Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#251)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 06-01-2012, 14:44 | posts: 5,667 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiptoR View Post
Do the green textures appear on one of the mountains in the distance? If so, those are also there with 296.10.
Wait, so they still haven't fixed this?

I didnt play for a 2-3 weeks and dunno, i took this picture before the latest 2gb? patch..

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#252)
aufkrawall
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 OC 2-Way SLI
Processor: i5 2500k @4.8 Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 8 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 850 W Corsair Gold
Default 06-01-2012, 15:11 | posts: 114

I think it's a bug of the game.
Yes, DICE are THAT incompetent.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#253)
eddieveenstra
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GB770gtx Windforce
Processor: core i5 2500K@3.33GHz
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabretooth
Memory: 8GB Gskill@1600MHz
Soundcard: onboard soundmax
PSU: coolermaster1000Wattgold
Default 06-01-2012, 18:44 | posts: 68 | Location: Holland

This driver has a bug in Max Payne 3 chapter 4 with 580gtx sli. When in the kitchen of the bar i got a purple/blue screen (no bsod) 2 times. Installed the 296.10 and all is fine again. I don't like this new adaptive v sync new drivers....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#254)
Cru_N_cher
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI NX8800GT OC
Processor: Athlon64 X2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 06-02-2012, 17:31 | posts: 213

Awesome Driver for the 460 GTX my MSI HAWK (factory overclocked, no 50 mhz issue) runs very nice with it no problems so far didn't tried advanced stuff yet but the ground Performance is just WOW.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#255)
digital john
Newbie
 
Videocard: 1gb
Processor: core 2 duo
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: chaintech
Default 06-04-2012, 20:02 | posts: 4

hi guys,
i have a problem by installing new drivers from 301.3x and higher.
i'm running win 7 x64 sp1 with admin rights.
i always get driver failed to install, what's going on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#256)
Whesel
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560TI OC 1GB
Processor: I5 2500K@4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: onboard Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX750W
Default 06-07-2012, 16:30 | posts: 73 | Location: Denmark

Something I found out with this driverset is - Crysis 2 comes up with a "display driver has stopped responding and has automatically recovered" and it's the only game that does this. Running a Q8400 Oc'd to about 3Ghz GTX 560TI@stock to rule that out - I usually have it running at 950core 2200 mem no additional vcore - Crusis 2 running at 1920x1080 ultra settings with high rez pack and DX11 pack.

Tried to run the game with extreme settings high rez DX11 packs and display error still occures.

Now, uninstalled the newest WHQL driver and installed the previous WHQL driver the error disappears out in thin air.

Anyone else have this issue with Cysis 2 and the 301 driver ? I have thought about truying the beta drivers but I don't like those in particular - I've had wierd issues with beta drivers over the last few years, so I stick with WHQL if possible.
   
Reply With Quote
Unplayable
Old
  (#257)
Foonus
Newbie
 
Foonus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Matrix 580GTX SLI
Processor: 980X Extreme @ 4.3G
Mainboard: P6T7 Supercomputer
Memory: Corsair C7 DDR1600 6G
Soundcard: Asus Xonar / Onkyo 1400W
PSU: Corsair Pro AX1200W
Default Unplayable - 06-07-2012, 20:05 | posts: 39

Running 2x ASUS Matrix 580's in SLI and havent had a set of drivers that provide playable FPS in any games since 296.10 and i have tried every one posted on this website since. Everything released since that revision results in a slide show no matter what game is played. Reverting to 296 fixes the issue...

Anyone with similar issues?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#258)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 06-07-2012, 21:00 | posts: 1,852 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foonus View Post
Running 2x ASUS Matrix 580's in SLI and havent had a set of drivers that provide playable FPS in any games since 296.10 and i have tried every one posted on this website since. Everything released since that revision results in a slide show no matter what game is played. Reverting to 296 fixes the issue...

