Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#151)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 04-10-2012, 03:31 | posts: 2,167 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

@Caenyss & jimdove ; Yes and yes.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#152)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-10-2012, 03:32 | posts: 5,855 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by samtroy View Post
These new drivers have the same stuttering issues like the 301.10 drivers! Just play Assassin's Creed: Revelations and you can tell.

So back to 300.83 for me.

NVidia, fix your damn drivers!!
I see a new power supply in your future, upgrade to a minimum of the RECOMMENDED 550 WATTS with 38A on the 12v rail, and your problems should be gone. It's not Nvidia's fault you're too lazy to upgrade hardware to the recommended specification.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#153)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-10-2012, 03:37 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I've had 2 strange issues with this driver during initial testing (only just installed it).
Fresh boot.

Testing X3:TC benchmark was fine.

When running Heaven 3.0, just before it finished loading, GPU temp rapidly rose to 62C within seconds and Heaven exited with an error saying the video mode wasnt available and the card had been reset.
It gave another error when running it again.
Restarted Heaven (clocks reset to max again) and this time at exactly the same place, GPU temp was 54C and it ran through perfectly, maxing out at 65C.
Heaven 2.5 ran flawlessly first time.

When running Crysis Warhead benchmark, it ran fine but the display was larger than my screen despite running the bench at 1080p.
Text was off the edge of the screen left, right and top.
The bottom was probably missing too.
It looked like it was overscanning.


The Heaven crash with very rapid temp rise might explain the PSOD problem, the card was being hugely overdriven somehow.

Last edited by Mufflore; 04-10-2012 at 03:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#154)
Virtue
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670 WF3
Processor: i5-760 NH-D14
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: Sennheiser HD600/ODAC+O2
PSU: 600W OCZ StealthXStream 2
Default 04-10-2012, 04:17 | posts: 830 | Location: Montreal

Wow, adaptive vsync has been impressive for me in BF3. FPS is constantly 57-61 (high/med settings 1080p), it is nothing like the frame limiter in order to keep the fps from jumping around. Game is going as smoothly as possible without any tearing at all. It's actually a much better experience than playing without vsync surprisingly.

Last edited by Virtue; 04-10-2012 at 04:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#155)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-10-2012, 04:49 | posts: 6,790 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by samtroy View Post
These new drivers have the same stuttering issues like the 301.10 drivers! Just play Assassin's Creed: Revelations and you can tell.

So back to 300.83 for me.

NVidia, fix your damn drivers!!
LOL 430 watt psu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#156)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-10-2012, 04:51 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Lol, that is crazy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#157)
aayman_farzand
Master Guru
 
aayman_farzand's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xASUS DC2 GTX670 TOP
Processor: 3770K @4.5 | Kuhler 620
Mainboard: MSI Z68 GD65-G3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: ASUS Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-10-2012, 05:35 | posts: 783

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Have you stability tested?
460s can do 800+MHz easy. That was one of the beauty of the card. Highest I got on my one was 880 but left it at 820 for better temps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#158)
Don1376
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX670 FTW
Processor: I5 3570k@4.7/1.26v/H2O
Mainboard: Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 2x4gb 1866mhz 9-9-9-24-1
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium
PSU: Galaxy 850 watt
Default 04-10-2012, 06:01 | posts: 42 | Location: Austin, TX

Drivers are working fine so far on my system. So far performance seems about equal to last WHQL drivers. Unigine 2.5 scored same 111.4 average fps, Batman AC still constant 60.1 fps with v-sync, DX11, all settings maxed, FXAA-High, and Physx-High. Haven't tryed other games or tested to see if the occasional PSOD is gone. About to try other games now. Keepers so far for me and my 560TI's in SLI.

Will report back if I do get a PSOD. Hopefully it's fixed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#159)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-10-2012, 06:15 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by aayman_farzand View Post
460s can do 800+MHz easy. That was one of the beauty of the card. Highest I got on my one was 880 but left it at 820 for better temps.
That wasnt the question though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#160)
aayman_farzand
Master Guru
 
aayman_farzand's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xASUS DC2 GTX670 TOP
Processor: 3770K @4.5 | Kuhler 620
Mainboard: MSI Z68 GD65-G3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: ASUS Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-10-2012, 06:26 | posts: 783

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
That wasnt the question though.
aahhh I thought you were wondering if such high clocks were possible.

