Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What format is your main collection encoded in?
Old
  (#1)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default What format is your main collection encoded in? - 04-09-2012, 19:25 | posts: 16,175 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I figured this might make a good conversation. I find when newer people start getting into higher end audio components they start to realize their source files needs to be high quality also for the best overall experience.

Personally, I have a relatively large audio collection so organization becomes very important IMO. When I encode a new CD, I make sure the files are all named correctly, ID Tags are all done and I also include artwork from the original CD. I like the artwork because many of the players/skins I use will show or allow you to have access to this artwork during playback.

So what ya using and how do you keep it organized?

Last edited by ROBSCIX; 04-09-2012 at 19:28.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY 770 Superclocked
Processor: SB 2500K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 z68
Memory: 16GB Assorted @1600MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 04-09-2012, 20:17 | posts: 1,887 | Location: Dominican Republic

Mine is MP3 @ 320kbps mostly. Started with FLACS sometime ago, Most of my musics comes from online, differente sources (Itunes, amazon, google), depends on the wallet really.

FLAC is very hard to find online, and I dont usually buy the physical CD.

My collection is vaguely organized, I started (Slowly) to organize it, but its a long job considering that I have almost 20K files around.

What software do you use to encode?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-09-2012, 21:37 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

FLAC, some MP3s from an age past.
Organised through folders for FLAC and MP3, completely separate folder for Classical with its own MP3 and FLAC sections.
Foobar2000 tabs used to organise further.

Last edited by Mufflore; 04-09-2012 at 21:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ROBSCIX
Don Sonic
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-09-2012, 21:58 | posts: 16,175 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

To the questions, it is easiest to organize the files as you are adding them. Doing it after you have a large collection is very time consuming. As for the encoding, there are different apps you can use EAC seems to most popular but such apps are for encoding from CD. You an use you can use different apps to re-encode from WAV or other formats to Flac. I have encoded tracks from line-input also, recording and encoding masters of live performances from friends.

Last edited by ROBSCIX; 04-09-2012 at 22:04.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
TruMutton_200Hz
Ancient Guru
 
TruMutton_200Hz's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: i3 3110M
Mainboard: MD 99070 Medion Akoya
Memory: DDR-3 4gig
Soundcard: MiniMax DAC Plus, UMC-200
PSU: Li-ion
Default 04-09-2012, 22:00 | posts: 2,760 | Location: Belgium

Most of it is audiophile quality vinyl (LP albums) ripped to 24/96 FLAC using a variety of decent turntable setups (Rega, Sota, Technics, VPI,...). Nearly all of these setups have been modded / upgraded in one way or another and combined with a variety of decent ADCs (Tascam US-144, E-MU 0404 or better).
The albums are stored in separate folders with the artist, album title, year and usually some additional info such as the country in which the pressing was made, the record label and catalog number, bit depth and samplerate, all nicely specified in the folder names, which also include artwork scans most of the time. I have scripted the column contents of my foobar2000 playlist view a little according to my personal preference and basically that's it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 04-10-2012, 01:23 | posts: 2,598 | Location: Australia

320k MP3 and flac where i can get my hands on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bokah
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670GTX 2G
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD3-B3
Memory: G-Skill F3-12800CL7D-8GB
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX
PSU: LC-Power 750W
Default 04-10-2012, 06:09 | posts: 2,314

flac, mp3 192+, avi...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ASLayerAODsk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x R9 280x Gb/His
Processor: Intel i7 4820k 3.7/3.9 WC
Mainboard: Asus P9X79LE
Memory: DDR3 16G Patriot 1600
Soundcard: XonarSTX/NAD7120/B&WDM610
PSU: CMaster SilentPro 1Kw
Default 04-10-2012, 09:59 | posts: 702 | Location: Canada

FLAC n WAV..anything less...is uncivilized.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
flimbo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX760 OC
Processor: Intel i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Aune T1
PSU: OCZ 700W ModXStream Pro
Default 04-10-2012, 11:31 | posts: 719 | Location: My chair

FLAC and 320k mp3's. And I have a Spotify Premium subscription. I believe the format for Spotify hq streaming is 320k OGG.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Doomsoldier
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon 5970BE
Processor: i7 2600K @5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P67 Sabretooth
Memory: 16Gb corsair 1866
Soundcard: Xonar STX - KRK Rokit 5
PSU: OCZ Z-Series1000w Modular
Default 04-10-2012, 19:02 | posts: 3 | Location: Leicester

Got drunk one night and heard a crappy quality MP3, selected files by type and deleted the lot, only FLAC for me now. I have fairly good kit, a xonar stx (with ever changing opamps) and some KRK monitors. Perhaps my ears are better when drunk, nothing else is !!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-10-2012, 19:12 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Nothing like beer for making things happen lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Doomsoldier
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon 5970BE
Processor: i7 2600K @5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P67 Sabretooth
Memory: 16Gb corsair 1866
Soundcard: Xonar STX - KRK Rokit 5
PSU: OCZ Z-Series1000w Modular
Default 04-10-2012, 21:13 | posts: 3 | Location: Leicester

Well as I recall I was listening to some 80's love song compilation, gladly rid of that, and the ex Mrs. to be fair. Every cloud.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-10-2012, 21:34 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

MP3 @192k or better & tagged with IDv2.

My collection has nearly 30,000 files...there's no way I could store them all in lossless format it would take up too much room.

