SysInfo v1.0 Build: 1028
Time of export: 22:39:58 11-Oct-2012

Device information:
Device ID: 0
Interface: SATA
Device Capacity: 476937 MB
Serial Number: 091007PB4400Q7J61W1A
Model Number: Hitachi HTS545050B9A300
Firmware Revision: PB4OC60F
Partitions:
C: 276837 MB
E: 199999 MB

ATA information:

Disk geometry:
Cylinders: 60801
Tracks/Cylinder: 255
Sectors/Track: 63
Bytes/Sector: 512
Total disk sectors: 976773168
Logical sector size: 512
Physical sector size: 512
Media rotation rate: 5400 RPM
Buffer size: 7208 KB
ECC size: 4 Bytes

Standards compliance:
ATA8-ACS Supported: Yes
ATA/ATAPI-7 Supported: Yes
ATA/ATAPI-6 Supported: Yes
ATA/ATAPI-5 Supported: Yes
ATA/ATAPI-4 Supported: Yes
Serial/Parallel: Serial
SATA 3.0 Compilance: No
SATA 2.6 Compilance: Yes
SATA 2.5 Compilance: Yes
SATA II: Ext Compilance: Yes
SATA 1.0a Compilance: Yes
ATA8-AST Compilance: Yes
World Wide ID: 5000CCA597DEF043

Feature support:
SMART supported: Yes
SMART enabled: Yes
SMART self-test supported: Yes
SMART error log supported: Yes
LBA supported: Yes
IORDY supported: Yes
CFast supported: No
DMA supported: Yes
Maximum Multiword DMA mode supported: 2
Multiword DMA selected: None
Maximum UltraDMA mode supported: 6
UltraDMA selected: 6
Maximum PIO mode supported: 4
SATA Compliance: Yes
NCQ priority information supported: Yes
Unload while NCQ commands are outstanding supported: No
Phy Event Counters supported: Yes
Receipt of power management requests supported: Yes
NCQ feature set supported: Yes
SATA Gen2 Signaling Speed (3.0Gb/s) supported: Yes
SATA Gen1 Signaling Speed (1.5Gb/s) supported: Yes
Software Settings Preservation: Supported, Enabled
In-order data delivery: Supported, Disabled
Initiating power management: Supported, Disabled
DMA Setup auto-activation: Supported, Disabled
Non-zero buffer offsets: Supported, Disabled
Trusted Computing supported: No
Host Protected Area (HPA) supported: Yes
Read look-ahead supported: Yes
Read look-ahead enabled: Yes
Write cache supported: Yes
Write cache enabled: Yes
Power management supported: Yes
Security mode supported: Yes
Security mode enabled: No
Device Configuration Overlay (DCO) supported: Yes
48bit Addressing supported: Yes
Auto Acoustic Managment (AAM) supported: Yes
Auto Acoustic Managment (AAM) enabled: No
Power-up in Standby (PUIS) supported: Yes
Power-up in Standby (PUIS) enabled: No
Advanced Power Management (APM) supported: Yes
Advanced Power Management (APM) enabled: Yes
Current APM level: Minimum power consumption without Standby
CompactFlash Association (CFA) supported: No
General Purpose Logging (GPL) supported: Yes
Streaming supported: No
Media card pass through supported: No
Extended power conditions supported: No
Extended status reporting supported: No
Write-read-verify supported: No
Free-fall control supported: No
TRIM command supported: No
SCT command transport supported: Yes
NV Cache enabled: No
NV Cache Power Management supported: No

