Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NEED HELP Low GPU usage and FPS in CrossfireX
Old
  (#1)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default NEED HELP Low GPU usage and FPS in CrossfireX - 04-29-2012, 21:53 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Im getting low GPU usage and FPS in crossfire with two 6870s im getting about 40% usage on both cards it happens to all of my games but when i use 1 card it hits 99% i thought it was cpu bottleneck but i upgrade to a fx 8120 i also tried re-installing drivers to see if it will help didn't work please help me with this


m5a88-V EVO
FX 8120 4GHz
8GB RAM
6870 crossfirex
RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-630SS 630W
PSU only has x2 6pins im using a CVT46 4 Pin PSU to PCI-E Power Supply Converter cable.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-29-2012, 21:59 | posts: 16,580 | Location: US East Coast

What's your CPU usage looking like while gaming?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-29-2012, 22:12 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
What's your CPU usage looking like while gaming?
in BF3 cpu usage is like 60-80%
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-29-2012, 22:30 | posts: 16,580 | Location: US East Coast

It could very well be your power supply as it's not intended to run 2 graphics cards in the manor you're using it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-29-2012, 22:52 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
It could very well be your power supply as it's not intended to run 2 graphics cards in the manor you're using it.
i was thinking that too do you know any good ones to buy?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
deluxe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 780 DC2
Processor: i7 3930 @ 4.4
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45 Plus
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: ADATA HM-850
Default 04-30-2012, 00:01 | posts: 227 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
It could very well be your power supply as it's not intended to run 2 graphics cards in the manor you're using it.
nonsense.
An insufficient PSU will result in system crashes, not low GPU usage..

Last edited by deluxe; 04-30-2012 at 00:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 00:05 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by deluxe View Post
nonsense.
you think is not is the power supply?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
deluxe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 780 DC2
Processor: i7 3930 @ 4.4
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45 Plus
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: ADATA HM-850
Default 04-30-2012, 00:05 | posts: 227 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by david1006 View Post
you think is not is the power supply?
Ofcourse not, I edited my above post:
An insufficient PSU will result in system crashes, not low GPU usage..

What game are we talking about here?
Do you get 99% GPU usage on both cards on Heaven? (You probably do)

Last edited by deluxe; 04-30-2012 at 00:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
zozzhun
Newbie
 
Videocard: VTX3D HD6870
Processor: i5 760@3610
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55-UD3H
Memory: Corsair 2x2GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: CM GX Lite 600W
Default 04-30-2012, 00:12 | posts: 28 | Location: Budapest

Quote:
Originally Posted by david1006 View Post
in BF3 cpu usage is like 60-80%
VRAM limit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
deluxe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 780 DC2
Processor: i7 3930 @ 4.4
Mainboard: MSI X79A-GD45 Plus
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: ADATA HM-850
Default 04-30-2012, 00:14 | posts: 227 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by zozzhun View Post
VRAM limit.
All depends on settings and resolution. (on 1080p high settings you won't hit the vram limit)
I always see people shouting random things to blame on these forums, without them knowing all the details.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-30-2012, 00:15 | posts: 18,702 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by david1006 View Post
Im getting low GPU usage and FPS in crossfire with two 6870s im getting about 40% usage on both cards it happens to all of my games but when i use 1 card it hits 99% i thought it was cpu bottleneck but i upgrade to a fx 8120 i also tried re-installing drivers to see if it will help didn't work please help me with this


m5a88-V EVO
FX 8120 4GHz
8GB RAM
6870 crossfirex
RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-630SS 630W
PSU only has x2 6pins im using a CVT46 4 Pin PSU to PCI-E Power Supply Converter cable.
do you have a link to your psu?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 00:22 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by deluxe View Post
Ofcourse not, I edited my above post:
An insufficient PSU will result in system crashes, not low GPU usage..

What game are we talking about here?
Do you get 99% GPU usage on both cards on Heaven? (You probably do)
funny this this ran Heaven GPU usage was about 99% and on BF3 but ever other game i play the GPU usage never hit 99% ill get about 40%. here the link to my power suppy http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817152035

Last edited by david1006; 04-30-2012 at 00:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 04-30-2012, 00:26 | posts: 2,598 | Location: Australia

I would upgrade that PSU even if it isn't the cause, would not feel safe pushing it so hard.

You should check your vram usage while gaming in GPU-Z if it isn't that it would probably be because i think your 2nd PCIE slot runs at only 4x.

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...specifications
"Expansion Slots 1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (blue)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode, black)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x1
3 x PCI "

edit: you could also be cpu limited in games that aren't well coded.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 00:30 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer_939 View Post
I would upgrade that PSU even if it isn't the cause, would not feel safe pushing it so hard.

You should check your vram usage while gaming in GPU-Z if it isn't that it would probably be because i think your 2nd PCIE slot runs at only 4x.

