Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Choppy in Windowed Mode?
Old
  (#1)
ExoriaX
Master Guru
 
ExoriaX's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti @ Stock
Processor: Core i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair 750W (60a)
Default Choppy in Windowed Mode? - 11-20-2012, 06:23 | posts: 322 | Location: Texas, USA

Hello, I notice that most of games tend to choppy when using windowed mode. By games, I mean EVERY games. This isn't constant but goes to choppy once a while while playing games.

I think it has something to do with settings. I just don't know what am I suppose to do to fix this problem.

I had AMD Phenom II X4 955 with Radeon HD 5770 which choppy happens sometimes too and now with i5 3570k with Radeon HD 7850 the choppy still happens sometimes.

Note that this only happen in windowed mode. Full screen is perfectly fine, zero choppy at all. I use windowed mode more often than full screen for one main reason: I have 2 monitors which I don't like alt-tab and back in game. I have one monitor for gaming and other monitor for internet, oovoo and such.

Any idea?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
HamsterCrispy
Master Guru
 
HamsterCrispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 650 Ti SSC
Processor: Core i5-2400
Mainboard: P8H61 LX3+
Memory: 6 GB Team Elite
Soundcard: Onboard crap
PSU: Silverstone 500W
Default 11-20-2012, 08:31 | posts: 761 | Location: Pacific Ring of Fire

Hi

I think it is generally accepted that games in window mode tend to be choppy naturally. I don't know the exact reason why, but this has been a fact ever since. However, it was worse in the past. Newer games can run in window mode with much less performance impact, but still the frames will drop in window mode.

What choppiness are you talking about exactly? Like unplayable choppy? or low FPS choppy?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ExoriaX
Master Guru
 
ExoriaX's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti @ Stock
Processor: Core i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair 750W (60a)
Default 11-20-2012, 21:26 | posts: 322 | Location: Texas, USA

It's definitely not unplayable choppy. I think it loses some frames in once a while. I would guess between 30mins to 1hr and choppy happens then 5-10 seconds later it's back to normal. It does the same thing everyday. lol

I posted here because it annoys me. lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 11-20-2012, 22:27 | posts: 8,706 | Location: UK

Probably choppy, as in windowed mode, you'll only be running at your cards 2D clocks, instead of its 3D clocks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
HamsterCrispy
Master Guru
 
HamsterCrispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 650 Ti SSC
Processor: Core i5-2400
Mainboard: P8H61 LX3+
Memory: 6 GB Team Elite
Soundcard: Onboard crap
PSU: Silverstone 500W
Default 11-21-2012, 00:33 | posts: 761 | Location: Pacific Ring of Fire

^ What Rich_Guy said.

Try opening GPU-Z when going into window mode and look at the clocks both GPU core and memory clock and notice that they will be forced to drop down.

Whenever you go into windows desktop, clocks always drop to 2D, so running a game in window mode is much like ALT+TABing.

Why not play in fullscreen mode?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Valken
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 6950 2GB CFX unlocked
Processor: Intel i5-760 @ 4.2 GHZ
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 11-21-2012, 07:50 | posts: 681

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Probably choppy, as in windowed mode, you'll only be running at your cards 2D clocks, instead of its 3D clocks.
This is probably whats going on. I use Radeon Pro and it does lock my Windowed games in 3D clocks since I'm using other settings. As to why use windowed mode, color correction and task switching is better than full screen mode.

Great for MMO, RPGs and other games that not too intensive.

The bad thing is that windowed mode is not CFX compatible. I don't know if SLI works in windowed mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ExoriaX
Master Guru
 
ExoriaX's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti @ Stock
Processor: Core i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair 750W (60a)
Default 11-23-2012, 06:25 | posts: 322 | Location: Texas, USA

Is there any way to fix this? If not then is there a program that can force the clock to stay max instead of dropping? If so then is it safe to do that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
X7007
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire DualX 7970
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.150
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 01-08-2013, 16:57 | posts: 775 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExoriaX View Post
Is there any way to fix this? If not then is there a program that can force the clock to stay max instead of dropping? If so then is it safe to do that?
RadeonPRo 1.1.1.0
Profile for the game
OverDrive Tab
Enable Graphics OverDrive
Always use highest performance clocks while gaming

But i don't think it's a real fix cause my 480GTX always worked full clocks even in window.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Noisiv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 460 HAWK Talon Attack
Processor: Q6600@3.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP-43-DS3L
Memory: 4GB OCZ 5-4-4-4-12
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC888
PSU: Silent Pro M700
Default 01-08-2013, 17:58 | posts: 2,950

Trouble is, you and PowerPlay have different understainding of WHEN you are gaming. And it's been like this for at least since HD4000 days if not earlier.

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33989470

Some swear it's a feature, some say it's a bug.
Basically don't watch videos while playing.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.