Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Razer Game Booster application
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Razer Game Booster application - 09-21-2012, 06:53 | posts: 20,517 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Razer is now talking about a closed beta test of Razer Game Booster, an upcoming software tool to optimize user's system settings, improve game performance, and capture in-game footage. The tool is b...

Razer Game Booster application
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 09-21-2012, 09:18 | posts: 1,368 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

It looks like yet another gimmick that doesn't work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 09-21-2012, 09:50 | posts: 3,422 | Location: UK

Not at all. It works great.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 09-21-2012, 09:53 | posts: 23,250 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
Not at all. It works great.
how much boost did you get ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
iFRAC7UR3
Master Guru
 
iFRAC7UR3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 680 2Gb
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Vengeance 4x4GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: On-Board SC
PSU: Corsair AX850W
Default 09-21-2012, 09:53 | posts: 359 | Location: Norway

we have two seperate threads on this topic, but here you say its great while on the other hey are shouting "snake oil"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 09-21-2012, 10:01 | posts: 1,368 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

In my opinion there's only one way to make such thing work, and it includes:
1. Not downloading bloatware
2. Support from hardware providers, eg this: http://developer.download.nvidia.com...%20Devzone.pdf
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
iFRAC7UR3
Master Guru
 
iFRAC7UR3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 680 2Gb
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Vengeance 4x4GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: On-Board SC
PSU: Corsair AX850W
Default 09-21-2012, 10:08 | posts: 359 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m View Post
In my opinion there's only one way to make such thing work, and it includes:
1. Not downloading bloatware
2. Support from hardware providers, eg this: http://developer.download.nvidia.com...%20Devzone.pdf
so your saying geforce expirience would be a more reliable software ?
does that one give any boost ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 09-21-2012, 10:26 | posts: 1,368 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFRAC7UR3 View Post
so your saying geforce expirience would be a more reliable software ?
does that one give any boost ?
It doesn't give any boost by itself. Your framerate stability is limited by your software and hardware. If you chose your hardware carefully, have well-maintained system, and you'll set all the settings, there's really nothing such software can do for you (except for some really deep in-game integration).

The point of it is that many people don't change settings or change them carelessly. Frequently, if you spend some time, you can get really great visuals at good framerate. For example antialiasing - MSAA will kill your framerate, but FXAA will probably offer better looks than some extreme shadow settings, at lower cost.

If you:
1. Don't know how to set up the game / don't care / don't have time for that.
2. Have hardware supported by such application
3. Have software supported by such application
It may actually set the graphics options so you get close to the best possible looks vs speed ratio. These guys will spend some time on tweaking the settings so player's don't have to. And I like this idea, even though I'll probably set everything by myself.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
iFRAC7UR3
Master Guru
 
iFRAC7UR3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 680 2Gb
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Vengeance 4x4GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: On-Board SC
PSU: Corsair AX850W
Default 09-21-2012, 10:34 | posts: 359 | Location: Norway

i dont have junk software on my pc, only games and essential programs for basic use..
the rest i do on my laptop

but i also hate spending time in settings when i set off to play
so for a person like me, would it really increase anything ? i guess i can try it, but geforce or razers ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 09-21-2012, 10:43 | posts: 6,669 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Only way to confirm if this works or not is for someone to test it. Simply run a demanding game with vsync disabled. Try the game with & without the program and see if there is any FPS boost.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 09-21-2012, 11:04 | posts: 14,703 | Location: Glasgow

My HTPC partition is the clean streamlined one.

My gaming one is the partition that gets used for day to day use, so has over 100 games installed, a fair amount of other software as well as multiple browsers, so software like this is actually very useful for me.

This will do nothing you canít do manually, but itís quicker and easier to have this do it for you.

I also like that itís done on a non permanent basis and only when you run a game, to me this is a good thing as tweaking it yourself runs the risk of running into issues at a later date as drivers and patches are always tested on a fresh stock version of Windows.

Plus itís free, so there is no harm in trying.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Li4m79
Ancient Guru
 
Li4m79's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
Processor: i5 4670k@4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus z87-Pro
Memory: 8Gb - Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: oboard
PSU: Corsair RM 750w
Default 09-21-2012, 11:12 | posts: 4,880 | Location: Scotland

well it has got fancy animations and bright colours, so it must work......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Speed Weed
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 260+
Processor: Core i5 2500K @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro ( 3.1)
Memory: 8Gb Corsair @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Tuffpower 850
Default 09-21-2012, 11:20 | posts: 1,005 | Location: Somewhere in Scotland

Nice one, Li4m79.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 09-21-2012, 16:14 | posts: 3,422 | Location: UK

It works fine if you don't want to faf around with turning off services, processes, updaters, etc... I used to. I don't now. I can leave things alone, click one button and all non essential things are stopped. I play then they come back on at the press of a button.

See why it is handy? No more messing around and potentially making things not work even if you do know what your doing.

That's why it works and is not snake oil. It does not increase performance of CPU and GPU. Of course not. But it does make your system more responsive during gaming and free up more RAM.

Also when the program is resident in memory it only takes up around 400k while freeing up MUCH more than that. So it's not bloatware either.

Btw I am talking about Gamebooster but this software is the same.

You read so many times in this forum how someone potentially has a problem with their system, driver etc. I bet 9 times out of 10 it's down to user error, not drivers. Too much overclock, turned things off they should have left alone as they fiddled to much.

I'm done with all that. Just play a game. That's why we got gaming PC's!

