Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What is a ULPS ?
Old
  (#1)
BenchAndGames
Master Guru
 
BenchAndGames's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1 Sniper 5
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 2400 MHz
Soundcard: Tritton Pro+ 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default What is a ULPS ? - 04-19-2012, 07:19 | posts: 153 | Location: Madrid

What is a ULPS ? What is its function ?
I have understood that can save energy, if you have a second card, disabling this second card when not needed.

Having a CrossFireX, it is always recommended to disable the ULPS ?

If so, whenever you install a new driver you have to disable it ?

Disabling the ULPS, it really helps solve screen crashes or games, and may even decrease the microstuttering ?

I hope your help to my questions.
thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
bouuman
Member Guru
 
bouuman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6650m + 6620G
Processor: AMD Athlon A8 3500m
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Lenovo
Default 04-19-2012, 07:42 | posts: 81

Yes ULPS is kind a energy saving mode, but you really wand to save energy if you are playing BF3? I guess not.
So go to your regeistry (run: regedit) and search for "EnableUlps" and set it to "0".
The laggs and game-crashes will be fixed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Thalyn
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780Ti 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Gryphon Z87
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipjawZ
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: 650w SeaSonic G-series
Default 04-19-2012, 08:05 | posts: 91

ULPS quite literally stands for Ultra-Low Power State. Think of it as a stand-by state for your graphics card(s). The idea is that when your displays are ordered into stand-by mode by the OS, the graphics card does the same and powers down everything that may be necessary to actually put a picture on the screen (presumably in conjunction with lowering its clocks). It also appears to affect secondary cards in Crossfire setups, turning them "off" when they're not in use.

Ideally it shouldn't have any effect at all when that's not happening, but various reports exist which say that disabling it has a positive effect. If you don't use stand-by features (like myself) than there's no harm at all in disabling it. No harm disabling it otherwise, either - just be aware that the card could be drawing 10w+ (depending on model, clock speeds, voltages, etc) over what it needs to when your system is on but the screens are in stand-by. Crossfire systems will draw that much more per extra card, even with the screens active.

This has the marketing write-up of it. Look down the bottom in the AMD ZeroCore Power Technology section.

Last edited by Thalyn; 04-19-2012 at 08:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BenchAndGames
Master Guru
 
BenchAndGames's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1 Sniper 5
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 2400 MHz
Soundcard: Tritton Pro+ 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 04-19-2012, 10:30 | posts: 153 | Location: Madrid

Thanks for the replies, I had seen before and turn it off, and I really have noticed one thing.
When the ULPS had it on, when I was surfing the internet, always put the MSI AB temperature applications of the second GPU to 0 C.

If running a game or application, then automatically the second GPU began to show its temperature applications, but when he stopped playing, no showed more temperature.

It is as if the second GPU will be disabled.

But now with the ULPS off, always shows me the temperature, though I'm not playing.

Last edited by BenchAndGames; 04-19-2012 at 10:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Thalyn
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780Ti 3GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Gryphon Z87
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipjawZ
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: 650w SeaSonic G-series
Default 04-19-2012, 13:27 | posts: 91

With ULPS enabled, the second card will turn off completely when it's not being used. Since it's not doing anything, monitoring its temperature is redundant.

I suspect it may also require at least some of the regulation circuitry to be enabled in order to take such a reading, which means unnecessary power usage for what is effectively an irrelevant measurement. The assumption can generally be made that it's at exactly the same temperature as whatever temperature is ambient inside your case (which will likely be a couple of degrees above room temperature).

Disabling it means the second card will never completely power off. Hence it's giving a reading.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-19-2012, 13:40 | posts: 6,069 | Location: 127.0.0.1

For CFX its advised to disable ULPS to stop some micro-stutter and other problems during gaming

Search the registry for enableULPS and change any instance from 1 to 0, ignore the other entry I have put a X next to

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-19-2012, 16:13 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

^Or use the ULPS Configuration Utility.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-19-2012, 16:22 | posts: 6,069 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I know its a FP due to it altering the registry but NOD32 is a PITA to add exceptions to each time and if you move the exe the exception doesnt work anymore
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 04-19-2012, 16:26 | posts: 3,499 | Location: UK

MSE won't let me download either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BenchAndGames
Master Guru
 
BenchAndGames's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1 Sniper 5
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 2400 MHz
Soundcard: Tritton Pro+ 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 04-19-2012, 18:47 | posts: 153 | Location: Madrid

Thank you all for your help !
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
John Larsen
Banned
 
Videocard: hd5970
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: enermax
Default 04-19-2012, 19:43 | posts: 150 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Try that ULPS_control from Atiman.

Enable or Disable ULPS with question and restart system automatically, very fast.

This tool included in Atiman Uninstaller 6.3.1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-19-2012, 20:11 | posts: 23,904 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Larsen View Post
Try that ULPS_control from Atiman.

Enable or Disable ULPS with question and restart system automatically, very fast.

