Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
690 GTX Club/Overclocking/Benchmarks!
Old
  (#1)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 690 GTX Club/Overclocking/Benchmarks! - 05-08-2012, 19:59 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

UPDATED INSTRUCTIONS!!


Flashing bios instructions for any Nvidia Keplar GPU.
YOU DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK

I wrote this guide as i couldnt find one anywhere.

First of all, You then need to download these files.

GPU-Z (This is used to grab the original Bios from the Gpu wether multi or single)
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2181/mirrors.php


KGB - Kepler BIOS Editor/Unlocker. (This is used to modify the Bios that you just grabbed from your Gpu using Gpu-z)

KGB supports: GTX690, GTX680, GTX670, GTX660Ti, GTX660OEM and GTX660

New version 0.6.1 (Adjustable Boost control)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/d6dimgnx8cxvlca/kgb_0.6.1.zip

Old version 0.5
https://www.dropbox.com/s/vrunxuq03vj0m5y/kgb_0.5.zip

NVFLASH (This is used to reflash or reinstall the new modified bios)
Make sure this is version 5.127, An older version will not work.
http://www.softpedia.com/progDownloa...oad-16133.html

Steps 1-10.

1.Ok what you need is firstly to make a USB dongle bootable into DOS, To do this read this very easy to follow guide.
http://www.bay-wolf.com/usbmemstick.htm

2.Run GPU-Z and and click on the icon that allows you to grab your bios from the Gpu and save it to your PC.

Each Gpu has 1 bios that belongs to it.

Then also at the bottom of the picture were it is circled in red and labelled 2, If you have more than 1 gpu then you will need to change this to gpu 2,3 or 4.

Then grab bios no 2 from your Gpu and save it to your PC the same way that you did with bios 1

The picture below shows how.....





Also make sure you have a copy of your bios, Put the original(s) in a safe place!!

3.Once you have grabbed your bios put it into C:\Users\ (yourname) and rename it 1.rom

For example the bios from the GTX 690 Gpu 1 is called GK104.rom, I renamed it to 1.rom and the bios from Gpu 2 also named GK104.rom I renamed 2.rom.

The reason why you should put the bios in C:\Users\ (yourname) is because the default path will be set here from KGB.exe so if you are not familiar with the CMD (Commandline) then this is the easiest way of doing it.



5.Take the KGB.exe as well as the KGB.cfg file and also place both of these in C:\Users\ (yourname).
You should now have KGB.exe, KGB.cfg and 1.rom files in C:\Users\My.

If you have more than 1xGpu then you will have 1.rom and 2.rom respectively in C:\Users\ (yourname).


6.The next thing to do is open up the CMD (Commandline) which im sure you all know how to do.
Once you have the CMD open, Copy and paste in this command.

kgb 1.rom unlock (press enter).

It will now save the new values (i.e. from kgb.cfg) in your bios then print out the new values in the bios.

Do the same again for 2.rom if you have a 2nd card/Dual gpu and have extracted the bios file from the Gpu(s).

Copy and paste in this command into the CMD (Commandline)

kgb 2.rom unlock (press enter).

It will now save the new values (i.e. from kgb.cfg) in your bios then print out the new values in the bios.




7.Now all we need to do is put the new modified 1.rom and possibly 2.rom back onto the gpu, To do this we need to use the USB DOS bootable Dongle that we created in step 1.

Take the nvflash files once you have extracted them and place them onto the USB DOS bootable Dongle, There should be 2 files.

Then place the 1.rom bios also on the USB DOS bootable Dongle.


8.Now the Dongle is ready to be booted from so reboot the PC and go into the bios.
Once you are in the bios make it so the PC boots from the dongle, Once this happens you will then have a flashing cursor telling you that you are in DOS mode.


9.Type in nvflash --list (press enter)
This will then tell you what gpu(s) that you have installed on your motherboard.

10.Type in nvflash -i1 1.rom (press enter)

It will then say flashing Gpu and press Y to confirm, so press Y and the flashing will commence which takes a few seconds.

If you have a second gpu with 2.rom.

Type in nvflash -i2 2.rom (press enter)

It will then say flashing Gpu and press Y to confirm, so press Y and the flashing will commence which takes a few seconds.



