Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#526)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-15-2012, 19:31 | posts: 23,768 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluidz View Post
Easiest way to do that would be?

Afterburner doesn't allow my idle 2d clocks to go as low as 300/650 if enabling voltage control. Without voltage control enabled, using official overclocking I can reduce it to 300/650. I've tried both official and unofficial modes, just doesn't give total freedom to the idle 2d clock.
Adjusting voltage in AB shouldn't affect the GPU clocks...the other thing you could do is flash the BIOS with one that has higher default voltage.

I found a BIOS on TPU with 0.95v vgpu instead of 0.80v.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 11-15-2012 at 19:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#527)
maxpain12
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon HD 7950
Processor: Intel I5 2500
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: In-Win Commander 750W
Default 11-16-2012, 06:08 | posts: 6 | Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka

I have a Sapphire HD 7950 OC; my neighbor also purchased this same card. His card had the black smudge artifact appearing randomly and RMA'd the card. Mine has what I would say texture tearing where the texture on some surfaces would flicker at times. This card is factory OC'd to 900Mhz GPU core. After bumping it down to 850Mhz the problem reduced, but only after reducing the GPU clock to 800Mhz did it help. I have seen posts where some overclockers get around this issue by increasing the GPU voltage incrementally.

Last edited by maxpain12; 11-16-2012 at 06:09. Reason: Typo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#528)
mainmango
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI / 7950 / 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX 750 watt
Default 11-16-2012, 06:22 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpain12 View Post
I have a Sapphire HD 7950 OC; my neighbor also purchased this same card. His card had the black smudge artifact appearing randomly and RMA'd the card. Mine has what I would say texture tearing where the texture on some surfaces would flicker at times. This card is factory OC'd to 900Mhz GPU core. After bumping it down to 850Mhz the problem reduced, but only after reducing the GPU clock to 800Mhz did it help. I have seen posts where some overclockers get around this issue by increasing the GPU voltage incrementally.
Let me know if anyone has tried playing around with the voltage! I'm an OC newb so I'm scared to damage my baby
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#529)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 11-16-2012, 09:10 | posts: 321

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpain12 View Post
I have a Sapphire HD 7950 OC; my neighbor also purchased this same card. His card had the black smudge artifact appearing randomly and RMA'd the card. Mine has what I would say texture tearing where the texture on some surfaces would flicker at times. This card is factory OC'd to 900Mhz GPU core. After bumping it down to 850Mhz the problem reduced, but only after reducing the GPU clock to 800Mhz did it help. I have seen posts where some overclockers get around this issue by increasing the GPU voltage incrementally.
Didn't you guys read the other pages? It has nothing to do with overclocking. If so your problem is a different one. You can downclock to 300/600 the issue will happen. Also raising vcore doesn't make a difference.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#530)
fasor
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7870 2Gb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 1055T
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3
Memory: DDR2 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888
PSU: Chieftec 700W
Default 11-16-2012, 18:40 | posts: 42 | Location: Russia

official beta8 still have our problem
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#531)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-16-2012, 18:51 | posts: 23,768 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasor View Post
official beta8 still have our problem
Which problem?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#532)
asciikode
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R7950 Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel i5 - 3570K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 11-16-2012, 19:36 | posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Which problem?
The Dx9 flickering artifact issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#533)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 11-16-2012, 19:43 | posts: 2,214 | Location: USA

per AMD rep, beta 9 is not supposed to fix flickering, they are still looking into it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#534)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 11-16-2012, 20:25 | posts: 321

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Which problem?
come on Pill you can do better than that. That doesn't help your reputation of beeing a troll. The whole topic is about flickering.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#535)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 11-16-2012, 20:39 | posts: 23,768 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClockClocker View Post
come on Pill you can do better than that. That doesn't help your reputation of beeing a troll. The whole topic is about flickering.
You don't know a damned thing about my rep, newbie - so STFU.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#536)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 11-17-2012, 09:58 | posts: 321

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
You don't know a damned thing about my rep, newbie - so STFU.
you make me smile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#537)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 11-18-2012, 23:32 | posts: 321

Any news about a fix?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#538)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 11-19-2012, 00:37 | posts: 192

I should check if I have any issues with any DX 9 games in windows 7.....

Most of my DX 9 games are installed on sturdy and stable XP...no issues yet.

The only game i have installed in Win 7, that is DX 9, might be the Assassins Creed Series...
(excluding the DX 10.1 game i think A1 was DX 10.1)

I'll check that out right now...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#539)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 11-19-2012, 01:02 | posts: 1,230 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by campcreekdude View Post
I should check if I have any issues with any DX 9 games in windows 7.....

Most of my DX 9 games are installed on sturdy and stable XP...no issues yet.

