Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Enduro, AMD Response Help
Old
  (#1)
hulawafu77
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970M
Processor: 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo
Default AMD Enduro, AMD Response Help - 08-08-2012, 03:05 | posts: 191

Hello Guru3D,

I'm posting here since AMD is ignoring mobile GCN core owners. On the popular NBR forum, threads are being closed and deleted because AMD has issued legal threats to some OEM/Brands who have been nice enough to try and gather feedback to help us owners. NBR was asked by said OEM, and NBR complied because said OEM, Sager, have been a great supporter of the forum and had great relations. They did this as a favor, so NBR is not to blame, nor is Sager.

I created a thread here on Guru3D since Hilbert Hagedoorn is well known among Gaming hardware community and other prominent folks post here on Guru3D. I'm hoping this larger gaming community will help sway AMD to listening and helping. I'm not looking to defame Guru3D or make Guru3D look bad in any way, just hoping this community can provide help and suggestions.

Here is the issue: Under-GPU utilization. We can see games initially begin with decent utilization or from our AW pals, with Enduro off, the GPU usage is normal, 80-99% and framerate excellent, awesome. But for Clevo/HP with the muxless design, it drops to 40% with framerate that is not the envy of older GPU and older models. It's pathetic. Even DX9 games are affected, people having issues with low framerate in games that were released a decade ago.

For AW and MSI owners, the only solution is to disable Enduro. Clevo/HP owners cannot due to the muxless design. But we don't blame Clevo/HP since the 675M and 680M in this same muxless design are getting desktop performance. Same notebook, just exchanging from Red to Green, desktop performance. Go Red, you cry.

What have we tried? We've tried using ThrottleStop. We've tried core parking, setting up core affinity for games, using AfterBurner to overclock, changing every setting in Windows Power Management, CCC and in Game. We see can get 40 FPS with BF3 with Ultra, but we get 40 FPS on low with BF3, the GPU utilization just drops. We've tried to contact CatalystCreator via twitter, nothing. We've filled out the AMD driver feedback form, no response. We've gotten Sager to contact AMD in our behalf, nothing. We've tried every driver out there, Betas released on Guru3D, official Clevo, WHQL drivers, LeshCat drivers, modded ones from Benchmark, nothing works.

The only solution we have is, get a refund. Return the 7970M and go Green. But we bought AMD hoping for price/performance and some due to brand loyalty, but this is the only solution that works.

Any help or suggestion from the HardForum community to get something done and get a response from AMD very grateful.

Thank you.

Disgruntled 7970M owners of NBR

In case if some of you think I'm on a lone crusade to troll AMD and be a jerk about this, here is just a glimpse of the what seems to be endless threads growing each day on NBR alone.

The thread where NBR disclosed why two threads were deleted.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...on-issues.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...le-enduro.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...ro-issues.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...yours-too.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...0-problem.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...ns-enduro.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...0m-enduro.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...vo-7970-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/gami...xtra-heat.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...le-enduro.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/gami...hogun-2-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...ng-issues.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...-my-7970m.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...-petition.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...dvertised.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...ro-normal.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...ff-enduro.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/gami...rfare-3-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...again-but.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...-bf3-60-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-e...rce-7850m.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-e...7850m-205.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/gami...games-now.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...ng-issues.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...-my-7970m.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...-petition.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...dvertised.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...ro-normal.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...ff-enduro.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/gami...rfare-3-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...again-but.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sage...-bf3-60-a.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-e...rce-7850m.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-e...7850m-205.html

http://forum.notebookreview.com/gami...games-now.html

Last edited by hulawafu77; 08-09-2012 at 05:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
popeye
Master Guru
 
popeye's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 730M
Processor: i5-3230m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Acer Laptop V3-771G-6443
Default 08-08-2012, 03:12 | posts: 454 | Location: USA

Class action lawsuit? You won't get squat from it, the lawyer suits will, but will show them they can't just piss on consumers.

Any idea how many people affected?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Default 08-08-2012, 03:16 | posts: 1,007 | Location: iTALY

I guess sager/clevo got in trouble for posting the driver publicly there is no other reason to delete 2 threads full of nice feedback from people about that issue.
Very bad on AMD part, keep spamming their report form and forums.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
hulawafu77
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970M
Processor: 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo
Default 08-08-2012, 03:17 | posts: 191

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeye View Post
Class action lawsuit? You won't get squat from it, the lawyer suits will, but will show them they can't just piss on consumers.

