Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intel puts CPU and WiFi radio together on chip
Old
  (#1)
Guru3D News
Ancient Guru
 
Guru3D News's Avatar
 
Videocard:
Processor: HAL 9000
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Intel puts CPU and WiFi radio together on chip - 09-14-2012, 07:30 | posts: 6,462

Interesting development one chip to rule them all If you figured Intel's Atom processor line was at a grinding halt think again: the company is launching a new version of the silicon code named Rosepoint....

More...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Exodite
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6950 2GB @ Stock
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 1.15V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 8GB Kingston PC10600
Soundcard: Realtek 892
PSU: Seasonic SS-460FL
Default 09-14-2012, 08:35 | posts: 1,652 | Location: LuleŚ, Sweden

Two years away, minimum, is a bit steep.

That said this development is welcome, as well as a logical next step.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
marcround
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Processor: Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888S
PSU: 500w
Default 09-14-2012, 10:41 | posts: 20 | Location: England

wouldn't heat be a problem when adding a wifi radio to the cpu die?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Warboy
Master Guru
 
Warboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Dead
Processor: Core i7 3930K @4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: GSKILL RJZ2400mhz Quad8GB
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsiar HX1050
Default 09-14-2012, 18:55 | posts: 370 | Location: Missouri, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcround View Post
wouldn't heat be a problem when adding a wifi radio to the cpu die?
I would think so, and noise levels on die would increase also.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 09-14-2012, 20:00 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcround View Post
wouldn't heat be a problem when adding a wifi radio to the cpu die?
No.

In 32nm form, it only uses 21mW; that's negligible heat.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.