SMART ATTRIBUTES:
ID Description Status Value Worst Threshold Raw Value TEC
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Raw Read Error Rate OK 100 100 62 0 N.A.
2 Throughput Performance OK 100 100 40 0 N.A.
3 Spin Up Time OK 176 176 33 55834574849 N.A.
4 Start/Stop Count OK 99 99 0 2735 N.A.
5 Reallocated Sector Count OK 100 100 5 0 N.A.
7 Seek Error Rate OK 100 100 67 0 N.A.
8 Seek Time Performance OK 100 100 40 0 N.A.
9 Power On Time OK 73 73 0 12249 N.A.
10 Spin Retry Count OK 100 100 60 0 N.A.
12 Power Cycle Count OK 99 99 0 2598 N.A.
191 G-sense Error Rate OK 100 100 0 0 N.A.
192 Power off Retract Count OK 100 100 0 167 N.A.
193 Load Cycle Count OK 69 69 0 310907 N.A.
194 Temperature OK 144 144 0 38 C N.A.
196 Reallocation Event Count OK 100 100 0 36 N.A.
197 Current Pending Sector Count OK 100 100 0 1 N.A.
198 Uncorrectable Sector Count OK 100 100 0 0 N.A.
199 UltraDMA CRC Error Count OK 200 200 0 0 N.A.
223 Load/Unload retry count OK 100 100 0 0 N.A.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-12-2012, 06:51 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

I've been searching all over the net and getting a bunch of same problematic Aspire 8935Gs. I don't get it. Since I'm an engineer myself it's hard to imagine that all of them are faulty or that the only explanation could be overheating. For myself I can say that I regularly blow the dust out.

Checked this post and realized that the problem is strongly related with the model (Aspire 8935G)
http://www.sevenforums.com/crashes-d...000007e-2.html

Last edited by Mad<>Max; 10-12-2012 at 06:58.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-12-2012, 21:02 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

I'll be checking out Leshcat driver 12.3UP2 like suggested by popeye. I'll report back as soon as I can.

No issues with hard drive or memory. It's the videocard driver that's causing my problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 10-13-2012, 00:28 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad<>Max View Post
I'll be checking out Leshcat driver 12.3UP2 like suggested by popeye. I'll report back as soon as I can.

No issues with hard drive or memory. It's the videocard driver that's causing my problems.
You do have i-series CPU right? Your hardware specs on the left say Core2 Duo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-13-2012, 06:56 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye View Post
You do have i-series CPU right? Your hardware specs on the left say Core2 Duo.
Unfortunately my cpu is core 2 duo, T6600, so no i letters there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 10-13-2012, 16:33 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad<>Max View Post
Unfortunately my cpu is core 2 duo, T6600, so no i letters there.
Ah, we've been going in circles then. You do not have a switchable system. You need to simply use the straight AMD mobility drivers. Does the automatic update on the AMD driver page not work for you?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-14-2012, 09:40 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye View Post
Ah, we've been going in circles then. You do not have a switchable system. You need to simply use the straight AMD mobility drivers. Does the automatic update on the AMD driver page not work for you?
I don't understand. How could it not be switchable. I even have a dedicated button for it, and I have been using the button, many times. Well acer.com has made the 8.64.3 and 8.64.4 drivers available for us 8935G users. Unfortunatelly non of them work. I really don't understand how that is possible, but still. I've tried yesterday, what you have suggested, the leshcat driver. Well I was the happies of all mortals for half the day, because I haven't noticed that tha direct 3D acceleration was diabled, meaning the in dxdiag under Display, all directX features were disbled. I only noticed it in the evening when I tried to start Crysis.It gave me an error, than I tried Half Life 2, the same stuff, Dead Island the same, and most strangly RAGE was working. I was stunned.
My point is that after installing the leshcat 12.2 up5 driver, the driver seemed to be working, no BSOD no freezes, no slow downs, only the inconvenience of the disabled 3D function.

Please be a bit more specific. Will 12.3up2 not work for me, as when I manage to download it from the leshact site? Whichone should work? I'm really geting confused. I don't want the most recent or the best, I would satesfy with a working and stable solution. I'm really looking forward to your reply.

As for the automated AMD driver page, it gave me an error stating that my card is not supported. Researching this message I found out that it's a common error, and I should download the driver from the manufacturers site. It came to a full cicle here. ATI, AMD won't help me, and Acer is interrested in the money you pay for your laptop. The way I see it you guys are my last hope. Will going to try some leshcat drivers(older ones) and post my results.

