Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Router dying, need recommendation for new one?
Old
  (#1)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default Router dying, need recommendation for new one? - 09-20-2012, 17:05 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Hey guys, sisters routers is acting like it is going to give up the ghost.
It is about 6 years old so I think she has got her money out of it.
Anyway, I don't keep up on the latest and greatest gear in the network world so what would you experts suggest for a great router for Lan and wireless.

She has a fairly large network, few PC's, laptop, media gear, Phones.

Price is also a concern, I want to give her a suggestion for the best bang for the buck router.

Thanx guys.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 14:40 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I just found here agreat deal on a Netgear WNDR3700. That should do her for a few years

Last edited by ROBSCIX; 09-21-2012 at 14:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 09-21-2012, 14:54 | posts: 20,784 | Location: Guru3D testlab

NetGear I hope ?


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 14:56 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
NetGear I hope ?
Cough, yeah that's what I mean.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290x/670 GTX
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 09-21-2012, 14:58 | posts: 2,885 | Location: Canada

It is DD-WRT compatible and has some nice features, just becareful of it failure rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-21-2012, 15:11 | posts: 23,915 | Location: NZ

The one I have atm is a Dynalink 1370, reasonabley priced and has done a terrific job for 2yrs now.....beats my old NetComm and D-Link models.


Over 4mths uptime without a reboot....not too shabby.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 15:14 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I had a recommendation for a D-Link 655, any opinions on those?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-21-2012, 15:27 | posts: 23,915 | Location: NZ

Which version? The old one or the newer A4?

Will you be using the WLAN or just the Ethernet? Just asking cuz the older model has pretty poor wireless reception/throughput.....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 09-21-2012 at 15:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 15:30 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Not sure which version it is. I found it 2nd hand so I would suggest that it is probably the older one.

Will be using both wired and wireless.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290x/670 GTX
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 09-21-2012, 15:35 | posts: 2,885 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBSCIX View Post
I had a recommendation for a D-Link 655, any opinions on those?
It is a descent router.

So is the Netgear you first mentioned.

The problem with almost all wireless routers is the wireless part failing and you will be able to see this within the first few weeks of ownership. The radios in them tend to get extremely warm/hot, they are made to operate this way but they tend to effect the router as a whole sometimes.

If you ever buy an industrial grade router it has heatsinks on everything, consumer grade they usually opt for a tiny heatsink on the CPU and that is it.

I run an Asus RT-N16 which also has it share of hardware failures, for many it runs fine, just like most things. I put a heatsink on everything inside of mine, but thats going to an extreme because it probably would have done fine the way it was stock.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 15:37 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Yeah, the wireless is usually the fail point which I think is what is happening to the router now. It is old anyway so needs replacing.

Besides time to come to the gigabit Lan age
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-21-2012, 15:49 | posts: 23,915 | Location: NZ

I've had 4-5 D-Link routers and they seem to overheat easily, which basically cooks the chip.

So Rob that's something to think about if you go second hand...what life has it had?
Improved cooling def helps - even just removing the cover or cutting extra vent holes....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 15:50 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Which version? The old one or the newer A4?
Which version of which router, the Netgear or the Dlink?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 09-21-2012, 15:52 | posts: 23,915 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBSCIX View Post
Which version of which router, the Netgear or the Dlink?
D-Link...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-21-2012, 17:50 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Not sure. It is on a buy and sell forum.

Looking at the local stores, as I think I am just going to buy a new one.
They have the WNDR3700 and the WNDR4000 at the same price as the 4000 is on sale.
So now I am unsure which way to go.

The also have the D Link 815 and 825 for good prices.

Any opinions would be welcome but looks like I have some reading to do.

I also noticed the netgears have Lifetime warranty, which is also cool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 09-21-2012, 19:14 | posts: 3,892 | Location: Australia

I've noticed different routers behave differently with different lines, and even for the wireless different local background noise/presence of other routers. There is therefore no router that is 'the best' in all scenarios.

