Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
The Almighty SubWoofer Thread
Old
  (#1)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default The Almighty SubWoofer Thread - 01-24-2014, 05:16 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Hey Guru's, I thought it might be a good idea to have a dedicated sub thread We can show off our subs and talk everything subtastic

My Polk Audio PSW505



regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX480 w/ 244T
Processor: i7 920 @ 4,4GHz | Water
Mainboard: DFI UT X58 T3eH8
Memory: 3*2Gb 8-8-8-20 @ 1680MHz
Soundcard: UA-55 -> 2*Genelec 8030B
PSU: Defo not modular (TX950W)
Default 01-24-2014, 17:15 | posts: 11,194 | Location: Finland

No subwoofer here, yet. I'm in progress of moving to a new place and so. Lets see how much "extra" cash I have left after that. A lot of stuff to buy.

Anyways, been looking for a Genelec 7050B for my 8030's. Will get one for testing at some point and see how it behaves in my new place.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-24-2014, 23:37 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

UXL-18 in a 4cu ft enclosure, powered by a CV-5000. Going to have a second UXL-18 in ~1 month.




   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-24-2014, 23:57 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

I'm also using a Mini DSP 2x4 balanced for some EQ/signal boosting. However, I think at this point that I am power limited. I am (unfortunately) powering my CV5000 through a power strip, which I believe is probably starving the amp. I really need to get around to building a relay so that I can plug the amp directly in to a wall socket and trigger it to turn on/off via my pre/pro.

They're still just 15a outlets, when the amp has a 40a fuse... but still. It has to be better than being run through a power strip that also has several other things connected to it.

The whole room rattles/groans when I turn up the volume. I'm honestly surprised I haven't knocked a tile off the ceiling, or broken a window yet. I'll have to see what happens when I add the second sub.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-25-2014, 05:33 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tat3 View Post
No subwoofer here, yet. I'm in progress of moving to a new place and so. Lets see how much "extra" cash I have left after that. A lot of stuff to buy.

Anyways, been looking for a Genelec 7050B for my 8030's. Will get one for testing at some point and see how it behaves in my new place.
That's awesome, post your thoughts about it when you get it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post
UXL-18 in a 4cu ft enclosure, powered by a CV-5000. Going to have a second UXL-18 in ~1 month.




That's the one you built if I remember correctly Awesome Rebel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post
I'm also using a Mini DSP 2x4 balanced for some EQ/signal boosting. However, I think at this point that I am power limited. I am (unfortunately) powering my CV5000 through a power strip, which I believe is probably starving the amp. I really need to get around to building a relay so that I can plug the amp directly in to a wall socket and trigger it to turn on/off via my pre/pro.

They're still just 15a outlets, when the amp has a 40a fuse... but still. It has to be better than being run through a power strip that also has several other things connected to it.

The whole room rattles/groans when I turn up the volume. I'm honestly surprised I haven't knocked a tile off the ceiling, or broken a window yet. I'll have to see what happens when I add the second sub.
Yep, mine rattles, and shakes my whole house even lol, She also is a very musical sub, I can hear all the bass notes in whatever type of music I play. I've got mine hooked up now, with a Y connector RCA into both Line in L/R on the sub.

cheers,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Barry J
Maha Guru
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Videocard: X2 EVGA 660ti SC SLi 3D
Processor: FX 8350 @ 4400 H100i
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990X UD3 rev1
Memory: 16GB 1600 4x4GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300w G2
Default 01-25-2014, 11:20 | posts: 1,530 | Location: Ipswich UK

my car came with a built in Sub in the boot Jaguar, also have a creative 5.1 sound system with a sub awesome when watching movies and playing BF4
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-25-2014, 15:01 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry J View Post
my car came with a built in Sub in the boot Jaguar, also have a creative 5.1 sound system with a sub awesome when watching movies and playing BF4
Cool So, that Jaguar is banging, literally lol Which model creative 5.1 setup do you have?

regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
elkosith
Maha Guru
 
elkosith's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9600 GT :(
Processor: Intel E7300 @ 3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P7N SLI Platinum
Memory: DDR2 800 2 x 1GB
Soundcard: Topping D2 + Blow4
PSU: 420 Watts
Default 01-25-2014, 16:04 | posts: 1,031 | Location: Indonesia

I've tried to find a sub to be paired with my Blow4 studio monitors but couldn't find a decent one that I can afford (most of them are too expensive)

So I end up using the sub from logitech Z5300. Only the sub, no satellites because they sound bad.

