Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PhysX with 7950 and Intel HD 3000 ?
Old
  (#1)
Sharoth
Master Guru
 
Sharoth's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX780ti DCIIOC
Processor: 2600K @ 4.8Ghz 1.38v
Mainboard: ASUS M4GZ
Memory: 16GB RipJaws 1600Mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx, AD700, Yeti
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default PhysX with 7950 and Intel HD 3000 ? - 04-07-2012, 15:23 | posts: 693 | Location: Minnesota, USA

I have a 2600K running on an Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3 motherboard and was wondering if its possible to use the Intel 3000 GPU to handle physx ? Not that its really needed, but would be interesting.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
V1tol
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Giga GTX =) 650Ti 1Gb OC
Processor: Intel Core i3 3225 3.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte H77-D3H
Memory: XTreem Dark 2x4Gb @ 1600
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Sirtec High Power 600W
Default 04-07-2012, 15:37 | posts: 274 | Location: Sevastopol, Crimea, Ukraine

no problem, you just need to write an Intel GPU Accelerated physics engine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 04-07-2012, 16:05 | posts: 1,599 | Location: Unknown

No, GPU PhysX acceleration is only supported on NVIDIA GeForce 8 series (and newer) video cards with at least 32 CUDA cores and 256MB of VRAM (i.e. 8600GT and above).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Sharoth
Master Guru
 
Sharoth's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX780ti DCIIOC
Processor: 2600K @ 4.8Ghz 1.38v
Mainboard: ASUS M4GZ
Memory: 16GB RipJaws 1600Mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx, AD700, Yeti
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 04-07-2012, 22:47 | posts: 693 | Location: Minnesota, USA

I understand how PhysX works. But without an nvidia card present, it uses the cpu to do the work if I understand correctly. If thats the case, wouldn't it be possible for someone to write a driver or hack physX to use the intel gpu to do the physx calculations?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Ti3Kob
Master Guru
 
Ti3Kob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX680 SLI@1398/7800 H2O
Processor: i7 2700K @ 5.26Ghz HT H2O
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V GENE
Memory: 16GB G-Skill @2.2GHz CAS9
Soundcard: SupremeFX III
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-07-2012, 22:55 | posts: 583 | Location: France

The GPU accelerated PhysX engine works with CUDA, so unless your GPU supports CUDA, it's not possible. Needless to say Intel and AMD GPUs aren't supporting CUDA.

The CPU PhysX engine doesn't have the features of the GPU accelerated one BTW. All the fancy effects are only available with a Nvidia GPU, that's all.

Now go spit on Nvidia marketing crap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Comrade_Jerkov
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 FTW 1215/6800
Processor: i7 4790K @4.2 1.124v
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: PNY 16gb 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Default 04-07-2012, 23:13 | posts: 216 | Location: Boston, MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ti3Kob View Post
The GPU accelerated PhysX engine works with CUDA, so unless your GPU supports CUDA, it's not possible. Needless to say Intel and AMD GPUs aren't supporting CUDA.

The CPU PhysX engine doesn't have the features of the GPU accelerated one BTW. All the fancy effects are only available with a Nvidia GPU, that's all.

Now go spit on Nvidia marketing crap.
This is off topic, but I noticed that your overclocks are ridiculous for your GPU and CPU. How are you getting 5.3 stable???? What are you benchmarking at with that setup?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Scyphe
Master Guru
 
Scyphe's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 7950@1150/1700
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Line6 POD HD300
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 04-08-2012, 21:43 | posts: 413 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrade_Jerkov View Post
This is off topic, but I noticed that your overclocks are ridiculous for your GPU and CPU. How are you getting 5.3 stable???? What are you benchmarking at with that setup?
It's rather common to get 2500k/2600k up to and beyond 5GHz. I've only pushed my 2500k to 4.9 stable (posted beyond 5GHz) but I've only got a rather poor Noctua DH12 cooling fan. With some modern stuff/water-block I should be able to go higher.

As for the GPU, 1000MHz is common for 6970'ies.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.