Also MAKE SURE it is fully ipv6 compatible! some aren't.

A friend of mine went through around 4 routers in a year because they either had shockingly poor reception, were dropping the line, or had slow transfer speeds. Unfortunately the one with excellent transfer speeds had shockingly poor reception. I'm not sure which brands or models had the different issues, but I do know he did go through Linksys, Netgear, and two other brands. He finally settled on a Netcomm NB604N-02 (-02 adds ADSL2+ Annex M) which at least for him, is working perfectly (and is fully ipv6 ready).

A higher model in any brand isn't necessarily better then their lower models. It might have more features, but it might be an older model, or use a different chipset that gives different performance characteristics.

If you are worried about any router getting warm, you can place a USB laptop cooler underdeath it and either run it off a computers USB port (if on all the time) or from one of those adaptors you plug into the powerpoint that provides powered USB ports (they don't cost much).

Last edited by thatguy91; 09-21-2012 at 19:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
snip3r_3
Maha Guru
 
snip3r_3's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 CF
Processor: i7 950
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Gene
Memory: 18GB Mushkin 1600 C7
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 09-21-2012, 19:56 | posts: 2,641 | Location: Champaign

I have 3 Dlink 655's at home, in all I owned about 5 of them (installed for others), 1 was defective when they came, so be sure to check them! If you get any wireless issues on them the first week, return them. Mine would simply drop the signal for a second once every few days (it was very hard to spot), but an exchange fixed it. They aren't bad, but are pretty outdated in terms of features. All were the B 2.0 revision, they don't get too hot. Ambient temperature during summer is 30~35c and it is sealed inside the wall. Works pretty well. My roomate has a ASUS N13, it isn't bad but isn't terribly fast either (LAN transfers are slow). You should first decide if you want 5ghz, then start researching from there.

Last edited by snip3r_3; 09-21-2012 at 19:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-22-2012, 16:40 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Anybody using these "sharepoirts" for adding HDD's ,USB drives to the network?
I hear some are fast and other are slow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290x/670 GTX
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 09-22-2012, 22:00 | posts: 2,885 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBSCIX View Post
Anybody using these "sharepoirts" for adding HDD's ,USB drives to the network?
I hear some are fast and other are slow.
That is dependent on two things, CPU speed and/or its raw power and then if its USB 2 or 3, it can work OK. A NAS that runs on a gigaport connection with a decent CPU is better though.

It is a viable solution if that is what you are asking, good streaming music, pics, however movies are the routers weaker point, if the movie is pushing over 20megabits a second it will be slide show like.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 09-23-2012, 07:14 | posts: 19,055 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I have 3 routers (each with different chipsets):
  • ASUS RT-N16 (Broadcom)
  • ASUS RT-N10+ (Ralink)
  • TP-Link WR1043ND (Atheros)

Honestly, if dual band wireless isn't mandatory, the ASUS RT-N16 with dd-wrt (third party custom firmware) is the best router you can buy. It's not expensive, comes with a huge onboard RAM and memory (for flashing firmware), it runs a really nice, fast and stable Broadcom chip. All in all, probably the best consumer-grade router I've ever had.

The TP-Link is pretty good too, but not a big fan of the Atheros chipset as there are some quirkiness with it (which you can see with dd-wrt). If that isn't an issue, it is cheaper than the ASUS RT-N16 and it's pretty good too, but I still like the N16 a lot more.

Much better than most routers by Linksys and D-Link out there.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-28-2012, 20:02 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Have you ever tested the WNDR3700? I have a few other units in mind for suggestions to her.
I want to make sure she gets the right product as I get stuck with setting up and configuring the network.

Back to reading reviews...

Last edited by ROBSCIX; 09-28-2012 at 20:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 09-30-2012, 19:51 | posts: 16,158 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I ended up ordering the new TP-Link WDR 4300. Seemed like an excellent price point for the features set.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.