Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Dolby® Advanced Audio/ Home Theater Drivers for your built-in HD Audio
Old
  (#1)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default Dolby® Advanced Audio/ Home Theater Drivers for your built-in HD Audio - 08-19-2014, 09:20 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Sup. Thought I should share with these...especially cause I didn't fint it on guru3d and they can be potentially better than default Realtek HD Audio drivers. Feel free to try it anyways...should be compatible with x64-86 Vista/7/8/8.1 and any other onboard Realtek HD audio or built-in Nvidia/ ATI HD audio...maybe with some others built-in HD audio drivers - try for yourself and let us know

Dolby® Advanced Audio v2/ Home Theater v4 Drivers (download link)

DOLBY.rar contents:
Dolby PCEE Drivers x64.msi
Dolby PCEE Drivers x86.msi
Dolby Home Theater v4.msi
Dolby Advanced Audio v2.msi


Installation:

1. Uninstall Realtek HD Audio drivers or NVIDIA or ATI HD Audio drivers. Reboot.

NOTE: For Win 8/8.1, Disable Driver Signature Enforcement

2. Install "Dolby PCEE Drivers". During installation process, choose either "DAA(release)" for Advanced Audio v2 OR "DHT(release)" for Home Theater v4.

3. Install either "Dolby Advanced Audio v2" OR "Dolby Home Theater v4" depending on the chosen settings previously installed "Dolby PCEE Drivers". Reboot.

4. Enjoy.

Dolby Home Theater v4 Overview (official site page)
Dolby Advanced Audio v2 Overview (official site page)

Dolby PC Entertainment Experience v4 Overview (PDF)
PC Postprocessing Technologies: A Competitive Analysis (PDF)

Dolby Profile Selector/ EQ settings screenshots:

 Click to show spoiler


Home Theater v4/ Advanced Audio v2 features comparison:



PS. Feel free to comment about your listening experience and your thoughts about these drivers.

Last edited by fr33jack; 06-26-2015 at 07:09. Reason: Added detail description
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 08-19-2014, 16:07 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Apparently, Home Theater v4 can be used instead of default Nvidia/ Ati HD audio drivers. Just uninstall your Nvidia/ Ati audio drivers (if you using it) and install "PCEE" with "DHT" option then install Home Theater v4. I can't verify this...cause I don't have HDMI devices or audio speakers...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-19-2014, 16:33 | posts: 2,348 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Well, I use only soundcard`s digital output. Not clear whether these drivers can put sound produced by all these enhancers to the digital output.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 08-19-2014, 16:58 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Well, I use only soundcard`s digital output. Not clear whether these drivers can put sound produced by all these enhancers to the digital output.
I can't give you advice on that. Currently I'm using Creative A120 with built-in ALC892...but this fall will totally upgrade my pc sound system with hi-quality 2.1 audio and something like Sound Blaster X-Fi HD or similar external HD audio/DAC. Then, i suppose, i am also will be without the need of using these...

For me, default Realtek HD drivers feels like sh*t in movies and especially in games. "Dolby" sounds way better...

Last edited by fr33jack; 08-19-2014 at 17:03.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: DenonAVR-4311CI 7.3ch+FH
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 08-19-2014, 17:32 | posts: 4,474 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
Hey guys. Thought I should share with these...especially cause I didn't fint it on guru3d and they can be potentially better than default Realtek HD Audio drivers. Feel free to try it anyways...should be compatible with Vista/7/8 x86/x64 and any onboard Realtek HD audio.

Dolby® Advanced Audio v2/ Home Theater v4 Drivers (download link)

DOLBY.rar contents:
Dolby PCEE Drivers.msi
Dolby Home Theater v4.msi
Dolby Advanced Audio v2.msi


How to:

1. Uninstall Realtek HD Audio drivers. Reboot.
2. Install "Dolby PCEE Drivers". During installation process, choose ever "DAA(release)" for Advanced Audio v2 OR "DHT(release)" for Home Theater v4.
3. Install ever "Dolby Advanced Audio v2" OR "Dolby Home Theater v4" depending on the chosen settings previously installed "Dolby PCEE Drivers". Reboot.
4. Enjoy.

About:

Dolby Home Theater v4 Overview (official site page)
Dolby Advanced Audio v2 Overview (official site page)

Dolby PC Entertainment Experience v4 Overview (PDF)
PC Postprocessing Technologies: A Competitive Analysis (PDF)

Dolby Profile Selector/ EQ settings screenshots:

 Click to show spoiler


Home Theater v4/ Advanced Audio v2 features comparison:



PS. Feel free to comment about your listening experience and your thoughts about these drivers.
Can confirm, works with NVidia graphics audio through HDMI, woot

You need to disable driver signing in win 8

Thanks,
RagDoll.

