Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
W7 and W8 SSD Raid0 TRIM Comfirmed.
Old
  (#1)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Thumbs up W7 and W8 SSD Raid0 TRIM Comfirmed. - 08-14-2012, 01:14 | posts: 6,601 | Location: Puerto Rico

Woow , just woow , where to start , i have been involved on this big project wich consist of proving that w7 and w8 do pass TRIM to Raid0 array on Intel Chipset with the latest Bios Raid OROM 11.5 and latest Intel RST 11.5 Drivers. For now it's only supported on Z77 chipsets ( In the future we think with a Bios update to Raid OROM 11.5 and Latest RST Drivers most of Intel Chipsets will support this function ). Guys this are amazing Big news as we here in Guru3D have been doing some testing ourselves on this tread: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=365227


Conclusion of the article:

"Conclusion:

RAID 0 TRIM has indeed arrived. It won’t be long before we start seeing board manufacturers serving up 11.5.0.1582 or higher OROMs with their BIOS’s. When they do you can be confident that whether you are running Windows 7 or 8 along with the correct chipset/s and IRST driver your RAID 0 array will have functioning TRIM. Intel has delivered on their promise to give us what we’ve all been waiting for RAID 0 TRIM. As of today there is NOTHING a single drive can do that a RAID 0 Array cannot do better. This day has been a long time coming and brings with it forth coming satisfaction for thousands of INTEL RAID 0 users. Awesome job INTEL, simply awesome!
"


Source and Full article here: http://www.rwlabs.com/article.php?ca...2&pagenumber=1

You can follow our long hours testing this funccionality of Intel Raid Option and more information on this treads:
http://www.station-drivers.com/forum...hp?f=32&t=3910
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...84-RST-Drivers
http://translate.google.com/translat...2179ef&act=url
http://communities.intel.com/thread/...art=0&tstart=0

Last edited by chispy; 08-14-2012 at 01:33.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 08-14-2012, 01:47 | posts: 5,581 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by chispy View Post
RAID 0 TRIM has indeed arrived. It won’t be long before we start seeing board manufacturers serving up 11.5.0.1582 or higher OROMs with their BIOS’s. When they do you can be confident that whether you are running Windows 7 or 8 along with the correct chipset/s and IRST driver your RAID 0 array will have functioning TRIM. Intel has delivered on their promise to give us what we’ve all been waiting for RAID 0 TRIM. As of today there is NOTHING a single drive can do that a RAID 0 Array cannot do better. This day has been a long time coming and brings with it forth coming satisfaction for thousands of INTEL RAID 0 users. Awesome job INTEL, simply awesome!
" [/B]
Or you could get SSD's with hardware level TRIM like Corsair Force GT's.

But yes, those that don't have that will be in for a treat.

Last edited by GhostXL; 08-14-2012 at 01:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-14-2012, 01:56 | posts: 5,840 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

They need to release the new 5.03/04 firmware as I'm using 5.02 because 3.33 had issues, and TRIM is broken in that version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 08-14-2012, 02:34 | posts: 6,969 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

So how do I update my OROM to 11.5?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Default 08-14-2012, 02:39 | posts: 6,601 | Location: Puerto Rico

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
So how do I update my OROM to 11.5?
You can mod your Bios yourself or look around for someone who has already have a moded Bios , if not you will have to wait until your Mobo manufacturer place this new OROM in a Bios update.

If you want to do it yourself here its a very easy guide to do it:

http://www.win-lite.de/wbb/board208-...ix-award-bios/

Last edited by chispy; 08-14-2012 at 02:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-14-2012, 03:06 | posts: 5,840 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
So how do I update my OROM to 11.5?
With Z77 you'll also most likely need to use USB Bios flashback to do the update, as ASUS EZ Flash 2 will give you some security error.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Default 08-14-2012, 03:28 | posts: 6,601 | Location: Puerto Rico

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
With Z77 you'll also most likely need to use USB Bios flashback to do the update, as ASUS EZ Flash 2 will give you some security error.
Thats 100% Correct , i could not flash my own moded Bios or the one that pimp_gimp made for me ( Thanks dude ), im still waiting on some friends at Asus who might get me the Bios i want , im still waiting to use 11.5 on my own new Asus P8Z77-V LK as this board does not have USB Bios flashback and the Bios its protected it is simply impposible to flash on my own , it needs to be done by Asus.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 08-14-2012, 03:49 | posts: 5,581 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
They need to release the new 5.03/04 firmware as I'm using 5.02 because 3.33 had issues, and TRIM is broken in that version.
Not sure what to tell you there. I'm on 5.02 and TRIM is working just fine.