The only game i have installed in Win 7, that is DX 9, might be the Assassins Creed Series...
(excluding the DX 10.1 game i think A1 was DX 10.1)

I'll check that out right now...
Hmm, on this note, has anyone did a comparision of flickering between Windows XP and Windows 7/8/Vista/any Kernel 6.0+ OS? The display driver model in use between XP and higher-than-XP OS's is pretty significant.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#540)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 11-19-2012, 01:25 | posts: 321

Quote:
Originally Posted by campcreekdude View Post
I should check if I have any issues with any DX 9 games in windows 7.....

Most of my DX 9 games are installed on sturdy and stable XP...no issues yet.

The only game i have installed in Win 7, that is DX 9, might be the Assassins Creed Series...
(excluding the DX 10.1 game i think A1 was DX 10.1)

I'll check that out right now...

it doesn't happen on every game. And i think it has to be DX9c i tried Ut 2004 which is DX9b - no issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#541)
WiFry
Member Guru
 
WiFry's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS HD7870 Directcu II
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR3
Soundcard: Infrasonic Quartet
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 11-19-2012, 03:27 | posts: 103 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by campcreekdude View Post
I should check if I have any issues with any DX 9 games in windows 7.....

Most of my DX 9 games are installed on sturdy and stable XP...no issues yet.

The only game i have installed in Win 7, that is DX 9, might be the Assassins Creed Series...
(excluding the DX 10.1 game i think A1 was DX 10.1)

I'll check that out right now...
I swear the AMD drivers on XP with DX9c are better than when running in DX9 in windows 7.
Mainly in the case of Skyrim.
I get jittery performance in Windows 7 with Skyrim and this is on two different cards from AMD.
HD 4850 512mb and a HD 7870.
Exact same behavior requiring me to use the windowless border for Skyrim and run in windowed mode to resolve the issue.
The strange thing is when looking at the fps through fraps, Skyrim is locked at 60 fps on both.

I do not know if this is related to what I experience in DX9 games.

Looking at the new AMD BETA release notes, they appear to still be rather focused on the new titles which they are backing with advertisements.
Performance updates for Far Cry 3?
It hasn't even been released yet.

Last edited by WiFry; 11-19-2012 at 03:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#542)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 11-19-2012, 12:52 | posts: 185

Hey guys. Finally my registration passed.

I did some tests with Catalyst 12.11 Beta 7

Flickering observed
World of tanks Versions 0.7.6 and earlier, or DX9.0 setting
Skyrim
Prey ver 1.0
The Witcher 2
Civilization IV

Reported, but not observed
Starcraft II

Flickering not observed
Prey ver. 1.4
Oblivion
Witcher 1 EE
Assassins Creed 1
DeusEX:HR
World of Tanks 0.8.0 and later

For now it still seems as a problem of DX9 or earlier games. Definitely not a hardware issue since I tried 3 different cards from HD 7000 series.

I havent tried WinXP yet...

My current tests with Beta8 shows better performance in games, but the flickers still persist.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#543)
asciikode
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R7950 Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel i5 - 3570K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 11-19-2012, 13:03 | posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Offler2 View Post
Hey guys. Finally my registration passed.

I did some tests with Catalyst 12.11 Beta 7

Flickering observed
World of tanks Versions 0.7.6 and earlier, or DX9.0 setting
Skyrim
Prey ver 1.0
The Witcher 2
Civilization IV

Reported, but not observed
Starcraft II

Flickering not observed
Prey ver. 1.4
Oblivion
Witcher 1 EE
Assassins Creed 1
DeusEX:HR
World of Tanks 0.8.0 and later

For now it still seems as a problem of DX9 or earlier games. Definitely not a hardware issue since I tried 3 different cards from HD 7000 series.

I havent tried WinXP yet...

My current tests with Beta8 shows better performance in games, but the flickers still persist.
Offler,
I have played Civ V extensively with multiple drivers and never see the flickering issue. Are you running it in Dx10/Dx11 mode?

I have seen some mild texture flickering in grassy tiles. But these usually happened when I tabbed out of the game, and back in.

I have never seen the flickering shapes that have been described as the Dx9 flickering issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#544)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 11-19-2012, 14:07 | posts: 185

Maybe because I am still playing Civilization 4 , not 5...

I believe that this game uses DX7 or 8, so the question is how cooperates with modern versions of DX...

Generally all DX10 and later games should run fine in DX10/11 mode. Still I have not found any game which was running in this mode and was flickering. (with exception of Crysis 1 prerelase demo, which shows flicker, but completely different kind).

What surprised me is fact that games written in 2003-2006 in DX9 including DX9C were running fine, while games written after 2007 supporting only DX9 had trouble...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#545)
asciikode
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R7950 Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel i5 - 3570K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 11-19-2012, 14:14 | posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Offler2 View Post
Maybe because I am still playing Civilization 4 , not 5...