Anyone with similar issues?
I found the Nvidia 285.79 beta drivers to be the smoothest with my 580's. I had issues with all other drivers. The 285.79 also ran my 680's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#259)
Pelzimus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GF560Ti OC
Processor: Intel C2Q9540@3,4GHz
Mainboard: ASrock P45XE
Memory: 4GB DDR2-1066MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 500W
Default 06-10-2012, 12:42 | posts: 74 | Location: Finland

weird that there's no quality settings like low/med/high for FXAA, only on/off. So I guess it uses the best quality by default. At least BF3 and RO2 that have it built-in have different settings for FXAA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#260)
Cru_N_cher
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI NX8800GT OC
Processor: Athlon64 X2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 06-16-2012, 23:55 | posts: 213

Pretty happy with the Driver also latency is nice


Compare between Intel SB Driver 2761 WHQL (HD 2000) and Nvidia 301.42 WHQL


Intel SB Driver 2671:






Nvidia 301.42 WHQL





Only Firefox is still a big downer here in it's overall Directx Performance and stability thus people should be aware all the crazy state changes when you use Firefox are due to it's still not optimal D2D implementation and not Nvidias fault in General and the Firefox Team is working heavily on improving it
With Chrome/Chromium you wouldn't have seen any Frame Drops (on both)

Last edited by Cru_N_cher; 06-17-2012 at 08:56.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#261)
Quatrix
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 W
Default 06-18-2012, 15:08 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
No need for Driver Sweeper these days.

Just uninstall the Drivers, reboot delete remaining folders, run a registery cleaner and install new ones.

Been doing it that way for YEARS!
NONE of that is necessary. Install on top of the old drivers and NVIDIA doesn't even make you restart any more. Driver/registry cleaners are pointless since it all gets overwritten with the new stuff anyway. You're living in the dark ages.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#262)
Cru_N_cher
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI NX8800GT OC
Processor: Athlon64 X2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 06-22-2012, 00:56 | posts: 213

At least for the 460 GTX and Win 7 64 i can say the current WHQL driver is amazing it's stable as hell and Performs everywhere just amazing

I have no clock issues no v-sync issues it (MSI HAWK pre overclocked) just works everywhere even nvcuvenc encode in either partial or full encoding modes is flawless no visual bugs

Microsofts WinSAT measures the Performance on my system with 7,7 and that really reflects the Experience with it also the latency tests are great as shown previously.

Definitely Win 7 WHQL is not anymore comparable with XP WHQL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#263)
retiredat44
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX460 1gb Video Car
Processor: Intel i53570K 3.40 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68 V Pro Gen3
Memory: G.Skill F3-17000CL9-8GBXM
Soundcard: desktop 46 " LCD HDTV
PSU: Corsair Enthusiast Series
Thumbs down 06-28-2012, 19:11 | posts: 289 | Location: San Diego, Ca.

This version 301.42 is terrbile. Causing me and some of my friends huge problems with terrble frame rates in flight sims... we have to go back and dump this set,, terrible problems with these drivers..



supposedly, the drivers go buggy with any factory overclocked video cards and the fps goes very low,, I mean very very low... how could Nvidia bungle drivers these so badly... there is no excuse to do such a stupid release... to put people through that... inexcusable...

IMHO

Last edited by retiredat44; 06-30-2012 at 17:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#264)
Pelzimus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GF560Ti OC
Processor: Intel C2Q9540@3,4GHz
Mainboard: ASrock P45XE
Memory: 4GB DDR2-1066MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 500W
Default 07-09-2012, 15:48 | posts: 74 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quatrix View Post
NONE of that is necessary. Install on top of the old drivers and NVIDIA doesn't even make you restart any more. Driver/registry cleaners are pointless since it all gets overwritten with the new stuff anyway. You're living in the dark ages.
Unless you get rid of drivers that come with Windows it's a bit pointless indeed, as after uninstall/cleaning and rebooting Windows installs it's own stone aged drivers anyway. So all that effort for nothing. And last time I deleted OS drivers I got only trouble later installing service packs...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#265)
Thuggles
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 760
Processor: 3570k
Mainboard: ASrock Extreme4
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 620w
Default 07-23-2012, 13:34 | posts: 9

I seem to have taken a pretty massive hit in TF2 compared to 296.10. FPS has dropped from about 40 average to 15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#266)
rewt
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: √
Processor: √
Mainboard: √
Memory: √
Soundcard: √
PSU: √
Default 07-23-2012, 19:23 | posts: 1,243 | Location: Americas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelzimus View Post
Unless you get rid of drivers that come with Windows it's a bit pointless indeed, as after uninstall/cleaning and rebooting Windows installs it's own stone aged drivers anyway. So all that effort for nothing.
Yes. The driver included in Windows is typically just a minimal Nvidia display driver without control panel and PhysX I believe. I don't recall ever having a problem installing the latest official drivers on top of it.

