Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#126)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-26-2012, 00:50 | posts: 11,996 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
hey cowie, you have any 580's you wish to part with?

sry sold my lightning to cosmo a few weeks back($330)

680 sli

680 sli

i am 680 i am robot beatie beatie dont worry i can overclock myself beatie beatie .

Last edited by cowie; 03-26-2012 at 01:02.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#127)
Strikerx80
Ancient Guru
 
Strikerx80's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 Ti SC
Processor: Intel i5 2500
Mainboard: Gigabyte H6M1-D2P-B3 uATX
Memory: 8GB Kingston 1333 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Recon 3D
PSU: XFX XTR 650W
Default 03-26-2012, 01:01 | posts: 5,327 | Location: New Hampshire, USA

yeah but can it play witcher 2 with uber sampling on smooth?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#128)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-26-2012, 01:05 | posts: 16,632 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
nice thats what I wanna see. no pic bro? what was your min max fps?
@sykozis saw your interest thread, you looking to get one of these bad boys?
Nope. I don't do "high-end". Besides, I'm more interested in GCN. I'll come back to nVidia next generation (or architecture...lol). It's like a sick cycle....every few years I buy an AMD/ATI card. Last was in 2008, before that 2004.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#129)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-26-2012, 01:13 | posts: 12,152 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Because nVidia explains how to overclock the cards.....and Darren was having issues doing so.
I'm not having any problems with the auto-clocking as it doesn't require user intervention.

I'm just confused about how the Power Boost feature works in MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision X. I've set mine to 125% but my games still only overclock to the same 1,137 MHz I get when it is on the default of 100%. So what is it supposed to do?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#130)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-26-2012, 01:23 | posts: 16,632 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
I'm not having any problems with the auto-clocking as it doesn't require user intervention.

I'm just confused about how the Power Boost feature works in MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision X. I've set mine to 125% but my games still only overclock to the same 1,137 MHz I get when it is on the default of 100%. So what is it supposed to do?
According to nVidia, you have to increase the "Power Target" setting, then increase the "clock offset" for the card's "GPU Boost" to overclock the card further.

Quote:
GPU Boost is fully compatible with GPU overclocking. Using third-party overclocking utilities provided by NVIDIA board partners, GeForce GTX 680 users can adjust the GPUs power target to enable higher clock speeds. Once the power target has been increased, the GPU can be overclocked by raising the GPU clock offset.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#131)
Nightfireomg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 680 GTX SLI
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX1050
Default 03-26-2012, 01:52 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
I'm not having any problems with the auto-clocking as it doesn't require user intervention.

I'm just confused about how the Power Boost feature works in MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision X. I've set mine to 125% but my games still only overclock to the same 1,137 MHz I get when it is on the default of 100%. So what is it supposed to do?
Ill try explain mate - basically all the power, clock speeds are hard coded into the gpu so you increase the power so allow the gpu to get extra power if its needed this

however that is dependant on if the gpu thinks that is considered safe and also on if its needed

Another factor is the temps every 5 degrees over 75 degrees from what i saw the gpu will down clock by about 13mhz the hotter it gets the more speed ur core clock loses, good air flow is important

In essence 2 things will determine the speed, the conditions and if its needed
Power restrictions hence u increase the power to +32 to stop the clocks decreasing and most importantly temps

Then you increase the offsets to increase the clock speed and memory (+offset)

so if u set the gpu clock with a 100mhz offset when ur core is hitting 1300 now it will be hitting 1400 etc same goes for the memory

Last edited by Nightfireomg; 03-26-2012 at 01:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#132)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-26-2012, 09:29 | posts: 12,152 | Location: England

Thanks for that, Nightfireomg.

Guru3D.com have also posted an overclocking guide here: http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...erclock-guide/

I didn't realise that just increasing the power boost on its own, doesn't increase the overclocking. I thought increasing it by 25% would increase the core/memory auto-overclocks by 25% also but that doesn't happen, at least on my system, it doesn't. You also have increase the core and memory offsets too, which you can do with MSI Afterburner v2.2.0 beta 15.