Any idea how many people affected?
This affects every Clevo and AW owner who has a 7970M or Enduro enabled AMD GPU. This is not something that is only affecting a few, this is across the board, anyone that has Enduro on MSI, Clevo and AW. Their only two solutions, disable Enduro, or get a refund and get Nvidia. For Clevo owners, we only have, get a refund and get Nvidia.

So far the tally on NBR is 2 threads deleted and 1 thread closed regarding AMD and their threat to Sager. This is just getting out of hand. AMD can't take the time to let us mobile gamers who have paid for a GPU that costs about $600, that they are working to fix Enduro, but they can make sure forum threads about it are closed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by asder00 View Post
I guess sager/clevo got in trouble for posting the driver publicly there is no other reason to delete 2 threads full of nice feedback from people about that issue.
Very bad on AMD part, keep spamming their report form and forums.
The pathetic part is, that driver did nothing. It didn't do anything to fix the issue, it was terrible.

We've been posting on their AMD forums and filling out those forms, still nothing.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 08-08-2012, 06:39 | posts: 5,571 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by hulawafu77 View Post
The pathetic part is, that driver did nothing. It didn't do anything to fix the issue, it was terrible.

We've been posting on their AMD forums and filling out those forms, still nothing.
Something is telling me that it's possible it cant be fixed. This sounds like something very wrong on a hardware level compatibility wise. Whose to say though? Oh yeah, AMD is. Well since they told everyone to shut up, that's more than suspicious.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lenne
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 290x ref @ Accelero V4
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4,3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 4x4gb
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 08-08-2012, 07:14 | posts: 349 | Location: Germany

not the first time amd build hardware that never ever worked, remember the bridge chip on these 4870x2 ? its still sitting on mine doing nothing...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 08-08-2012, 09:22 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by hulawafu77 View Post
This affects every Clevo and AW owner who has a 7970M or Enduro enabled AMD GPU. This is not something that is only affecting a few, this is across the board, anyone that has Enduro on MSI, Clevo and AW.
You forgot: everyone who owns a laptop with an AMD GCN-based card (HD 7730/7750/7850/7970M, so far) has this issue (except Alienware when the MUX Bypass is enabled).

This means, HP (Envy 15/17 with 7750/7850M), DELL (XPS 15/17 with 7730M) are all affected as well.

I have an HP Envy 17 with 7850M and I'm also experiencing this issue.

Apparently HP's solution for the previous-generation AMD cards (HD 6770/6850M/7690M/XT) was to release a BIOS update which added an option to change the switchable graphics mode from Dynamic to Fixed.

This effectively allowed forcing the dedicated GPU to be on at all times.

But the new Envy with Ivy Bridge and 7750/7850M does not have this BIOS option.

Last edited by king-dubs; 08-08-2012 at 09:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 08-08-2012, 09:51 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
hulawafu77
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970M
Processor: 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo
Default 08-09-2012, 05:12 | posts: 191

In case if some of you think I might be making it up and I'm on a personal crusade against AMD and looking to troll and be a jerk or whatever other thought that may have come across your mind, here is just a glimpse of how widespread this Enduro issue is among mobile AMD GCN owners.

The level of frustration on NBR right now with AMD is explosive. When news of AMD asking Sager to take down and close threads in which Sager was kind enough to try and get some feedback to try and pin point what is causing the Enduro problems, that really angered some folks.

Last edited by hulawafu77; 08-09-2012 at 09:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-09-2012, 05:20 | posts: 23,931 | Location: NZ

Links aren't working.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
hulawafu77
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970M
Processor: 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo
Default 08-09-2012, 05:29 | posts: 191

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Links aren't working.
Sorry about that, should be working now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
link626
Member Guru
 
Videocard: amd 6650m, nvda gtx660m
Processor: i7-3610m / A6-3400m
Mainboard: HM76 / A75
Memory: 8gb ddr3 1333
Soundcard:
PSU: brick
Default 08-09-2012, 13:02 | posts: 45

sounds like the crap that they did to us llano owners. Took almost a year for them to release drivers to allow seamless execution of openGL on the dgpu.

maybe they'll fix your issue a year from now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
tonyboy
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 7970
Processor: Intel 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W
Default 08-09-2012, 20:32 | posts: 2

I bought my P170Eem with 7970m a month ago. It works exactly like it should. I have no problems with it.
my desktop 7970 is also working flawless. Stop spreading bs about your minor problems

Go cry us a river hulawafu with your complaints
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-09-2012, 20:49 | posts: 23,931 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyboy View Post
I bought my P170Eem with 7970m a month ago. It works exactly like it should. I have no problems with it.
my desktop 7970 is also working flawless. Stop spreading bs about your minor problems