Some people prefer safe mode or VGA mode, but personally I don't waste my time with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quatrix View Post
NONE of that is necessary.
Agreed.

Last edited by rewt; 07-23-2012 at 19:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#267)
ManuelG
NVIDIA Rep
 
ManuelG's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA Geforce GTX Titan
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 07-23-2012, 21:24 | posts: 264 | Location: Santa Clara, California

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieveenstra View Post
This driver has a bug in Max Payne 3 chapter 4 with 580gtx sli. When in the kitchen of the bar i got a purple/blue screen (no bsod) 2 times. Installed the 296.10 and all is fine again. I don't like this new adaptive v sync new drivers....
Can I get a screenshot of your in game graphic settings?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#268)
lynspottery
Newbie
 
Videocard: GalaxyGeForce GTX 560 2GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X48-DQ6 LGA 7
Memory: (2 sets=8GB) G.SKILL 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast Series
Default 08-24-2012, 06:21 | posts: 1 | Location: Georgia

I downloaded and installed the nVida 301.42 drivers the other day but still am experiencing screen freezes in SWTOR. I am so frustrated over this issue and wish I could find a fix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#269)
geppwnd
Member Guru
 
geppwnd's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680
Processor: Intel Bloomfield 920 @3.8
Mainboard: Evga x58 E758
Memory: 3X4 12Gigs DDR3 1866
Soundcard: X-fi Xtremegamer
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 08-24-2012, 13:11 | posts: 141 | Location: In my rig

The main issue that I have which is annoying is when resuming from S3 sleep my monitor never gets signal until I hit the rest button. This is a known issue with 680 and x58 boards.
FIX THIS NOW NVIDIA!
   
Reply With Quote
301.42 Notebook Driver update fails
Old
  (#270)
avparamesh
Newbie
 
Videocard: Dell XPS 14 Laptop / 4gb
Processor: Intel Pentium core i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: In built
Default 301.42 Notebook Driver update fails - 08-26-2012, 10:46 | posts: 1

Hi guys,

I have a Dell XPS 14 Laptop with Nvidia GeForce 420m 1Gb graphic card.
The current installed driver for it is 8.17.12.5981. This was installed by Dell itself.
Recently, i tried to update the driver to version 301.42 WHQL.
The installation was successful but when the laptop restarted , windows crashed and a blue screen appeared.
The error was in the dll files of the driver.
Then i had to do a system restore.
I tried to update the driver again , still the same result - blue screen.
Can anyone plz help me ?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#271)
geppwnd
Member Guru
 
geppwnd's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680
Processor: Intel Bloomfield 920 @3.8
Mainboard: Evga x58 E758
Memory: 3X4 12Gigs DDR3 1866
Soundcard: X-fi Xtremegamer
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 08-26-2012, 12:13 | posts: 141 | Location: In my rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by avparamesh View Post
Hi guys,

I have a Dell XPS 14 Laptop with Nvidia GeForce 420m 1Gb graphic card.
The current installed driver for it is 8.17.12.5981. This was installed by Dell itself.
Recently, i tried to update the driver to version 301.42 WHQL.
The installation was successful but when the laptop restarted , windows crashed and a blue screen appeared.
The error was in the dll files of the driver.
Then i had to do a system restore.
I tried to update the driver again , still the same result - blue screen.
Can anyone plz help me ?

Thanks.
The fix for you is to first go to add/remove programs and uninstall the current drivers. Then boot in to safe mode and run driver sweeper. Now reboot back to normal mode and install the new driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#272)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 @1267 Gigabyte
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6 1.2v NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: TX 650W
Default 08-26-2012, 16:12 | posts: 1,587 | Location: Israel - Haifa

Quote:
Originally Posted by geppwnd View Post
The fix for you is to first go to add/remove programs and uninstall the current drivers. Then boot in to safe mode and run driver sweeper. Now reboot back to normal mode and install the new driver.
driver fusion for now !!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.