My own GTX 680, by default, typically overclocks to 1,137 MHz during games such as Alan Wake or Crysis 2. I've not seen it go any higher than that even though the Power Boost is set to 125%. The memory is never overclocked either (is that the same for everyone else?), it stays at 1.5 GHz (6 GHz effective). I did try setting the core to +250 MHz and the memory to +500 MHz as mentioned in many reviews but the games I tested caused the driver to stop responding (the first time I've ever since this error). I presume that's because those settings are beyond the capabilities of my card, or that it is getting insufficient power?

What settings are other people using?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#133)
Fusion_XT
Maha Guru
 
Fusion_XT's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN HO
Processor: Intel i7 980X HO
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD7
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator 1T
Soundcard: AuzenTech Forte w/ Z-5400
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 03-26-2012, 10:58 | posts: 812 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
Here you are 1920x1200 @ 8x AA 16x AF @ Stock



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
GTX480 SLI - Vsyncd run:



Not bad

Last edited by Fusion_XT; 03-26-2012 at 11:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#134)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 03-26-2012, 12:53 | posts: 13,599 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
sry sold my lightning to cosmo a few weeks back($330)
no worries. figured id ask.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#135)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-26-2012, 13:53 | posts: 12,152 | Location: England

I managed to fix my GTA IV loading screen loop issue which I mentioned earlier by the way even though I ended up reinstalling the game to another location with the same issue.

The problem seemed to stem from having a shortcut to My Music (where there's some 120 GB of MP3s) in the My Documents/Rockstar Games/GTA IV/User Music folder. When I moved that GTA IV save folder then the game loaded just fine. I then found out that it was that particular shortcut that caused the problem, perhaps because there were too many songs there? Whatever, it is working now so I thought I'd post it here in case anyone else has a similar problem.

(Deleting the GTA IV save folder surprisingly did not delete my save games either; it seems that they're stored somewhere else)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#136)
rakunvar
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: I5-2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000w
Default 03-26-2012, 14:00 | posts: 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Thanks for that, Nightfireomg.

Guru3D.com have also posted an overclocking guide here: http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...erclock-guide/

I didn't realise that just increasing the power boost on its own, doesn't increase the overclocking. I thought increasing it by 25% would increase the core/memory auto-overclocks by 25% also but that doesn't happen, at least on my system, it doesn't. You also have increase the core and memory offsets too, which you can do with MSI Afterburner v2.2.0 beta 15.

My own GTX 680, by default, typically overclocks to 1,137 MHz during games such as Alan Wake or Crysis 2. I've not seen it go any higher than that even though the Power Boost is set to 125%. The memory is never overclocked either (is that the same for everyone else?), it stays at 1.5 GHz (6 GHz effective). I did try setting the core to +250 MHz and the memory to +500 MHz as mentioned in many reviews but the games I tested caused the driver to stop responding (the first time I've ever since this error). I presume that's because those settings are beyond the capabilities of my card, or that it is getting insufficient power?

What settings are other people using?
See I am having the same issue.. I even tried multiple tweak utilities.. Also attempted to use the slightly older 300.99 driver to no avail... I simply am stumped.. Getting more and more ready to sell this dang card... Hoping someone can give me some hope to what settings they are using.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#137)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-26-2012, 14:16 | posts: 12,152 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakunvar View Post
See I am having the same issue.. I even tried multiple tweak utilities.. Also attempted to use the slightly older 300.99 driver to no avail... I simply am stumped.. Getting more and more ready to sell this dang card... Hoping someone can give me some hope to what settings they are using.
What problem are you having? That your card doesn't overclock itself very far?

Download and install MSI Afterburner v2.2.0 beta 15 and set the power limit to 125% or 130% in the Settings. Make sure you Apply the settings otherwise they won't 'stick'. Next, increase the Core clock from its defaults of +0 to something that you know your card can reach without issues on the default settings. For example, my card will clock itself to 1,137 MHz during many games so I could set my Core offset to +131 MHz. That would then set the baseline at 1,137 MHz not 1,106 MHz, allowing for the card theoretically to clock itself beyond the 1,137 MHz I've been seeing.