And btw I faced the same Heaven error you did, but that was before I restarted my system. I'm also getting this weird delay and the Windows cursor is constantly showing busy even though I am not doing anything. And apps take longer to start (SSD so its very noticeable), but once loaded runs fine.

This all started right after installing the driver, I thought the nvidia update was messing up somehow so I uninstalled it but the problem's still there.

Will look into it later, working on stuff right now. As for gaming performance, played BF3, 64p Metro map, 100-120(locked) regardless of the tons of explosions. Will try larger maps later.

Edit: FYI I installed older drivers and its still the same...hours of troubleshooting ahead...

Edit2: Fixed! HP makes bull**** printer software, it kept calling windows services (Scan to PC feature) and was consuming CPU cycles. IT has been installed all this time and decides to mess up as soon as I install these drivers.

Last edited by aayman_farzand; 04-10-2012 at 07:31.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#161)
JBCool
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 670
Processor: i5-2500k@4.6 -Corsair H80
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme 3 Gen 3
Memory: 4gig G-Skill 1333
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: 850w Corsair
Default 04-10-2012, 06:33 | posts: 158

The driver works great for me. No internet drama here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#162)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-10-2012, 07:22 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

This driver includes a USB driver during the 3D Stereo installation.
I havent seen my PCs defenses trigger on that before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBCool View Post
The driver works great for me. No internet drama here.
Thats great but just installing a driver doesnt prove anything
Have you run the same tests?

Only messing, there will be issues, its a beta.
Lucky you eh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#163)
Esagerao
Newbie
 
Videocard: SLI GTX 980
Processor: Haswell 4790k@4.8 ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97 Gaming GT
Memory: g.skill ripjaws 8gb@2166
Soundcard: Alc 1150 Onkyo Wharfedale
PSU: cooler master gold 1000w
Default 04-10-2012, 07:59 | posts: 9 | Location: Italy- florence

Alan wake runs highly better
3d mark11 295.73 =11458
3d mark11 296.10= 11374
3d mark11 301.24= 11377

No installing issues stuttering or bad artifatcs....still good overclocking
keepers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#164)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 04-10-2012, 08:41 | posts: 344

Looking promising. Solid boosts in all benches so far. And good to see that NV officially opened the 300 series drivers to all cards fast.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#165)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 04-10-2012, 09:16 | posts: 1,489 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Adaptive Vsync + FXAA for older cards? I like it!

This is BIG, especially for SLI setups. Effectively these drivers may prevent me from buying 680 now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#166)
Kronvict
Newbie
 
Kronvict's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 16 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: COUGAR CMX 1000W
Default 04-10-2012, 09:16 | posts: 31 | Location: Las Vegas, NV USA

I reinstalled 296.10 and all is well again. I guess i'll wait for wqhl 300 drivers and by then hopefully the bugs will be worked out if i cant find a fix for the beta till then.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#167)
TurboMan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD5 B3
Memory: 2x4 G.SKILL 1866 CL9
Soundcard: Fiio E10 + DT 770 pro
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250W
Default 04-10-2012, 11:22 | posts: 122

I am having weird issues with this driver on my GTX 680. 3D mark 11 didn't want to start at first and gave an error about "unable to go fullscreen" or something along these lines. On a second attempt it worked w/o problems, however these drivers gave me a lower score by 30 points from 301.10 (did 2 runs to make sure). After that i tried playing a video and WMP would start in an unusually small window and then give some error. I immediately tried media player classic and the video started, then WMP will also work after that w/o errors ?! I never had issues like this with 301.10, im going back to it. This driver is not worth it and i reinstalled it twice just to make sure its not my OS...

PS: Games on the other hand are flawless but i need a driver to work everywhere, not just games...

