Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows Explorer Crash?
Old
  (#1)
Dragontorc
Master Guru
 
Dragontorc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: intel i7 3.2
Mainboard: Asus ROG Rampage 3
Memory: DDR3 16gb
Soundcard: Creative ZX
PSU: Corsair 1050
Default Windows Explorer Crash? - 10-08-2012, 08:49 | posts: 170 | Location: UK Derbyshire

Since 12.9 windows explorer keeps crashing, seem random. Is this an issue with the latest drivers, Anyone else having the same trouble. ??

Also i cant boot into safe mode, i get no signal to monitor.

Any advice please.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Dragontorc
Master Guru
 
Dragontorc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: intel i7 3.2
Mainboard: Asus ROG Rampage 3
Memory: DDR3 16gb
Soundcard: Creative ZX
PSU: Corsair 1050
Default 10-09-2012, 18:10 | posts: 170 | Location: UK Derbyshire

Anyone?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Default 10-09-2012, 18:25 | posts: 989 | Location: iTALY

Yeah sometimes it happens to me too, and also to some other people at the rage3d forums.

Fill a report here ---> www.amd.com/report
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Dragontorc
Master Guru
 
Dragontorc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: intel i7 3.2
Mainboard: Asus ROG Rampage 3
Memory: DDR3 16gb
Soundcard: Creative ZX
PSU: Corsair 1050
Default 10-09-2012, 19:38 | posts: 170 | Location: UK Derbyshire

Submitted.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Tuoni
Newbie
 
Tuoni's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Asus AMD HD7970 CFX
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth P67
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Coolermaster M1000
Default 10-09-2012, 19:48 | posts: 38 | Location: Netherlands

I'll stay away from that driver then.. guess it's called beta for a reason
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 10-09-2012, 20:27 | posts: 1,144 | Location: Charleroi, PA

0 explorer crashes here on a 7850
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2012, 01:06 | posts: 1,550

Have you tried using msconfig to do a clean boot.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135
Then see if you still get the issue or not.

You can also try autoruns to see if there is something there you don't recognize (or think should be there).
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb963902.aspx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Damnit
Maha Guru
 
Damnit's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek 5970
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Mainboard: ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Memory: G.SKILL Trident+ 16Gb
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatality
PSU: Cooler Master 1000w Gold
Default 10-11-2012, 21:52 | posts: 2,429 | Location: Uncle Sam's Pocket

I get it too, event viewer has this to say:
Faulting application name: explorer.exe, version: 6.1.7601.17567, time stamp: 0x4d672ee4
Faulting module name: atiumd64.dll, version: 9.14.10.926, time stamp: 0x505258fd
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000019078b
Faulting process id: 0xc44
Faulting application start time: 0x01cda7f0e2f5871b
Faulting application path: C:\Windows\explorer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\atiumd64.dll
Report Id: 268071f4-13e4-11e2-93d2-20cf30954a4b

Im cleaning the system out right now and going back to a different version, probably the latest official one from AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kenzt
Newbie
 
kenzt's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 6990 @ 950/1350
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 3.0
Memory: G.SKILL 1886 8GB
Soundcard: SennHeiser 380 Pro
PSU: Thermaltake 875w
Default 10-11-2012, 21:59 | posts: 33 | Location: Portugal

I had the same issue to after like 3 or 4 days running 12.9 on a 6990.
Tried to solve the problem by copying explorer.exe to system32 folder.
Never happened again.... yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Dragontorc
Master Guru
 
Dragontorc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: intel i7 3.2
Mainboard: Asus ROG Rampage 3
Memory: DDR3 16gb
Soundcard: Creative ZX
PSU: Corsair 1050
Default 10-11-2012, 23:55 | posts: 170 | Location: UK Derbyshire

Hmm, i may revert bak.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
AdamK47
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Verite V1000 & Voodoo 4MB
Processor: Pentium 166C
Mainboard: Intel 430HX
Memory: 24MB EDO SIMM
Soundcard: AWE64
PSU: Enermax 200W
Default 10-12-2012, 02:46 | posts: 183 | Location: Earth

Wecome to the party.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
sausje
Banned
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire HD6870
Processor: i7-2600k @ 3.9GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
Memory: 2x DDR3-1333 4Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Corsair HW650
Default 10-23-2012, 08:56 | posts: 48 | Location: .NL

And the problem has come forth again, 2 people reporting it so far with 12.10.

