Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ATI equivalent to nvidia inspector
Old
  (#1)
!KuPo!
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7970 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default ATI equivalent to nvidia inspector - 05-08-2012, 22:43 | posts: 1

Is there an ati equivalent to nvidia inspector that allows changing for individual game settings? I've heard of RadeonPro but it looks like development has stopped.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-08-2012, 22:48 | posts: 16,113 | Location: US East Coast

I've been wondering the same.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bat_Zonko
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 OC
Processor: I7-2600k
Mainboard: ASRocks Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 16Gs
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium PCIe
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-08-2012, 23:59 | posts: 87

Quote:
Originally Posted by !KuPo! View Post
Is there an ati equivalent to nvidia inspector that allows changing for individual game settings? I've heard of RadeonPro but it looks like development has stopped.
True, Radeon Pro's devlopment has stopped. But, it is still fuctional due to AMD using the same basic naming formats for its features (and not really adding anything new).

I use it with my 7950 and it works just fine. It is not as full featured as NV Inspector, but it is a thousdand-fold better then AMD's Catalyst Control Center.

You're safe to go ahead and use it. For the time being, it is the only thing we have and it is a really good program.

Bats
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 05-09-2012, 00:04 | posts: 1,566 | Location: Toronto

RP still 'works' for the most part

also CCC has had game profiles (just for setting CCC settings per game) for almost half a year now

atitraytools is an RP alternative, not sure how development or support with brand new cards is there
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 05-09-2012, 17:49 | posts: 2,212 | Location: USA

ATT has been having issues with newer drivers that removed the old soft-powerplay OC interfaces (the missing DLLs)

Its still being developed, but incredibly slowly.

Radeon pro still works well however.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX480
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67
Memory: 3x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889A
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 04-09-2014, 00:03 | posts: 158 | Location: Germany

In the past 1 1/2 years, have there been any new tools that properly allowed me to assign profiles per game. I really really REALLY hate the catalyst driver tools. they are horrible, restrictive and dont have many options to choose from. basic and unintuitive - who knew?

with that being said: BUMP
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pyrage
Member Guru
 
Pyrage's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x r9 290 @ 1150/1400
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asrock z77 extreme4
Memory: Corsair 1600 8gb
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 04-09-2014, 15:04 | posts: 78 | Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Well, something that I gotta say about AMD is that most games just "work", no setup required.

What I mean by that is, when I used to have nvidia cards I had to fine tune driver settings for each individual game.

Nearly ALL games I've ever played with nvidia cards had some finicky needs.

Like this game can't run with HQ setting, this one needs a FPS cap, this one you need to enhance AA, not override, this one needs a special AA flag that someone pulled from magic hashes etc etc.


I've noticed that with AMD I barely have to do anything. Usually I just mess with the AA if I have to, and that's it.


With that said, I wish that the driver interface was better, It's kinda clunky to use. And AMD should become more lax about it's code so that people can make better 3rd party software for it.


Catalyst and all of the 3rd party software makes me feel I'm back at year 2000 windows 98 style software, specially ATI tray tools.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 04-09-2014, 17:00 | posts: 1,310 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

You can use generic tools like old "3D Analyzer" a "D3DOverrider". But it really depends on what you want to tweak/break.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-09-2014, 18:49 | posts: 2,212 | Location: USA

Radeon Pro is fully functional, and the developer has said he will fix anything that AMD breaks with driver updates

It has a very robust profiling system.

It effectively sits ontop of CCC, so its doesnt override those profiles or the driver tweaks AMD has included.

Last edited by The Mac; 04-09-2014 at 18:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 04-09-2014, 20:12 | posts: 1,230 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
...and the developer has said he will fix anything that AMD breaks with driver updates
Hmm, where did he say this at?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-09-2014, 20:33 | posts: 2,212 | Location: USA

http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=...6&postcount=16
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Vindaloo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: R7850 2Gb CF 1000/5000
Processor: i7 3770k @4.4ghz
Mainboard: P8Z77-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 650w XFX
Default 04-09-2014, 20:53 | posts: 66

Really hope Radeonpro starts making some real money from it because theres nothing quite as good, AMD/Ati should be paying this dude, Radoenpro sorts alot of driver issues with games I have found, fixing choppy-ness etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-09-2014, 22:04 | posts: 2,212 | Location: USA

He works for Raptr now, they just hired him.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.