Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
To buy a 690 or not to buy ??
Old
  (#1)
gd12
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI / 560 TF2 OC / 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850 Watt
Question To buy a 690 or not to buy ?? - 05-06-2012, 11:32 | posts: 11

Hi to everyone ... in a few months I am going to make a new PC ( desktop ) , from scratch and I am thinking of buying a gtx 680 or gtx 690 . My monitor's screen resolution is 1920x1080 ( 24 inches ) ..
Do you think that putting a 690 in that monitor is a waste of money ??? Because, as we all know, the gtx 690 isn't cheap ... I want to play games in the best possible way in high settings and I am not thinking of neither buying a new monitor nor connecting the card in multiple monitors or TV.. so, the target in my case is frame rates ... Do you think that 680 should do the trick ???
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 05-06-2012, 11:38 | posts: 11,415 | Location: England

A single 680 or 7970 is enough for that resolution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti + GTX750Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 05-06-2012, 12:00 | posts: 1,933

680 should be enough, if you feel it isn't you can always grab another one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1359-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@3.7ghz-Stock-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1333
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-06-2012, 12:02 | posts: 9,815 | Location: United kingdom

Buy Buy Buy!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 05-06-2012, 12:12 | posts: 3,639 | Location: Nederland

Seeing the price of the 690 id personally get 2 x 680 4GB.

Easier to sell in the future aswell.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Frohman0905
Maha Guru
 
Frohman0905's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 2GB OC @ 1202/7000
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX650M
Default 05-06-2012, 12:22 | posts: 967 | Location: Belgium

If the leaked benchmarks are true, even a GTX670 is plenty for that resolution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1359-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@3.7ghz-Stock-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1333
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-06-2012, 15:39 | posts: 9,815 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
Seeing the price of the 690 id personally get 2 x 680 4GB.

Easier to sell in the future aswell.
I dunno the 590 still sells for 500 easily and thats old now,i think the 690 will be on par with Mars II and there a limited build so who knows when stocks will dry up,i may buy another one depending on the next 2-3 weeks.

I wont need to buy any cards again for about 5 years gaming at my resolution of 1440p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-06-2012, 15:47 | posts: 6,858 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
I dunno the 590 still sells for 500 easily and thats old now,i think the 690 will be on par with Mars II and there a limited build so who knows when stocks will dry up,i may buy another one depending on the next 2-3 weeks.

I wont need to buy any cards again for about 5 years gaming at my resolution of 1440p.
You can always buy a 680 and tri SLI it with the 690 - the PLX chip supports it supposedly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-06-2012, 16:15 | posts: 6,206 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Buy Buy Buy!
This, if you can find one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 05-06-2012, 16:39 | posts: 6,574 | Location: Dubai

Single 680 will be fine.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti + GTX750Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 05-06-2012, 16:48 | posts: 1,933

If you do plan on getting the 690, you'll have to decide fast they'll be gone the moment they hit the shelves.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-06-2012, 16:52 | posts: 214 | Location: Boston, MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd12 View Post
Hi to everyone ... in a few months I am going to make a new PC ( desktop ) , from scratch and I am thinking of buying a gtx 680 or gtx 690 . My monitor's screen resolution is 1920x1080 ( 24 inches ) ..
Do you think that putting a 690 in that monitor is a waste of money ??? Because, as we all know, the gtx 690 isn't cheap ... I want to play games in the best possible way in high settings and I am not thinking of neither buying a new monitor nor connecting the card in multiple monitors or TV.. so, the target in my case is frame rates ... Do you think that 680 should do the trick ???

Considering the current scarcity of the 680, you will likely have to be first in line for the 690. If you're just playing at 1080, then a 680 will be great for years to come. Hopefully by the time the 690 comes out there will be some more 680's available.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-06-2012, 17:09 | posts: 6,858 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrade_Jerkov View Post
Considering the current scarcity of the 680, you will likely have to be first in line for the 690. If you're just playing at 1080, then a 680 will be great for years to come. Hopefully by the time the 690 comes out there will be some more 680's available.
690 is already out, and since it uses the same chip it's only going to cut into 680's supply.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Krogtheclown
Maha Guru
 
Krogtheclown's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri 780 6000x10
Processor: i5 3570k@4.6 water
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: 12GB Corsair
Soundcard: Logitech surround
PSU: 1500watt Silver Stone
Default 05-06-2012, 17:13 | posts: 934 | Location: Illinois

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd12 View Post
Hi to everyone ... in a few months I am going to make a new PC ( desktop ) , from scratch and I am thinking of buying a gtx 680 or gtx 690 . My monitor's screen resolution is 1920x1080 ( 24 inches ) ..
Do you think that putting a 690 in that monitor is a waste of money ??? Because, as we all know, the gtx 690 isn't cheap ... I want to play games in the best possible way in high settings and I am not thinking of neither buying a new monitor nor connecting the card in multiple monitors or TV.. so, the target in my case is frame rates ... Do you think that 680 should do the trick ???
i wouldn't buy the 690, 2GB is ram is a shame and if you ever decide to use 3 monitors you'll be sorry you did.
I had 3 580 and the 1.5 gig of ram was aweful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-06-2012, 17:39 | posts: 214 | Location: Boston, MA