Last edited by Mad<>Max; 10-14-2012 at 09:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-14-2012, 16:54 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Just to clarify, I have installed the "straight" AMD driver (8.64.4) but the result was as allways: BSOD.

As for the circle part, I don't understand. What do you mean?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
xacid0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v2
Mainboard: MSI B75-G43A
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: BeatUpAudio
PSU: Enermax 650W 82+ Bronze
Default 10-14-2012, 18:18 | posts: 287

Try use Alter AMD Driver in Leshcat's Issue Resolver page. Boot into SafeMode 1st.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-15-2012, 08:02 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Thanks xacid0 for your suggestion. I'll try it later today.

Meanwhile I've noticed something interesting, and I thought I'd ask you guys with more experience. I read a popeye post stating that BIOS update can be critical on laptops with switchable graphics. I looked into my situation and found that i'm currently on v1.3206 released on 12.October.2009. After checking the acer support site I noticed that there are two newer versions:
- 1.3207 (released a couple days after the previous on 17.October.2009)
- 1.3212 (9.august.2011)
Could it be that 1.3206 had some kind of issue thus the need for 1.3207? Could this prevent me from successfully installing the ATI driver?

Last edited by Mad<>Max; 10-16-2012 at 12:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-15-2012, 12:14 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by xacid0 View Post
Try use Alter AMD Driver in Leshcat's Issue Resolver page. Boot into SafeMode 1st.

I've tried xacid0, the altering and it worked. I'm not sure what it does, though I have some ideas. From what I could tell it somehow "forces" the ATI Card to run on MAX.GREAT. (the switching is not working from the intel to the ATI, and resulted in a BSOD but who cares as long as the ATI works)
Tried Rage, at max. and it can handle it. Really appreciate your efforts guys, thank you xacid0 and popeye.
I'll report back in a couple of days, just to be 100% sure it works, in the long run; and I'll detail how I managed to get it work, linking the driver I used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-16-2012, 12:47 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Disregard my last post. It worked for a brief amount of 2-3 hours. When I've shut it down and rebooted the BSOD's came back.
I've decided to take a drastic step and have successfully updated my BIOS(1.3212).
How I'm facing a dilemma and thought I should ask someone with experience, what should I do next? I would prefer skipping a couple of more months worth of experimenting and constant failures if possible.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-16-2012, 12:55 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye View Post
Ah, we've been going in circles then. You do not have a switchable system. You need to simply use the straight AMD mobility drivers. Does the automatic update on the AMD driver page not work for you?
Sorry popeye for not replying sooner. The automatic update hasn't worked so far. I got a message that my card is not supported. Maybe I should retry now that the BIOS is up to date!? Not sure if it will help. Thanks for the tip.


The automated update works, unfortunately the problem is not gone. After a couple of restarts I get a color test, showing off the beautiful colors the card can display. Starting to believe that I'm totally stupid with these things or the card is CAPUT. Thank you popeye, for your replies, really appreciate them.

Last edited by Mad<>Max; 10-18-2012 at 06:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
xacid0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v2
Mainboard: MSI B75-G43A
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: BeatUpAudio
PSU: Enermax 650W 82+ Bronze
Default 10-17-2012, 13:04 | posts: 287

Can you check your Device Manager whether it show 2 GPUs when u switched to AMD graphic?

Similar like this..




Btw, this is set of Catalyst 12.6 Legacy WHQL that support Mobility HD4670. You can try install it over your current driver.
Code:
AMD Catalyst 12.6 WHQL - AMD Legacy Driver (for AMD Radeon™ HD 4000, HD 3000 and HD 2000 Series)

AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win 7-32
AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win 7-64

AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win XP-32
AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win XP-64
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-18-2012, 06:40 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by xacid0 View Post
Can you check your Device Manager whether it show 2 GPUs when u switched to AMD graphic?

Similar like this..