Go cry us a river hulawafu with your complaints
STFU noob.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-09-2012, 20:59 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyboy View Post
I bought my P170Eem with 7970m a month ago. It works exactly like it should. I have no problems with it.
my desktop 7970 is also working flawless. Stop spreading bs about your minor problems

Go cry us a river hulawafu with your complaints
Man some of you amd guys are rough on each other
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 08-09-2012, 21:06 | posts: 2,289 | Location: USA

i dont think its an amd issue, just people in general

lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-09-2012, 21:19 | posts: 23,931 | Location: NZ

OP I don't know if this will help but there are a few members on this site you could pm re your situation. No promises but it's worth a try...

Japamd - Radeon Pro dev
Ray Adams - Ati Tray Tools dev
Unwinder - MSI Afterburner dev
CL-Jeremy - ASUS rep
Hilbert himself (he's very receptive to pm's).

Use the search members tool to get their pm links.

Good luck....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
tonyboy
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 7970
Processor: Intel 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000W
Default 08-09-2012, 21:59 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
STFU noob.
You calling me a noob? With your sh*tty 6950 GPU? ahaha, even 7970m is faster than your crap

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
i dont think its an amd issue, just people in general

lol
Yeah they are blowing it way out of proportions. My 7970m works perfectly fine. I don`t play on it that much since my 7970 is my main gaming rig. But i have tried BF3, crysis 2 and such with the notebook and it worked exactly like it should

Last edited by tonyboy; 08-09-2012 at 22:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-09-2012, 22:12 | posts: 23,931 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyboy View Post
You calling me a noob? With your sh*tty 6950 GPU? ahaha, even 7970m is faster than your crap
U mad?

lol

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-09-2012 at 22:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Angushades
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 680SLI EK COOLED
Processor: I7 3770K @4.5 EK COOLED
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: 8GB G.Skill-2133 CL9
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Forte
PSU: Enermax 1250W
Default 08-09-2012, 22:14 | posts: 126 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyboy View Post
You calling me a noob? With your sh*tty 6950 GPU? ahaha, even 7970m is faster than your crap



Yeah they are blowing it way out of proportions. My 7970m works perfectly fine. I don`t play on it that much since my 7970 is my main gaming rig. But i have tried BF3, crysis 2 and such with the notebook and it worked exactly like it should
STFU NOOB! Did daddy just brought you a new desktop....hmm. You mate are just showing your education level. Dumbass kids
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-09-2012, 22:22 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyboy View Post
You calling me a noob? With your sh*tty 6950 GPU? ahaha, even 7970m is faster than your crap



Yeah they are blowing it way out of proportions. My 7970m works perfectly fine. I don`t play on it that much since my 7970 is my main gaming rig. But i have tried BF3, crysis 2 and such with the notebook and it worked exactly like it should
I believe the Guy was responding to my comment. Kinda noob mistake though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 08-09-2012, 22:30 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Looks like someone quoted my post on multiple forums (NBR and AMD Game Forums).

Finally we are getting AMD's attention:
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD Moderator
I have monitored this thread since it began. I appreciate the efforts of those that have contributed, and those that have posted in this forum in search of additional help or information. While I do not have any solutions to offer at this point in time, I do know that AMD is aware of this issue and is investigating root causes and potential solutions.

;Marc



-------------------------
AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied
http://forums.amd.com/game/textthrea...tmsgid=1288840
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-09-2012, 22:41 | posts: 23,931 | Location: NZ

Funny how some people make sweeping statements about things based only on their own experience (or lack of it). Another noob mistake.

FYI Tony-the-noob-boy, I checked the NBR thread regarding said GPU issue and it contains 126 posts.

So obviously there is a problem...so run along kthxbye.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-09-2012 at 23:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
hulawafu77
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7970M
Processor: 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo
Default 08-09-2012, 22:42 | posts: 191

So a forum mod who doesn't know anything says AMD is aware and looking to fix it. Is anyone satisfied with that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
king-dubs
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC ACX
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6 GHz 1.44v
Mainboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 U1L
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W!!)
Default 08-09-2012, 22:46 | posts: 2,371 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by hulawafu77 View Post
So a forum mod who doesn't know anything says AMD is aware and looking to fix it. Is anyone satisfied with that?
Looks like he wasn't bluffing...
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatalystCreator
For those with 7970M - Enduro issues are also being investigated;
http://twitter.com/CatalystCreator/s...76401792925696
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.