True but very few people actually run a 3 monitor setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
valrond
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 480 SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500k @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: 4x2 Mushkin Extreme DDR2
Soundcard: SB X-Fi
PSU: Silverstone 1KW
Default 05-06-2012, 17:53 | posts: 47 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrade_Jerkov View Post
True but very few people actually run a 3 monitor setup.
I do, and I can play just fine with my GTX 480 SLI (which, btw is as powerful or even a little more than a GTX 680)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 05-06-2012, 18:48 | posts: 6,858 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krogtheclown View Post
i wouldn't buy the 690, 2GB is ram is a shame and if you ever decide to use 3 monitors you'll be sorry you did.
I had 3 580 and the 1.5 gig of ram was aweful.
Uhh, if you check benchmarks pretty much every test that the 690 beats crossfire 7970's in normal resolutions, it also beats by a larger margin in 3 monitor scenarios. Which to me, means that the 7970's larger amount of ram amounts to nothing.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...rk,3193-8.html

Last edited by Denial; 05-06-2012 at 18:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 05-06-2012, 22:20 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

There's a massive difference between benchmarks and real world usage. Benchmarks tend to leave out all the stutters caused by a lack of vram.

To illustrate, if your fps was constantly changing between the lowest and highest number recorded it would not be smooth enough to play, but the benchmark would simply give you the average number and you would assume that's where the fps stayed most of the time.

Last edited by BlackZero; 05-06-2012 at 22:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 05-06-2012, 22:28 | posts: 214 | Location: Boston, MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by valrond View Post
I do, and I can play just fine with my GTX 480 SLI (which, btw is as powerful or even a little more than a GTX 680)
That's proof that 1536 is plenty then.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 690 @ +135/+128+/+465
Processor: W3300 Xeon @ 4.15Ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth X58
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Enermax revolution 1020W
Default 05-06-2012, 23:01 | posts: 1,749

you can also make good profit from the 690 over time, buy a couple, wait several months later when it becomes absolutely scarce and utmost rare, sell it for 500 more, people will still buy it, sure cause its super duper pimp ass pooper rare.

I know I am getting one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
maxio
Member Guru
 
maxio's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 SLI HC
Processor: 3930K@4.8GHz - WC RX480
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD65
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro
PSU: Corsair AX-1200
Default 05-07-2012, 00:58 | posts: 92

Wait for the GTX670 and OC it ;-)
GTX670 is plenty for that resolution.
Rest of the moneys spend on some <insert any random cool thing you got on your mind ;-)>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 05-07-2012, 05:22 | posts: 1,115 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

You could buy it but for your purposes I honestly think it would just amount to a massive waste of money considering I play at 1080p and get great performance out of my single GTX 480 still which can be had for 1/5 the cost.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 05-07-2012, 05:23 | posts: 5,476 | Location: PA, USA

Even at 1920x1080 Crossfire and SLI work wonders.

It really depends on the level of AA you use, and if you want supersampling to run at least 60 FPS, while maxing out your games' detail levels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
gd12
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI / 560 TF2 OC / 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850 Watt
Default 05-07-2012, 18:06 | posts: 11

Thank's for the answers people ... I will probably buy a 680 ... 690 is a waste of money in that resolution .. and at the end if I buy a new monitor with higher resolution in the future I will put another one in SLI mode. After all 1.000 euro's ( that's the price here in Greece for 690 ) for a graphics card in a new pc built is commiting suicide ... we are in the middle of economic crisis here in Greece with wages dropping like hell and a very unstable political system .. for now I have a job .. anyway thank you all for your time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 690 @ +135/+128+/+465
Processor: W3300 Xeon @ 4.15Ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth X58
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Enermax revolution 1020W
Default 05-07-2012, 18:38 | posts: 1,749

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd12 View Post
Thank's for the answers people ... I will probably buy a 680 ... 690 is a waste of money in that resolution .. and at the end if I buy a new monitor with higher resolution in the future I will put another one in SLI mode. After all 1.000 euro's ( that's the price here in Greece for 690 ) for a graphics card in a new pc built is commiting suicide ... we are in the middle of economic crisis here in Greece with wages dropping like hell and a very unstable political system .. for now I have a job .. anyway thank you all for your time.

not really a waste unless he had incredible high amounts of aa insane quality and texture mods, etc enabled.

Just in lineage2 or ffxi with the settings I am using with nvidia inspector now, over 1gb vram, and thoses games are old and still looks sharp with high insane aa settings is turned on.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.