Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Safe to disable pagefile?
Old
  (#1)
Anfield82
Maha Guru
 
Anfield82's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970
Processor: i5 4670K @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87-HD3
Memory: Vengeance Pro 8GB 2133MHz
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default Safe to disable pagefile? - 05-04-2012, 13:32 | posts: 1,155 | Location: UK

Hi guys,

I'm currently running a force 3 120GB SSD and was wondering is it safe to completely disable pagefile or is it worthwhile to just keep it?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-04-2012, 13:38 | posts: 23,229 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

depends on what applications and games you run really. its trial and error.

personally ive got it enabled since i ran into problems

just try it for a week or so
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Anfield82
Maha Guru
 
Anfield82's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970
Processor: i5 4670K @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87-HD3
Memory: Vengeance Pro 8GB 2133MHz
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-04-2012, 13:51 | posts: 1,155 | Location: UK

Okay, thanks. I don't do anything extraordinary, I just play games lol. No video editing or anything like that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Phragmeister
Maha Guru
 
Phragmeister's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560-Ti
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6TD V2
Memory: Corsair Dom 12GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-04-2012, 14:04 | posts: 1,297 | Location: UK

Decent article on the pagefile, worth reading - http://www.tweakhound.com/2011/10/10...g-without-one/

With 12GB RAM, I still prefer to keep a small pagefile enabled, it's currently set to 128 - 2048MB. Plus, some games do rely on the pagefile, such as Company of Heroes.

Pagefile Current / Peak Usage: 54 MB / 61 MB

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Bradders684
Master Guru
 
Bradders684's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Matrix GTX 580P
Processor: Phenom II 1100T @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V Formula
Memory: Corsair Ven 8GB@1600C8
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek (ALC889)
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Default 05-04-2012, 14:15 | posts: 422

I have my page file disabled but i only use my PC for gaming and the internet, i have only ever had a problem with Star Wars The Force Unleashed 1 & 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 05-04-2012, 14:21 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

I'd recommend having at least a 2 GB page on one of your non-SSD drives as there are some games that will refuse to run with the pagefile disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-04-2012, 14:22 | posts: 6,195 | Location: USA

Nope i disable it. No games i have require it an the ones that do youcan get around it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-04-2012, 14:25 | posts: 23,747 | Location: NZ

Yeah you can disable it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
TechFreaK
Banned
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX570 Custom OC
Processor: Intel C2Q 8x455Mhz @1.33v
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6 @ Turbo
Memory: DDR2 4x 2GB @ 1092mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-FI fatality
PSU: XFX 750W 80+
Default 05-04-2012, 14:28 | posts: 155 | Location: TechLand

The only game that must have PF is Codemasters FUEL; -nopagefile command line doesnt work.




Anything else doesnt need it..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Phragmeister
Maha Guru
 
Phragmeister's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560-Ti
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6TD V2
Memory: Corsair Dom 12GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-04-2012, 14:37 | posts: 1,297 | Location: UK

If you haven't seen the thread already, there's a huge discussion about the pagefile here.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-04-2012, 14:39 | posts: 19,055 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I leave a 16 MB - 512 MB pagefile on a RAMDisk that I created. There's really no need for a pagefile but it's for compatibility sake and so that Windows stop complaining that I don't have one for recovery purposes.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 05-04-2012, 14:43 | posts: 4,855 | Location: Spain

8GB RAM with NO PAGEFILE CLUB or TOPIC

893 posts on the matter. Must read

LMAO
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 05-04-2012, 14:50 | posts: 6,559

Can you disable it? Yes. Is there a reason to? No. Is there a reason not to? Yes.

If a program gets out of control, or takes up a lot of memory for whatever reason..it can crash. Is there permanent harm? Of course not. But, as I said, there's no reason to disable it.

The people who tell you Windows is faster are completely full of **** and cannot show you a single benchmark that proves otherwise.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Anfield82
Maha Guru
 
Anfield82's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970
Processor: i5 4670K @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87-HD3
Memory: Vengeance Pro 8GB 2133MHz
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 05-04-2012, 14:52 | posts: 1,155 | Location: UK

Thanks for all the replies, I don't recall seeing that other topic so sorry for posting this one. After reading all your comments I'll probably just leave a small page file to keep Windows happy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-04-2012, 14:57 | posts: 23,747 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
Can you disable it? Yes. Is there a reason to? No. Is there a reason not to? Yes.