Btw, this is set of Catalyst 12.6 Legacy WHQL that support Mobility HD4670. You can try install it over your current driver.
Code:
AMD Catalyst 12.6 WHQL - AMD Legacy Driver (for AMD Radeon™ HD 4000, HD 3000 and HD 2000 Series)

AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win 7-32
AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win 7-64

AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win XP-32
AMD Catalyst 12.6 - Win XP-64
Thanks xacid0.
The answer to your first question is yes. After installing the either the 8.64.4 package from acer's site or even after installing the 12.6 WHQL it shows both.
(After a lot of reading into it, this is normal, since they somehow co-exist); but, and here might be a problem, the Intel shows the same driver number as the ATI when instaling the 8.64.4 and after instaling the 12.6 WHQL (over the 8.64.4)from amd the intel shows the 8.64.4 while ati 8.970.100.300 i believe)
I've tried believe me, like a million times the 12.6 WHQL from amd's site, by instaling it over the default one, and even tried cleaning up previous drivers and only installing this one. I've tried it in both discrete and switchable mode. I'm probably the most problematic guy, since not even the basic driver works for me (in discrete mode)(the basic driver installed by windows never starts showing the usual code 10 error) and afterwards even after driver sweeping/ccleaning the windows and it's registries and installing a fresh 12.6 WHQL driver, I got eighter a color screen of death (never BSOD).
This is so messed up, I'm starting to believe the video card is DAMAGED(even though I don't understand how can it work sometimes for longer periods of time, and causing problems mostly when it's not under burden).
I'm out of ideas? What do you think about the BIOS settings? With one should I use? Till the BIOS update I didn't have the option in BIOS to choose between discrete/inter/switchable mode, it appeared after the update.
I would like to us the ATI card, because the laptop is plugged in always (when using it), but not sure if it's the "good" option in my case! After the BIOS update I've tried only Windows7x64 and never the 32 bit one. As for XP, I have a LastXP dvd, so I can try that as well I suppose (I've tried it twice before the BIOS update but the result was that I ended up with a black screen[using the driver from acer's site]).

One other thing, this has happened when I first tried the 12.6 WHQL. In discrete mode, after letting the default driver to install I ran the automated amd updater. It has determined that the newest driver is 12.6 WHQL, applicable for me. I have performed the install and it was working flawlessly that day (afternoon and evening). I event shut it down completely, done couple of restarts (because I got most of the CSOD's) in the first couple if seconds after rebooting. Than the next day, I woke up to where I left off, constant color-testing the monitor. Not sure where I read that with ATI Tray Tools, by Ray Adams I can set the parameters of my ATI card. I've tried it (discrete mod only) set the clocks to 675/800 as it should be, and lowered the voltage from 1.2 V to 1.1 V.
Even this worked for I while, but eventually after a couple of restarts it wasn't.

Not sure if I'm describing the things happening on my laptop properly, and maybe some of you don't like that I'm posting all kinds of weird stuff up here, but my intention besides solving my issue is to help others with similar problems. I usually take notes when trying some new approach not to repeat the same mistakes but obviously without success.

Last edited by Mad<>Max; 10-18-2012 at 06:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 10-18-2012, 16:11 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

Just a suggestion. Set BIOS to switchable. Go into safe mode and clean the drivers making sure inf's are also deleted. Restart in normal mode and try to install again.

If that doesn't work do the same with BIOS set to discrete mode.

Really running out of ideas. You may well have a hardware issue. You could also try going back to the old BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Mad<>Max
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati Mobility Radeon 4670
Processor: Intel CoRe 2 Duo T6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: 120W
Default 10-18-2012, 18:26 | posts: 24 | Location: EUROPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye View Post
Just a suggestion. Set BIOS to switchable. Go into safe mode and clean the drivers making sure inf's are also deleted. Restart in normal mode and try to install again.

If that doesn't work do the same with BIOS set to discrete mode.

Really running out of ideas. You may well have a hardware issue. You could also try going back to the old BIOS.
Sorry to have to say this, but I have already thought of what you have just proposed and tried it both ways. I'm on Intel chip, and probably going to stay. Thanks anyway guys. I won't give up, but certainly will cut back on driver installation for a while.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.