Last edited by RagDoll_Effect; 08-19-2014 at 17:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 08-19-2014, 18:13 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagDoll_Effect View Post
Can confirm, works with NVidia graphics audio through HDMI, woot

You need to disable driver signing in win 8

Thanks,
RagDoll.
np

Added "How to" for NVIDIA|ATI HD audio to the main post.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
holystarlight
Master Guru
 
holystarlight's Avatar
 
Videocard: TITAN X Tri-SLI
Processor: Intel 5960x 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V x99
Memory: G.Skill 16gb 3200mhz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX II
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 08-19-2014, 18:20 | posts: 510 | Location: England

This is one thing I Miss from changing from Asus xonar phoebus to the STX II, Is there anyway to get Dolby to function with the STX II?

Edit: works perfectly for the HDMI on the NVidia Cards

Last edited by holystarlight; 08-19-2014 at 18:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 08-19-2014, 18:30 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by holystarlight View Post
This is one thing I Miss from changing from Asus xonar phoebus to the STX II, Is there anyway to get Dolby to function with the STX II?
Dunno...I just stumbled on these yesterday...at my brother workplace (pc service center)...in huge "softwares from vendors" archives which exponentially grows since 2001-02
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: DenonAVR-4311CI 7.3ch+FH
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 08-19-2014, 18:30 | posts: 4,474 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
np

Added "How to" for NVIDIA|ATI HD audio to the main post.
Cool, just testing some things, all working beautifully. Even Dolby Digital Live which can be selected in Playback devices, then click properties, then advanced and drop down menu :-) Only thing is it's limited to 5.1 cos Dolby Digital Live is pure 5.1, no 7.1

Is there any way to get full hd audio with these? I can't get DTS HD and Dolby True HD to work???

regards,
RagDoll.

Last edited by RagDoll_Effect; 08-19-2014 at 19:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-19-2014, 22:51 | posts: 2,348 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
For me, default Realtek HD drivers feels like sh*t in movies and especially in games. "Dolby" sounds way better...
You mean with any of features like equalizer, surround virtualizer or without?

Currently I don`t use EQ, dolby multichannel as I use external DAC+AMP with headphones. That was my first question - when user doesn`t use multichannel audio (on multichannel speakers) are these dolby drivers worth to try?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 08-19-2014, 23:07 | posts: 1,903 | Location: Minnesota

Is this related to home theater? Running your sound thru the video card?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 08-20-2014, 05:09 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
You mean with any of features like equalizer, surround virtualizer or without?
I mean in general. The sound in games are kinda dull with default Realtek HD drivers. Sure, I can tweak some EQ settings but still it's kinda dull...I don't like it. And realtek "virtualization" (compared to Dolby) kinda sucks too. IMO

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Currently I don`t use EQ, dolby multichannel as I use external DAC+AMP with headphones. That was my first question - when user doesn`t use multichannel audio (on multichannel speakers) are these dolby drivers worth to try?
If you using Reltek drivers for your built-in onboard sound card then yes, it can potentially enhance your listening experience. Dolby also have an excellent "virtualizer" for headphones and 2.0/2.1 speakers...imo superior...since Dolby Stereo tech. You can always try it by yourself and figure it out FOR yourself...one man's trash is another man's treasure

Quote:
Originally Posted by goat1 View Post
Is this related to home theater? Running your sound thru the video card?
Yeah. You need Home Theater v4 if you wanna replace your Nvidia HD audio drivers. But don't ask me for details...I don't have HDMI audio speakers to test it RagDoll_Effect knows...ask him

After DHT instalation it looks like this in "Device Manager":

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
cheappo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7870 xt/2 GB
Processor: i5 750
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550 W
Default 08-20-2014, 08:53 | posts: 12

@fr33jack, thanks for this. Do you think it could work with a VIA on-board sound card?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-20-2014, 10:58 | posts: 2,348 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Btw, when I discovered WASAPI in Vista and found a player program which can utilize WASAPI (exclusive mode) I was very surprised by difference between sound in WASAPI and DirectSound/WaveOut mode. Do you use WASAPI? PotPlayer now can utilize it by itself means.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 08-20-2014, 12:34 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheappo View Post
@fr33jack, thanks for this. Do you think it could work with a VIA on-board sound card?
Np =)
Dunno on VIA...you can always try =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Btw, when I discovered WASAPI in Vista and found a player program which can utilize WASAPI (exclusive mode) I was very surprised by difference between sound in WASAPI and DirectSound/WaveOut mode. Do you use WASAPI? PotPlayer now can utilize it by itself means.
Not only I using WASAPI, but I adore it =) Totally love with it since I discovered for myself. But I recommended WINYL© ...mucho awesome and with quite stylish minimalist design which is for me are kinda important. Great library manager also with great overall control...