Luckily my DAC has 2 outputs, RCA and headphone. I plug the monitors to the headphone out and the sub to the RCA out.

It sounds quite good when the volume is not too loud

Last edited by elkosith; 01-25-2014 at 16:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-25-2014, 20:18 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

I'm becoming a bit of an addict. I've got the subwoofer channel at +10 on my pre/pro, and have EQ'd up 10-80Hz by 8dB in the MiniDSP as well. I love feeling my lungs vibrate.

I need MOAR.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Rumpus01
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 660 TI
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.6
Mainboard: EVGA x58 132-BL-E758-A1
Memory: 18GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: DNX-600 (External)
PSU: Corsair 1000HX 1000W PSU
Default 01-25-2014, 20:19 | posts: 1,453 | Location: Chicago

Well I don't have dedicated subs, but I'm rockin' some Cerwin Vega VE-12s. Each one has a 12" sub built in. I've had these for about 3 years and came from one of those Logitech 5.1 setups. The sub was loud as hell with that kit but muddy. These Vegas go LOW and hit hard.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Tom F
Maha Guru
 
Tom F's Avatar
 
Videocard: X1950 Pro
Processor: Athlon X2 3800
Mainboard: Abit AN8 Ultra
Memory: 4096
Soundcard: AMB γ2
PSU: Akasa 460W
Default 01-25-2014, 21:44 | posts: 2,731 | Location: Gloucesterestershire

Built a sub a couple of years ago - no pics as I've lent it to a friend for his studio and haven't got space for it at the moment, but at a party we had the neighbours from across the road come over to ask us to turn it down cos their windows were rattling
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-25-2014, 22:38 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

Battlefield 4 - Paracel Storm. When the storm comes rolling in there is a deep and loud thunder crack. I can't get enough of it.

I'll bust out my mic later and try and get a max SPL reading of my sub.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-25-2014, 22:47 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post
Battlefield 4 - Paracel Storm. When the storm comes rolling in there is a deep and loud thunder crack. I can't get enough of it.

I'll bust out my mic later and try and get a max SPL reading of my sub.
Well, if it's anywhere near 120db, it's pain level for your ears, 130db and it's like window shattering... be careful dude.

regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Tom F
Maha Guru
 
Tom F's Avatar
 
Videocard: X1950 Pro
Processor: Athlon X2 3800
Mainboard: Abit AN8 Ultra
Memory: 4096
Soundcard: AMB γ2
PSU: Akasa 460W
Default 01-26-2014, 01:24 | posts: 2,731 | Location: Gloucesterestershire

Your mic probably won't be accurate at very low frequency. Don't do it! We believe you, I'm sure it's very loud lol - not worth potentially damaging your sub for the sake of it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-26-2014, 02:50 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

That's true I suppose. I just tested though. With the gain knob on the amp all the way up (how I always have it), I am hitting 104dB @50Hz. The -20dB light on the amp came on, and the sub clearly had a lot of xmax to spare.

This to me says that I have a serious gain issue. I am connecting to the amp via XLR, and have the subwoofer channel at +10. I then have +8dB boost set in my miniDSP from 10-80Hz. I didn't think I would need so much gain.

I increased the gain a bit in the MiniDSP and hit 108dB @50Hz. The MiniDSP scares me a bit though, because every change causes the subs to make a loud THUMP. I think I'll leave it like this for now. I might consider picking up a different EQ device. This MiniDSP is unnerving.

On a somewhat related note- I ran a full range sweep, and noticed I had a pretty significant dip at ~100Hz. I've upped the crossover to 120Hz and it seemed to help.

Last edited by Rebel975; 01-26-2014 at 02:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
gridiron whirlw
Ancient Guru
 
gridiron whirlw's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 570 SLI
Processor: Intel i5-2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen 3
Memory: 8GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
Soundcard: MAD Ear+HD & Grado RS1i
PSU: Corsair 850 Watt
Default 01-26-2014, 04:49 | posts: 3,523 | Location: Ohio

What would be the "cheapest" sub that would be a sweet upgrade for my audio engine book shelfs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-26-2014, 13:29 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by gridiron whirlw View Post
What would be the "cheapest" sub that would be a sweet upgrade for my audio engine book shelfs
This is an amazing sub for the price, goes down to 20hz

http://www.amazon.com/Acoustic-Audio...42877&sr=1-157

regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
anxious_f0x
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti SC ACX in SLi
Processor: Intel Core i7 980X 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA X58 SLi
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence ST
PSU: Silverstone 1000 watt
Default 01-26-2014, 14:03 | posts: 92 | Location: UK

Mine...



