Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Rome 2: Total War?
Old
  (#1)
Stone Gargoyle
Ancient Guru
 
Stone Gargoyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD R9 270 Dual-X OC 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 Quad @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: OCZ 620W
Default Rome 2: Total War? - 06-25-2012, 20:51 | posts: 4,432

Quote:
In the latest issue of PC PowerPlay (the same magazine that revealed Dark Souls PC edition), there is a teaser for the next issue and it is a picture of Rome: Total War. So it is believed that this will be for an announcement for Rome 2: Total War:



An official announcement is expected in July.

http://www.computerandvideogames.com...ement-hinted/#
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 06-25-2012, 21:08 | posts: 8,073 | Location: UK

isnt that first photo from rome x yrs ago?

p.s I am not buying another Total war till A) the games uses more than 1 core B) loading times are normal for an rts...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 06-25-2012, 21:10 | posts: 4,385 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitzi76 View Post
isnt that first photo from rome x yrs ago?

p.s I am not buying another Total war till A) the games uses more than 1 core B) loading times are normal for an rts...
If they release a new total war based on medieval-roman times (aka not crappy gunpownder weapons or uni-faction like shogun).

a) The game uses already 4 cores (last ones do).
b) Time to buy a SSD i guess (for me), but i know something for sure, i wont skip a new total war in a time i like.

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 06-25-2012 at 21:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 06-25-2012, 23:21 | posts: 8,073 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_ice_Spain View Post
If they release a new total war based on medieval-roman times (aka not crappy gunpownder weapons or uni-faction like shogun).

a) The game uses already 4 cores (last ones do).
b) Time to buy a SSD i guess (for me), but i know something for sure, i wont skip a new total war in a time i like.
A) actually the current game is possibly the most un-optimised out there for a major title (it uses 1 core most of the time). so am afraid you are wrong there.
B) SSD makes very little diff to total war loading times so is a waste of money if you ask me....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 06-26-2012, 13:23 | posts: 6,559

Yeah! I want 10,000 troops to load at the same rate as 100 do in some other arbitrary game!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PCElite
Master Guru
 
PCElite's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X Gaming
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Gryphon Z87
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX Series 760
Default 06-26-2012, 17:33 | posts: 326

O M G
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Year
Ancient Guru
 
Year's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: Intel® i7 2600
Mainboard: Asus P67 Evo
Memory: G.Skill Sniper DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Auzentech Bravura 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W
Default 06-26-2012, 17:50 | posts: 11,696 | Location: ♫

Rome total war will always be my favorite total war game of all time, along with Shogun 1 with its outdated graphics.

if the article is real, i definitely want Rome 2 and will buy it 100%.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Outrance
Maha Guru
 
Outrance's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD6950 950Mhz/1350Mhz
Processor: Intel i7 2600k 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67UD7
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1900Mhz
Soundcard: MOTU
PSU: 1000w Silent Pro Gold
Default 07-02-2012, 17:15 | posts: 1,710 | Location: NZ/Australia/Germany

http://www.strategyinformer.com/news...for-pc-in-2013

More info and screenshots.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
PCElite
Master Guru
 
PCElite's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X Gaming
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Gryphon Z87
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX Series 760
Default 07-02-2012, 18:17 | posts: 326

It will be awesom-o. Gotta wipe out those pesky Carthaginians.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
blesner
Maha Guru
 
blesner's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Nvidia GTX 690
Processor: Intel I7 930 2.8 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
Memory: 6gigsCosairDomDDR32000MHZ
Soundcard: Asus DX2 Xonar PCIE
PSU: Antec Quattro Power 850w
Default 07-02-2012, 18:20 | posts: 2,665 | Location: SA

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

My Favorite game of all time gets a sequel!!!!

http://www.pcgamer.com/previews/tota...ayer-and-mods/

http://www.pcgamer.com/2012/07/02/to...campaign-game/

Last edited by blesner; 07-02-2012 at 18:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 07-02-2012, 18:30 | posts: 6,880 | Location: Dubai

I wanted to buy a Total War game, I read that Shogun 2 had issues .. I hope this one is a lot better!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 07-02-2012, 18:35 | posts: 4,385 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitzi76 View Post
A) actually the current game is possibly the most un-optimised out there for a major title (it uses 1 core most of the time). so am afraid you are wrong there.
B) SSD makes very little diff to total war loading times so is a waste of money if you ask me....
a) :S it works kinda well here, at least in battles, campaing map is a little low but works fine.
b) for real? i mean, you tested it?, i was planning to get an SSD for rome... (waiting for price drops, altho they are alrdy dropping...) I dont get why it shouldnt improve load times drastically (same than in other games)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_805DDUOfY
this video shows it loads kinda fast... (in my rig is like 2mins zz)