WINYL look:

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-20-2014, 14:39 | posts: 2,348 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr33jack View Post
Not only I using WASAPI, but I adore it =) Totally love with it since I discovered for myself. But I recommended WINYL© ...mucho awesome and with quite stylish minimalist design which is for me are kinda important. Great library manager also with great overall control...
For music I use XMPlay. For video - PotPlayer. Also I used JetAudio for quite long, but it can utilize WASAPI only with ReClock (but has plenty of useful tools).

Update: http://www.station-drivers.com/index...startdown/821/

There is folder 'PCEE4' in that archive with 'DolbyAdvancedAudio.msi', 'DolbyHomeTheater.msi' and 'DolbySelectorTaskPatch.exe' files. May be the most new version...

Also there is folder 'DS1' with 'DolbyDigitalPlusAA.msi' and 'DolbyDigitalPlusHT.msi' files...

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-20-2014 at 23:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
cheappo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7870 xt/2 GB
Processor: i5 750
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 550 W
Default 09-13-2014, 20:58 | posts: 12

Hey, just wanted to let you know that it works with my VIA soundcard (whatever's integrated on the Asu p7p55d-e pro). Time to have some fun. Thank you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
umeng2002
Maha Guru
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
Processor: FX-8320E @ 4.6 GHz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r1
Memory: DDR3 8GB @ 1600 8-9-8-24
Soundcard: SBz > littleDot > SR80e
PSU: On my 2nd Corsair TX750W
Default 09-21-2014, 07:43 | posts: 818 | Location: Milky Way

It works on my Sabertooth 990FX, but once again, Dolby Headphone over digital out seems to be harder to do on integrated mobo audio than sending a man to the moon.


But I may keep these in because the dialog enhancement and real-time eq adjustment help my overall *general* web video viewing.

If anything, they help sample-rate switching better than realtek's 2.75 drivers.

Last edited by umeng2002; 09-21-2014 at 08:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
umeng2002
Maha Guru
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
Processor: FX-8320E @ 4.6 GHz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r1
Memory: DDR3 8GB @ 1600 8-9-8-24
Soundcard: SBz > littleDot > SR80e
PSU: On my 2nd Corsair TX750W
Default 09-21-2014, 13:24 | posts: 818 | Location: Milky Way

The only odd thing is that it won't accept 24 bits stream PCM (or 32) from ReClock or LAV Audio using WASAPI. But it will accept a 24 bit stream PCM from foobar2000 using WASAPI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
umeng2002
Maha Guru
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
Processor: FX-8320E @ 4.6 GHz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX r1
Memory: DDR3 8GB @ 1600 8-9-8-24
Soundcard: SBz > littleDot > SR80e
PSU: On my 2nd Corsair TX750W
Default 10-01-2014, 07:27 | posts: 818 | Location: Milky Way

On a side note, since these aren't signed, protected audio won't work in the Win 8 Netflix app when you try to use DD+.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 10-01-2014, 17:24 | posts: 1,903 | Location: Minnesota

What is the benefit from not using the nvidia drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 10-06-2014, 21:49 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by goat1 View Post
What is the benefit from not using the nvidia drivers?
A lot...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
auliamaster74
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7670M 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-3612QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 10-16-2014, 09:50 | posts: 1

can i install it? my soundcard is IDT High Definition (HP Pavilion G4-2040TX)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
fr33jack
Maha Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3G
Processor: AMD860K 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI A68HM P33
Memory: 8Gb 2.4Ghz CL13
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: CM Thunder M-520
Default 11-08-2014, 17:47 | posts: 998 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by auliamaster74 View Post
can i install it? my soundcard is IDT High Definition (HP Pavilion G4-2040TX)
Try it...tryouts are free you know Tell us if it works with your sound device...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX980 AMP! Extreme
Processor: I7 4770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LG SOUNDBAR
PSU: Aurum PRO 1200W
Default 11-08-2014, 23:51 | posts: 20,103 | Location: Turkey

i am using also logitech G35 which is uses its own sound engine i guess. USb u know. i want more of it sound is so low. can i use this tool with it?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.