I'm using 2 240GB Corsair Force GT's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 08-14-2012, 03:51 | posts: 5,840 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
Not sure what to tell you there. I'm on 5.02 and TRIM is working just fine.
Weird, could be that it only affects certain setups? I do know that Corsair recognizes it as an issue, and are working with Sandforce on a fix for their drives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Default 08-16-2012, 04:50 | posts: 6,601 | Location: Puerto Rico

And Its official !

Dan Snyder, PR Manager of Intel Corporation :


" “Trim on RAID 0 for SSDs is supported in the Intel RST driver versions 11.0 and newer. Currently available for the general public on Intel’s downloads site is RST driver version 11.2 which offers TRIM support on RAID 0 compatible with MS Windows 7 OS on Intel 7 series chipsets (earlier chipsets NOT supported). Intel is also working on a future release providing support for TRIM on RAID 0 on Microsoft Windows 8 OS for Intel 7 series chipsets. “


Source and more info: http://thessdreview.com/daily-news/l...-11-and-newer/

http://www.legitreviews.com/news/13881/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 09-08-2012, 18:29 | posts: 3,705 | Location: Nederland

I noticed that 11.5 has a Memory Leak with the IAStorDataMgrSvc.exe

It's currently over 750 MB and growing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 09-08-2012, 18:33 | posts: 2,487 | Location: UK

Sounds good, guess I'll probably be buying another 256GB M4 next year then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 09-08-2012, 19:48 | posts: 3,515 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
I noticed that 11.5 has a Memory Leak with the IAStorDataMgrSvc.exe

It's currently over 750 MB and growing.
Confirmed. Same issue. Rolled back to an earlier version 11.3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sdamaged99
Maha Guru
 
sdamaged99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7870XT Joker 1150/1650
Processor: i7 3930K 4.8Ghz H20
Mainboard: Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: 32GB Samsung 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: 1000W Coolermaster Pro
Default 09-08-2012, 23:08 | posts: 1,936 | Location: Isle of Man

Brilliant, glad i forked out £400 for 2 x 128GB Corsair Performance Pro SSDs when i could have bought 2 x 256GB ones of a different brand and gotten the same performance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
gerardfraser
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Crossfire
Processor: 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 09-09-2012, 20:22 | posts: 1,420 | Location: Canada

Thanks chipsy for all the information you supplied on various forums.

Z77 board trim confirmed working on drivers below

Intel® Rapid Storage Technology
Kit installed: 11.2.0.1006
User interface version: 11.2.0.1006
Language: English (United States)
Intel RAID controller: Intel(R) Desktop/Workstation/Server Express Chipset SATA RAID Controller
Number of SATA ports: 6
RAID option ROM version: 11.0.0.1339
Driver version: 11.2.0.1006
ISDI version: 11.2.0.1006
   
Reply With Quote
Update firmware?
Old
  (#16)
derek4484
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTS8800
Processor: Intel i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W
Default Update firmware? - 09-20-2012, 20:39 | posts: 1

This is good news that TRIM command will work in a Raid 0 as I just ordered a setup from Amazon that includes a P8z77-V LX mobo, and two HyperX 3K 240GB SSD's and I was planning on running those in a Raid 0 and was concerned about passing the TRIM command on through.

But once in a Raid 0 you still wont be able to update the firmware of individual SSD's will you? That, I think, is just as important or more than the TRIM command. As they come up with better firmwares that improve SSD performance you def need to upgrade firmware.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 09-21-2012, 07:32 | posts: 3,705 | Location: Nederland

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
I noticed that 11.5 has a Memory Leak with the IAStorDataMgrSvc.exe

It's currently over 750 MB and growing.
Just quoting for those that missed it.
   