If a program gets out of control, or takes up a lot of memory for whatever reason..it can crash. Is there permanent harm? Of course not. But, as I said, there's no reason to disable it.

The people who tell you Windows is faster are completely full of **** and cannot show you a single benchmark that proves otherwise.
Wrong.
http://www.tweakhound.com/2011/10/10...g-without-one/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Phragmeister
Maha Guru
 
Phragmeister's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560-Ti
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6TD V2
Memory: Corsair Dom 12GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-04-2012, 14:59 | posts: 1,297 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Result: Difference is statisically insignificant.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-04-2012, 15:07 | posts: 23,747 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phragmeister View Post
Result: Difference is statisically insignificant.
You obviously didn't read the whole thing.
With PF off, boot & shutdown times were faster and Crysis had a higher benchmark score.

I'll just add I've had mine disabled for about 10 years, and the ONLY time I ever ran out of memory was while playing BF3 with 4GB ram.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-04-2012 at 15:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 05-04-2012, 15:10 | posts: 23,229 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

From that article


Does running without a pagefile improve performance?

Based on my observations there is no performance benefit to running without a pagefile.

It is possible that gaming performance might be improved marginally (but not significantly) without a pagefile BUT:

1 It will depend on using game intensive enough to really push your hardware, especially memory.

2 It will take benchmarks on that specific game to tell what difference if any it will make.



So what is gained without using pagefile?

For the average user there is little to nothing to be gained performance wise by running without a pagefile.

If disk space is a concern then lowering or eliminating the pagefile can be done if you have enough RAM
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Mikedogg
Banned
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 720QM
Mainboard: Dell studio 1747
Memory: 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: IDT JBL SRS Premium Sound
PSU: 130Watt Adapter
Default 05-04-2012, 15:14 | posts: 2,872 | Location: The Freak Show - Earth.

What would be the best drive to have it on, my os, or my games drive. I currently have 4gb on my games drive, and when I use a program it seems to lock at 100%. If it was on my os drive, the pagefile tends to balance out a bit more.

I heard it's better to have it on a non os partition.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 05-04-2012, 15:16 | posts: 4,855 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedogg View Post
What would be the best drive to have it on, my os, or my games drive. I currently have 4gb on my games drive, and when I use a program it seems to lock at 100%. If if was on my os drive, the pagefile tends to balance out a bit more.

I heard it's better to have it on a non os partition.
only if you are continouslt running out of RAM and swapping a lot.

Srsly, ppl, just leave pagefile fixed to 1GB and forget that exists.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Phragmeister
Maha Guru
 
Phragmeister's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560-Ti
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6TD V2
Memory: Corsair Dom 12GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-04-2012, 15:25 | posts: 1,297 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
boot & shutdown times were faster
Difference: 31108.66 30112.33 = 996.33ms (or 0.99633 seconds)

C'mon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Crysis had a higher benchmark score.
Difference: 16.11 16.05 = .06

Stop it now lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-04-2012, 15:30 | posts: 23,747 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phragmeister View Post
Difference: 31108.66 30112.33 = 996.33ms (or 0.99633 seconds)

C'mon.


Difference: 16.11 16.05 = .06

Stop it now lol.
Do you have a point or are you just trolling?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Phragmeister
Maha Guru
 
Phragmeister's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560-Ti
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6TD V2
Memory: Corsair Dom 12GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-04-2012, 15:39 | posts: 1,297 | Location: UK

Nah, I don't do trolling. Just emphasizing on what I previously mentioned.

Ciao.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-04-2012, 15:50 | posts: 23,747 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phragmeister View Post
Nah, I don't do trolling. Just emphasizing on what I previously mentioned.

Ciao.
The difference is 3% faster with PF disabled, and regarding Crysis "A closer look reveals significantly higher minimum fps without a pagefile ( 9.30 to 6.54)"

I really don't care if it's faster or not, that's isn't why mine is disabled.
I was illustrating that there are actually benchmarks that show a performance comparison between enabled/disabled PF, contrary to IPlayNaked's comment.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 05-04-2012, 16:17 | posts: 3,714

Oh, here we go again...is this a repeat performance or some sort?
Just keep the debate on its own thread; you guys probably freaking the OP out.


@Anfield82
If you're using SSD, it's advisable to either use another HDD (if present) to put the page file in, or disable it completely.
Another option is to put the page file on a RAM disk, which would mean you don't have to put the page file on your SSD but programs and Windows will still have a fast page file.
If you want to know a way to do that, check my thread.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.