Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner 2.2.2 (2012-06-20)
Old
  (#1)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default MSI Afterburner 2.2.2 (2012-06-20) - 06-20-2012, 09:49 | posts: 414

Hi guys, the Afterburner 2.2.2 official version is ready for you to download. this version supports the control of South Island and Kepler card, if you get the card, you may try to play it.

Changes list includes:

Increased upper allowed power limit for power limit adjustment slider on some extreme editions of NVIDIA GeForce GTX 600 series graphics cards
ATIPDLXX.DLL is no longer included in MSI Afterburner distributive
MSI On-Screen Display server has been upgraded to version 4.3.4. New version gives you the following improvements:
o Fixed framerate calculation for DirectX10/DirectX11 applications, which actively use presentation testing during rendering (e.g. Max Payne 3)

Download link:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/Afterbur...load-2562.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 06-20-2012, 10:08 | posts: 11,888 | Location: England

Wonderful! Thank you very much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
k4sh
Member Guru
 
Videocard: r9 290 @ 1150/1500
Processor: I5 2500K @ 4.6 Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP UD3
Memory: 16Go DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Auzentech X-FI Forte
PSU: C.Master S. Pro gold 800W
Default 06-20-2012, 10:43 | posts: 88 | Location: Naoned

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
ATIPDLXX.DLL is no longer included in MSI Afterburner distributive
The question is, is this dll still in use by MSI AB or not ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pepa1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia
Processor: intel
Mainboard: p67
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: PSU
Default 06-20-2012, 11:40 | posts: 50

Thank You very much....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-20-2012, 12:04 | posts: 24,014 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by k4sh View Post
The question is, is this dll still in use by MSI AB or not ?
Probably. Only one way to find out...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
k4sh
Member Guru
 
Videocard: r9 290 @ 1150/1500
Processor: I5 2500K @ 4.6 Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP UD3
Memory: 16Go DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Auzentech X-FI Forte
PSU: C.Master S. Pro gold 800W
Default 06-20-2012, 12:55 | posts: 88 | Location: Naoned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Probably. Only one way to find out...
Yeah sure, but i'm at work now so if anyone just can give a try before i come back home ...
Will give a try anyway at least because the MP3 fps report is screwed with previous versions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-20-2012, 12:58 | posts: 24,014 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by k4sh View Post
Yeah sure, but i'm at work now so if anyone just can give a try before i come back home ...
Will give a try anyway at least because the MP3 fps report is screwed with previous versions.
Will let u know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
AlderaaN
Newbie
 
Videocard: SLI MSI GTX 780 OC 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z87X-OC
Memory: DDR3 16GB 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 1250W
Exclamation 06-20-2012, 13:05 | posts: 8

Hi!

Got a GIGABYTE GTX 670 OC (GV-N670OC-2GD) today.

1. Prior to installing MSIAB v2.2.2, I've uninstalled my old MSIAB (v2.2.1) and removed all saved profiles.

2. This is what's being displayed when I launch MSIAB v2.2.2:


- No voltage or clock rates are being displayed -


3. Is this what's reported by MSIAB when clicking the system information:
Code:
GPU1
________________________________________________________________________________
Display device       : GeForce GTX 670 on GK104 GPU
Display driver       : 304.48
BIOS                 : 80.04.19.00.0f
GUID                 : VEN_10DE&DEV_1189&SUBSYS_35421458&REV_A1&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0

On-Screen Display server
________________________________________________________________________________
Active client(s)     : video capture module
Active 3D process    : hpqSTE08.exe
4. Using NVIDIA ForceWare beta v304.48 (June 18th, 2012).

If you guys need an image of my GPUs BIOS please let me know where to send it.


Regards,
//subscribed.

Last edited by AlderaaN; 06-20-2012 at 13:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-20-2012, 13:29 | posts: 24,014 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by k4sh View Post
Yeah sure, but i'm at work now so if anyone just can give a try before i come back home ...
Will give a try anyway at least because the MP3 fps report is screwed with previous versions.
Seems to work without it....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 06-20-2012, 13:46 | posts: 414

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlderaaN View Post
Hi!
If you guys need an image of my GPUs BIOS please let me know where to send it.
Regards,
//subscribed.
Sorry, have any problem?(information error...etc.)
Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
AlderaaN
Newbie
 
Videocard: SLI MSI GTX 780 OC 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z87X-OC
Memory: DDR3 16GB 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 1250W
Default 06-20-2012, 14:02 | posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
Sorry, have any problem?(information error...etc.)
Thanks.
Hi!