Once this is done reboot the PC go into the bios and reset your boot so it boots from your hardrive with the Windows OS on.

Once you get into windows you can see from MSI afterburner or EVGA precision that the power target can be raised from 130 to 150.

When gaming the boost clock should be higher depending on your GPU.

I achieved around an increase of 30 on the core clock on boost alone on both GPU's which is very good.

It will differ for each person and each GPU(s), You can also try other peoples bios as long as iyts the same GPU as your own.

You can also modify the KGB.exe and tweak power settings for even more results but I wouldnt advise this unless you know what you are doing, I would just leave it at stock and use that for the time being.



The original Creator of KGB.exe can be found here.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...Unlocker/page4



Common problem that may arrise.
Sometimes when you flash your card(s) you may get this problem were you card is write protected and it wont allow you to flash it.

Picture here of problem...

The Solution
Type in the CMD....Nvflash --protectoff....then try again with the flash. to enable it again do....Nvflash --protecton.

This should enable you to write/flash the bios to the card with no problems.


Additional Information,3rd Feb 2013

v0.6.1 has adjustable Boost clock which are coded into the KGB.

The Boost clock adjust can be found in the .cfg file.

Here is the table with which you should set your boost clock too which are increments of 13mhz.

This is a list of valid frequencies that have been coded in KGB.

771.0
784.0
797.0
810.5
823.5
836.5
849.5
862.5
875.5
888.5
901.5
915.0
928.0
941.0
954.0
967.0
980.0
993.0
1006.0
1019.5
1032.5
1045.5
1058.5
1071.5
1084.5
1097.5
1110.5
1124.0
1137.0
1150.0
1163.0
1176.0
1189.0
1202.0
1215.0
1228.5
1241.5
1254.5
1267.5
1280.5
1293.5
1306.5
1319.5
1333.0
1346.0
1359.0
1372.0
1385.0
1398.0
1411.0
1424.0

Set your Boost clock ,flash and then test for stability.

Everything you do is at your own risk

Modding the 690 from 1.175v to 1.3v

Firstly STOCK SETTING in MSI AB : STOCK SPEED , POWER TARGET TO DEFAULT AND FAN SPEED TO DEFAULT ALSO.

Save the settings in profile 1 for instance.

Close down ALL MSI AB TABS , and the software itself.

Next.....

Open c:\programfiles\MSIafterburner\Profiles\

In here you should see 4 files....
1xMSI Afterburner.cfg
3xVEN

You need to copy and paste the following lines in 2 of the VEN files.
The two files that you need to copy too are VEN10DE&DEV
(Remember the 690 has two GPU's on it hence the alteration of two files.)

[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection = 0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection = 3:20h

Here is a picture of my file, apply the above lines to both files as i said earlier.


The other file is VEN000&DEV....DO NOT Alter this file, leave this file alone. Also leave the MSI Afterburner.cfg alone.


Now if everything is ok, next time you'll restart MSI AB, a popup window will display with the sentence "You should restart the computer otherwise MSI AB will not detect properly the speed and the fan configuration ...... "

Click on "NO" ( U don't want to restart the pc, indeed you prefer forcing the detection right now !)

MSI AB wil pop up briefly disapears and pops up again... (look at the voltage tab) : AUTO should be written, moving the slider will display REAL VALUE in starting from 0.80V to 1.3V maxed out. The 690 maxxed out at 1.3v applies to the 690 and not the Titan even though they have the same NCP40206 Architecture.

Finally an LLC fix can be applied for an extra 250mv of power.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/dc...ABHack_B18.zip

To anybody else reading this....Not advised unless your on a good watercooling setup or better, not advised to do on air as cards run very hot without this mod.

Hope this guide helps, good luck.

Last edited by Veteran; 06-05-2014 at 10:48.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-08-2012, 20:01 | posts: 7,193 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Are you putting your card under water or just using the sweet chrome plated awesome to cool it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 20:06 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
Are you putting your card under water or just using the sweet chrome plated awesome to cool it?
Dunno yet,i think ill enjoy it for a bit until the water blocks become available which will be about 3-4 weeks.