Anyone else having this again with 12.10?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
heroxoot
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970 lightning @1225/1700
Processor: FX 8150 @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80
Memory: 16GB 2133mhz@1866 G.skill
Soundcard: Craptek/logitech
PSU: OCZ ZX 850w gold
Default 10-23-2012, 09:04 | posts: 218 | Location: TN

I had Aero on w7 go from clear to not once. Not sure if thats a explorer.exe crash or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 10-23-2012, 09:10 | posts: 495

Solution

1) Install or Reinstall after driver installation Net Framework v4.5

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=30653

2) Decrease GPU+VRAM overclocking

100% solved
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
sausje
Banned
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire HD6870
Processor: i7-2600k @ 3.9GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
Memory: 2x DDR3-1333 4Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: Corsair HW650
Default 10-23-2012, 09:57 | posts: 48 | Location: .NL

Not 100% as that didn't solve it for me

What did solve it for me (for now), was installing 12.11
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Dragontorc
Master Guru
 
Dragontorc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: intel i7 3.2
Mainboard: Asus ROG Rampage 3
Memory: DDR3 16gb
Soundcard: Creative ZX
PSU: Corsair 1050
Default 10-23-2012, 10:26 | posts: 170 | Location: UK Derbyshire

Thanks for advice/ Tring 12.11 october 21st version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Johnny3D
Newbie
 
Johnny3D's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6950
Processor: Intel 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: 4 GB DDR3 1600MHZ
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 10-23-2012, 15:04 | posts: 12

I don't know if anyone else noticed but the .net 4 package has a different (in size) atiumd64.dll than the "standard" package. Have you guys tried both packages for 12.10 WHQL?

Other than that the non .net4 package has the same (size wise) atiumd64.dll as the 12.8 whql
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.9ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4gig
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD Platinum
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 10-23-2012, 15:57 | posts: 2,059 | Location: USA

since its the UMD (Universal Media Decoder) driver causing this, try using the atiumd64.dll from an earlier version (12.8 for example) and see if that fixes it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Dragontorc
Master Guru
 
Dragontorc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan
Processor: intel i7 3.2
Mainboard: Asus ROG Rampage 3
Memory: DDR3 16gb
Soundcard: Creative ZX
PSU: Corsair 1050
Default 10-24-2012, 10:34 | posts: 170 | Location: UK Derbyshire

Sems fixed with latest beta
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
tweakpower
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI HD 6770
Processor: FX-4100 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: HuperX 2x4GB PC12800
Soundcard: Realtek Onboard
PSU: LC-Power 600W
Default 10-24-2012, 11:18 | posts: 932 | Location: Serbia

Don't update your VGA driver unless you experience problems. It beats the purpose, 12.8 and 12.9 have terrible performance compared to (don't have a clue, came ON CD with GPU) driver version i use. Just a friendly advice . It goes for both nVidia and AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Newfiejudd
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 6970 XFire
Processor: Intel I7 920 @ 4.0 GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1000
Default 10-24-2012, 18:54 | posts: 15

It was happening to me with Radeln Pro Installed with 12.10 and 12.11 beta 4 with Cap 12.10 installed.

Removed Radeon Pro and have had no crashes. Although I get terrible performance in WOW now. I am unable to get both GPU's to Load more then 50% each.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
nuggetz
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 6800 (128MB)
Processor: Athlon64 3500+ Venice
Mainboard: Asus A8N-SLI
Memory: DDR PC3200 Corsair CMX512-3200C2 (1GB)
Soundcard: M-Audio Delta 44
PSU:
Default 12-08-2012, 02:00 | posts: 7 | Location: Chicago

Same here. 5970 Windows 7 64bit. Every time I run Project Cars I would get stuttering. I would alt tab out and see that explorer.exe crashed. Restarting it doesn't help. Just crashes again. Went back to 12.8 and problem is gone.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.