Thanks for taking notice.

It doesn't look like anything's wrong (no error messages), I just wish the main window would show the base values (or the final - current - overclocked ones).

On the detachable window I can see the current GPU/Mem clock rates just fine.

Question please, regarding my last sentence:
Whatever value I see on the mem-clock, I should multiply it by 2 with the GTX 670 series, right?

I ask because during games if I alt-tab to the desktop (haven't used the overlay yet) I see values of 3004 (which conforms with my card's base-clock of 6008MHz DDR5) or 3479 (which conforms with my OC setting of +475).

It would be just so much easier to see those values on the main window.

Hope this gets implemented somehow.


P.S.:
I just love this software!

Regards,

Last edited by AlderaaN; 06-20-2012 at 14:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
k4sh
Member Guru
 
Videocard: r9 290 @ 1150/1500
Processor: I5 2500K @ 4.6 Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP UD3
Memory: 16Go DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Auzentech X-FI Forte
PSU: C.Master S. Pro gold 800W
Default 06-20-2012, 14:57 | posts: 88 | Location: Naoned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Seems to work without it....
Yes it always used to work without this dll as afaik it's only used to allow unofficial overclocking.
So does this oc still works ?

Any way thx for the report .
Many here would have answered me to stop polluting this thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-20-2012, 15:14 | posts: 24,014 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by k4sh View Post
Yes it always used to work without this dll as afaik it's only used to allow unofficial overclocking.
So does this oc still works ?

Any way thx for the report .
Many here would have answered me to stop polluting this thread.
Hmmm well it works until a new driver is installed, after that the .dll is needed to use -xcl and extend clock limits....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
erm
Master Guru
 
erm's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Asus Hp ipibl-la
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888s
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Default 06-20-2012, 17:10 | posts: 378 | Location: Italia

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
Fixed framerate calculation for DirectX10/DirectX11 applications, which actively use presentation testing during rendering (e.g. Max Payne 3)
Thanks Unwinder ! I'm going to try it...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
elbubi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 (@1200/6600)
Processor: Core i7 2600k (@5Ghz)
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: G.Skill 2133Mhz x16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster UCP 1100w
Default 06-20-2012, 17:27 | posts: 133 | Location: Rosario, Argentina

Thanks Unwinder!!! We miss your active teaching hee at the forum.

Kind Regards!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
AMD@OPA
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 560GTX TF II OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945
Mainboard: ASUS M2N 32 Sli Deluxe
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 MDT
Soundcard:
PSU: 880 W
Default 06-20-2012, 18:45 | posts: 14 | Location: Germany

Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
kakarot
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus r9-290
Processor: intel 4790k@4.7
Mainboard: msi z97 max ac
Memory: 2x8 ripjaws x 2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga p2-1000
Default 06-20-2012, 19:09 | posts: 789 | Location: USA

Thanks for the update

@AlderaaN, make sure you restart after uninstalling and after installing the latest
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Camberwell
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 580 DirectCuII
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: Vengance DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 06-20-2012, 19:25 | posts: 22

Thanks for the update! Is there any way to get the blue skin back, it matches my desktop much better then green

Also, I can overclock no problem, and increase the voltage, but it will not accept my underclock even at stock volts. Previous versions of AB would let me downclock my GTX 580 to 400MHz (saved as 2D profile) for normal desktop use (I have 2 monitors of different resolutions and the nvidia driver forces 3D clocks all the time), but not any more.

This also means that once the 3D (overclock) profile is enabled, it will not downclock when the 2D (underclock) profile is enabled. Using the latest WHQL.....

Last edited by Camberwell; 06-20-2012 at 19:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 06-21-2012, 07:15 | posts: 414

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlderaaN View Post
Hi!

Thanks for taking notice.