I believe that this game uses DX7 or 8, so the question is how cooperates with modern versions of DX...

Generally all DX10 and later games should run fine in DX10/11 mode. Still I have not found any game which was running in this mode and was flickering. (with exception of Crysis 1 prerelase demo, which shows flicker, but completely different kind).

What surprised me is fact that games written in 2003-2006 in DX9 including DX9C were running fine, while games written after 2007 supporting only DX9 had trouble...
Ahh right. I read that wrong. That makes more sense now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#546)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 11-19-2012, 14:25 | posts: 185

Also regarding Witcher 2 Enhanced edition:

I can confirm that the game has no flickering when is used Catalyst 12.4. There is one different bug (instead of fire you can sometimes see checkquered background), but the annoying flicker is gone. However all performance enhancements are gone...

If AMD slowly enables all performance enhancements they are most probably turning on new methods for shaders and anisotropy. In one case I was able to reproduce some flicker, and when i set in Catalyst to override game settings and set anisotropy to 16 part of the flickers never repeated again - however only part...

Since most flickers show black color, then its white color i believe that the bug is hidden somewhere in actions related to anisotropy, shading, transparency or texture filtering.

I give a wild guess to the transparency - even previously I was able to reproduce some bugs regarding Alpha channels and texture transparency - most visible in skyrim for example...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#547)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 11-19-2012, 20:10 | posts: 321

Quote:
Originally Posted by Offler2 View Post
Also regarding Witcher 2 Enhanced edition:

I can confirm that the game has no flickering when is used Catalyst 12.4. There is one different bug (instead of fire you can sometimes see checkquered background), but the annoying flicker is gone. However all performance enhancements are gone...
imho i think that it's always there. it just may be more rare maybe only once every 20-30 hours bit it appears every now and then with every driver. That is at least my expierience.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#548)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 11-19-2012, 22:18 | posts: 185

That is true.

I also linked two messages from the past

1. Serious Sam 3 flickers in DX9 mode with antialiasing
2. Rumor that Supersample antialiasing with 4x AA override may remove the flicker. Same setting was recommended for some other games even on AMD dev forums.

Partially true. Depending on game of course. In Civ 4 I used "Enhance game settings" while i set in the game AA 4x. Flickering was then suppressed although not completely removed.

Similar effect was seen in Witcher 2 with small difference. Flicker was further suppressed when I manually set Anisotropic filtering 16 in catalyst.

Mostly I used Vsync - in this case the flickers remain visible enough to notice.

For now it seems that most games with flicker react on this in some way, but the bug suppression is only random effect. Different sampling methods means different chance of bug but it only masks real problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#549)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 11-20-2012, 07:06 | posts: 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by Offler2 View Post
Hey guys. Finally my registration passed.

I did some tests with Catalyst 12.11 Beta 7

Flickering observed
World of tanks Versions 0.7.6 and earlier, or DX9.0 setting
Skyrim
Prey ver 1.0
The Witcher 2
Civilization IV

Reported, but not observed
Starcraft II

Flickering not observed
Prey ver. 1.4
Oblivion
Witcher 1 EE
Assassins Creed 1
DeusEX:HR
World of Tanks 0.8.0 and later

For now it still seems as a problem of DX9 or earlier games. Definitely not a hardware issue since I tried 3 different cards from HD 7000 series.

I havent tried WinXP yet...

My current tests with Beta8 shows better performance in games, but the flickers still persist.

_______________________________________________


Played FarCry 1 64-bit in Windows 7 no issues
Played Assassins Creed Brotherhood Win 7 no issues
(that was my extent of DX 9 testing in Win 7)


I played Civilizations IV in Windows XP didnt see any irregularities or flickering.


Windows XP only has 12.8 drivers... they seemed to stop updating recently for the Radeon 7970 in win xp..

Im using 12.10 drivers in Win 7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#550)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 11-20-2012, 07:34 | posts: 185

to Campcreekdude:
Thanks.

DeusEX: Human revolution is made for DX11 and has switch to turn it off. In XP is this setting not accesible. In both modes the game runs fine without any flicker.

Assassins creed Brotherhood has similar switch, so I believe that it also does not have this trouble. Re-check how was the switch set when you tested it in Win7 please.

In 12.10 and later the driver has major version 9... So I think this is caused by full transition to Win7. If they dropped support for native Direct3d 9 they made a terrible mistake until Direct3d 9EX is fully fixed...

Also I have tested Morrowind - DirectX 8.1 - Everything fine.
And its also true that Farcry is DX 9.0b

Ill re-check the Oblivion, but as I remember correctly, bloom lightning was available for cards with DX 9.0b, while HDR required 9.0c, but did not allowed antialiasing at all. Thats maybe reason why Oblivion passed the test...

Last edited by Offler2; 11-20-2012 at 08:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.