I already have all my wc gear i just need blocks,but tbh i dont really want to rip all of my existing hardware out of my case and put it in Caselabs,i may wait for Haswell to come first before i do,cause if im gonna do a wc build i will want to do it right!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-08-2012, 20:16 | posts: 7,193 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Dunno yet,i think ill enjoy it for a bit until the water blocks become available which will be about 3-4 weeks.

I already have all my wc gear i just need blocks,but tbh i dont really want to rip all of my existing hardware out of my case and put it in Caselabs,i may wait for Haswell to come first before i do,cause if im gonna do a wc build i will want to do it right!
I bought the signature edition so my card won't ship till end of this month. The EK blocks are supposedly coming out start of June, so I'm debating whether to even use it until then. I may just stick it in one of the other slots and use it with the fan until then, dunno.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 690 @ +135/+128+/+465
Processor: W3300 Xeon @ 4.15Ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth X58
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Enermax revolution 1020W
Default 05-08-2012, 20:16 | posts: 1,776

cant wait till waterblocks are ready.

my evga normal one is being shipped out today.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 20:44 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
I bought the signature edition so my card won't ship till end of this month. The EK blocks are supposedly coming out start of June, so I'm debating whether to even use it until then. I may just stick it in one of the other slots and use it with the fan until then, dunno.
TBH i really like the design on it as standard,ill most definitely leave it until later on next year,not as if cant play anything maxed out on air anyhow,it runs real quiet anyhow on stock settings,one reviewer reported 44 degrees on full load!

Ill probably buy a block but wont install it till next year.

@AMD Bugbear u lucky git you should have it tomorrow,i really wish scan.oc.uk would get some ****in stock in before thursday,im normally a patient kind of person but this waiting is like being 7 years old and Christmas day is coming,the anxiety is almost unbearable!

Last edited by Veteran; 05-08-2012 at 20:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-08-2012, 20:48 | posts: 6,824 | Location: USA

44c on stock cooler??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 20:56 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
44c on stock cooler??

Tessmark Benchmark.....4:52 in video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wy36l...layer_embedded
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 05-08-2012, 20:59 | posts: 841

Are all the 690's the same card just boxed up per vendor specific packaging and whatever extras they throw in hence the price differences?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-08-2012, 21:03 | posts: 7,193 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Are all the 690's the same card just boxed up per vendor specific packaging and whatever extras they throw in hence the price differences?
What vendor isn't selling the stock card for $999? Both ASUS and EVGA are, I mean EVGA has the signature edition for $50 more but it's just a tshirt and a mousepad included. But so far all the major companies I've seen are for $999.

And yeah, Nvidia is enforcing certain design rules for the card.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 21:04 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Are all the 690's the same card just boxed up per vendor specific packaging and whatever extras they throw in hence the price differences?
Yes,only reason i went for the EVGA is because of the 10 year warranty and the step up program(GK110 possibly).

You get a 10 year warranty if you pay a small fee and register with EVGA within 30 days of purchase i think its about 30 quid.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Anfield82
Maha Guru
 
Anfield82's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970
Processor: i5 4670K @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87-HD3
Memory: Vengeance Pro 8GB 2133MHz
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-08-2012, 21:20 | posts: 1,157 | Location: UK

Why is it so expensive here in the UK? I thought it would have been much cheaper, 999 dollars is around 600?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-08-2012, 21:22 | posts: 7,193 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anfield82 View Post
Why is it so expensive here in the UK? I thought it would have been much cheaper, 999 dollars is around 600?
From actual vendors or retail stores and such? Companies like Amazon, Newegg, and probably EU equivalents have automated systems that raise the price dynamically when they sense that the item is in high demand, low stock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 05-08-2012, 21:45 | posts: 841

@Veteran: But you can only Step-Up within 90 days of purchase and GK110 isn't going to be out in the next 90 days so the Step-Up option is rather pointless and paying for the 10 year warranty is again not worth it as I doubt you'll have that 690 in 10 years time, maybe not even 1 or 2 years if Maxwell is all it's cracked up to be
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 21:58 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Ahh i didnt realise that with the step up program,thanks,the 10 year warranty is good because when you sell your card it carries over to the the buyer of your card....a major selling point!

