Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#351)
Axaion
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSi GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5ghz 1.27v
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600Mhz CL8
Soundcard: Creative SB Z, HD598
PSU: Corsair AX-650
Default 04-16-2012, 09:09 | posts: 77 | Location: moon

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice445 View Post
Nvidia inspector reports "Let the application decide" as "0" when that's not possible anymore. Nvidia removed the zero option.
My point exactly, which sucks :|
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#352)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Under Construction
Mainboard: Under Construction
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 04-16-2012, 09:27 | posts: 9,408 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axaion View Post
My point exactly, which sucks :|
Not really, zero was never really intended to be used. Pick between 2 and three, that gives the smoothest experience at least in my testing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#353)
Axaion
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSi GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5ghz 1.27v
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600Mhz CL8
Soundcard: Creative SB Z, HD598
PSU: Corsair AX-650
Default 04-16-2012, 09:36 | posts: 77 | Location: moon

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice445 View Post
Not really, zero was never really intended to be used. Pick between 2 and three, that gives the smoothest experience at least in my testing.
I have never ever had problem with setting it on 0.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#354)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-16-2012, 09:39 | posts: 3,137 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice445 View Post
Not really, zero was never really intended to be used. Pick between 2 and three, that gives the smoothest experience at least in my testing.
And it adds a noticable input lag. I can still choose zero (couldn't do this with the previous .10 set also) and I usually pick 0 or 1, depending on the game. The faster it is the more I lean towards 0.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#355)
Axaion
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSi GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5ghz 1.27v
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600Mhz CL8
Soundcard: Creative SB Z, HD598
PSU: Corsair AX-650
Default 04-16-2012, 09:41 | posts: 77 | Location: moon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radical_53 View Post
And it adds a noticable input lag. I can still choose zero (couldn't do this with the previous .10 set also) and I usually pick 0 or 1, depending on the game. The faster it is the more I lean towards 0.
now im just unsure if it was with this driver or the .10 set i couldent use 0.. im fairly sure its both though..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#356)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 04-16-2012, 10:50 | posts: 3,137 | Location: Germany

It works for me on this set and the previous set (.10) had zero as its default value (couldn't choose it manually, Inspector reported default as zero though).
   
Reply With Quote
pink dots
Old
  (#357)
phawkins633
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 560ti Twin Frozer
Processor: Phenom II 3.5
Mainboard: Asus M5A97
Memory: 8 gb pc2 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DS 7.1
PSU: Seasonic 850 Watt
Default pink dots - 04-16-2012, 17:10 | posts: 11

I have a 560ti..never overclocked...system not overclocked...296.10 and above have pink dot problem....that's pretty much it...it seems while Nvidia is striving to squeeze another 5% speed, it has cranked some cards just too high...I mean the last time I saw this was with the 8800gts 320 when everything from driver tweaks to baking in the oven were used to try and fix this....although driver related, it still smacks of being hap hazard....and on Nvidia's own forum they say they are having trouble replicating this problem...that's heard to believe considering the number of cases that are popping up all over the web...c'mon Nvidia...some of us still use older (non 6xxx) cards....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#358)
Wrigleyvillain
Member Guru
 
Wrigleyvillain's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 1.5GB
Processor: i7 870 4Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA P55 FTW
Memory: 8GB GSkill Sniper 1800Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 04-16-2012, 19:23 | posts: 114 | Location: Chicago

My 480 loves these. BF3 and Skyrim, mainly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#359)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 04-17-2012, 01:28 | posts: 852

Still no go for me? It seems AA is causing the problems, tried BF3 and the same stuttering happens as in Skyrim, turn off AA and they're fine? Why?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#360)
PirateNeilsouth
Maha Guru
 
PirateNeilsouth's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 OC
Processor: I5
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: XFI-GAMER
PSU: 800 watt
Default 04-17-2012, 01:30 | posts: 1,703 | Location: Manchester

Quote:
Originally Posted by phawkins633 View Post
I have a 560ti..never overclocked...system not overclocked...296.10 and above have pink dot problem.
Yep it's happened to a few people!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#361)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 4GB SLI 1500MHz
Processor: Intel i5 3570K 4400MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Audio
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 04-17-2012, 09:54 | posts: 1,634 | Location: Sweden

