Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
DPC latency
Old
  (#1)
Solace50
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 560 ti 2gb SLI
Processor: 2700k
Mainboard: MSI z68 GD65
Memory: gskill 16gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music PCI
PSU: 850w xfx pro xxx
Default DPC latency - 10-03-2012, 22:52 | posts: 133

whats considered proper DPC latency from a video driver.

also whats the most recent driver with low DPC latency. 6xx series supported "if any exist"

currently its 100ms-500-ms on spikes.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-03-2012, 23:05 | posts: 23,924 | Location: NZ

Run LatencyMon.
High DPC latency can be caused by anything, not only video drivers..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-03-2012, 23:24 | posts: 3,271 | Location: USA

the 306.23 drivers are 100-600 latency i once seen then hit 1k+Every other driver is usual 100-200if that for me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 10-07-2012, 16:03 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solace50 View Post
whats considered proper DPC latency from a video driver.

also whats the most recent driver with low DPC latency. 6xx series supported "if any exist"

currently its 100ms-500-ms on spikes.
using the latest driver306.23 WHQL i get ~50 with spikes to ~450 but the same system with gtx275 i never get spikes more than 150
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 10-07-2012, 16:07 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Run LatencyMon.
High DPC latency can be caused by anything, not only video drivers..
I did use it it point to the graphics card driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-07-2012, 16:37 | posts: 3,271 | Location: USA

that is cause it is the drivers. Nvidia drivers the only drivers that even get they high, MY realtek network drivers use to spike to 600 ever 5 min, but I fixed that by changed the drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Webhiker
Member Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte N780OC R2
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth Z97 Mk. 2
Memory: 2 x 8 GB G.Skill F3-2400
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Ext. gamer
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 10-07-2012, 18:24 | posts: 66 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by npdoss View Post
I did use it it point to the graphics card driver.
Please post screenshots from DPC Latenct checker (http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml) and from Latenct Mon (http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon)

I had some spikes ( still in the green area) in DPC which turned out to be caused by the LAN driver. I had to roll back to a previous LAN driver to get spike free latency.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Solace50
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 560 ti 2gb SLI
Processor: 2700k
Mainboard: MSI z68 GD65
Memory: gskill 16gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music PCI
PSU: 850w xfx pro xxx
Default 10-07-2012, 18:36 | posts: 133

theres a known issue with realteks latest drivers na you need to roll back to .53 and with earlier intel drivers for NIC's. i change my mobo and it has a intel chipset for NIC now instead of the awful realteak one. i ask about the drivers since i would like to maintain a low latency despite my asus essence hits 100-200 sometimes for audio which isnt all that bad but still up there. the nvidia drivers exceeding 500+ is pretty awful when i recall back in the day the most i would see is 150 or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 10-07-2012, 22:11 | posts: 557 | Location: Heaven

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solace50 View Post
theres a known issue with realteks latest drivers na you need to roll back to .53 and with earlier intel drivers for NIC's. i change my mobo and it has a intel chipset for NIC now instead of the awful realteak one. i ask about the drivers since i would like to maintain a low latency despite my asus essence hits 100-200 sometimes for audio which isnt all that bad but still up there. the nvidia drivers exceeding 500+ is pretty awful when i recall back in the day the most i would see is 150 or so.
Solace you can try brainbits low dpc driver (choose low dpc during install).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
snorge
Member Guru
 
Videocard: gtx 560 2GB
Processor: Core 2 Duo @3.4
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 10-07-2012, 22:16 | posts: 85

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solace50 View Post
theres a known issue with realteks latest drivers na you need to roll back to .53 and with earlier intel drivers for NIC's. i change my mobo and it has a intel chipset for NIC now instead of the awful realteak one. i ask about the drivers since i would like to maintain a low latency despite my asus essence hits 100-200 sometimes for audio which isnt all that bad but still up there. the nvidia drivers exceeding 500+ is pretty awful when i recall back in the day the most i would see is 150 or so.
.53 is the latest realtek driver without the problem?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
inplayruns
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default 10-08-2012, 02:22 | posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
Solace you can try brainbits low dpc driver (choose low dpc during install).
You talking about the unified xonar drivers right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Solace50
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 560 ti 2gb SLI
Processor: 2700k
Mainboard: MSI z68 GD65
Memory: gskill 16gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music PCI
PSU: 850w xfx pro xxx
Default 10-08-2012, 05:03 | posts: 133

those brainbits drivers are a mere placebo effect unless your actually using some of the features in the asus control panel that contribute to the DPC latency. all they do is use either a different c-panel/driver which limits certain features and the default latency is the same. Ive tried all 3 versions of the install for brainbits and never once noticed a dramamtic drop in latency. loading up a game or a song still gave 100-150us with spikes to 200 for the auido driver with about 110 average idle.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
The Lengthy One
Banned
 
Videocard: 2x 680 SLI
Processor: i5 3770k 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Crucial 16GB
Soundcard: 680 HD Audio / RX-A1010
PSU: Seasonic 850w
Default 10-08-2012, 16:27 | posts: 107 | Location: UK

I have no idea how to use/read this tool or really what it is for, how long should you leave it running? it seems I have allot of hard page faults which does not sound good at all.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 10-08-2012, 16:32 | posts: 3,734 | Location: outside the Box...

leave it running for around 30 min. or so...while running, go browsae the internet, play a game, watch videos and listen to music..etc etc..

then u look at the latency monitor and make screens of the MAIN tab, processes and driver tab...

then you should see a lot more..55 seconds is certanly not enough.-.