15" DC LVL 4, powered by a DLS Ultimate A6, 1200 watts RMS @1Ohm. Wobbles a bit

Also run a Dali E-12F in the home cinema.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-26-2014, 14:08 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by anxious_f0x View Post
Mine...



15" DC LVL 4, powered by a DLS Ultimate A6, 1200 watts RMS @1Ohm. Wobbles a bit

Also run a Dali E-12F in the home cinema.
Cool, that's unreal
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-27-2014, 14:35 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post
That's true I suppose. I just tested though. With the gain knob on the amp all the way up (how I always have it), I am hitting 104dB @50Hz. The -20dB light on the amp came on, and the sub clearly had a lot of xmax to spare.

This to me says that I have a serious gain issue. I am connecting to the amp via XLR, and have the subwoofer channel at +10. I then have +8dB boost set in my miniDSP from 10-80Hz. I didn't think I would need so much gain.

I increased the gain a bit in the MiniDSP and hit 108dB @50Hz. The MiniDSP scares me a bit though, because every change causes the subs to make a loud THUMP. I think I'll leave it like this for now. I might consider picking up a different EQ device. This MiniDSP is unnerving.

On a somewhat related note- I ran a full range sweep, and noticed I had a pretty significant dip at ~100Hz. I've upped the crossover to 120Hz and it seemed to help.

My ONKYO A/V receiver has a special sub tuning built in, so I can up the frequencies through my ONKYO, it's brilliant this receiver that I've had for a couple of years now

regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-28-2014, 02:43 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

Mine does too. I have an Emotiva UMC-1. I've got the 20-~35Hz region boosted up another 10 - 6dB (boost lessens as it goes up in frequency) in my pre/pro.

I need more signal boosting.

Last edited by Rebel975; 01-28-2014 at 02:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-28-2014, 02:57 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post
Mine does too. I have an Emotiva UMC-1. I've got the 20-~35Hz region boosted up another 10 - 6dB (boost lessens as it goes up in frequency) in my pre/pro.

I need more signal boosting.
I just got a Xonar D2X and I tell ya, it's awesome, it has snr 118/120db on all channels, not just fronts. My system has never sounded better. Incredible soundcard. Ti Burr Brown DACs on all 8 channels...

regards
,RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Rebel975
Maha Guru
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC+
Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.5GHz + HT
Mainboard: AsRock x79 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: UMC-1 > UPA-500>Fusion-12
PSU: OCZ Z1000M
Default 01-28-2014, 20:44 | posts: 1,191 | Location: Oregon

Example of an ultimate subwoofer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o36Kp6veJ6c


How much subwoofer is “enough”? 20-80Hz @ 100dB? 110? 120? Is single digit extension necessary (or even desirable)? I know that you technically can’t hear much below 20Hz, but you can definitely feel it.

How about tactile transducers? I have a Buttkicker Gamer 2, but haven’t used it since I built my sub. That said, a larger shaker might be ideal to really feel those < 20Hz moments.

Last edited by Rebel975; 01-28-2014 at 20:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB high performance
Soundcard: A-U7 DefTechL/R Polk Sub
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 01-31-2014, 15:00 | posts: 4,204 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post
Example of an ultimate subwoofer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o36Kp6veJ6c


How much subwoofer is “enough”? 20-80Hz @ 100dB? 110? 120? Is single digit extension necessary (or even desirable)? I know that you technically can’t hear much below 20Hz, but you can definitely feel it.

How about tactile transducers? I have a Buttkicker Gamer 2, but haven’t used it since I built my sub. That said, a larger shaker might be ideal to really feel those < 20Hz moments.
Technically and commercially available, this is the best sub, 112db@ 10hz and 126db@ 60hz awesomely great

http://www.paradigm.com/products-cur.../page=overview

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Wormwood
Maha Guru
 
Wormwood's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 760 2GB 1280/6908
Processor: i5 2500k@4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar D2X & Somic MH463
PSU: Seasonic X-750 Gold
Default 01-31-2014, 18:31 | posts: 1,345

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagDoll_Effect View Post
Technically and commercially available, this is the best sub, 112db@ 10hz and 126db@ 60hz awesomely great

http://www.paradigm.com/products-cur.../page=overview

Wow...nice specs.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.