Not only that,if i get problems with this card in say 3 years and they repair it and i get problems again etc,then they have to either offer me a replacement or upgrade me to the next best available thing.

Last edited by Veteran; 05-08-2012 at 22:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Anfield82
Maha Guru
 
Anfield82's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970
Processor: i5 4670K @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87-HD3
Memory: Vengeance Pro 8GB 2133MHz
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-08-2012, 22:04 | posts: 1,157 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
From actual vendors or retail stores and such? Companies like Amazon, Newegg, and probably EU equivalents have automated systems that raise the price dynamically when they sense that the item is in high demand, low stock.
Yeah, I've been looking at online retailers. Price is too high for me to even consider buying one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 05-08-2012, 22:26 | posts: 841

Just ordered mine, Gigabyte GV-N690D5-4GD-B @ 827.99 with Free Delivery!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-08-2012, 22:29 | posts: 18,783 | Location: New Jersey, USA

anybody here actually have 1 yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 05-08-2012, 22:38 | posts: 841

I virtually have one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Weecka
Master Guru
 
Weecka's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 3GB
Processor: i7 2700k @ 4.7GHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Corsair Plat 16GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X PCI-E 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 05-08-2012, 23:09 | posts: 267 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
From actual vendors or retail stores and such? Companies like Amazon, Newegg, and probably EU equivalents have automated systems that raise the price dynamically when they sense that the item is in high demand, low stock.
I'm pretty sure that's not the case. It's the difference in VAT + all the tax that most countries outside US add.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 23:34 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anfield82 View Post
Why is it so expensive here in the UK? I thought it would have been much cheaper, 999 dollars is around 600?
Heavy tax/vat,inflation,Remember its rip off Britain,we always get ****ed over here with prices on everything,if the 690 prices were the same as what they are in the USA i woulda bought 2 right of the bat without even considering it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Just ordered mine, Gigabyte GV-N690D5-4GD-B @ 827.99 with Free Delivery!!
Nice one,where did you get it from and when is it going to be delivered?
Is that Aria by any chance?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
anybody here actually have 1 yet?
Will have one in my hands on friday i have been told by the retailer.

Last edited by Veteran; 05-08-2012 at 23:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sovietdoc
Master Guru
 
sovietdoc's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX470 SLI
Processor: 3930K @ 5.00Ghz
Mainboard: GA-X79-UD3
Memory: 16Gb PC3-19200
Soundcard: Forte 7.1
PSU: TT 1200W
Default 05-08-2012, 23:38 | posts: 633 | Location: h4x0r_lund

For me, it was either this or a 12Tb NAS. I chose the NAS because my "old" 470's are still running all new games at full eye candy and 4xMSAA/16xAF on 1920x1200

Plus unless they make a 4Gb version of 690, it's not even worth it as for the same price you can get 2 680's with 4gigs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 23:41 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovietdoc View Post
For me, it was either this or a 12Tb NAS. I chose the NAS because my "old" 470's are still running all new games at full eye candy and 4xMSAA/16xAF on 1920x1200

Plus unless they make a 4Gb version of 690, it's not even worth it as for the same price you can get 2 680's with 4gigs
You can build a NAS by using Freenas(download) and spare PC parts just to let you know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 05-08-2012, 23:49 | posts: 841

@Veteran: Place called Taylor Made Computers, they had 2 available but some git has already bagged one

I'm half expecting an email that says they have got the price wrong tbh or the free delivery is not next day but 'whenever' meaning no Friday jizz fest gaming sessions

@sovietdoc: I already have a Synology DS212+ NAS so can't use that as an excuse to not buy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-08-2012, 23:56 | posts: 10,619 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
@Veteran: Place called Taylor Made Computers, they had 2 available but some git has already bagged one

I'm half expecting an email that says they have got the price wrong tbh or the free delivery is not next day but 'whenever' meaning no Friday jizz fest gaming sessions

@sovietdoc: I already have a Synology DS212+ NAS so can't use that as an excuse to not buy
Once they advertise the price and you have paid for it they have to acknowledge it.

Yeah seems that 10/5/2012(Thursday) is the day right across the whole UK when the big shipment seems to be coming in as most if not all retailers have this date confirmed which will mean a friday delivery hopefully.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.