Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner 2.2.3 (2012-07-24)
Old
  (#1)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default MSI Afterburner 2.2.3 (2012-07-24) - 07-24-2012, 10:15 | posts: 413

Hi guys, the Afterburner 2.2.3 official version is ready for you to download. this version supports the control of South Island and Kepler card, if you get the card, you may try to play it.

Changes list includes:

Revised I2C access API for NVIDIA 301.xx and newer display drivers
Added core, memory and auxiliary PEXVDD voltage control for custom design MSI N680GTX Lightning series graphics cards with CHL8318+uP6262 voltage regulators
Added memory and VRM temperature monitoring for custom design MSI N680GTX Lightning series graphics cards with NCT7718W thermal sensors
Added core, memory and auxiliary PEXVDD voltage control for custom design MSI N670GTX Power Edition series graphics cards with uP6262 voltage regulators

Download

P.S Under the Greenlight form NVIDIA, we try to do the best.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
michaelrw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 lightning
Processor: 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 07-24-2012, 10:42 | posts: 8

Im still only able to adjust the core voltage to +100mv..
in fact, when i move the slider to +100mv Core Voltage and then hit "apply", it reduces down to +93mv. Max voltage according to GPUZ sensors is still 1.215v for vcore
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 10:47 | posts: 11

Great job on the software......increased my clocks slightly, cooler still running so cool, is there another bios for the extreme LN2 at all does anyone know that allows higer than 1.3v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 07-24-2012, 10:48 | posts: 20,762 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Switch to LN2 mode and see if it makes a difference.

The old BIOS will allow some tweaking, the new batches however are restricted (by NVIDIA).


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 07-24-2012, 10:52 | posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelrw View Post
Im still only able to adjust the core voltage to +100mv..
in fact, when i move the slider to +100mv Core Voltage and then hit "apply", it reduces down to +93mv. Max voltage according to GPUZ sensors is still 1.215v for vcore
Hi~
Because the adjust voltage has been calculated, so the final value may be different. Voltage varies with the program loading.
thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
michaelrw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 lightning
Processor: 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 07-24-2012, 10:53 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Switch to LN2 mode and see if it makes a difference.

The old BIOS will allow some tweaking, the new batches however are restricted (by NVIDIA).
ive tried both BIOS's... suggestions?

i bought my card a few days after it was released so id think its an early batch. either way, where can i get an "old" bios?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
michaelrw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 lightning
Processor: 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 07-24-2012, 10:56 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
Hi~
Because the adjust voltage has been calculated, so the final value may be different. Voltage varies with the program loading.
thanks
not sure if what youre saying applies in this case.. during a 3dmark11 benchmark run, there is the exact same amount of voltage being fed to the core as there was with AB 2.2.2

this is disappointing.
im still maxing out the same 1.215v during my benchmark runs...
looks like ill need to bust out the soldering iron after all if i wanna bench the card on this setup

Last edited by michaelrw; 07-24-2012 at 10:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 07-24-2012, 11:04 | posts: 20,762 | Location: Guru3D testlab

I can imagine so ...

Have apeek here:
http://www.guru3d.com/article/msi-gt...tage-tweaking/


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 11:07 | posts: 11

well was hoping for +200 or 300 vore as the cooler stays so darn cool
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 11:14 | posts: 11

from 3d guru web site

While I was writing this article I learned that NVIDIA just issued new BIOS files to the AIC partners and is frowning upon voltage tweaking outside their limitations. As such all new batches Lightning cards will have BIOSes where their limit of 1.175V is enforced, even in the LN2 BIOS. MSI has to follow that directive or probably face the fact that they will not be able to purchase the GPUs anymore.

That means that only the first batch of 5000 cards will have an OLD Bios that is freed up from the limitation and thus allows voltage tweaking to a certain extent. We can only assume that the old BIOS will spread like a virus to current Lightning owners to give them a little more flexibility on voltage tweaking matters.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
michaelrw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 lightning
Processor: 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 07-24-2012, 11:22 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam350 View Post
from 3d guru web site

While I was writing this article I learned that NVIDIA just issued new BIOS files to the AIC partners and is frowning upon voltage tweaking outside their limitations. As such all new batches Lightning cards will have BIOSes where their limit of 1.175V is enforced, even in the LN2 BIOS. MSI has to follow that directive or probably face the fact that they will not be able to purchase the GPUs anymore.

That means that only the first batch of 5000 cards will have an OLD Bios that is freed up from the limitation and thus allows voltage tweaking to a certain extent. We can only assume that the old BIOS will spread like a virus to current Lightning owners to give them a little more flexibility on voltage tweaking matters.
well i have control up to 1.215v so i guess i have an old batch (i bought mine the day it was released)
but this is nothing new, I had control up to 1.215v using afterburner 2.2.2.
Unwinder said i wrote the software for +300mv core.. so i KNOW it can be done.

can i contact MSI directly and sign NDA to get the REAL version of AB that will allow +500mv for those of us benching with ln2??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 07-24-2012, 11:30 | posts: 11,898 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
I can imagine so ...

