Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What's wrong with the Crucial M4 010G Firmware and why hasn't it been fixed ?
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default What's wrong with the Crucial M4 010G Firmware and why hasn't it been fixed ? - 10-10-2012, 13:30 | posts: 21,716 | Location: Guru3D testlab

About a week or two ago Crucial released a new firmware update for the*Crucial M4 SSDs, the firmware update is 010G. Last week I updated my M4 towards that firmware as I was still running the old firm...

What's wrong with the Crucial M4 010G Firmware and why hasn't it been fixed ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
crzilla25
Banned
 
Videocard: nvidia gtx 660
Processor: intel i7
Mainboard: z77 xtreme4
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: x-fi titanium klipsch 4.2
PSU: silverstone 850w
Default 10-10-2012, 16:24 | posts: 4 | Location: small island where heaven lies

not to spoil but i think crucial already warn to uefi user back then that's also the reason i don't upg my firm.
and now they warned uefi user:
UEFI-based Systems: During validation of this firmware update we noticed instances where our update tools do not recognize the SSD with some systems using UEFI. The target device is not recognized as an updateable device during the reboot process. If this happens, the firmware update will not occur, and you’ll retain the firmware version you started with. Windows will then restart normally. If this sequence occurs, you cannot upgrade to this firmware version at this time, but you’ve done no harm to your system (or your data).

If you have questions or need assistance, please contact our Technical Support department.
just be patient & hope for the best.......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-10-2012, 16:37 | posts: 21,716 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by crzilla25 View Post
During validation of this firmware update we noticed instances where our update tools do not recognize the SSD with some systems using UEFI. The target device is not recognized as an updateable device during the reboot process. If this happens, the firmware update will not occur
You need to read that a little more carefully -- If the firmware update does not occur or the update tools do not recognize the SSD on systems with UEFI ... then how have so many people been able to successfully update the firmware on an UEFI system in the first place ?

Ours is UEFI ... that wasn't detected ... the firmware flashed, result: the SSD ended almost bricked.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
duntuk
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2012, 20:14 | posts: 10

Yeah, UEFI bios wasn't detected by the upgrade on my system either Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH...

Huge pain in the ass this entire thing was... And they need to make the caution warning more prominent--e.g. big bold letters, one line "DO NOT use this if your motherboard has a UEFI BIOS"
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 10-10-2012, 20:20 | posts: 6,441 | Location: Chilling

No, just update using the ISO method (USB drive).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 10-10-2012, 22:15 | posts: 12,262 | Location: England

I've updated the firmware on my 256 GB m4 twice using the Crucial Windows installer but (fortunately?) this 010G one just says there is no SSDs to update in my system even though I have the 0F firmware installed. Okaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay...

I contacted Crucial support about it and they came back and told me that they were working on an updated version for UEFI BIOSes. Only one slight problem there, Crucial.... my BIOS isn't UEFI as the motherboard is four years old nearly!!! I naturally sent them another email back but have yet to receive any response to it. After reading about the issues with this update I have decided to hold off updating via the ISO method.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 10-11-2012, 00:11 | posts: 16,966 | Location: US East Coast

Hilbert, sorry to hear about the issue with your Crucial M4. I've avoided updating mine thus far and guess I'll be holding off until Crucial gets THIS sorted out.... Thanks for the heads up.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 10-11-2012, 00:48 | posts: 2,211 | Location: far,far from home

I blindly updated my 128 M4 wich i have in my desktop computer...luckily i have a "older" motherboard ,so until now the SSD acted normally and i keep my fingers crossed that it stays so.
But i have another M4 in my laptop wich i leave with the actual firmware.
Sorry to hear this Hilbert,i hope that all your data is ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
duntuk
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-11-2012, 00:52 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillin View Post
No, just update using the ISO method (USB drive).
Yeah, however, that's not an obvious option on the site for the 010G update... The only thing that shows is the windows update (.exe), when you select windows as your OS... I guess it shows other options if you select OSX, but as noted, that's not an obvious option.


And yeah, stay away from this firmware if you're on an UEFI BIOS... I had to use a non-UEFI bios PC to downgrade via bootable USB to 000f-- the bootable usb mehtod wouldn't wouldn't recognize the SSD on my UEFI bios, even after the BIOS recognized it after a sucessfull power cycle...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Ji1986
Maha Guru
 
Ji1986's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 OC SLI
Processor: Intel I7 3930K @4.6ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X79 PRO
Memory: G-Skill RipjawZ 16G
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Silverstone 1000W
Default 10-11-2012, 01:35 | posts: 856 | Location: Australia

I only just upgraded my firmware to this after thinking it was time to change from the firmware with the 5000 bug. It has been running for a week and luckily no problems.

but i think i will revert back to an older firmware
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Default 10-11-2012, 03:26 | posts: 6,622 | Location: Puerto Rico

This reminds me so much of OCZ Vertex 2 and Vertex 3 :/ . i went trhu so much pain with the old sandforce its unbelievable. I hope Crucial comes with a solution very fast , thats no fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
crzilla25
Banned
 
Videocard: nvidia gtx 660
Processor: intel i7
Mainboard: z77 xtreme4
Memory: 16gb
Soundcard: x-fi titanium klipsch 4.2
PSU: silverstone 850w
Default 10-11-2012, 05:12 | posts: 4 | Location: small island where heaven lies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
You need to read that a little more carefully -- If the firmware update does not occur or the update tools do not recognize the SSD on systems with UEFI ... then how have so many people been able to successfully update the firmware on an UEFI system in the first place ?

Ours is UEFI ... that wasn't detected ... the firmware flashed, result: the SSD ended almost bricked.
dear hilbert i know that some people manage to update their firmware (it might be using the iso ver), i tried to update using window and then the warning above is in my case.
but what i mean in my post is, in the first time crucial did mention that this upgrade is not mean for people using uefi ( i know it's silly since most people now using uefi, bad for you crucial), and after a while it seem that they changed their note to the above..

in the first time i'm so glad that they fix it but then i'm clueless what i'm gonna do with this file i'm a UEFI

so peace......
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.