Reply With Quote
TRIM or not?
Old
  (#18)
cyberlipe
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 460
Processor: i7-3770
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700PSU Corsair
Default TRIM or not? - 09-30-2012, 22:21 | posts: 2

Hey Guys,

I'm reading this, and it's not clear to me if I need a RAID ROM higher than: 11.0.0.1339 or NOT...

I have the RST 11.6 driver, on a Asus P8Z77-V PRO with the lastest BIOS, and 2 intel 320 series 120 gb on RAID 0.

How can I benchmark this to find out?

Cheers,
Felipe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Thumbs up 10-01-2012, 04:28 | posts: 6,601 | Location: Puerto Rico

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberlipe View Post
Hey Guys,

I'm reading this, and it's not clear to me if I need a RAID ROM higher than: 11.0.0.1339 or NOT...

I have the RST 11.6 driver, on a Asus P8Z77-V PRO with the lastest BIOS, and 2 intel 320 series 120 gb on RAID 0.

How can I benchmark this to find out?

Cheers,
Felipe
Hi Felipe and welcome to Guru3D , use as SSD , Cristal Disk benchmark , Anvil Storage Utilities or PCMark vantage. Run one test at a time , delete something from your OS trhu recicle bin after running the test , this will trigger TRIM and recuperate lost performance , thats how TRIM works on raid0 , more information here: http://www.rwlabs.com/article.php?ca...2&pagenumber=4 ,i hope that helps you understand how TRIM works on Raid0.
We got similar configuration , as im using an Asus P8Z77-V PRO with latest Bios , install running Raid OROM 11.0.0.1339 with latest whql RST 11.6 drivers , using 2x128GB Samsungs 830 Raid0 , TRIM works flawlessly in my Raid0 array , my performance stays always more or less the same and i have not lost performance after 2 months running heavily appointments in 24/7 OS . Buen Dia Felipe Saludos desde Puerto Rico .
   
Reply With Quote
Trim?
Old
  (#20)
cyberlipe
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 460
Processor: i7-3770
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700PSU Corsair
Default Trim? - 10-01-2012, 23:23 | posts: 2

Hey Chispy,

I've tried using PCMark... But it was not clear on what should I do before and after a Test..
should I run more then once?
What is the best software to test this?

Cheers,
Felipe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x290X CF on H2O Swiftech
Processor: 4790K on H2O Swiftech
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Hero Z97
Memory: 16GB Team eXtreme 2400 c9
Soundcard: X-Fi-Titanium HD / Z5500
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2 1300w
Default 10-02-2012, 03:16 | posts: 6,601 | Location: Puerto Rico

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberlipe View Post
Hey Chispy,

I've tried using PCMark... But it was not clear on what should I do before and after a Test..
should I run more then once?
What is the best software to test this?

Cheers,
Felipe
Just run first AS SSD benchmark , take a screenie of those numbers and save in pictures folder name it # 1 , then run pcmark vantage then take a screenshot of the final score and subtest numbers name it # 2 , Run Anvil storage utilities , again when the benchmark finish take a screenie shot on the numbers name it # 3. Redo the benchmars again like stated before taking screenies and named them # 01 , # 02 # 03 and so on , Now go to your OS delete some files , pictures or anything thru the recicle bin , that will trigger TRIM inmediatly and the performance should be restore more or less the same as the first set of benchmarks not the second set of run , meaning performance has been restore. Onced TRIM has done its job rerun the benchmarks and compare the results with the firts set of benchmarks screenis namely #1 , #2 , #3 and so on, the numbers should be more or less the same. Thats my best advice after done many weeks of testing myself. If you dont get it this time with this simple instructions i would suggest Google it , theres nothing to worry about your Raid0 should be running TRIM nicely , so please understand , there is nothing to it , please read into this more and educate yourself a liitle , there is tons of information on the web on this , i can help you of course , but i wont spoon feed you. Please go to google and Read Read Read all the information on this matter. Have a nice day felipe.

Kind Regards: Chispy
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.