Have apeek here:
http://www.guru3d.com/article/msi-gt...tage-tweaking/
wheres that article in news boss?

plus i see 1.41v in 3d thats very good for software

* oh i see thats with the +300mv options

Last edited by cowie; 07-24-2012 at 11:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
michaelrw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 lightning
Processor: 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 07-24-2012, 11:35 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
wheres that article in news boss?

plus i see 1.41v in 3d thats very good for software
yeah that was with an unrestricted version of 2.2.3

the version that was just released to the public does not allow for core voltage past 1.215 on the LN2 BIOS

that article is about the worst news possible. now we need some smart person to figure out a variable resistor mod for this card so we can get some real voltage control..

Last edited by michaelrw; 07-24-2012 at 11:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 11:38 | posts: 11

Cowie can u share ur bios and ur msi afterburner with us less fortunate
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 07-24-2012, 11:44 | posts: 20,762 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Guys to be clear, you'd need the old BIOS and a special version of AfterBurner. That last one in particular is in control of MSI.

I'll make that a little more clear in the writeup.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 11:48 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by hilbert hagedoorn View Post
guys to be clear, you'd need the old bios and a special version of afterburner. That last one in particular is in control of msi.

I'll make that a little more clear in the writeup.
guys band together someone has to have the unrestricted version share plz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 07-24-2012, 11:49 | posts: 11,898 | Location: new jersey

QUOTE=sam350;4370756]Cowie can u share ur bios and ur msi afterburner with us less fortunate[/QUOTE]


heck i turned down abx when an msi engi offered it to me.

but i really want a custom one that has my name on it....thats so cool
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 11:54 | posts: 11

so u have no special version?? just the mass released one? uv gotta have the old bios if uc an get up to 1.4v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 07-24-2012, 11:58 | posts: 11,898 | Location: new jersey

no i hard modded my stuff less headaches this time around

did you try any tricks?
you know use nvinspector set 1.18v close then see if ab adds to it?
would be close to 1.30v that way but it might not work with this lightning(

Last edited by cowie; 07-24-2012 at 12:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
sam350
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi gtx 580 twin frozr 3
Processor: intel i7 990x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1500w
Default 07-24-2012, 12:00 | posts: 11

ahhh cool sorry do u have a guide for hard mods for all us lightning owners out there
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 07-24-2012, 12:02 | posts: 11,898 | Location: new jersey

no sry, as i said thuo msi engi's will have one out sooner or later
A user tells me its working ok up to 1.35v and another showed a 1440 run in 3d11 cant moan about that...so its not the worst news we could get by far

Last edited by cowie; 07-24-2012 at 12:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
michaelrw
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 lightning
Processor: 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 07-24-2012, 12:12 | posts: 8

well my multimeter is reading a max of 1.349v during 3dmark11 so it looks like weve definitely gained about 100mv extra, even though GPUZ isnt showing it..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 07-24-2012, 12:15 | posts: 11,898 | Location: new jersey

dont use software to read voltage thats why msi put the volt read spots there man
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-24-2012, 13:23 | posts: 11,427 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

A few things to keep in mind while overvolting 680 Lightning / 670 PE:

1) Even considering that it is showing you the same +100 as before, it is absolutely not the same overvoltage mode like on reference 680. On original 680 adding +100mV offset is done via NVIDIA driver and it just moves clock/voltage mapping curve a bit, limiting the maximum on NVIDIA driver level (1175mV on regular cards or 1215mV on Lightning with previous Afterburner versions). 2.2.3 deals with voltage regulator directly and it adds +100mV to any voltage commanded to VRM by NVIDIA driver. So under load it results in 1215mV + 100mV VID.
2) You cannot use GPUZ to monitor voltage control on 680 Lightning / 670 PE. Currently it shows target VID read from NVIDIA driver on these cards, it needs to support advanced VRMs of 680 Lightning / 670 PE to monitor proper voltage. Use DMM to control voltages.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
xoleras
Member Guru
 
Videocard: msi lightning gtx 580 sli
Processor: intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair ax850
Default 07-24-2012, 13:40 | posts: 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Switch to LN2 mode and see if it makes a difference.

The old BIOS will allow some tweaking, the new batches however are restricted (by NVIDIA).
Why are nvidia being arseholes about this? The card is well capable of handling additional voltage, they can't apply reference card methodology to aftermarket cards..


Last edited by xoleras; 07-24-2012 at 13:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.