-BetA-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
snorge
Member Guru
 
Videocard: gtx 560 2GB
Processor: Core 2 Duo @3.4
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 10-08-2012, 16:33 | posts: 85

Looks a lot better than mine lol. I don't know if those hard faults are bad or not I had it open about 12 minutes from system boot and browsing the web have thousands. I am running fancycache if that makes any difference.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Solace50
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 560 ti 2gb SLI
Processor: 2700k
Mainboard: MSI z68 GD65
Memory: gskill 16gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music PCI
PSU: 850w xfx pro xxx
Default 10-08-2012, 21:05 | posts: 133

well supposedly the nvida reps check the forums periodically. if enough people pmed/reported it you may get some quicker results as this is something i doubt they would be noticing initally for the 6 series. i would make the assumption that its related to the dynamic clocking since most of the power saving features usually tend to have DPC issues on hardware. like intels speed step used to
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 10-08-2012, 21:53 | posts: 9,037 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
Looks a lot better than mine lol. I don't know if those hard faults are bad or not I had it open about 12 minutes from system boot and browsing the web have thousands. I am running fancycache if that makes any difference.

Looks normal to me, I get hard pagefaults out the ass too. Programs that use a large amount of memory (security software, browsers, etc) are bound to have tons of them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 10-08-2012, 22:23 | posts: 3,271 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solace50 View Post
well supposedly the nvida reps check the forums periodically. if enough people pmed/reported it you may get some quicker results as this is something i doubt they would be noticing initally for the 6 series. i would make the assumption that its related to the dynamic clocking since most of the power saving features usually tend to have DPC issues on hardware. like intels speed step used to
mostly why i dont use any power saving anything on my pc/desktop. For a Laptop sure, but i dont see a point to any of that on desktop.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Cosmitz
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 660TI
Processor: I7 2700k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G65
Memory: Corsair 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard:
PSU: 450W Cheiftec
Default 10-09-2012, 02:08 | posts: 3

52006 max hard pagefault @ 3176 counts
530 highest DPC

Don't know how much it helps. Running 306.23@660ti.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
snorge
Member Guru
 
Videocard: gtx 560 2GB
Processor: Core 2 Duo @3.4
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 10-09-2012, 02:36 | posts: 85

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Looks normal to me, I get hard pagefaults out the ass too. Programs that use a large amount of memory (security software, browsers, etc) are bound to have tons of them.
I disabled power saving features in both Windows and my Bios and it reduced them down to the hundreds instead of thousands, when playing a game or something the cpu should be maxed out anyway so I doubt it is a problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Solace50
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 560 ti 2gb SLI
Processor: 2700k
Mainboard: MSI z68 GD65
Memory: gskill 16gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music PCI
PSU: 850w xfx pro xxx
Default 10-09-2012, 07:52 | posts: 133

dpc latency is improved in the whql quadro drivers that just got released, but not by much. about 400-450 max now over 5-600

edit: i lied its the same.

Last edited by Solace50; 10-09-2012 at 08:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Webhiker
Member Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte N780OC R2
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth Z97 Mk. 2
Memory: 2 x 8 GB G.Skill F3-2400
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Ext. gamer
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 10-09-2012, 08:50 | posts: 66 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Lengthy One View Post
I have no idea how to use/read this tool or really what it is for, how long should you leave it running? it seems I have allot of hard page faults which does not sound good at all.
Contrary to what the name 'page fault' might suggest, page faults are not always errors and are common and necessary to increase the amount of memory available to programs in any operating system that utilizes virtual memory, including Microsoft Windows, Unix-like systems (including Mac OS X, Linux, *BSD, Solaris, AIX, and HP-UX), and z/OS. Microsoft uses the term hard fault in more recent versions of the Resource Monitor (e.g., Windows Vista) to mean 'page fault'


Quoted from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_fault
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 10-12-2012, 00:47 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

i noticed the spikes happens when the voltage of the GPU change and the clock change of the GPU
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 10-12-2012, 10:35 | posts: 557 | Location: Heaven

Quote:
Originally Posted by npdoss View Post
i noticed the spikes happens when the voltage of the GPU change and the clock change of the GPU
http://www.overclock.net/t/1267918/g...d-undervolting

You can also do this with Afterburner (I prefer it its so much more easy)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Solace50
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit 560 ti 2gb SLI
Processor: 2700k
Mainboard: MSI z68 GD65
Memory: gskill 16gb 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music PCI
PSU: 850w xfx pro xxx
Default 10-12-2012, 19:37 | posts: 133

hm so its basically forcing the 3d profile to 3d performance clocks? which wont trigger the boost function that adjusts the card under load. eh nvm its acutally a 4th mode by looking at nvidia inspector. 2d/3d/3dperf/whatever P0 means

Last edited by Solace50; 10-12-2012 at 19:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.