Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Crucial m4 010G Firmware Download
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Crucial m4 010G Firmware Download - 10-05-2012, 14:16 | posts: 21,280 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Download the Crucial m4 010G Firmware for the Crucial m4 2.5 SSD an update from version 000F to 010G....

Crucial m4 010G Firmware Download
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 10-08-2012, 10:36 | posts: 1,486 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

I'll check it out once my m4 gets back from RMA. It should be a little snappier with this FW and hopefully won't die again after 3 months.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-08-2012, 11:04 | posts: 21,280 | Location: Guru3D testlab

I installed it over the weekend, so far pretty good, then again .. never had any issues with the old Firmware either.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SLI
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 750W
Default 10-08-2012, 11:52 | posts: 2,266 | Location: Ireland

There are issues with this firmware. Alot of people have installed this bios and after a while the SSD will not be detected in the bios. At first i installed this and everything was fine but after a while it stopped being detected.
The fix for this issue is to power cycle the drive. What you do is connect only the sata power cable, turn pc on and enter bios and leave it like that for 20mins then turn off and remove power cable for 30 seconds. Repeat 2-3 times.
It fixed it for me, I then downgraded to 000F.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Keitosha
Ancient Guru
 
Keitosha's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 270X 2GB
Processor: FX-8350 + Mugen 4 PCGH
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme3
Memory: 32GB Kingston 4x8GB
Soundcard: SB Z/SH HD477/TX-NR626
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 10-08-2012, 14:29 | posts: 4,541 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by harkinsteven View Post
There are issues with this firmware. Alot of people have installed this bios and after a while the SSD will not be detected in the bios. At first i installed this and everything was fine but after a while it stopped being detected.
The fix for this issue is to power cycle the drive. What you do is connect only the sata power cable, turn pc on and enter bios and leave it like that for 20mins then turn off and remove power cable for 30 seconds. Repeat 2-3 times.
It fixed it for me, I then downgraded to 000F.
I was having that problem in the beginning 2 times. Was shocked like hell and i thought i've bricked my SSD. Did the ISO upgrade. After power cycling, the issue is gone and i never had a problem since. I never had this with the previous firmwares. Still better than Sandforce though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-10-2012, 12:05 | posts: 21,280 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by harkinsteven View Post
There are issues with this firmware. Alot of people have installed this bios and after a while the SSD will not be detected in the bios. At first i installed this and everything was fine but after a while it stopped being detected.
The fix for this issue is to power cycle the drive. What you do is connect only the sata power cable, turn pc on and enter bios and leave it like that for 20mins then turn off and remove power cable for 30 seconds. Repeat 2-3 times.
It fixed it for me, I then downgraded to 000F.

Fuuuuuuu** this just happened to me. Downright nasty. System crashed and the SSD will not come alive. Had to revert to a disk image backup on another SSD.

Still trying to revive the M4. Wow, there goes the #1 reliability for Crucial. I feel a news story coming up soon.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
iancook221188
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
Processor: 2600k4.5 / i7 970 4.4 WC
Mainboard: X68 UD4 / X58A UD5
Memory: 16GB / 24GB
Soundcard:
PSU: TX850 / AX850
Default 10-10-2012, 12:16 | posts: 1,465 | Location: uk

i don't like the news of this ive just go one for a client build update the firmware a week ago, when does this problem start just after update, a week down the line, randomly or just after a reboot does the power cycle fix it for good. im not impressed hope this deos not happen to me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 10-10-2012, 12:21 | posts: 13,544 | Location: USA

Aww poor Crucial. There goes the one thing good they had going for them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 10-10-2012, 13:16 | posts: 1,486 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Crucial guys left a message that they sent my m4 512GB. I wonder if they fixed it (when I sent it, it was freezing on some files slowing down on others, had read errors, some bad sectors, and occasionally was causing computer to hang) and what firmware it'll return with.

I still have OCZ Vertex 1 in my desktop machine, abused for 3. years and working flawlessly. m4 lasted for 3 months. Maybe I'm unlucky with Crucial or maybe their quality control had holidays.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Hydro28
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Samsung Green
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX750W
Default 10-10-2012, 13:36 | posts: 20 | Location: UK

I had to power cycle and then switch to IDE mode to get my bios to detect the drive after updating to this. Downgraded to 000F then switched back to AHCI, rock solid once more.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 10-10-2012, 13:38 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Fuuuuuuu** this just happened to me. Downright nasty. System crashed and the SSD will not come alive. Had to revert to a disk image backup on another SSD.

Still trying to revive the M4. Wow, there goes the #1 reliability for Crucial. I feel a news story coming up soon.
Did you use the Windows installer or an ISO?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-10-2012, 13:41 | posts: 21,280 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Windows installer


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SLI
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 750W
Default 10-10-2012, 13:57 | posts: 2,266 | Location: Ireland

Hilbert, a power cycle should fix it. I did it 3 times to make sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Sharoth
Master Guru
 
Sharoth's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX780ti DCIIOC
Processor: 2600K @ 4.8Ghz 1.38v
Mainboard: ASUS M4GZ
Memory: 16GB RipJaws 1600Mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx, AD700, Yeti
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 10-10-2012, 14:15 | posts: 693 | Location: Minnesota, USA

I'm using a Crucial M4-CT128M4SSD2 128GB SSD with firmware 0309. Should I leave mine alone or flash it to a newer bios ? I haven't had any problems with it yet. Built this rig in Feb of this year with this SSD as my boot drive. Recommendations?

Last edited by Sharoth; 10-10-2012 at 15:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-10-2012, 15:21 | posts: 21,280 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Quote:
Originally Posted by harkinsteven View Post
Hilbert, a power cycle should fix it. I did it 3 times to make sure.
Nasty, took me four power cycles ... but it came back alive.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 10-10-2012, 16:06 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

So far all the people that posted that they had problems used the Windows Installer, I personally used the ISO and have had no issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Jagman
Maha Guru
 
Jagman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Processor: FX6300 @4.3 G/Tech Igloo
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3
Memory: Kingston 8GB DDR3 1866
Soundcard: onboard HD audio
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 10-10-2012, 16:15 | posts: 1,785 | Location: Kent, UK

Leaving mine on 0309 for now then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 10-11-2012, 08:01 | posts: 3,812 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharoth View Post
I'm using a Crucial M4-CT128M4SSD2 128GB SSD with firmware 0309. Should I leave mine alone or flash it to a newer bios ? I haven't had any problems with it yet. Built this rig in Feb of this year with this SSD as my boot drive. Recommendations?
0309 is fine, but if you can find 000F id say flash it to that and leave 010G alone for now.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.