This tool included in Atiman Uninstaller 6.3.1.
Yeah Yeah whatever Mr ATIMAN...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 04-19-2012, 20:50 | posts: 6,559

Disabling ULPS is not advisable unless you're having problems specifically attributed to it. It allows your second card to go to sleep and consume very little power. To disable it if you're not having problems with just cause you to consume more power for no reason.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BenchAndGames
Master Guru
 
BenchAndGames's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1 Sniper 5
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 2400 MHz
Soundcard: Tritton Pro+ 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 04-20-2012, 00:05 | posts: 153 | Location: Madrid

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
Disabling ULPS is not advisable unless you're having problems specifically attributed to it. It allows your second card to go to sleep and consume very little power. To disable it if you're not having problems with just cause you to consume more power for no reason.
I understand, but had read on other forums, it is advisable to disable it if you use CrossFire, because you can fix several crashes and problems of micro-stuttering.

And I can say that after disabling the ULPS, the truth that the only game I was having problems of micro-stuttering, now you do not have this problem, I'm talking about the Battlefield 3.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: TBA
Mainboard: TBA
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: TBA
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 04-20-2012, 02:10 | posts: 1,251 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Is disabling ULPS worth it on single-gpu setups? I hear about it mostly dealing with Crossfire
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 04-20-2012, 09:10 | posts: 3,499 | Location: UK

I don't get crashes or micro-stuttering. I don't disable anything. I don't customise anything.

I just make sure I use very little 3rd party software apart from Afterburner and only use official drivers as I had a lot of problems in the past regarding the above with betas.

Also I don't overclock to much. In fact I just let the AMD driver just overclock for me and be done. A little bit more overclock and it will probably not help fps or stability and the above issues again.

Some of you guys 'tweak' to much. Leave the PC alone once you have installed Windows! I use to tweak but it's not worth it nowadays. For the most part I blame user error.

Last edited by HonoredShadow; 04-20-2012 at 09:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
DavidGX
Newbie
 
DavidGX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x AMD Radeon 7970
Processor: Intel I7 3770K @ 4.6 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Vengeance 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair 1200 Watt Gold
Default 04-20-2012, 16:10 | posts: 41 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
Disabling ULPS is not advisable unless you're having problems specifically attributed to it. It allows your second card to go to sleep and consume very little power. To disable it if you're not having problems with just cause you to consume more power for no reason.
The fabled "zero core" stuff never works for me. I have two 7970s and the second card stays activated to matter what. Once or twice right after I installed new drivers it worked, but then after a reboot no dice. I've given up on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
BenchAndGames
Master Guru
 
BenchAndGames's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1 Sniper 5
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 2400 MHz
Soundcard: Tritton Pro+ 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 04-20-2012, 18:48 | posts: 153 | Location: Madrid

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
I don't get crashes or micro-stuttering. I don't disable anything. I don't customise anything.

I just make sure I use very little 3rd party software apart from Afterburner and only use official drivers as I had a lot of problems in the past regarding the above with betas.

Also I don't overclock to much. In fact I just let the AMD driver just overclock for me and be done. A little bit more overclock and it will probably not help fps or stability and the above issues again.

Some of you guys 'tweak' to much. Leave the PC alone once you have installed Windows! I use to tweak but it's not worth it nowadays. For the most part I blame user error.
And what third-party program, you are using?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 SLI+Qnix2710
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 04-20-2012, 19:03 | posts: 3,499 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
I just make sure I use very little 3rd party software apart from Afterburner...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 04-20-2012, 19:08 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidGX View Post
The fabled "zero core" stuff never works for me. I have two 7970s and the second card stays activated to matter what. Once or twice right after I installed new drivers it worked, but then after a reboot no dice. I've given up on it.
Are you using afterburner or some other monitoring software?

HOw can you tell they aren't going to sleep?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
DavidGX
Newbie
 
DavidGX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x AMD Radeon 7970
Processor: Intel I7 3770K @ 4.6 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Vengeance 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
PSU: Corsair 1200 Watt Gold
Default 04-20-2012, 20:28 | posts: 41 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
Are you using afterburner or some other monitoring software?

HOw can you tell they aren't going to sleep?
Yeah I use MSI Afterburner, monitoring it via the screen on my G13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Del_Boy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 (2560x1600)
Processor: FX-8350 4.7ghz (water)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Memory: 8GB ddr3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: My own studio
PSU: OCZ 700w
Default 04-20-2012, 21:02 | posts: 453 | Location: UK

ULPS= ugly longtime people shaging
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 04-23-2012, 01:04 | posts: 1,573 | Location: Toronto

i'd assume the new zero power feature requires a competent mobo that can handle a whole device turning itself off (aka updated bios, mobo that's not too out of date, correct power settings in bios, etc)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: TBA
Mainboard: TBA
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: TBA
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 02-05-2013, 01:10 | posts: 1,251 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
Is disabling ULPS worth it on single-gpu setups? I hear about it mostly dealing with Crossfire
Somewhat necro-bump, but I'm still curious about this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-05-2013, 01:20 | posts: 3,883 | Location: Australia

Bringing back the old threads... lol

It's possible that in the last 10+ the drivers have changed such that disabling this setting no longer gives the 'improvements' it once did. Not because they stuffed up the disabling of it, but because the action of the setting has been improved. Just a suggestion.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.