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 07-02-2012 at 18:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
blesner
Maha Guru
 
blesner's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Nvidia GTX 690
Processor: Intel I7 930 2.8 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
Memory: 6gigsCosairDomDDR32000MHZ
Soundcard: Asus DX2 Xonar PCIE
PSU: Antec Quattro Power 850w
Default 07-02-2012, 19:10 | posts: 2,665 | Location: SA

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I wanted to buy a Total War game, I read that Shogun 2 had issues .. I hope this one is a lot better!
Nope..not anymore.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Gaizokubanou
Maha Guru
 
Gaizokubanou's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970
Processor: i7 930 @ 3.8ghz 1.25v
Mainboard: Asus P6X56D-E
Memory: DDR3 6GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 07-02-2012, 20:43 | posts: 1,234

Shogun 2 has issues...

Just nothing extreme like the shield bug from MTW2 or 10+ minute per turn for AI Ottoman on Empire, but stuff are there like the decals bloodpack DLC being broken, some users with 7xxx series getting PC crash, DoF not working, etc.

Still worth a try and I recommend Shogun 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PCElite
Master Guru
 
PCElite's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X Gaming
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Gryphon Z87
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX Series 760
Default 07-03-2012, 13:13 | posts: 326

Shogun 2 Fall of the Samurai. Much better then Shogun 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Ade 1
Master Guru
 
Ade 1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 690
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-OC
Memory: 12gb OCZ DDR3
Soundcard: X-Fi Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 07-03-2012, 13:16 | posts: 601 | Location: Safe House

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCElite View Post
Shogun 2 Fall of the Samurai. Much better then Shogun 2.
Really pleased to hear Rome 2 will be coming. I'll definitely be buying.

Currently in the last 10 years of a long campaign in Shogun 2 and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Next up will be Rise followed by Fall for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
ginger_hammer
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 CU2
Processor: i3770K @stock
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2400MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar
PSU: Antec 850w
Default 07-03-2012, 13:36 | posts: 39 | Location: Dublin

I hope they do a decent revamp and work on the multiplayer. I know most people stick to single player but multiplayer on Shogun2 was fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
blesner
Maha Guru
 
blesner's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Nvidia GTX 690
Processor: Intel I7 930 2.8 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
Memory: 6gigsCosairDomDDR32000MHZ
Soundcard: Asus DX2 Xonar PCIE
PSU: Antec Quattro Power 850w
Default 07-03-2012, 15:55 | posts: 2,665 | Location: SA

I just came in my pants again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 07-03-2012, 15:57 | posts: 6,880 | Location: Dubai

Is it steamworks or will it be on other platforms too?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
blesner
Maha Guru
 
blesner's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Nvidia GTX 690
Processor: Intel I7 930 2.8 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
Memory: 6gigsCosairDomDDR32000MHZ
Soundcard: Asus DX2 Xonar PCIE
PSU: Antec Quattro Power 850w
Default 07-03-2012, 16:01 | posts: 2,665 | Location: SA

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Is it steamworks or will it be on other platforms too?
PC and as usual probably only Steamworks(which is a good thing).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
tuco
Ancient Guru
 
tuco's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 460's
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xense
PSU: Corsair
Default 07-03-2012, 16:13 | posts: 3,034 | Location: SoL 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by blesner View Post
I just came in my pants again.
again? you should invest in man nappies.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 07-03-2012, 16:13 | posts: 6,880 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by blesner View Post
PC and as usual probably only Steamworks(which is a good thing).
God forbid the day they port it for the console! I was thinking of Origin platform .. lol Yeah .. nice that it's steamworks. Pricing? $50 or 60?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
blesner
Maha Guru
 
blesner's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Nvidia GTX 690
Processor: Intel I7 930 2.8 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage 3 Extreme
Memory: 6gigsCosairDomDDR32000MHZ
Soundcard: Asus DX2 Xonar PCIE
PSU: Antec Quattro Power 850w
Default 07-03-2012, 16:56 | posts: 2,665 | Location: SA

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
God forbid the day they port it for the console! I was thinking of Origin platform .. lol Yeah .. nice that it's steamworks. Pricing? $50 or 60?
Doubt they will, piracy is apparently pretty low on TW games.

No idea on pricing but I will be buying the collectors and and the standard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 07-03-2012, 17:01 | posts: 6,880 | Location: Dubai

Wait .. two copies?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
ShadowDuke
Maha Guru
 
ShadowDuke's Avatar
 
Videocard: GigaByte GTX 660 oc / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300 (3,5GHz)
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8GB Crucial DDR3 (1600)
Soundcard: Creative Inspire 5300
PSU: Antec HCG-620M
Default 07-03-2012, 18:17 | posts: 1,843 | Location: Germany

Total War: Rome 2 - Live-Action-Trailer: Faces of Rome

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eVxEArfMqdU
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.