Actually I listen mostly to shoutcast these days via WinAmp.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-11-2012 at 16:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Nato.dbnz
Ancient Guru
 
Nato.dbnz's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5870 Crossfire
Processor: 2500k 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8Gb Dominator 1600
Soundcard: Xonar STX + HD598
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1000W
Default 04-10-2012, 23:53 | posts: 3,263 | Location: Auckland NZ

Mine would be about 98% FLAC delivered to my DAC by the Logitech Squeezebox Touch. MP3 when there are no other options but that is rare these days. I'm buying more vinyl these days than I have for years though so for the last month or 2 I've been doing about 50% of my listening from analogue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Vandrende Pind
Maha Guru
 
Vandrende Pind's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 5870 Vapor-X
Processor: i7 930 @ 4,2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58A-UD7
Memory: 6Gb HyperX 1600Mhz 6-6-6
Soundcard: Anedio D1 FidelioX2 HD650
PSU: Seasonic X-750
Default 04-11-2012, 09:52 | posts: 1,179 | Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

I have a mix of FLAC and mp3, a little bit of WAV too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Decane
Ancient Guru
 
Decane's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD4870 512MB
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 @ 3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R F10
Memory: Corsair XMS2 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: ALC889A | DT880 600***937
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Default 04-11-2012, 11:14 | posts: 5,064 | Location: England (/Finland)

Mine is entirely in ALAC, mainly because I'm too lazy to convert it all into FLAC, which had a better performance:compression ratio the last time I checked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-11-2012, 12:29 | posts: 3,716

Archive rips from CDs are in TAK.
TAK compresses better and just as fast as FLAC.
Anything I want to store in my portable player is transcoded to MP3 using LAME (-V 0).




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
elkosith
Maha Guru
 
elkosith's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9600 GT :(
Processor: Intel E7300 @ 3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P7N SLI Platinum
Memory: DDR2 800 2 x 1GB
Soundcard: Topping D2 + Blow4
PSU: 420 Watts
Default 04-11-2012, 15:37 | posts: 1,230 | Location: Indonesia

CDs and DVDs, both physical and clones in hard drive
MP3 320
Just starting my FLAC collection
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-11-2012, 15:38 | posts: 23,631 | Location: Netherlands

most are VBR MP3. wish it were flac, but its too damn time consuming to do it again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
TirolokoRD
Maha Guru
 
TirolokoRD's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY 770 Superclocked
Processor: SB 2500K @ 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 z68
Memory: 16GB Assorted @1600MHZ
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec 850W
Default 04-11-2012, 15:59 | posts: 1,887 | Location: Dominican Republic

I guess as long as it sounds nice and its organized correctly, it should not matter.

Almost 20k in files, can have the time to mess with them.

What I do, is to choose a day in the week and deal with couple of albums/artist randomly!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 04-11-2012, 16:11 | posts: 4,232 | Location: Australia

VBR MP3 when encoded correctly sounds quite decent. I don't mean using some ancient version of LAME (it really only started at 3.9x something anyway!!! so 3.97 is ancient), or using a -q value of more than 2, or a -V value more than 4 (lower is better for both of those). Note that -v is a completely different option to -V! Also using the new VBR algorithm (I believe this is the default now).

I personally use -q0 and -V3. Encoding in CBR can be either quite wasteful (320KBPS) or not enough (192 in complex scenes). VBR adjusts the bitrate accordingly, and can go up to 320KBPS. Its far superior to how it used to be, so there is no detriment to audio quality.

Latest builds of FLAC and LAME can be found here:
http://www.mediafire.com/lame

No idea who builds them, but they work great currently using LAME 3.100A0 from 18 March 2012, but the less adventurous use the 3.99.5 instead. The date on the archive is very important, such that FLAC 1.2.2 is quite different to FLAC 1.2.2_20111201 (01 Dec 2012).

I would have been using AAC (using a good encoder like the Nero AAC) if the .m4a container format (which is absolutely NOT an Apple format like some may think) were more widely accepted in devices. I'd use a -q value of 0.45. A lot of audio encoded in AAC either uses a crappy encoder (like the iTunes store), or too low of a setting, or force AAC HE because 'high efficiency' sounds better than 'low complexity', but HE is only meant for speech, and its a common mistake.

Apparently there is a new audio format being developed which is something like twice as efficent as AAC again. It would be getting very close to not being able to go any further!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-11-2012, 17:32 | posts: 3,716

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Latest builds of FLAC and LAME can be found here:
http://www.mediafire.com/lame
Official LAME repository is here:
http://www.rarewares.org/mp3-lame-bundle.php

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
... , but HE is only meant for speech, and its a common mistake.
No, HE isn't only meant for speech, it's just more efficient than LC at low bitrate encoding (80kbps and lower).
For the same bitrate, HE sounds better than LC at those low bitrates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Apparently there is a new audio format being developed which is something like twice as efficent as AAC again. It would be getting very close to not being able to go any further!
I take it you're talking about Opus?




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
N0sferatU
Maha Guru
 
N0sferatU's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5570
Processor: Intel Core i5 (3.5Ghz)
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4GB G.Skill DDR3 2060
Soundcard: X-Meridian/ Denon AHD7000
PSU: Corsiar TX-7000
Default 04-11-2012, 19:24 | posts: 1,495 | Location: United States

FLAC MP3 and WAV

I usually duplicate my FLAC collection into MP3 for the car (won't read FLAC).

Just checked...25,254 files and 268GB space.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
pokerapar88
Maha Guru
 
pokerapar88's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7970 DD @ 1050/1500
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5Ghz CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Gskill Sniper 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + HT 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster GX 750w
Default 04-11-2012, 23:14 | posts: 1,656 | Location: Argentina // Buenos Aires

FLAC level 4 rips from my cds, then mp3 320kbs mostly. there's a couple of songs at 192 or variable bitrate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
F1refly
Ancient Guru
 
F1refly's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel Iris Pro
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard: Apple
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard: Apple
PSU: Apple
Default 04-11-2012, 23:32 | posts: 8,847 | Location: Indiana

128kbs mp3 works just fine for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.