Last edited by HonoredShadow; 09-21-2012 at 16:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Li4m79
Ancient Guru
 
Li4m79's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
Processor: i5 4670k@4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus z87-Pro
Memory: 8Gb - Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: oboard
PSU: Corsair RM 750w
Default 09-21-2012, 17:37 | posts: 4,880 | Location: Scotland

Looking at your Rig Shadow, do you REALLY need a program like this?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Talking 09-21-2012, 17:49 | posts: 3,422 | Location: UK

Yes and no. Every little helps they say! That's why you see Guru's tweaking their installations of Windows. I don't have to any more as I use Game booster and it automatically re-enables/disables in one button press. Much easier.

I know what you are thinking. You are thinking it's a gimmick. It's not. It does most, if not all of the things I used to tweak for gaming (and you can add to it) then at the click of a button they can be turned off and then on again once you have finished.

Can you do that with an install where you have manually stopped things and can't remember what you have done? Ever had the situation where you have turned off something that is now needed by a game or program but can't figure out which one as you have tweaked to much? Or tweaked something you should not have and made things a little unstable? No problems like that with this program.

Gamebooster even 'detects' when a Steam game is run and automatically changes to 'game mode' without even pressing the button. Even easier!

That's all I'm trying to say!

Last edited by HonoredShadow; 09-21-2012 at 18:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
The Laughing Ma
Maha Guru
 
The Laughing Ma's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 670GTX
Processor: I5 750 @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula III
Memory: 8Gb Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 09-21-2012, 18:10 | posts: 2,171

Quote:
Yes and no. Every little helps they say! That's why you see Guru's tweaking their installations of Windows. I don't have to any more as I use Game booster and it automatically re-enables/disables in one button press. Much easier.

I know what you are thinking. You are thinking it's a gimmick. It's not. It does most, if not all of the things I used to tweak for gaming (and you can add to it) then at the click of a button they can be turned off and then on again once you have finished.

Can you do that with an install where you have manually stopped things and can't remember what you have done? Ever had the situation where you have turned off something that is now needed by a game or program but can't figure out which one as you have tweaked to much? Or tweaked something you should not have and made things a little unstable? No problems like that with this program.

That's all I'm trying to say!
Yes the issue with that is you provide no empirical evidence to show that either your tweaking or the software doing the tweaking for you makes any difference to the games you are playing. Dunno how much of this software relies on the placebo effect and how much of any real benefit any person would actually notice, especially with a 670gtx and a 2700K at 4.8Ghz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 09-21-2012, 18:58 | posts: 3,422 | Location: UK

All I am saying is that I don't have to do what some of you guys do manually. Does that benefit you guys doing that manually? Probably not but you still do it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 09-21-2012, 21:05 | posts: 5,330 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m View Post
It looks like yet another gimmick that doesn't work.
These gimmicks often work but they don't for people who are so good at tweaking that they've already done all the crap manually by themselves.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Wink 09-22-2012, 06:29 | posts: 3,422 | Location: UK

Did you not read what I stated above? It's not a gimmick and it does what you guys do manually. Is that so hard to understand?

Don't be so elitest.

I think their is a need for a piece of software like this. People that are not willing to fiddle constantly and people that are not so nerdy with their computers like us and just want to PLAY GAMES! (like we should be doing instead of talking about it)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 09-22-2012, 06:34 | posts: 1,335 | Location: Australia, QLD

Could be good for PC noobs who have a whole heap of junk software sucking resources. But for the rest of us with a clue, waste of time.

Focus your resources on making improvements elsewhere Razer instead of wasting time on this. One place to start would be to stop synapse popping up in your face on boot-up, when it used to minimize itself.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Q6600
Member Guru
 
Q6600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 770 SC 4gig
Processor: Q9550@4.0
Mainboard: Gigabyte P-45
Memory: 8gig Kingston Hyper X
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 09-22-2012, 14:37 | posts: 71

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac View Post
Could be good for PC noobs who have a whole heap of junk software sucking resources. But for the rest of us with a clue, waste of time.

Focus your resources on making improvements elsewhere Razer instead of wasting time on this. One place to start would be to stop synapse popping up in your face on boot-up, when it used to minimize itself.
Yea I hate it popping up on boot, I'm beta testing the app, only thing I see is a tad faster loading times thats it so far havn't tested much tho.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 09-22-2012, 15:26 | posts: 517 | Location: UK

Razer spend more time on packaging the their actual products. I'm not letting this trash anywhere near my computer
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
bobdude
Maha Guru
 
bobdude's Avatar
 
Videocard: PS4
Processor: PS4
Mainboard: PS4
Memory: PS4
Soundcard: PS4
PSU: PS4
Default 09-22-2012, 15:46 | posts: 1,852 | Location: AZ

ok lets stop speculating and get some benchmarks going
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 09-22-2012, 16:29 | posts: 3,422 | Location: UK

You all missed the point again! Jeeezzz... It's not all about fps you know! It's about shutting down services easily and having them pop back again easily after. It's about not having to mess. It's about conserving memory and not having things running in the background that could steal memory/CPU cycles or try to update itself. Programs/services causing stuttering.

Get it now? You can benchmark all you want. Frames per second will stay the same. Things however will be smoother and take up less memory etc.... as I have already stated above. How do you guys not get that yet???!

This program does what you could do manually. You bother with that don't you? Why? You say this program is trash and will make no difference so why then do you manually configure/tweak Windows if it makes no difference?

Last edited by HonoredShadow; 09-22-2012 at 18:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.