Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Diablo 3 - nVIDIA Inspector, nVIDIA Control Panel and you
Old
  (#1)
RamGuy
Master Guru
 
RamGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 4.0GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1600MHz
Soundcard: Auzentech HomeTheater HD
PSU: Antec Quattro 1200W
Default Diablo 3 - nVIDIA Inspector, nVIDIA Control Panel and you - 05-14-2012, 17:26 | posts: 180 | Location: Norway

The moment many of us have been waiting for is approaching, the release of Diablo III is just a few hours away and I have successfully installed the game client, launched it and checked all in-game settings, downloaded the latest GeForce drivers (301.34) and made sure nVIDIA Inspector is up for the task.


One thing I did notice though is that the default Diablo 3 profile is running "Antialiasing - Behavior flags" - Treat "Override any application setting" as "Application-controlled".

Is this a result of nVIDIA being pussies and just want to make sure no-one is messing up the Diablo 3 release with stupid anti-aliasing configurations or might there be some issues with forcing various anti-aliasing modes with the Diablo 3 client resulting in corrupt graphics and horrid performance?

Have anyone tried playing around with nVIDIA Inspector in the BETA? Should this option be left default, or will you try enabling some improved anti-aliasing modes through nVIDIA Inspector nonetheless?


While we are all waiting for the servers going online I would love to know which kind of anti-aliasing settings your are aiming for, what kind of performance you'd expect from those settings, which hardware you'll be running and what kind of anti-aliasing settings you'd expect to work the best with the Diablo 3 client.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-14-2012, 17:38 | posts: 13,247 | Location: USA

Set Antialiasing - Behavior flags to none. Either use the in-game aa or aa/fxaa through inspector. In the beta I had AO, AF, and FXAA enabled through inspector. In game aa was disabled and everything else was set to their highest value. Clutter Density wasn't in the beta I don't think. But from what i've been reading about it, it will rape lower end cards with it on high or medium. It has something to do with the ammount of stuff that shows up on screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2012, 18:01 | posts: 26,088 | Location: Hampshire UK

I messed about with the release version. Had antialiasing flag set to none, forced AO and AF (same as it was in beta so nothing new here). still get AA to work from inspector. ingame AA does a decent job, that's for sure but I wouldn't mind being able to mess about with settings a bit more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Jraptor
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Nvidia 680 x2 SLI
Processor: Intel I7 3930K 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16gb Crucial 1600Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Fata champ
PSU: Silverstone 1000W Modular
Default 05-14-2012, 18:12 | posts: 59

I ran the beta with everything maxed out. My son has a 580 and he was able to do the same, so you shouldn't have problems. There are allot of animals (rats, bats, etc) and flying debris and papers running or flying around, and I noticed on my older laptop that reduced settings filtered all that out. It still looked awesome.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
RamGuy
Master Guru
 
RamGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 4.0GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1600MHz
Soundcard: Auzentech HomeTheater HD
PSU: Antec Quattro 1200W
Default 05-14-2012, 18:34 | posts: 180 | Location: Norway

Stumbled upon some settings over at 3D Center:

Antialiasing Compatibility Flag: 0x004412C1


With this you should be able to force both 8x-16x MSAA and Transparency Supersampling through nVIDIA Inspector without many hiccups. It should work with Sparse Grid Anti Aliasing as well, but some have reported glitches here and there.


I'll be starting of with 8x MSAA + 8x SGSSAA with that compatibility flag and see how it performance running 1920x1080 @ 120Hz on GTX 580.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2012, 18:48 | posts: 26,088 | Location: Hampshire UK

buggy for me, the whole screen just became a jpeg after forcing that compability flag, no more animations on the login screens any more still, the ingame AA does a nice job
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Daba-8
Newbie
 
Daba-8's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX570 Direct CU II
Processor: Intel 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 05-14-2012, 19:47 | posts: 20 | Location: Sweden

So which drivers are recommended for diablo3 any special beta release?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
kakarot
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus r9-290
Processor: intel 4790k@4.7
Mainboard: msi z97 max ac
Memory: 2x8 ripjaws x 2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga p2-1000
Default 05-14-2012, 21:05 | posts: 786 | Location: USA

Thanks for the heads up. I didn't think I would be able to install until tomorrow but it looks like I'll be able to actually play a little tonight at 11pm (est).
As for drivers, I hope we see an official set tomorrow and that it allows us to at least force some transparency aa. This game is the reason i went all out on a monster lcd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2012, 21:16 | posts: 26,088 | Location: Hampshire UK

I didn't get a new monitor for this but I did bring my 24" monitor closer to me on the desk. Actually makes me feel like I'm gaming on a 27+" monitor haha.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-14-2012, 21:23 | posts: 13,247 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kakarot View Post
Thanks for the heads up. I didn't think I would be able to install until tomorrow but it looks like I'll be able to actually play a little tonight at 11pm (est).
As for drivers, I hope we see an official set tomorrow and that it allows us to at least force some transparency aa. This game is the reason i went all out on a monster lcd
You mean 3am EDT
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kakarot
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus r9-290
Processor: intel 4790k@4.7
Mainboard: msi z97 max ac
Memory: 2x8 ripjaws x 2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga p2-1000
Default 05-14-2012, 21:56 | posts: 786 | Location: USA

dammit you're right. Got excited when I saw the 8pm on their site but now see that it's for some stupid launch party or something

lol eclap, that works and its much cheaper
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Trigunflame
Newbie
 
Trigunflame's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 480 SC+ 850/2000
Processor: i7 920 C0 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T-Deluxe
Memory: 3x2Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: SILVERSTONE ST85ZF 850W
Default 05-14-2012, 23:44 | posts: 26 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
Set Antialiasing - Behavior flags to none. Either use the in-game aa or aa/fxaa through inspector. In the beta I had AO, AF, and FXAA enabled through inspector.
If you're going to force some form of AA, might as well do it up nice with traditional 4/8/16/32 + MSAA/CSAA.