It doesn't look like anything's wrong (no error messages), I just wish the main window would show the base values (or the final - current - overclocked ones).

On the detachable window I can see the current GPU/Mem clock rates just fine.

Question please, regarding my last sentence:
Whatever value I see on the mem-clock, I should multiply it by 2 with the GTX 670 series, right?

I ask because during games if I alt-tab to the desktop (haven't used the overlay yet) I see values of 3004 (which conforms with my card's base-clock of 6008MHz DDR5) or 3479 (which conforms with my OC setting of +475).

It would be just so much easier to see those values on the main window.

Hope this gets implemented somehow.

Regards,
Hello~
Because NVIDIA/AMD have different define, so the display is show true value.
thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlderaaN View Post
P.S.:
I just love this software!
me too~!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
msi-afterburner
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI N275GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core I7 870
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ Silencer 910W
Default 06-21-2012, 07:20 | posts: 414

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camberwell View Post
Thanks for the update! Is there any way to get the blue skin back, it matches my desktop much better then green

Also, I can overclock no problem, and increase the voltage, but it will not accept my underclock even at stock volts. Previous versions of AB would let me downclock my GTX 580 to 400MHz (saved as 2D profile) for normal desktop use (I have 2 monitors of different resolutions and the nvidia driver forces 3D clocks all the time), but not any more.

This also means that once the 3D (overclock) profile is enabled, it will not downclock when the 2D (underclock) profile is enabled. Using the latest WHQL.....
Hello~
Thank you for your use
about 580 problem, if you not use new afterburner function, please try to use older version, because it's like change new control setting.
thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Eyefinity 7970 problem
Old
  (#21)
Olvik
Master Guru
 
Olvik's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX Titan Black
Processor: Intel i7 3960x @4.80MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV BE
Memory: G.Skill 2133MHz.
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 1250w
Default Eyefinity 7970 problem - 06-21-2012, 08:57 | posts: 170 | Location: Spain

Thank You...

I had to retrieve the file ATIPDLXX.DLL, because if it was not if the second GPU values ***8203;***8203;did not recognize me.
This file is located in the MSI Afterburner folder after installation. Since the previous version and delete the above file, retrieving it from the trash.

A greeting.

Last edited by Olvik; 06-21-2012 at 09:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 06-21-2012, 12:49 | posts: 11,888 | Location: England

I noticed that EVGA Precision X has a Framerate Target option (I'm not referring to the Framerate Limiter by the way as that is something else) which appears to be missing from MSI Afterburner v2.2.2 (unless I'm not looking in the right place for it). Is there any chance of that being added as I need to use Afterburner for a GPU Monitor sidebar gadget.

I found out that if I ran Precision X and set the Framerate Target to 60 fps that it would be applied to all my games even if it wasn't running in the background and I was using Afterburner instead. As such it means I have a workaround but it would be nice to have this option in Afterburner properly (if it is not already there, that is).

Thanks.

Last edited by Darren Hodgson; 06-21-2012 at 12:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: i72600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 2 x 4 G Skill
Soundcard: X-Fi Extremegamer
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 06-21-2012, 16:32 | posts: 1,617 | Location: USA

Darren,

I "think" I recall reading that feature was an exclusive deal between Alex and EVGA.

I might be wrong though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
kakarot
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus r9-290
Processor: intel 4790k@4.7
Mainboard: msi z97 max ac
Memory: 2x8 ripjaws x 2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga p2-1000
Default 06-21-2012, 16:34 | posts: 789 | Location: USA

I think it is the same exact thing as the frame limiter in AB osd server, why would it be different other than the naming? The same osd server needs to be running for precision to limit fps as well


Edit- Sorry, you were correct. I think it is different for the 6xx series cards

Last edited by kakarot; 06-21-2012 at 16:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Camberwell
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 580 DirectCuII
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: Vengance DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 06-21-2012, 19:06 | posts: 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by msi-afterburner View Post
Hello~
Thank you for your use
about 580 problem, if you not use new afterburner function, please try to use older version, because it's like change new control setting.
thanks.
OK I will try an older version. Do you know where i could download 2.2.0, I think that was the last one that worked properly but I cannot find it anywhere online....thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.