Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 17:50 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
Yes at stock speeds, I will edit the post to reflect that.
can you do one with a good oc?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-25-2012, 18:02 | posts: 5,836 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
can you do one with a good oc?
I will see what I can do in a little while as I just woke up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 18:04 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

thats cool, I assumed it was stock, are you able to run it at 1920x1080 thats the more common resolution now. 1920x1200 will have more of a performance hit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 03-25-2012, 18:06 | posts: 13,400 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
wtf I thought you had a 7970? lol
i do. im playing around with a few atm. just trying acquire another 580 and i remember he said something a while back about having excess video cards.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 18:08 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

you missed his 580 lightning sale a while back $380 I believe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-25-2012, 18:13 | posts: 5,836 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
thats cool, I assumed it was stock, are you able to run it at 1920x1080 thats the more common resolution now. 1920x1200 will have more of a performance hit
I can scale down to it and rerun at that resolution as well.

Last edited by pimp_gimp; 03-25-2012 at 18:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 03-25-2012, 18:13 | posts: 13,400 | Location: USA

yea i saw that. i was just checking the fs thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
MfA
Maha Guru
 
MfA's Avatar
 
Videocard: GBT GTX4601GB@950/4600MHz
Processor: Q9650 @4.25GHz (8.5*500)
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3P
Memory: 4GB DDR2 1000MHz 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: Logitech X-530 & ALC889A
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1kW
Default 03-25-2012, 18:30 | posts: 971 | Location: Istanbul

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
P.S. I've set the Power Control in MSI Afterburner to 125% but what does it actually do? My auto-overclock still maxes out at 1,137 MHz and doesn't seem to go any higher whether that setting is on 100% or 125%. I wish there was an article that detailed how GPU Boost works because it seems to be an awesome feature, truly innovative for NVIDIA graphics card, but I don't think I'm getting the best out of mine.
default target is 170W, +32% =>224.4W which is safe limit on 2x6 pin

if you leave power limit and offset value default, card'll try to reach 170W(100%) and clocks accordingly..*
if you crank power limit up to 225W(132%) and leave offset 0, card'll try to reach 195W.. even it has more power room it wont be clocked because of default offset value..*
and finally if you set power limit to 225w(132%) and set offset to 150MHz or something won't be short to reach power limit, card will clock to max as long as temperature allows..
above 70C card try to lower clock speed..*


of course all these situations are assumed there is power room to boost the clocks.. otherwise, card'll stay 1006MHz even if it consumes 200W, never throttles under 1006MHz as long as it wont reach 98C..

Last edited by MfA; 03-25-2012 at 18:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-25-2012, 18:37 | posts: 5,836 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
thats cool, I assumed it was stock, are you able to run it at 1920x1080 thats the more common resolution now. 1920x1200 will have more of a performance hit
Here you are. Heaven Benchmark, Extreme @ Stock, 1920x1080, 16x AF, 8x AA


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 18:40 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

thats almost 20% better than my cards at oc 910mhz. cant wait for oc test
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#111)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-25-2012, 18:48 | posts: 16,427 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
GPU Boost is fully compatible with GPU overclocking. Using third-party overclocking utilities provided by NVIDIA board partners, GeForce GTX 680 users can adjust the GPU’s power target to enable higher clock speeds. Once the power target has been increased, the GPU can be overclocked by raising the GPU clock offset.
Source: GTX680 Whitepaper
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 19:01 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

what does this have to do with anything? its an out of the box feature.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-25-2012, 19:10 | posts: 16,427 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
what does this have to do with anything? its an out of the box feature.
Because nVidia explains how to overclock the cards.....and Darren was having issues doing so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 19:11 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Because nVidia explains how to overclock the cards.....and Darren was having issues doing so.
probably better to quote his post lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-25-2012, 19:13 | posts: 16,427 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
probably better to quote his post lol
That's on page 4, with a link to the whitepaper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 19:32 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
That's on page 4, with a link to the whitepaper.
the post just kinda looked out there is all. no offence intended bro
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-25-2012, 19:37 | posts: 16,427 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
the post just kinda looked out there is all. no offence intended bro
No prob. Just figured it'd make things a bit easier for others having issues if I just posted it in the thread instead of expecting them to actually read the whitepapers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-25-2012, 20:35 | posts: 11,937 | Location: new jersey

I thuoght i would set up sli before i killed one somehow.
1 card does not run as much voltage(dmm) as other and different clocks are in osd sometimes.

3d11 sli at clocks listed
1 is set to auto fan the other has a h70 on it.
stock card hit around 76c even with good airflow around it


3dvantage
stock clocks but set fan to 85%

ran a 55k with oc but it had six6six in the gpu score so i did not save it

crappy o6
not sure if clock took but i did not crash before this run
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Nightfireomg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 680 GTX SLI
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX1050
Default 03-25-2012, 20:44 | posts: 4

Here is My score SLI 680 @ Stock clocks
Put it up here to compare with others + check there are running as they should

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 20:47 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

^^^have a oc run we can see bro?

Last edited by ---TK---; 03-25-2012 at 21:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-25-2012, 22:26 | posts: 6,570 | Location: USA

you must be jelly of these 680 owners tommy :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 22:30 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

nah, I keep seeing stock sli tests I want to see oc tests in heaven, doesnt make me jealous lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-25-2012, 22:55 | posts: 16,427 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
you must be jelly of these 680 owners tommy :p
He's trying to find more justification for buying 2....lol
   
Reply With Quote
Oc run
Old
  (#124)
Nightfireomg
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 680 GTX SLI
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX1050
Default Oc run - 03-25-2012, 23:34 | posts: 4

Overclock run: +150 Core and +540 on memory
Got me 2486 Marks in UG 3.0

There you go tk

I took over clock as well its just not needed
Still was a nice boost and only ran 3 degrees hotter too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-25-2012, 23:42 | posts: 18,358 | Location: New Jersey, USA

nice thats what I wanna see. no pic bro? what was your min max fps?
@sykozis saw your interest thread, you looking to get one of these bad boys?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.