15 pages is a lot to go through

Would 680 owners say that this driver is an improvement over 301.10 or not?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#362)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 04-17-2012, 09:57 | posts: 12,262 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherwind View Post
15 pages is a lot to go through

Would 680 owners say that this driver is an improvement over 301.10 or not?
I'd say it was exactly the same personally as is v301.25 which I'm using now. There are obviously fixes and tweaks between the different drivers but I haven't noticed them. In my experience, it always better to use the latest driver for that reason but if you're not having any problems with games and applications you're using then there's no reason to if you adopt a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" policy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#363)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: Marantz SR5005 +FH 9.2 ch
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 04-17-2012, 11:42 | posts: 4,308 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by phawkins633 View Post
I have a 560ti..never overclocked...system not overclocked...296.10 and above have pink dot problem....that's pretty much it...it seems while Nvidia is striving to squeeze another 5% speed, it has cranked some cards just too high...I mean the last time I saw this was with the 8800gts 320 when everything from driver tweaks to baking in the oven were used to try and fix this....although driver related, it still smacks of being hap hazard....and on Nvidia's own forum they say they are having trouble replicating this problem...that's heard to believe considering the number of cases that are popping up all over the web...c'mon Nvidia...some of us still use older (non 6xxx) cards....
It's happened to me pink screen dots, but with these drivers, it's fixed... Hope it fixes for you soon.

regards,
Ragdoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#364)
Sunnijim
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 x Geforce 560ti SLI
Processor: Core i7-950 @3.07GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6X58D-E
Memory: Corsair Dominator 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolmaster 700w
Default 04-17-2012, 12:23 | posts: 5 | Location: South Africa

Ya these drivers gave me issues. They installed fine, and worked well at first. Then Skyrim became extremely jumpy, and unplayable. Restarted the game, and the loading screen was jumpy and the loading process wouldn't end. Tried BF3 and that was also jumpy. Restarting the computer didn't help. BF3 even went into what looked like an old school 3d mode (with red and green shading). So I rolled back to the previous driver : )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#365)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 4GB SLI 1500MHz
Processor: Intel i5 3570K 4400MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Audio
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 04-17-2012, 13:01 | posts: 1,634 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
I'd say it was exactly the same personally as is v301.25 which I'm using now. There are obviously fixes and tweaks between the different drivers but I haven't noticed them. In my experience, it always better to use the latest driver for that reason but if you're not having any problems with games and applications you're using then there's no reason to if you adopt a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" policy.
Thanks, I'll try 301.25 and see what happens. They usually say, don't fix it if it ain't broken but as you say it never hurts to have the latest drivers due to optimisations and the like.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#366)
Flakman
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 660 OC
Processor: Intel i7 920
Mainboard: EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1 X58
Memory: 6GB Corsair XMS/3 1.5v
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 04-17-2012, 16:11 | posts: 462

Been running these since release, I have zero issues with them. No more pink dots like I got with the 296.10.

Good drivers so far.

Last edited by Flakman; 04-17-2012 at 16:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#367)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-17-2012, 19:25 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunnijim View Post
Ya these drivers gave me issues. They installed fine, and worked well at first. Then Skyrim became extremely jumpy, and unplayable. Restarted the game, and the loading screen was jumpy and the loading process wouldn't end. Tried BF3 and that was also jumpy. Restarting the computer didn't help. BF3 even went into what looked like an old school 3d mode (with red and green shading). So I rolled back to the previous driver : )
The fix is to untick "Enable sterescopic 3D".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#368)
Zybane
Newbie
 
Videocard: Quad SLI 3GB GTX580
Processor: 990z
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: HCP-1200
Default 04-18-2012, 00:13 | posts: 35

Anyone see this crash before:




I'm getting that in all games now. Pretty much have tried everything, set system overclock to default, removed precision X and ran GPU's at default, default NVIDIA control panel options, ran 4-way SLI, 1 GPU, Surround Mode, Single display mode, tried drivers: 301.10, 301.24, 301.25, PCI-E 2.0 mode, PCI-E 3.0 mode. They all crash. Wonder if those stupid multiple Direct X installs that Steam does every time a new game is installed screwed something up. Gah I don't feel like re-installing windows again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#369)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Default 04-18-2012, 00:35 | posts: 13,904 | Location: USA

I got it a couple time. Try this, uninstall the drivers, then select clean install when you go to install them again. i havent seen that error since.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#370)
aayman_farzand
Master Guru
 
aayman_farzand's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xASUS DC2 GTX670 TOP
Processor: 3770K @4.5 | Kuhler 620
Mainboard: MSI Z68 GD65-G3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: ASUS Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-18-2012, 01:40 | posts: 784

I've been using it since day one. Perfectly fine in BF3 and no driver crashes/downclock issues.

I did have some trouble getting the driver to install at first, the older one was not removed properly. But other than that everything has been smooth for me.
   
Reply With Quote
3D clocks
Old
  (#371)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 3D clocks - 04-18-2012, 01:48 | posts: 439 | Location: Brazil

I noticed that when I leave the computer on for a long time (I almost don't restart it, as there are lots of downloads going on), it gets stuck at the 2D clock (50Mhz), and it gets back only if I restart the PC. This is very annoying, and is really making me miss my good old Radeon HD 5670...

BUT, I loved adaptive Vsync and FXAA, so, I'm eagerly waiting for the fixes... NVIDIA PLZ, HELP US!!!!!!

Last edited by sapo_joe; 04-19-2012 at 01:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#372)
HolyLiaison
Member Guru
 
HolyLiaison's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi 570 GTX SLI
Processor: Intel i7 960 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Intel DX58S02 Extreme
Memory: 12GB TPL CHNNL DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek 7.1
PSU: ABS Majesty 1100W
Default 04-18-2012, 07:50 | posts: 56 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapo_joe View Post
I noticed that when I leave the computer on for a long time (I almost don't restart it, as there are lots of downloads going on), it gets stuck at the 2D clock (60Mhz), and it gets back only if I restart the PC. This is very annoying, and is really making me miss my good old Radeon HD 5670...

BUT, I loved adaptive Vsync and FXAA, so, I'm eagerly waiting for the fixes... NVIDIA PLZ, HELP US!!!!!!
Yeah this happens to me too. It's frustrating, but it's not so bad if you have an SSD boot drive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#373)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 04-18-2012, 13:14 | posts: 1,141 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

These drivers are hands down the worst drivers I have ever tried in recent memory. Been having a lot of issues with these including sever screen tearing assassins creed revalations and the gpu clock downclocking when I am not even getting stable fps. Switching back to 296.10...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#374)
nick0323
Master Guru
 
nick0323's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.5GHz @1.275v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 2x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 04-18-2012, 14:11 | posts: 579 | Location: Old England

My GTX470 loves these driver to bits, played 5 hours of BF3 followed by 5 hours of Skyrim without a restart and there wasn't even a hint of a slow down, lag, jittering, stuttering etc. I applaud you nVidia.

This is the main reason I still run a GTX470 and haven't upgraded to the GTX6XX yet.

EDIT - Also to add I installed these over the top of the previous WHQL drivers using the Clean Install option. Never has installing a driver been so pleasantly easy.

Last edited by nick0323; 04-18-2012 at 14:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#375)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 04-18-2012, 14:46 | posts: 439 | Location: Brazil

For people like me, having the 2d/3d clock problems, I recommend getting the latest 295 family drivers here: http://www.station-drivers.com/page/...0forceware.htm

They're shown as 296.25 but are actually 296.39 (crazy french!).

Updated to them and the problem seems to be gone. Anyway, I miss FXAA... (

edit:

Just tested it people. 296.39 is flawless, clocks work as expected (up in 3d, down in 2d), image quality is good, and performance is great! Now, I'm waiting until nvidia releases a driver fixing the clock issue. And I mean, that should be mentioned in the "driver fixes".

Last edited by sapo_joe; 04-18-2012 at 15:27. Reason: After testing...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.