When I initially tried this I set the Core clock offset to +250 MHz and the Memory offset to +500 MHz but that caused "a driver not responding" error to occur and the games to freeze such that I had to bring up Task Manager to close them down. I suspect, though I haven't done enough testing yet to be sure, that my problem was that my card can't handle the memory at 7 GHz. What I should have done was tested the Core clock first then gone on to do the same for the Memory clock to find the best settings to use.

I suspect that most GTX 680 cards will be able to handle +100 MHz to both the Core and Memory clocks without issues so that might be a good starting point for you?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#138)
crap daddy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX570 SC
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz Turbo
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 03-26-2012, 15:27 | posts: 753 | Location: close to the edge

Why don't you use EVGA Precision? I think it supports also other cards not only EVGA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#139)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 03-26-2012, 16:09 | posts: 12,152 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by crap daddy View Post
Why don't you use EVGA Precision? I think it supports also other cards not only EVGA.
You mean me?

I have EVGA Precision X installed but not running as I already use MSI Afterburner for OSDs (to monitor framerates/temps) in games and also for a GPU gadget on my desktop (which EVGA Precision doesn't work with). v2.20 beta 15 of Afterburner might not be as well laid-out or as GTX 680-specific as Precision X but it retains the same functionality, including setting the Power Limiter and Core/Memory clock offsets, I believe.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#140)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-27-2012, 00:03 | posts: 18,782 | Location: New Jersey, USA

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...661&CatId=7387
in stock TD as of this post
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#141)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-27-2012, 00:07 | posts: 11,996 | Location: new jersey

What no one has any ss3 numbers on a 680?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#142)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-27-2012, 00:23 | posts: 18,782 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I would like to see that. I love the SS series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#143)
rakunvar
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: I5-2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000w
Default 03-27-2012, 01:09 | posts: 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
What problem are you having? That your card doesn't overclock itself very far?

Download and install MSI Afterburner v2.2.0 beta 15 and set the power limit to 125% or 130% in the Settings. Make sure you Apply the settings otherwise they won't 'stick'. Next, increase the Core clock from its defaults of +0 to something that you know your card can reach without issues on the default settings. For example, my card will clock itself to 1,137 MHz during many games so I could set my Core offset to +131 MHz. That would then set the baseline at 1,137 MHz not 1,106 MHz, allowing for the card theoretically to clock itself beyond the 1,137 MHz I've been seeing.

When I initially tried this I set the Core clock offset to +250 MHz and the Memory offset to +500 MHz but that caused "a driver not responding" error to occur and the games to freeze such that I had to bring up Task Manager to close them down. I suspect, though I haven't done enough testing yet to be sure, that my problem was that my card can't handle the memory at 7 GHz. What I should have done was tested the Core clock first then gone on to do the same for the Memory clock to find the best settings to use.

I suspect that most GTX 680 cards will be able to handle +100 MHz to both the Core and Memory clocks without issues so that might be a good starting point for you?
Thanks for the tip, although I already did all of that .. I've tried tons of different combo's of clocks, including guru3d's walkthrough ones. My issue I keep coming into is it seems to under perform on benchmarks. I've seen the stock Heaven 3.0 bench's here like around 1900 I believe it was, and I only get like 1200. Getting pretty frustrated honestly.. Also annoyed I cant adjust the voltage outta the 1.175 range, but meh.. If I could get the dang benchmarks to avg out I would be at least content...

Getting to the point of doing a full PC wipe and seeing if its just something buggy with my PC.. I'll give ya pc specs as well just so they're known.

I5-2500k was OCed to 5.1ghz Air, but took it down to see if it was instability with the CPU maybe, so now around 4.7ghz.
1000w PSU
P8z68 v-Pro Asus board
Had 8 gigs of ram OCed that I turned down to stock and added another 8 gigs.
Vertex 3 SSD, 2 WD HDD's
Temps are never even close to high either.