1) Forcing FXAA via NV/Inspector applies the shader effect over everything on screen, including text - not good for games like D3 with loads of Quest Lore, Item/Spell Tooltips to read - unless you like the additional blurring.
2) D3's in-game AA appears to be an FXAA implementation anyway, as such, unlike NV/Inspector it can selectively apply the shader effect and avoid the aforementioned issue.

Last edited by Trigunflame; 05-14-2012 at 23:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-14-2012, 23:52 | posts: 13,247 | Location: USA

Ah, good point. Then i'll just use the reg AA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 05-15-2012, 10:37 | posts: 557 | Location: Heaven

I just got long cable so that I can have my mic in front of the TV
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
RamGuy
Master Guru
 
RamGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 4.0GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1600MHz
Soundcard: Auzentech HomeTheater HD
PSU: Antec Quattro 1200W
Default 05-15-2012, 14:30 | posts: 180 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
buggy for me, the whole screen just became a jpeg after forcing that compability flag, no more animations on the login screens any more still, the ingame AA does a nice job

It's working for me, but forcing 8x MSAA + 8x SGSSAA made the entire game unplayable and the graphics got somewhat blurry.

I've got 60-120 FPS (normally around 60) on 1920x1080@120Hz with only the in-game anti-aliasing running on my GTX 580 with everything maxed out so it's seems like this game is draining a lot of performance on it's own without forcing any kind of anti aliasing in the first place.

Seems like the in-game anti aliasing is only sharder based, so I'll try getting 8x MSAA + 8x TRSSAA going and see how much that would affect performance and how much it will improve the picture quality.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
RamGuy
Master Guru
 
RamGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 4.0GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1600MHz
Soundcard: Auzentech HomeTheater HD
PSU: Antec Quattro 1200W
Default 05-15-2012, 14:44 | posts: 180 | Location: Norway

No problem forcing 8x MSAA + 8x TSSAA using 0x004412C1, but my performance got stuck at 28-40 FPS which isn't good enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 05-15-2012, 15:01 | posts: 11,710 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamGuy View Post
No problem forcing 8x MSAA + 8x TSSAA using 0x004412C1, but my performance got stuck at 28-40 FPS which isn't good enough.
Why not try 4xMSAA and 4x TrSSA - I suspect you won't be able to see much difference visually anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-17-2012, 08:52 | posts: 13,247 | Location: USA

how do you set 4x TrSSAA? I only see the option to enable it, not set the ammout.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-17-2012, 08:58 | posts: 23,389 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
how do you set 4x TrSSAA? I only see the option to enable it, not set the ammout.
its the anti-aliasing transparency supersampling column
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 05-17-2012, 09:15 | posts: 3,702 | Location: Nederland

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamGuy View Post
It's working for me, but forcing 8x MSAA + 8x SGSSAA made the entire game unplayable and the graphics got somewhat blurry.
Sparse Grid Super-Sampling is known for making most Games Blurry just like FXAA. It's a problem with the Game Engine. It happens in Skyrim aswell.

Quote:
Blurring
SGSSAA does produce blur in some games just like OGSSAA does in the XxX and xS modes. And once again it has nothing to do with LOD. The xS modes have an auto lod adjustment but that doesn't help you when a game is producing a blurry image due to a conflicting post-processing shader.
http://naturalviolence.webs.com/sgssaa.htm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-17-2012, 09:28 | posts: 13,247 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
its the anti-aliasing transparency supersampling column
I see the sparse grid supersampling and the regualr supersampling. Which one of those should I use? Also, do I need to enable to Transparancy Multisampling as well?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 05-17-2012, 10:28 | posts: 11,710 | Location: England

I've been playing Diablo III with 4xMSAA/4xTrSSAA, 16xAF and Ambient Occlusion (the latter makes a huge difference to the game as it looks less washed out and 'flat') at 1920x1200 with the in-game anti-aliasing enabled. The game is extremely laggy/juddery though. So I set AF to application controlled and the game felt much smoother but still lagged and jerked when lots of enemies/effects are on screen.

The game runs at 60 fps even when it lags/judders so I'm not sure whether it's the settings I'm using or the server/engine streaming. I'll test tonight with just AO forced.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 05-17-2012, 10:31 | posts: 11,710 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
I see the sparse grid supersampling and the regualr supersampling. Which one of those should I use? Also, do I need to enable to Transparancy Multisampling as well?
SGSSAA is generally considered to be better as it removes jaggies more effectively but it blurs the textures somewhat unless you set a negative texture LOD. In order for SGSSAA to work, you also need to force at least 2xMSAA as well. Transparency Multisampling does not need to be enabled for SGSSAA and TrSSAA to work (correct me if I'm wrong).

Last edited by Darren Hodgson; 05-17-2012 at 11:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-17-2012, 11:13 | posts: 13,247 | Location: USA

Ok. I think I got it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 Gaming OC
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W
Default 05-17-2012, 12:41 | posts: 443 | Location: Israel

1920x1080 no AA / AO

1920x1080 4xMSAA + 4xTrSSAA + HQAO

1920x1080 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA + HQAO

2880x1620 @ 1920x1080 (DS) + HQAO, no AA.


NV Inspector settings for screen shot #3 (SGSSAA)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.