Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I need some help with my AMD Radeon HD 6630M and Windows 8
Old
  (#1)
SenaSenzeXZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6630M
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2640
Mainboard: -
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Soundcard: Creative
PSU: -
Default I need some help with my AMD Radeon HD 6630M and Windows 8 - 08-12-2012, 15:04 | posts: 3 | Location: Thailand

Okay, Let's me tell you about my problems.

I'm using Sony Vaio C Series (VPCCB37FH)
that have a switchable graphics

1) Intel(R) HD Graphics
2) AMD Radeon HD 6630M

Previously, I used Windows 7 and I switch between 2 graphics card by Catalyst Control Center. Everything works well : )

Now, I'm using Windows 8 Release Preview
I've installed latest driver from AMD for Windows 8 Release Preview
but they're not working.....

and there're no configure can be set in Catalyst Control Center

Screenshot


*Click at the picture to see the large picture

I don't know how to makes AMD Radeon HD 6630M working correctly.
Please help me with this problems.

Thank you in advance : )

Last edited by SenaSenzeXZ; 08-12-2012 at 15:09.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
seaplane pilot
Maha Guru
 
seaplane pilot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 290x/ 2x 7970L
Processor: 3930K/ FX4130
Mainboard: R4BE/ GA-990FXA-UD5
Memory: 16GB GT/ 16GB Crucial
Soundcard: SupremeFX/ Disabled
PSU: NEX1500/ AX1200i-/ AX1200
Default 08-12-2012, 16:12 | posts: 1,028 | Location: Nebulas

It's a preview driver for a beta OS, what more can you expect? DL Linux Mint 13 and call it a day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 08-12-2012, 16:14 | posts: 1,577 | Location: Toronto

i thought sony blocks generic AMD drivers from installing?

also, 12.8 is coming very soon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
plywood99
Member Guru
 
plywood99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 @1300 / 1750
Processor: AMD 8350 @5ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX Rev.2
Memory: 32gigs Ripjaws 1600
Soundcard: mobo sound
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750
Default 08-12-2012, 18:49 | posts: 125 | Location: Ohio

Use device manager to update the display driver. Manually update it. I've done this on Win8 cpl times now.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 08-12-2012, 23:18 | posts: 16,412 | Location: US East Coast

AMD doesn't support "switchable graphics". You need to get the driver from Sony.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Dch48
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-270X Dual-X
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 08-12-2012, 23:25 | posts: 350

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
AMD doesn't support "switchable graphics". You need to get the driver from Sony.
This is true. AMD does not support dual graphics where the CPU is made by Intel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 08-13-2012, 04:53 | posts: 1,577 | Location: Toronto

& leshcat mod isnt for win8 (yet?)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
SenaSenzeXZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6630M
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2640
Mainboard: -
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Soundcard: Creative
PSU: -
Default 08-13-2012, 08:11 | posts: 3 | Location: Thailand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dch48 View Post
This is true. AMD does not support dual graphics where the CPU is made by Intel.
Ah!~~~~ It's so sad
I thought sony won't update it for a while..... They're always slow.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
& leshcat mod isnt for win8 (yet?)
I've tried it but doesn't work : )

Last edited by SenaSenzeXZ; 08-13-2012 at 08:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 08-13-2012, 23:53 | posts: 1,577 | Location: Toronto

maybe sony would have an initial win8 driver since the pressure is on over the next couple months
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
SenaSenzeXZ
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6630M
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2640
Mainboard: -
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Soundcard: Creative
PSU: -
Default 08-14-2012, 09:43 | posts: 3 | Location: Thailand

However, Can we force Windows 8 to using AMD Graphic Card instead of Intel HD Graphic ? I mean change to AMD Graphic Card permanently without using Intel HD Graphic anymore.

If we can do this, so we don't need special driver for switchable graphic right ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 08-14-2012, 17:34 | posts: 1,577 | Location: Toronto

sometimes you can set that in the bios, i wouldnt know any software ways though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
danifunker
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 6630M
Processor: i5 - Sandy bridge
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: laptop
Default 08-16-2012, 18:49 | posts: 1 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by SenaSenzeXZ View Post
Okay, Let's me tell you about my problems.

I'm using Sony Vaio C Series (VPCCB37FH)
that have a switchable graphics

1) Intel(R) HD Graphics
2) AMD Radeon HD 6630M

Previously, I used Windows 7 and I switch between 2 graphics card by Catalyst Control Center. Everything works well : )

Now, I'm using Windows 8 Release Preview
I've installed latest driver from AMD for Windows 8 Release Preview
but they're not working.....

and there're no configure can be set in Catalyst Control Center

Screenshot


*Click at the picture to see the large picture

I don't know how to makes AMD Radeon HD 6630M working correctly.
Please help me with this problems.

Thank you in advance : )
I have a Vaio S series laptop (VPCCA180-S) which I ordered last year. I got Windows 8 through my technet subscription. So far, so good. I was able to install the latest AMD catylast drivers (12.8) that were just released yesterday on my laptop, and it seems to be good.

edit:

Looks like after a restart the driver doesn't work anymore... I think I'll have to look into this a little further.

Last edited by danifunker; 08-16-2012 at 19:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
NeoandGeo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @4.6
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD4B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 RipJaws
Soundcard: HT Omega Claro+ 7.1
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 08-17-2012, 01:31 | posts: 405

Do you think AMD will ever support the product that they created? It shouldn't be up to the hardware manufacturers or users to hack this stuff to work. I'm stuck on Windows 7 using official drivers from July of last year, trying my luck with random newer drivers hacked by the community, or Windows 8 with my AMD card completely disabled. Nvidia has unified drivers, there is no excuse for AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Nikgr33n
Newbie
 
Videocard: No
Processor: No
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: No
Default 01-18-2013, 00:50 | posts: 3

Evening Gents. I am in the exact same situation as OP and I have been monitoring this thread for about a month now. I have since downgraded back to Win7 and waited for this thread to come up with some results.

I even made an account on these forums just so I could post this.

AMD 13.1 Drivers have been released. Any luck?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
darxider
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6630m
Processor: Intel Core i5-2520m
Mainboard: SONY VAIO SA
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: 90W
Default 01-18-2013, 01:03 | posts: 19

have you checked SONY's driver support page recently? i know they've released hybrid GPU drivers for Windows 8 (not sure about your specific model though).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Nikgr33n
Newbie
 
Videocard: No
Processor: No
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: No
Default 01-21-2013, 21:08 | posts: 3

Hey Guys, I have been internet searching and I came up with some info that I thought might help.

The reason the AMD Card doesnt work is because it comes up with Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43) No?

Well the reason for this is that I think its the Intel HD 3000's problem. The Intel's drivers are Intel signed, not AMD Signed. This means that it disables the AMD Card and prevents it from working (Error code 43).

Possible fixes:
*Find an AMD Signed intel driver. ( I have tried)
*Downgrade the Intel HD Driver to one that is below 9.10. (It should currently be at 9.17.10.2932)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Nikgr33n
Newbie
 
Videocard: No
Processor: No
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: No
Default 04-25-2013, 01:08 | posts: 3

Any Luck?

/bump
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 04-25-2013, 01:59 | posts: 1,869

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikgr33n View Post
Any Luck?

/bump
I think it would be best for you to provide a link to the driver which was used in Windows 7 for your Intel/AMD Graphic Cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.