Turned on messages in Heaven and seen a few "something Render restart", is that normal or?

Last edited by rakunvar; 03-27-2012 at 01:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#144)
Retow
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 ti
Processor: Intel 3770k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: G1 Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Platinum
Soundcard: X-FI Core3Di
PSU: Antec Signature 850
Default 03-27-2012, 01:13 | posts: 67 | Location: Tamworth UK

http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3047916

9555
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#145)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: Marantz SR5005 +FH 9.2 ch
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 03-27-2012, 01:19 | posts: 4,285 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakunvar View Post
Thanks for the tip, although I already did all of that .. I've tried tons of different combo's of clocks, including guru3d's walkthrough ones. My issue I keep coming into is it seems to under perform on benchmarks. I've seen the stock Heaven 3.0 bench's here like around 1900 I believe it was, and I only get like 1200. Getting pretty frustrated honestly.. Also annoyed I cant adjust the voltage outta the 1.175 range, but meh.. If I could get the dang benchmarks to avg out I would be at least content...

Getting to the point of doing a full PC wipe and seeing if its just something buggy with my PC.. I'll give ya pc specs as well just so they're known.

I5-2500k was OCed to 5.1ghz Air, but took it down to see if it was instability with the CPU maybe, so now around 4.7ghz.
1000w PSU
P8z68 v-Pro Asus board
Had 8 gigs of ram OCed that I turned down to stock and added another 8 gigs.
Vertex 3 SSD, 2 WD HDD's
Temps are never even close to high either.

Turned on messages in Heaven and seen a few "something Render restart", is that normal or?
Those Heaven Bench's at 1900 are on a 680 x 2 running sli So, your score of 1200 is about right for one GTX 680

regards,
RagDoll.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#146)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-27-2012, 01:22 | posts: 16,632 | Location: US East Coast

1200 isn't very impressive really....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#147)
RagDoll_Effect
Ancient Guru
 
RagDoll_Effect's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x nvidia GTX 560 SLI
Processor: Intel i5 2500K 5.3 Ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 12GB RipJaws
Soundcard: Marantz SR5005 +FH 9.2 ch
PSU: OCZ GAMEXTREME 1010 Watts
Default 03-27-2012, 01:33 | posts: 4,285 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
1200 isn't very impressive really....
Yes it is, 1 GTX 680 at stock...it's about right with everything maxed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#148)
JeyNyce
Maha Guru
 
JeyNyce's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy 670GTX 4GB OC
Processor: I7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E
Mainboard: INtel DX79SI
Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 32GB
Soundcard: SB Z & Logitech Z5500
PSU: 850 Watt PSU
Default 03-27-2012, 01:37 | posts: 1,948 | Location: New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme1979 View Post
Crysis Gameplay on my GTX 680 1080p Very High 8xMSAA:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=VvUgWU6oH7A

Yes, I suck at this game; haven't played it in awhile.
Crysis still look good after a few years. What impress me the most was how fast the game loaded.
   
Reply With Quote
3DMark
Old
  (#149)
Nightfireomg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 680 GTX SLI
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX1050
Default 3DMark - 03-27-2012, 02:05 | posts: 4

My score with stock gtx 680 sli
specs listed in link

14040

http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3048130;jses...v1dgf7i5xktxng
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#150)
rakunvar
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: I5-2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000w
Default 03-27-2012, 02:34 | posts: 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagDoll_Effect View Post
Those Heaven Bench's at 1900 are on a 680 x 2 running sli So, your score of 1200 is about right for one GTX 680

regards,
RagDoll.
I could kiss you for that lol.. Saved me from facesmashing my 680. No clue how I missed that.. We need some more single 680 Benches then IMO. Thanks much!!

On the other note, whats the best Percision/Afterburner Settings people have gotten stable? Noticed its pretty variable per person honestly.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.