Last edited by TurboMan; 04-10-2012 at 11:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#168)
silis
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 670 TWIN FROZRIV|GTX 680
Processor: i5 2500k | i7 2600k
Mainboard: MIVE-Z | P67 SABERTOOTH
Memory: 8GB G-SKILL | Venge 8GB
Soundcard: Jamo
PSU: Corsair 850TX+AX
Default 04-10-2012, 11:38 | posts: 75



Nice stock 3dmark11 score.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#169)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 (Gaming)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 04-10-2012, 12:04 | posts: 8,073 | Location: UK

I had a psod on 301.10. almost cacked my pants...thought my gpu was dying.

but i see others have experienced this as well.

back on 296.10 and no problems so far in a day or so.

avoiding betas for the moment.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#170)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 04-10-2012, 13:32 | posts: 6,888 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitzi76 View Post
I had a psod on 301.10. almost cacked my pants...thought my gpu was dying.

but i see others have experienced this as well.

back on 296.10 and no problems so far in a day or so.

avoiding betas for the moment.
Damn .. on a 580? It was noticed mainly on the 460 & 560. Safest driver from this issue is 295.73.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#171)
TechFreaK
Banned
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX570 Custom OC
Processor: Intel C2Q 8x455Mhz @1.33v
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6 @ Turbo
Memory: DDR2 4x 2GB @ 1092mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-FI fatality
PSU: XFX 750W 80+
Default 04-10-2012, 13:38 | posts: 155 | Location: TechLand

^
A 580gtx can have it? lol this is new, my 570 gtx never had that before.


Ok except for a first time ever TDR with 300.99 & 300.89 (only these 300 series), I was at desktop when it happened, 301.10 fixed it..


These 301.24 are only better (smoother), no issues yet.

Last edited by TechFreaK; 04-10-2012 at 13:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#172)
FordLynx07
Member Guru
 
FordLynx07's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC ACX
Processor: Core i5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8Gb
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 04-10-2012, 13:57 | posts: 83 | Location: Philippines

Coming from 295.73 WHQL, these 301.24 Beta has the same performance on the ff. games i played: Starcraft 2, Dota 2, Mass Effect 3 and Modern Warfare 3. There is a small improvements on Battlefield 3 specially on 64/64 maps. Haven't experienced PSOD so far which was present on 296.10. I will report ASAP if PSOD is still present. The Adaptive V-Sync was a nice addition too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#173)
rgnuyda
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI560GTX Ti Twin Frzr2OC
Processor: Phenom II X4
Mainboard: MSI NF520t-c35
Memory: DDR2800 OCZ-titanium/4gb
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair TX 750w
Default 04-10-2012, 13:58 | posts: 163

what if you use D3d Overrider? does adaptive v-sync still come into effect?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#174)
Year
Ancient Guru
 
Year's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: Intel® i7 2600
Mainboard: Asus P67 Evo
Memory: G.Skill Sniper DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Auzentech Bravura 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W
Default 04-10-2012, 13:59 | posts: 11,696 | Location: ♫

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m View Post
Adaptive Vsync + FXAA for older cards? I like it!

This is BIG, especially for SLI setups. Effectively these drivers may prevent me from buying 680 now.
judging by nvidia history, even though they introduced the new features for your old cards (like avsync and fxaa), the drivers will simply keep on getting slower as they start supporting heavily the Kepler cards starting from this month, all you're going to get is bug fixes, if any.

the series 200 is pretty much dead drivers wise, while some variants of the series 400 already started the deadly process, on the other hand the series 500 will keep on getting supported nicely especially performance wise, nvidia is unlikely to stop improving series 500 anytime soon, i'm guessing another 6+ month or at least not before new variants of Kepler go on sale.

it's nothing new really and this has been true ever since the Riva TNT days.

still if your SLi setup is working fine and you're happy with it, then good for you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#175)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 4GB SLI 1500/7500
Processor: Intel i5 3570K 4,4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 04-10-2012, 14:05 | posts: 1,375 | Location: Sweden

Hey guys.

I've not been on the green team for a long time and therefore I wonder if you can simply download, update and restart the computer or do I have to uninstall the old ones, restart my computer in safe mode, run driversweeper, restart again, install the new ones and restart once more (like with AMD drivers).
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.