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...specifications
"Expansion Slots 1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (blue)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x4 mode, black)
1 x PCIe 2.0 x1
3 x PCI "

edit: you could also be cpu limited in games that aren't well coded.
i don't think its the PCIe i ran one card on it i get 99% gpu usage
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-30-2012, 00:30 | posts: 18,702 | Location: New Jersey, USA

is that fx at stock? I suggest getting a better psu and overclocking that fx. that psu only has 1 6pin and 1 8pin and you said you were using hard drive to 6 pin adapters right? heaven and bf3 are VERY gpu heavy and from the info you gave everything else is 40% on the gpu`s. can you try other games besides bf3 and tell me your cpu usage?
EDIT can you run heaven in windowed mode and check your pcie speed with gpuz on both gpu`s. see if 1 is running at 4x? thanks killer

Last edited by ---TK---; 04-30-2012 at 00:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
campcreekdude
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon 7970 crossfire
Processor: FX8350
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16 gig DDR3 2133 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 04-30-2012, 00:43 | posts: 193

Quote:
Originally Posted by zozzhun View Post
VRAM limit.
Depends if hez got the 1 gig version of the card or the 2 gig version of the card...


I personally had 1.3 gigs of Video-ram useage in BF3 @1080p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 00:59 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

6870s 1GB (Witcher 2 GPU1 42% GPU2 42% 34FPS)
(Alan Wake GPU1 61% GPU2 71% 42FPS) Metro 2033 GPU1 95% GPU2 99%

ON GPUz GPU1 is x16 and GPU2 is x4 GPU2 is on the x4 line and it hit 99% but GPU2 never hits 99%

Last edited by david1006; 04-30-2012 at 01:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-30-2012, 01:04 | posts: 18,702 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I meant cpu usage usage but that info is relevant too. metro is very gpu heavy iirc and your getting high gpu usage on that. looks like cpu bottleneck, but to be sure look at the cpu usage during those games especially the first two. is your cpu at stock?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 01:08 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I meant cpu usage usage but that info is relevant too. metro is very gpu heavy iirc and your getting high gpu usage on that. looks like cpu bottleneck, but to be sure look at the cpu usage during those games especially the first two. is your cpu at stock?
yes the cpu is it stock speeds i ran it at 4GHz be for I didn't notice any difference but i do it again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 04-30-2012, 01:09 | posts: 2,598 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I meant cpu usage usage but that info is relevant too. metro is very gpu heavy iirc and your getting high gpu usage on that. looks like cpu bottleneck, but to be sure look at the cpu usage during those games especially the first two. is your cpu at stock?
+1, if any cores hit around 85-90% you are probably cpu limited but witcher 2 should get higher fps, do you have ubersampling or w/e its called on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-30-2012, 01:12 | posts: 18,702 | Location: New Jersey, USA

dont know if that psu could take a BD oc man. very power hungry. bf3 and metro should have fairly low cpu usage if the other games are like 90% that there is your problem.
EDIT see your second card is 4x. in all honesty I would buy a new psu. something like a 650watt corsair. sell your 2 6870 buy something like a 7870 single gpu and overclock that 8120 some. if you do not to do all that at least buy a new psu and oc your cpu and maybe the gpus a little

Last edited by ---TK---; 04-30-2012 at 01:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 01:19 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

ubersampling witcher 2 is off and i know i can hit 4GHz with out increasing the voltage. on this cpu i did it be for
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
ihatelolcats
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 6870 CrossfireX
Processor: Phenom II x4 955
Mainboard: Asus CHV Formula
Memory: Samsung
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750 v2
Default 04-30-2012, 02:15 | posts: 11

what drivers are you using? are you using CAPs?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
david1006
Member Guru
 
david1006's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH 990FX
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Titanium
PSU: Silencer Mk II 750W
Default 04-30-2012, 02:22 | posts: 56 | Location: NY

I OC my CPU to 4GHz i play Alan Wake GPU usage got up to GPU1 71% GPU2 81% 45FPS i try to get 4.5GHz but my pc wont boot up im using catalyst 12.4
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 04-30-2012, 02:50 | posts: 16,580 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by david1006 View Post
funny this this ran Heaven GPU usage was about 99% and on BF3 but ever other game i play the GPU usage never hit 99% ill get about 40%. here the link to my power suppy http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817152035
Heaven stresses the GPU....not the CPU. Games will stress both.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deluxe View Post
nonsense.
An insufficient PSU will result in system crashes, not low GPU usage..
Seen many problems caused by insufficient power. You might want to do some research.

Now, lets look at some simple facts here. His PSU has a maximum of 22amps on 2, 12V rails. Now, his 12v rails only produce roughly 407watts, leaving roughly 33A to be split amongst the 2, 12v rails when both are loaded. Now, this isn't an issue when running 1 card since that's all the PSU was designed to run. This becomes an issue when trying to run 2 cards as the PSU was not designed to support this type of load or configuration.

If he was trying to run the system on a PSU with only 24A....then yes, the system would flat out crash. But, in this case it appears the cards are simply throttling due to insufficient power. He needs at least 38-42A (actual output, not theoretical) to properly power the system

(Technical note: The 3.3v line supplies 82.5watts, the 5v line supplies 125watts according to the label, leaving only 407.5watts of it's 614watt maximum for the group).
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.